Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel
Upton St Leonards
GL4 8ED GLOUCESTER
Upton St Leonards
GL4 8ED GLOUCESTER
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel set in the Cotswolds is a beautiful Georgian country house hotel that boasts 12 acres of sweeping parkland. Recently refurbished public areas have brought this hotel back to its former glory, boasting a breathtaking blend of traditional and contemporary design. Locally inspired artworks, bespoke crystal chandeliers, and soft pastel shades create a leisurely atmosphere with a touch of English elegance.
The Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall is 3 miles from Gloucester railway station and the theatre at Gloucester Guildhall. Explore chocolate-box Upton St Leonards, step back in time at Painswick Rococo Garden, or clamber up escarpments in the Cotswolds.
We would like to advise all of our guests that we currently have refurbishment works taking place in our reception area, bar, restaurant and guest lounges. We would like to confirm that we will endeavour to ensure that this causes minimum disruption.
All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Upgrade to our superior room with lake view, and lounge around whilst browsing the morning papers or flicking through complimentary magazines.
Classic family bedroom for 2 adults and 1 child with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults and 1 child.
Classic family bedroom for 2 adults and 2 children, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults and 2 children.
Upgraded bedroom with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.
Classic bedroom with 1 double bed, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.
Classic bedroom with 2 single beds, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.
One of our best rooms! Superior four poster bedroom with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.
The hotel's friendly, professional team make sure dishes from the Brasserie Menu are served just the way you like. Order afternoon tea with scones and tempting snacks from the lounge menu, or take advantage of room service 24 hours a day.
The Club lounge bar offers a range of wines, beers, spirits and soft drinks with helpful and experienced bar staff to ensure that you have everything you need. Light meals are available in the bar allowing you to continue relaxing.
Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com
Stayed here twice before and have enjoyed our stay every time. Staff are very friendly, food is good, and rooms are plenty big enough, in good condition. Big bed and comfy too. We had a two night b&b package with one evening meal, good value and ideal for our three day trip to the Cotswolds. The decorators were in during our stay but not a problem and as they had just finished the lounge and restaurant we had it all brand spanking new. Very Nice!! We liked the old style but think the new look is very impressive. We will be back
Dear ForzaRobur We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Bowden Hall Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Gavin General Manager
Whilst the grounds were lovely, the hotel was undergoing refurbishment which although mentioned on the website a week before our stay, there was no mention of it at the time of booking. Some areas were very tired looking. On arrival we spent a pleasant afternoon sat on the terrace, which was followed by dinner in what appeared to be the lobby of the hotel as the restaurant was being prepared for a wedding. Food was fine although a little overpriced for what was ordered. We were allocated a room on the top floor - 422. The temperature in the room was overbearingly hot, even with the window open with no air conditioning unit. Throughout the night, we were subjected to a constant hum which reverberated through the bed and prevented sleep. At 5am, after no sleep we reported it to the night manager who advised us that this was the hotel fans and that this was at its worst at 5-5.30 when the chef arrives and activates the kitchen extractor fans. He told us to inform the receptionist later in the day which we did. She was apologetic and promptly moved us to another room (which was equally as hot but with no noise) and advised that there would be a gesture of goodwill credited to my debit card used for the booking, despite the hotel having credit card details on arrival.Three days later this has still not been done. Overall, a disappointing stay.
Dear maryhA1946BO Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Bowden Hall. We were extremely concerned to learn that you did not experience a good night's sleep during your first night with us but glad that our Reception team were able to relocate you to a more comfortable room. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Fans are supplied and situated in the wardrobes of the rooms which do not contain air conditioning or one can be requested via Reception. With regards to credit going back on to your card, if you would be so kind as to email our General Manager Mr Gavin Jones - firstname.lastname@example.org he will personally look into this for you and hopefully get it rectified as soon as possible. With regards to the refurbishment, we currently have a temporary restaurant set up in our main function room the Lakeside Suite which so far guests have been happy to dine here as it is a spacious and quiet part of the hotel. Our menu prices are in keeping with the market for a 4 star hotel and we receive many compliments on our food. The current refurbishment of our public areas, Dearman's Restaurant and reception area are due for completion next month with the aim of causing as little disruption to guests as possible. We do hope that you will consider returning to our hotel once all the refurbishment works have been completed so that we can restore your faith in our hotel. Kind Regards Rebecca Howard
A lovely property housed in wonderful grounds. A very relaxing stay. All staff very friendly and helpful. Food to a very high standard. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a quiet break. Easy access into Gloucester.
Dear ryanmark Thank you for your recommendation for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We were really pleased to read that everything was to your satisfaction with your recent stay particularly with regards to the welcome from our team and the meals you had with us. I will pass on your kind comments to those that ensured your stay with us was such a memorable one. We are fortunate to be situated in such quiet idyllic surroundings yet close enough to local towns and attractions to be used as a base for exploring. Gloucester city is only a 10 minute drive away making us an ideal location for a relaxing break. We do hope we are able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Rebecca Howard
Unfortunately there is no lift in this hotel so being on the 4 th floor was a bit of a struggle for my 75 year old mother. The staff are lovely and the food is very good.we booked privelige rooms but no where near as good as the Mercure Exeter hotel that was pure luxury in comparison. When we booked it stated free gift on arrival at hotel which we were not given so my husband had to ask and we were told the bottle of water in the room was it.the manager conceded and gave us a bottle of wine instead so it was a real flop of a weekend as there were no facilities either like swimming pool or
Dear nicky_white50 Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We were sorry to read that not every aspect of our hotel lived up to your expectations. Guests are advised to request a ground floor or first floor room should they have any mobility issues whatsoever as we do not have a lift to all floors. We do however had a platform lift for wheelchair users or the elderly who cannot manage stairs. Our Privilege rooms are on the top floor so that guests may experience the wonderful views of the hotel grounds and the surrounding countryside. We do hope that you were all comfortable however and enjoyed a good night's sleep. With regards to leisure facilities, the hotel has not had a leisure club for the last 2 years and this information was updated on any website featuring our hotel. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused to your weekend. We were pleased to read that our team looked after you during the course of your stay and that you enjoyed all of your meals with us. We do hope we are able to welcome you back to our hotel again one day. Kind Regards Rebecca Howard
it has been a number of years since we stayed at Bowden Hall but we were not disappointed when we retuned last weekend. Although the weather was not the best, the comfort of the hotel facilities, the helpful and friendly staff and the good food made it a most enjoyable stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the lounges great to relax in and the surrounding views are magnificent. Our bedroom was on the third floor and the room was a bit hot even with the window wide open, but the bed was comfortable with crisp white bed linen and the room was fine. It was the polite and friendly staff that made our stay particularly delightful. We will definitely go back!
Dear Elaine H Thank you for your review for Bowden Hall. We were delighted to read that your return visit lived up to your expectations recently. It was a pleasure to read that every aspect of your stay from your room to the food and the service you received from our team did not disappoint. We receive many compliments regarding our staff and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments. Bowden certainly has that homely and comfortable feel about it particularly in the public areas such as our lounges. They are so peaceful with scenic views of our wonderful grounds. We do hope that we will be welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon. Kind Regards Rebecca Howard
Our stay at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, was as usual for a Mercure hotel very pleasant. The checking in was very quick even though there was awedding taking place. I had booked the Friday through to the Sunday morning a two night stay with dinner first night and breakfast both mornings. On arrival the receptionist asked us for a time we wanted dinner and we agreed 7.30pm. On arriving to our room on the 3rd floor it was clean tidy & had the usual amenities (tea, coffee ect) At dinner that night we were made to feel expected and the staff were very polite. There is normally a special menu to choose from apart from the normal menu, which there wasn't this time, which was the only slightly downside, but non the less the meal both my wife and I chose was very nice and good value for money. The first nights sleep was made slightly uncomfortable because it was very hot, I was aware of a electric fan in the wardrobe which I used on the second night. Breakfast both mornings was excellent, as was the service. I paid £139.00 all in & bearing in mind the dinner allowance was £22.00 per head and breakfast £13.95 I think it is excellent value as both breakfast and dinner each is £49.90 meaning the rooms cost £24.60 per night
Dear Roger P Thank you for your review. Firstly may we wish you a very Happy Anniversary and we are delighted that you chose to mark the occasion by staying with us for 2 nights recently. It was a pleasure to read that you were very looked after, from check in right through to your last morning with us. Our staff make us exceptionally proud and we feel they make the hotel what it is by providing a level of service so rarely found in many hotels nowadays. We were glad that you enjoyed a comfortable night's stay eventually after being made aware of the electric fan in your wardrobe. It can get very warm in the hotel during the summer months but pleased again, that our team looked after you. There are some fantastic deals for our hotel currently and we were really glad that you and your wife were able to make the most of one. We do hope you had a wonderful weekend celebrating and thank you for choosing our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Rebecca Howard
We were very disappointed with the overall experience, because of - the hotel was shabby, in need of a facelift. In particular the dining room needed repainting. We sat near a window that was covered in dead flies and dust and the windows needed repainting (not an ideal dining experience) - At breakfast when we went to pick up a clean plate they were covered in food remnants, as were the next half dozen or so. - The bedroom window would not stay open, kept sliding closed - The reception area is sparsely decorated, and unwelcoming as was the receptionist, no warm welcome. - This is advertised as a 4 star hotel, however we do not feel this a 4 star hotel because there are a number of things we expected to have we did not get, e.g. no refrigerator in the room, no shower cap, rough and threadbare towels, very small TV screen with very limited channels - On leaving we were being charged for a newspaper we did not ask for and the receptionist gave the impression that she did not believe us and only grudgingly removed the charge
Dear 48AGH48 Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience. Yours sincerely, Gavin Jones
The hotel is beautifully sited with greenery all around and is very quiet. The bedroom was nicely appointed, with a pleasant ambience, decorated in soft blue/green tones. The one down side was the restaurant which served pub style food and a limited menu at breakfast. the restuarant looked rather bare as it had recently been redecorated and there were no curtains up or pictures on the walls.
Dear Julie A Thank you for your review. We were glad to read that you experienced a quiet and comfortable stay here at Bowden Hall recently. We are very fortunate to be located in a very pretty part of the Gloucestershire countryside in a small rural village on the outskirts of the Cotswolds. This makes our hotel an ideal venue for a tranquil retreat if you wish to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. With regards to our menu for both the Dearmans Restaurant and the bar, it is presented as a modern bistro style menu which is comprehensive and has been designed to cater to all tastes. We were sorry to read it was not to your requirements. Many of the dishes are indeed served to restaurant standard and some are more relaxed. Our breakfast buffet menu consists of both hot and cold choices again, there should be plentiful choice for every guest with a few made to order items on the table menus. We rarely receive complaints about our food choices so we apologise if this did not meet with your expectations. However we do hope that you decide to visit Bowden Hall again in the future for another relaxing stay. Kind Regards Rebecca Howard
When making a booking at this hotel: