Mercure Swansea Hotel
SA7 9EG SWANSEA
SA7 9EG SWANSEA
Enjoy tranquil lake views at the Mercure Swansea Hotel, a gateway to the Brecon Beacons and Gower Peninsula. This 3-star Swansea hotel is set in landscaped grounds, 3 miles from the city centre. Complimentary high speed WiFi is available in the 119 guest rooms and throughout the hotel. The Brasserie and Bar welcome you after a day of exploring. Wind down in the Feel Good Health Club; relax in the indoor heated pool or work out in the fitness centre. The 9 meeting rooms welcome up to 100 people.
Three miles from Swansea city centre, the Mecure Swansea hotel is set in landscaped grounds. The beaches of the Gower Peninsula are just nine miles away.
Relax on the doorstep of stirring Welsh countryside and after a day tramping the hills and coast, come back to a drink by the roaring fire in our cosy bar or head into Swansea for a day's shopping and a night on the town.
All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers.
Classic family bedroom for 2 adults and 1 child with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults and 1 child.
Classic family bedroom for 2 adults and 2 children, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults and 2 children.
Upgraded bedroom with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.
Our best room! Superior suite with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.
Classic bedroom with 1 double bed, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.
Classic bedroom with 2 single beds, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.
Classic adapted bedroom with 1 double bed, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.
Soak up the atmosphere in our restaurant and enjoy inspiring views over the surrounding area. Choose from a diverse collection of mouthwatering dishes prepared using fresh and local produce. Don't forget to try one of our delicious desserts too.
After walking in the Welsh hills, tuck into scones and clotted cream for afternoon tea. Sip a Welsh whisky by the fire in the bar, or take to your rooms and order from our 24 hour menu.
Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com
Having stayed here from 16th to 19th March my husband & I were very impressed.On our arrival we were greeted by Chris who was very informative & nothing was too much trouble for him at any time.Our room well kept,comfy bed but sorry to say hard pillows.I did ask for them to be changed & this was done but they were no better.In the bathroom 1 shower gel & 1 shampoo for two people,this was not enough so asked Paula for more & this was rectified with no problem at all,a lovely lady.Breakfast in the morning first class & how hard the girls work,thank you Isalezila,Andrea,Brenda & Wendy.I noticed one morning that one of the guests had been poorly & this lady was brought prunes & cheese on toast which she asked for,that was lovely.Only one problem here at this hotel ,the bar prices,£8 for a glass of wine,I don't think so & the menu very expensive.I am sure that if the prices were lower there would be more trade.To the manager of this hotel you should be very proud of all your staff,too many to mention.Thank you again for a lovely stay & we will return.
Dear Sian H, Thank you for taking the time to post a review further to your recent stay, and great to hear that overall you had a lovely stay and would return. Will take on board the couple of issues you raised, plus thank you for individually naming the members of staff who you found were particularly helpful, as this really does keep their spirits up when its super busy. Best regards Ian H Jones General Manager
Staying at this hotel gave me the impression it is an old and tired hotel, a little rough around the edges ..... the room was quiet which was a bonus but the previous occupent was clearly a smoker! The room was cold and the storage heater not able to warm it up, totaly different from a colleague in another room who remarked it was like staying in a sauna. I think if I'm ever in Swansea again I will stay in Cardiff and drive the next morning. Shame as Mercure are a good hotel chain. I think you get what you pay for - I suppose it wasnt too bad for the money
Dear Paul 4747474747, Thank you for taking the time to feed back further to your recent stay. Every room in the hotel is the same size, they all have the same heater in, so the only way that your colleague could have a sauna temperature, and you an arctic temperature is if his thermostat was turned up and yours turned down. The room attendants are trained to set them all on 3, so my apologies if this was not the case. Glad to hear that otherwise you thought it was not too bad for the money. Best regards Ian H-Jones
Can't really knock this hotel as the rate that we paid was very low for a Mercure property, yes it's tired, would guess that the ground floor rooms haven't been changed since the eighties but they are clean and functional and at least the mattress was new and comfortable. This property has seen life as a Premier Inn, a Hilton National and is now a Mercure which appears to be the flag of convenience for Accor, time for the owners to invest some money now as Mercure brand standards lacking in some areas. Staff try hard and are friendly but restaurant understaffed on a busy night with a coach party having dinner, menu descriptions do not always relate to what you receive on the plate. Location is quite pleasant and only a short drive to the beach, all in all good value for money, would stay again for the right price, a lick of paint/varnish on the room doors would go a long way to improving overall perception.
Dear Magellen 2013, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel further to your recent stay, and glad to hear that you found us good value for money, and that you would stay again at the right price. We are gradually working our way through refurbishing, and the ground floor rooms are next. For the record these rooms were last refurbished in 2004, and we have never been a Premier Inn. The Hotel opened in 1987 as a Ladbroke Lodge then 1990 Hilton, 1999Jarvis, 2002 Ramada Jarvis, and then 2013 we became a Mercure. Best regards Ian
I used to live in Swansea, now visit frequently, sometimes staying with relatives. Once in a while, I want to be independent so my wife booked us into the Mercure Hotel. I said but that is not in the centre of Swansea or near the beach! She said, it is reasonably priced, free parking, it has a restaurant and a good buffet breakfast. So we booked a few days. It was only then that I noticed that there is a swimming pool, gymnasium and a beautiful lake right next door that provides a lovely - fresh air morning walk. The staff are very friendly and the accommodation is very comfortable. A taxi into Swansea city centre is cheap. So now, we stay there whenever we visit Swansea, more relaxing than staying with relatives :)
friendly welcome, really nice lobby and restaurant. One of those hotel that accept dog. rooms looks a bit hold. could not open the window, eating system, really basic , not as we could except from Mercure. 15minutes from downtown. good price Vs quality
All staff were very friendly and eager to help. Room could do with a refresh, but clean. Good value. There always seems to be a relaxed atmosphere there. Internet access is good and Breakfast catered well for everyone.
Used Mercure Swansea for a Friday to Sunday break to go walking on the Gower coast. It was a special offer with breakfast and one evening meal included. Hotel on Retail Park but shielded by grass and trees with a lovely walking area around the nearby lake. We took our dog and were made welcome by friendly staff. Room was clean and comfortable, decoration a bit tired. Breakfast was good with full English provided. Three course evening meal also good. There were large parties in on Friday and Saturday night but we were not disturbed in our part of the hotel although we heard others complain about the noise. We would use again because of being able to take our dog for a small extra charge and the friendliness of the staff.
Though we have stayed here many times before,this was the first time we had stayed since becoming disabled. We found that the rooms are not equipped to deal with wheelchairs and consequently struggled to use the bathroom instead using the disabled toilet in the lobby. this is a lovely hotel though and worth the money for the rooms in general. Service has always been good.
Dear Kerry J, Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All our disbled rooms are DDA compliant, though the public facilities are more up to date as they were recently re done. Best regards Ian
The staff were very friendly and the buffet breakfasts on both mornings were excellent. We wanted a dog friendly hotel and this was definitely a hotel for that. Just a couple of minutes walk there was a beautiful lake with grassy areas where you could laze about outside. There was also plenty of garden attached to the hotel.
Dear Sgd61, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, I was so please to hear you had such an enjoyable stay, It was so great to see that you had such a good time you have awarded us 5 out of 5 on the score board, I have passed your lovely comments on to the team as it truly is a testiment to their hard work that all of the team here put into looking after our guests. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the beautiful lake behind the hotel along our large garden and patio area, it is lovely to relax on a warm summers evening with a glass of wine it is so peaceful. I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon. Thank you once again for your kind review and glad to hear you found everything to be in order during your stay. Best wishes,
Stayed at this hotel because it was dog friendly. Was excellent for dogs, with great dog walking. Staff were great, especially the housekeeping staff....so friendly! The food was the only thing that let it down, it was just ok, nothing more. We would definitely stay here again though.
Dear AnneC, Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, and for the awarding of 4 out of 5 stars. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to trying for the full five stars if you do return again. Best regards Ian
I booked on this site as it was the cheapest for a family room. We got to the hotel late at night and found out that our room we booked for was already booked and that we would have to stay in a double room instead. When I queried this saying I paid for a family room with a double bed and a single they told me that sites like this one just keep booking people in to rooms even if there are none available and leave the hotel to worry about sorting it. I am unhappy with this as I wouldn't of used this site or booked in that hotel if I knew they didn't have this room available. Luckily my son stayed with a relative so me and my girlfriend had the separate beds. I won't be using sites like these again as it could of ended differently.
Hi Richard H, Very confused here; - Not sure if you have got the right hotel. We have over 30 family rooms, and have not been overbooked on family rooms apart from NYE, when we simply upgraded anyone who we couldn't do a family room for to interconnecting rooms. Not sure what sites you are referring to, as we work with lots of third party booking sites, and they all sell live inventory so can't sell rooms unless they are available. Perhaps you could ring me to discuss this issue and I can then look into it assuming you have the right hotel ? Best Regards Ian H Jones
We booked this hotel because it is near Morriston hospital and we had stayed there before. We ended up staying for over a week and received the best service I have ever received home or abroad. Every member of staff was dedicated to making sure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. They knew our room number and were very friendly and helpful. The problems caused by the online booking were swiftly overcome by the staff and as we had to book extra nights we received every help we needed from reception. The rooms were spotless although I advise turning the heating off as the building is very warm. The restaurant was good and food delicious. The hotel is not able to offer the deals on the website so we had to book extra nights via the website. The Mercure website is rather difficult to manage and can give different prices for the same room but once we worked out how to book then we were able to do so. It is a shame that Mercure do not give local managers more discretion as we ended up making 5 bookings via the website for one stay.
Dear KWJ-12, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel and for the awarding of five stars. It was great to hear that enjoyed your stay so much and found the team here to be efficient and freindly. With regard to your reservation difficulties, there is no reason why a receptionist here shouldn't have been able to extend your stay on our best available rate, and I shall look into why this didn't happen. It may well be that we have a couple of newbies on reception, and to start with we encourage them to direct all reservations to our central reservations office as there are so many offers out there, with so many terms and conditions that they can get tied up in knots. Thanks once again for your feedback regards
When making a booking at this hotel: