Hotel - Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Grand Mercure Hotel

Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments

130 Victoria Street  Te Aro 
6142 WELLINGTON
NEW ZEALAND

458 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 458 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 139.00 NZD Non member rate
From 139.00 NZD Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 139.00 NZD

Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments

Upscale hotel for business and leisure

Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments is located in the heart of the city. Located only minutes away from The Terrace, Lambton Quay, Courtenay Place and other main city attractions, it is ideal for business and leisure travellers. There are 54 modern and minimalist rooms with the choice of studio, one bedroom or two bedroom suites. At Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, you can look forward to an unforgettable stay in vibrant Wellington.

Just 20-minutes from Wellington Airport and located in the heart of the city, Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments is the perfect base for your holiday in New Zealand's capital. Just minutes from Te Papa Museum, Lambton Harbour and a plethora of shopping, dining and entertainment options, there's plenty to explore on foot, or head further afield to see the iconic Beehive parliament building and family-favourite, Wellington Zoo.

Hotel extras

Grand Mercure Wellington also offers a charge back from Abel Tasman Hotel Bistro 169, a 1 minute walk from the hotel.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 10h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • WIFI in your room
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
  • Breakfast
  • Fitness centre  (Nearby)
  • WELLINGTON
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • WIFI in your room
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
  • WELLINGTON
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre  (Nearby)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • Room service
    • Opening hours : Week 6:30-9:10
    • Opening hours : Week-end 6:30-9:10

Business services

  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments

130 Victoria Street
Te Aro
6142
WELLINGTON
NEW ZEALAND

Tel: (+64)4/3854166
Fax: (+64)4/3854167

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 10h00
Access and transport
  • WELLINGTON At 7.9km / 4.91 miles  - Shuttle paying
  • WELLINGTON CENTRAL At 0.8km / 0.5 miles

GPS : -41.291042, 174.775376

Our rooms

  • Apartment 1 Bedroom
    Apartment 1 Bedroom

    This stylish apartment offers a room with a queen size bed separate lounge area and kitchenette on request. Room features include high speed wireless internet, charges apply, LCD TV's, Sky channels. Maximum occupancy 2 people.

  • STUDIO ROOM
    STUDIO ROOM

    Well appointed room with queen size bed with ensuite, includes work desk and chair, microwave, tea and coffee making facilities provided & serviced daily, LCD TV's, Sky channels, High speed wireless internet, charges apply. Maximum occupancy 2 people.

  • Apartment 2 Bedroom
    Apartment 2 Bedroom

    2 separate bedrooms with separate lounge, full kitchen facilities and balcony. Comes with 1 Queen bed in each room, couch in lounge for 5th person, high speed wireless internet, charges apply, LCD TV with Sky channels. Maximum occupancy 5 people.

  • Apartment 1 Bedroom, Harbour View
    Apartment 1 Bedroom, Harbour View

    These apartments have stunning views of Wellington harbour and city. They also offer separate lounge area. Features include, high speed wireless internet, charges apply, LCD TV with Sky channels. Maximum occupancy 2 people.

  • 54 rooms
  • 54 non-smoking rooms
  • 3 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Crib on request
    • Iron in room
    • Microwave in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Hair dryer at reception
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our customer reviews for Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 458 reviews

Brett T 2016/07/27
« GREAT HELPFUL SERVICE - PERFECT SPOT & GREAT VALUE!!!! »

So this wont be the typical review - I have an entertainment company so get to send brilliant performers all over the country, I was looking for a central Hotel in Wellington that could look after my five dancers. This property was just the right fit and full kitchen facilities added bonus - I have started booking Accor Properties for all my entertainers WHY - because they just go out there way to accommodate and be very helpful. The front desk / booking was brilliant and the most important question would I go back there and YES is the answer

Grand Mercure W, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Brett, Thank you for your review of Grand Mercure Wellington. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The team takes great pride in the service they deliver and I was pleased to share your comments with them. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Wellington again soon. Sincerely Saurabh Doshi

sdmtech 2016/02/20
« WORST HOTEL IN 30 YEARS OF BUSINESS TRAVEL »

This would have to be the worst hotel I have stayed in over the years.... anywhere in the world. The rooms are the size of a prison cell with small windows AND NO AIR CONDITIONING!!! Even prison cells have air cond in this day and age!! The whole town was booked out, this was the last place available and it is obvious why no one would want to stay there voluntarily!

Grand Mercure W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am concerned to hear you did not enjoy your stay. I sincerely apologise that you found the room hot. We are currently working on solutions. Your feedback is very much appreciated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

NatashaM101 2015/09/30
« Meets Requirements »

Good location for weekend break in the city. Functional, clean rooms. We'd left a bag behind, we only realized on the way to the airport, we called the apartments to say we were on our way back, Natalya came out to taxi to hand over the bag. Only issue was the bed was uncomfortable, most likely due to being 2 twins put together rather than a proper double.

Grand Mercure W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear Natalya was very helpful and came out in a taxi to hand you the bag. It is also great to hear you enjoyed the location. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Alessandro B 2015/09/27
« Disappointing »

Helpful and friendly staff, but thats the only good comment I can make about the Grand Mercure. I found the apartment and the whole property shabby and outdated. The kitchenette in the apartment didnt have a sink, so I had to use the one in the bathroom!!!!!! The "living area" consists of two armchairs facing the wall. I also found a little leftover from sexual activities from previous guests at the foot of the bed. I was given a voucher for free unlimited internet thanks to my platinum status, but it kept freezing and disconnecting.. It was so slow I decided to use my mobile phone as a hotspot and use up my mobile data allowance. I really don't know how Accor can classify this as a four-star-property... for me it barely reaches three stars..

Grand Mercure W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I was concerned to hear your were disappointed with your stay. We value our platinum members and hoped you would have enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to a harbour view room. It is such a shame we were unaware during your stay you were not happy with your room. We would have done our best to ensure you were happy. I apologise a bottle of lubricant was found under the bed. Our experienced Housekeeper of 10 years is certain she checked under the bed. It is very unusual that this got missed when she checked under the bed. The team have been re-trained to check under the beds. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Your feedback is valued, appreciated and helpful. I hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

tripledoubles 2015/09/22
« Nice, but not quite what I had in mind »

After staying at the Novotel up the road a few months prior, I decided to give the Grand Mercure a try for my next business trip. Although overall I was satisfied with my stay, I was a little disappointed at the overall room once I got there. For a 4 star hotel, the overall amenities besides the bed was a bit disappointing. The bathroom, living area and kitchenette were quite basic and more in line with a 3 star or a motel. I would like to mention that the customer service was always fantastic, and happy to assist me with directions to good places around the hotel, or their partnered facilities (there are no gym or restaraunt facilities in the hotel) In summary, "Grand" Mercure is overstating things a bit, particularly with the 4 star rating and associated price tag, but would still recommend to people I knew with the aforementioned caveats

Grand Mercure W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and very helpful and assists us in providing the best possible service at all times. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Bruc1es 2015/09/13
« Handy to city attractions »

Great location right in the city center close to good restaurants and bars The Thief bar very handy in the alley next to hotel Staff good, property a bit tired with patches on the bathroom door and kitchen bench

Kate F 2015/09/07
« Great location »

Hotel is great location with just a few minutes walk to Cuba street and waterfront. Room is small but has everything needed - good for short stays but not if you want a hotel to relax in. Only really a place to sleep. Staff were least friendliest out of all staff on our trip in NZ was hard to get them to look up from computer and when asked a question always seemed like it was causing them an inconvenience. No restaurant or parking on location but both located short walk around the corner. WOuld recommend if you want a cheaper hotel to sleep only for a short trip.

ange502015 2015/08/23
« disappointed traveller »

We were very disappointed with the quality of our room. there was a vent in the bathroom which went straight thru the wall to the outside. And the Vent was filthy. Only 1x small Television screen in room. Lack of space. Parking off site. No concierge. No breakfast or bar available. Also paid top dollar so expected a high standard. We checked out and went to Novotel which was of the standard we expected. To be fair staff were helpful and did refund our money so we could rebook elsewhere.

Grand Mercure W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am pleased to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful. I was disappointed to hear our style of hotel did not match your requirements. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Wellington. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

AndrewC02 2015/06/23
« Okay hotel but not 'Grand' »

Average hotel and I'm not sure why Accor would use their 'Grand' branding. A front desk person seemed to have no idea about the streets or the area and limited in their 'helpfulness'. Was okay but I'm sure there is better.

Grand Mercure W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is appreciated and helps us to ensure we provide the best possible service at all times. We will ensure the team are better trained to assist with queries regarding streets. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

MrB1062 2015/06/17
« Great location, clean room but poor loyalty rewards »

An ideal place to explore Wellinton. Clean, tidy room was marred by rowdy heaters and extraction fans. My "free" loyalty drink on a "valid" voucher was denied because the baris closed Sundays. No alternative was offered.

Grand Mercure W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the great location. We value our loyalty members and sincerely apologise that you not given an alternative option for your drink voucher. This has been discussed with the team and we have a number of options available. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

yeates123 2015/06/16
« Holiday »

This hotel is very run down and i would say it is only 2 stars, it has no facilities at all.. Asked to be moved as the first room i was given smelt and the bathroom was disgusting, the sink was all chipped and looked worse than a public toilet. The second room was better but the hotel needs a revamp.

Grand Mercure W, General Manager at Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Your feedback is very helpful, valued and appreciated and assists us in making continual improvements. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Wellington. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 139.00 NZD Non member rate
From 139.00 NZD Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 130 m Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman
From
From 139.00 NZD Non member rate
From 139.00 NZD Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 560 m Mercure Wellington
Mercure Wellington
From
From N/A --- Non member rate
From N/A --- Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 780 m ibis Wellington
Hotel ibis Wellington
From
From 149.00 NZD Non member rate
From 149.00 NZD Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 810 m Novotel Wellington
Hotel Novotel Wellington
From
From 189.00 NZD Non member rate
From 189.00 NZD Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in WELLINGTON
Select your dates 139.00 NZD Rooms from 139.00 NZD