Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
149 Kings Road
BN1 2PP BRIGHTON
149 Kings Road
BN1 2PP BRIGHTON
This Brighton hotel is in a great spot on the seafront. The 4-star Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel is a grand Victorian landmark with period features. On Brighton seafront and close to The Lanes, complimentary high speed WiFi is available in the 116 contemporary guest rooms and throughout the hotel. Try the international dishes in The Brasserie or relax with a drink and sea views in The Bar. The 8 meeting rooms are can welcome up to 150 people for a presentation or wedding reception.
Just across the road from the promenade, the Mecure Brighton Seafront hotel is just a mile from Brighton railway station, with regular services to London Victoria, Gatwick Airport and England's Beautiful South Downs. The A23 is less than a mile away.
The grade 2 listed building has stuccoed Regency frontage, original mirrors, chandeliers and a high-ceilinged ballroom for celebrations. It brings some 19th century elegance to your stay in Brighton.
All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Upgrade to a room with a sea view. In privilege and superior rooms you 'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers.
Upgraded bedroom with sea view and balcony, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robes and slippers. Sleeps 2 Adults
Classic family bedroom for 2 adults and 1 child with flat-screen TV, en suite bathroom, complimentary high speed WiFi, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults and 1 child.
Classic family bedroom for 2 adults and 2 children, flat-screen TV, en suite bathroom, complimentary high speed WiFi, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults and 2 children.
Upgraded bedroom with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robes and slippers. Sleeps 2 Adults
Classic bedroom with 1 single bed, flat-screen TV, en suite bathroom, complimentary high speed WiFi, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 1 adult.
Classic bedroom with 1 double bed, flat-screen TV, en suite bathroom, complimentary high speed WiFi, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.
Classic bedroom with 2 single beds, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.
Upgraded bedroom with sea view, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.
Classic adapted bedroom with 1 double bed, flat screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.
Our best room! Superior bedroom with sea view, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.
The Brasserie offers traditional and internationally inspired cuisine, delicious desserts and a selection of fine wines to compliment your meal. Offering panoramic sea views you are welcome to have a light snack or a full 3 course meal.
Enjoy an aperitif and nibbles in the Brasserie Bar while surfing the Internet with complimentary WIFI access. Offering a range of wines, beers spirits as well as the full food menu, you can sit back and relax until you are ready to leave.
Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com
Right from word go the hotel staff couldn't do enough for my daughter and her boyfriend. They upgraded them to a privelege room for free as a surprise for her birthday, it was beautifully decorated, lovely and clean, and had extras like dressing gowns and slippers!
Thank you for your comments regarding your daughter recent Birthday Surprise weekend away. Greta to here she enjoyed her stay and that the staff were attentive throughout the say. Look forward to welcoming her back in the future. Iain Lindsay General Manager
We booked a Seaview room with a balcony over a month in advance of our stay. As we were going to be arriving later on a Friday evening we called earlier in the day to ensure our room was safe and reserved for us. We were assured on the phone this was fine and as we had booked in advance the room was indeed ready and waiting for us. So weary after a long tiring week at work and a long journey we arrived at the hotel. We were immediately told that the room we had booked was not available and that we had been put into a room without a balcony. We expressed our disbelief and displeasure at the situation but we're assured this was only for the first night and we would be moved first thing Saturday morning to our original room with the balcony. Bright and early I arrived in reception and spoke to the same gentlemen as the night before. I was immediately informed however that the room was not close to being ready and I would need to come back at 12 (check out time). I dutifully returned at 12 and again expressed my displeasure at the way we had been treated and was told that the room still was not ready and the man actually went to the effort of contacting housekeeping in front of me. He was told the person was going on a 15 min break but would clean our room after they returned. I was told to return to my room and await a call from the reception to tell me my room was ready. The call never came and at 18:00 I finally could not contain myself anymore and marched down to reception for the 3rd time that day. I immediately asked to see the hotel manager and was told that they were not available. I went through the situation with the deputy manager and very quickly it became clear that I had been lied too since I arrived at the hotel and the room I booked over a month in advance was never available!!! After a long discussion we were told the manager was going to be in the next day. We went back the next day explained the situation and our astonishment and the treatment we had received and the manager to her credit was very understanding and did reduce our bill considerably after we made it clear we would not pay the full amount. This ruined our weekend and has definitely decided we would never return to this hotel!
I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and that the balcony room you originally booked was not available on arrival. The manager on duty would reduce the bill for the balcony supplement and we would always acknowledge our mistake. I am disappointed you will not return to the hotel. Iain Lindsay
A superior room that has no ironing board, iron, fridge is disgusting for the Mercure brand. Elsewhere, these items are apparent across this brand. Hence why I chose this hotel. Not impressed. Additionally the restaurant closes at 9pm and food service is that of the bar; paninis, club sandwiches, pasta is not exactly the 4* experience. Otherwise it was pretty grubbly and unkempt. Balcony moss and growth around gutter ways. Furniture so weak and slim in wood, poor quality. Not what you'd expect in a 4* at all. Everything else was tired but acceptable. Having been so negative I would stay here again for the simplicity of location, a room for the night. But I would be rest assured to book the cheapest room as you get nothing in superior class rooms. Honestly, as a superior room it is dismal. you need to visit what you provide in your Mercure hotels in the others I've stayed in to reflect upon the state of Brighton Seafront Hotel. It saddens me that this one is the sore thumb of Mercure group. Look at comparing Brigstow Bristol (1st favourite), Hollandaise Bristol, Manchester, Leicester Grand (2d favourite), Glasgow (3rd favourite). I am a loyal customer and will remain so. However, Brighton is a failure as it does not meet the Mercure standards elsewhere at all. It makes the awful free-vend ibis styles brand look good. I trust you see my negativity as useful and that I am not going to waste my time on a follow up complaint about the standards here in Brighton.
Thank you for your review and I apologise we did not meet your expectations. The hotel has started a refurbishment with the Mews section of the building been competed including corridors. More improvements will follow however currently we do not have irons and ironing boards within our bedrooms and are on request from reception and fridges are not something we offer however I will suggest at our next planning meeting for the redevelopment of the hotel. Iain Lindsay General Manager
positive: general: excellent view to the sea, close to the beach room: spacy breakfast: good englisch and continental negative general: strong traffic between hotel and beach, parking close to hotel very expensive room: possibility for making tea and coffee in the room, light in bathroom also lighted sleeping room, no air-condition and window could not be opend completely and thus very hot, although obviously newly renovated the furniture was old-styled, noise from next room, bathroom: shower is not state-of-the art breakfast: only limited tables available, personal was more focused on checking room-number than on availablity of food
It great you enjoyed the views from the hotel and the proximity to the beach. The hotel is located in the centre of the city on the main coast road. Parking in Brighton is expensive however we have listened to our guests and changed the hotels parking prices to £15 which is lower than the local council parking in Regency Square. Unfortunately the hotel is a grade two listed building and unable to have air conditioning installed. At peak times for breakfast table are limited however I believe you enjoy the food in the morning. Iain Lindsay General Manager
I was looking forward to our first planned overnight in Brighton and to staying at the Mercure. From the photos of the rooms online it looked well appointed, spacious and we had a sea view. On arrival the front desk service was good and we managed to secure a parking space. However when we arrived in the room I was surprised to find it looked pretty down at heel, the furniture was worn, the carpet looked dated and even the bed covers were not of a 4 star standard. When we went to turn on the TV we found no remote in the room so had to have it brought up. We also asked for ice but were told it would be a 25-30 minute wait. In the end it arrived within 10 minutes but I expect due to mine/ my husband’s response to the initial wait time... The room and bathroom were clean but not as spacious as the photos appeared. There was a bathtub and a Grohe tap / controls but just an ordinary shower head. I just felt like the management wanted to spend as little as possible on the furnishings. Again when we checked out the desk service was very good and they offered to keep our car parking space until mid-afternoon. So I think it comes down to good reception service but disappointing room. For £250 I think better value can be had.
Thank you for your review and I am sorry you did not feel that you had value for money. There is only 16 sea view rooms in the building and are prices market appropriate. I am please you found the staff good and we managed to extend you car parking free of charge the following day. Once again I apologise we did not meet your expectation on value for money. Iain Lindsay
The hotel was old and needed work on it. Bedroom very small, window would not close tight as a result had draft all the time. Also had building works opposite window and woken up at 07.30 each morning. Bar staff the WORST I have come across. Would NOT stay there again.
I apologise we did not meet your expectations. The hotel has various sizes of bedrooms being an old building which has had bathrooms added since being built. I am sorry your window would not close properly and I will check with our Housekeeping department as to what rooms that has this problem. Unfortunately we cannot control any exterior works out of the building and we do not know what hours they are going to work. I will certainly discuss the bar staff performance with the Food and Beverage Manager. Iain Lindsay
When making a booking at this hotel: