Hotel addressPhoenix Way
SA7 9EG SWANSEA
How to reach the hotel
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+44)844/8159081
- Fax. (+44)179/2797535
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Swansea Hotel - hotel reviews in Swansea
Hotel code: 8332
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
"Family get together"
2nd September 2013, T2flea, Liverpool, United Kingdom
Have stayed at this hotel before and am very pleased with the service and location very relaxed breakfast times with up to midday on Sundays. Breakfasts were excellent and no request to troublesome. Rooms were cleaned and well maintained would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will probably be back next year.View management response »
Management responseDear T2flea,Many thanks for your kind review, and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to sunny Swansea.Best regards
"Good location, shame about the dirty walls in room"
30th August 2013
Good location. Reception staff was welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area and recommended places to eat, albeit Frankie and Bennys! Come on you most support your local eateries not the 'fast food chains'.Unfortunately the room walls had big grease and dirty marks on them. Something had been taken off the wall and no one had bothered to fill in the holes or re-decorate. Some effort had been made with regards to the soft furnishings - the curtains look new and the carpet. Room also smelt damp.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Thanks for your review. The room you were in had previously been occupied by a family for 8 weeks whose home had been flooded. Unfortunately there were as you state a lot of marks on the wall, and the holes you refer to were where the heater was which got damaged during the previous stay and had to be replaced. This room has now been fully repainted, plus a new wall heater has been put in. Please accept my most sincere apologies as this room shouldn't really have been let in this condition, and I have spoken to our housekeeper so as to ensure that such an incident does not re occuer.Best regards
"It is value for money. Comfortable room."
30th August 2013, 18Misty, London, United Kingdom
We stayed for only one night, but wished to stay longer as the room was very comfortable. The reception was not so friendly, but OK.The swimming pool and gym were smaller than we expected. The gym can be improved to attract more young/business customers.The sauna was set for 65C. It is much lower than the best temperature for sauna, which is 85C according to the guideline in Finland. This also can be improved.As this hotel is located a bit far from the centre, I think the improvement of the facilities is important. I think the quality of Mercure in France is much higher than in the UK. It is probably because Accor who runs Mercure is French company.View management response »
Management responseDear Misty,Thanks for your kind review. Not sure what happened with the sauna, it should be set on 82 - 83, so will need to investigate that one.Best regards
2nd August 2013, AJT2508, Plymouth
Had a great time, second stay at the Mercure. Within 5 minute drive of Swansea main town. The pool is warmer than most of my baths and the facilities are great with great service. Will definitely stay there again.View management response »
Management responseDear AJT 2508,Many thanks for your kind review, and great to see that you'll be staying back with us on any future trips to Swansea.Best regardsIan
"Tired, dated hotel - good location but needs attention"
23rd July 2013, NoisyDrinks, Dundee, United Kingdom
Great location with easy access. Car park was empty when we arrived and yet I was allocated a small, dark room (Rm120) - receptionist changed it without a quibble, but I could not understand why I was given this room when the hotel was quiet.Restaurant - vastly overpriced. Bar prices - exorbitant. Four star prices - but two star venues. We ate on the patio outside the restaurant (it was 30 Deg+) - 2 blokes arrived in shorts and flip-flops (nothing else) and sat down at the next table drinking and smoking but not eating. Clearly the patio is not considered part of the restaurant although there is a smokers area at the front of the hotel.All in all, I wouldn't stay there again - better value and standards are available elsewhere.View management response »
Management responseDear NoisyDrinks,Thanks for your review.Room 120 is on the inside corner of the coutyard, so a bit less light than other rooms. The hotel was 80% full on the night in question, and your view of this particular room is certainly subjective, as many people ask for inside coutyard rooms in the hot weather as these rooms are cooler. Smoking is permitted on the patio, though something we will maybe have to review.Best regards
16th July 2013, abcdefghijkl_13, Northampton, United Kingdom
We spent 4 days in and around Swansea and the Gower, the hotel was easy to find and offered everything we needed and more. The only slight let down was breakfast finishing too early. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was very clean with lots of information regarding local areas of interest etc. We will return to this hotel in the future.View management response »
Management responseDear Alphabet!,Many thanks for your kind review. Breakfast does run till 10 at weekends and in all school holidays, but we found during corporate weeks everyone had been through by 9 ish, and the food just sat under expensive hot lights getting ruined for the next hour. We now finish at 9.30, but in all honesty if anyone comes down after that we are quite happy to cook them a breakfast to order. Thanks for your feedback, as with all standards at the hotel everything is up for review at our quarterly quality management meetings so will put this point on agenda for discussion.Best regardsIan
"Overnight w/e stay"
1st March 2013, John1440, Slough, United Kingdom
Good location. Short drive to city centre & motorway connections. Leisure facilities good. Only stayed overnight and didn't use restaurant. One of the 2 rooms I'd booked smelt of cigarette smoke. I mentioned it to reception when I checked out and the receptionist stated that room could have been changed if I'd requested it, but it was more of an observation than a problem. (All rooms are non smoking). Will be using them again now I know how conveniently located it is. Staff very cheerful.View management response »
Management responseDear John,Thanks for your feedback. The hotel is totally non smoking, but as with all things in life some people break the rules occaisionally, though if we catch them they are thrown out and a £100 added to their bill. If the room attendant dtects a smoke smell where possible we will put the room off for a couple of days to air.Glad to hear that on the whole you were happy with your stay, and I will pass your kind comments on to the team regarding their cheerfulness.Look forawrd to seeing you again on your next trip to sunny Swansea.Best regards
"visit to home city of swansea to see sister"
22nd November 2012, mottbarry, Chelmsford, United Kingdom
staff friendly and helpful, room well equipped and tidy, public areas with wifi was helpful and food was great especially the sunday carvery. would stay again. 10 minutes by car from swansea and 30 minutes to beautiful Gower Peninsula with its fantastic beaches.View management response »
Management responseDear Mottbarry,Many thanks for your kind review.Best Regards
16th November 2012, GHMAN71, Runcorn, United Kingdom
Hotel room was tired and need a good clean and revamp. Bathroomhad been improved.Ordered the eggs benidict for breakfast, it come out on a teacup saucer and looked like a Bacon and egg mcmuffin, I think the chef had just come from mcdonalds. The muffin was rock hard and could not cut through. I stay at the Mercure Hotel in Letchworth alot and that is superb, Would highly recommend. Sorry guys and dolls, but would not stay again. I stay in Hoel 2-3 time a week all over the UK and never complain, This says it all.View management response »
Management responseDear GHMAN,Perhaps if you did complain that would make life easier for you and us. We don't often get food items wrong as can be evidenced by reading all the other reviews, however if we don't know you're not happy about a dish, we can't put it right, and tellng me your eggs benedict was not good in an on line rewiew gives me no chance of correcting things, and finding out who cooked it & presented it that way,..Perhaps I'm old fashoined, but I'd prefer to know right away if someone's not happy s o we can endeavour to resolve matters.Best regards
9th August 2012, stgo2004, Leigh, United Kingdom
car park was full in the evening, room had no air conditioning (heater and fan)/slightly damp smell to bathroom, may have been a smoker in there as previous occupant?have stayed at better mercures but there did seem to be a lot going on and the bars were very busy. 5/10View management response »
Management responseDear Stgo,Many thanks for your review
17th July 2012, London, United Kingdom
Lovely quite location our room overlooked a lake. As we were staying for 4 nights we asked for an upgrade so our room was quite big with a sofa. We found the bed to be a little hard. We didnt eat in the hotel. There is a pool which again we didnt use. All the staff were very friendly and plesant.. The location is a bit odd as its in the middle of a business park but with lots of greenery, large supermarkets a 5mins again by car so very handy. A bonus is that the car parking is free. Would stay here again especially as we got a discount price.View management response »
Management responseDear Guest,Many thanks for your review.Best regardsIan Harding-Jones
"A Hidden Gem in Swansea"
8th July 2012, Woking, United Kingdom
Splendid staff and teamwork throughout the hotel and restaurant. Everyone cheerful and anxious to please. Room well designed and easy to live in. Food in restaurant good, and staff very willing to arrange variations (eg fresh fruit salad, even though not on menu).View management response »
Management responseDear Old Traveller,Many thanks for your review, as with all reviews I shall post your comments onto the staff noticeboard for the team to see.
"A very nice hotel"
13th June 2012, Daviesr1, Thatcham, United Kingdom
Veery satisfactory stay, the rooms spacious and clean, the bed comfortable. We had a good meal in the restaurant, and the hotel has plenty of free parking. Location not far from Swansea centre.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.
Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.