Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel
Upton St Leonards
GL4 8ED GLOUCESTER
Upton St Leonards
GL4 8ED GLOUCESTER
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel set in the Cotswolds is a beautiful Georgian country house hotel that boasts 12 acres of sweeping parkland. Recently refurbished public areas have brought this hotel back to its former glory, boasting a breathtaking blend of traditional and contemporary design. Locally inspired artworks, bespoke crystal chandeliers, and soft pastel shades create a leisurely atmosphere with a touch of English elegance.
The Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall is 3 miles from Gloucester railway station and the theatre at Gloucester Guildhall. Explore chocolate-box Upton St Leonards, step back in time at Painswick Rococo Garden, or clamber up escarpments in the Cotswolds.
We would like to advise all of our guests that we currently have refurbishment works taking place in our reception area, bar, restaurant and guest lounges. We would like to confirm that we will endeavour to ensure that this causes minimum disruption.
All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Upgrade to our superior room with lake view, and lounge around whilst browsing the morning papers or flicking through complimentary magazines.
Classic bedroom with 1 double bed, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.
Classic bedroom with 2 single beds, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults.
Classic family bedroom for 2 adults and 1 child with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults and 1 child.
Classic family bedroom for 2 adults and 2 children, flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, en suite bathroom, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sleeps 2 adults and 2 children.
Upgraded bedroom with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.
One of our best rooms! Superior four poster bedroom with flat-screen TV, complimentary high speed WiFi, Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Sleeps 2 adults.
The hotel's friendly, professional team make sure dishes from the Brasserie Menu are served just the way you like. Order afternoon tea with scones and tempting snacks from the lounge menu, or take advantage of room service 24 hours a day.
The Club lounge bar offers a range of wines, beers, spirits and soft drinks with helpful and experienced bar staff to ensure that you have everything you need. Light meals are available in the bar allowing you to continue relaxing.
Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com
At the super-bargain rate for a two-night stay (including breakfast, plus dinner on our first night) on the Mercure web-site, this was excellent value. You have to work hard on the web-site to find the best deal, but it#s worth the effort. The hotel coped well with the large coach parties which (presumably together with weddings) represent its most lucrative income-stream. But individual guests were nor forgotten, and the service at breakfast and dinner was excellent. Food at dinner also very good; help-yourself-hot-buffet-breakfast not quite so good. You can just hear (but not see) the M5 traffic, and the wooded surroundings make the situation very pleasant. If we stayed again, I'd be tempted to ask for a room with a view, and a lighter duvet - and certainly NO mattress-topper! Even allowing for the exceptionally mild late-October temperatures, we were uncomfortably hot on the first night.
Stayed here twice before and have enjoyed our stay every time. Staff are very friendly, food is good, and rooms are plenty big enough, in good condition. Big bed and comfy too. We had a two night b&b package with one evening meal, good value and ideal for our three day trip to the Cotswolds. The decorators were in during our stay but not a problem and as they had just finished the lounge and restaurant we had it all brand spanking new. Very Nice!! We liked the old style but think the new look is very impressive. We will be back
Dear ForzaRobur We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Bowden Hall Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Gavin General Manager
Whilst the grounds were lovely, the hotel was undergoing refurbishment which although mentioned on the website a week before our stay, there was no mention of it at the time of booking. Some areas were very tired looking. On arrival we spent a pleasant afternoon sat on the terrace, which was followed by dinner in what appeared to be the lobby of the hotel as the restaurant was being prepared for a wedding. Food was fine although a little overpriced for what was ordered. We were allocated a room on the top floor - 422. The temperature in the room was overbearingly hot, even with the window open with no air conditioning unit. Throughout the night, we were subjected to a constant hum which reverberated through the bed and prevented sleep. At 5am, after no sleep we reported it to the night manager who advised us that this was the hotel fans and that this was at its worst at 5-5.30 when the chef arrives and activates the kitchen extractor fans. He told us to inform the receptionist later in the day which we did. She was apologetic and promptly moved us to another room (which was equally as hot but with no noise) and advised that there would be a gesture of goodwill credited to my debit card used for the booking, despite the hotel having credit card details on arrival.Three days later this has still not been done. Overall, a disappointing stay.
Dear maryhA1946BO Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Bowden Hall. We were extremely concerned to learn that you did not experience a good night's sleep during your first night with us but glad that our Reception team were able to relocate you to a more comfortable room. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Fans are supplied and situated in the wardrobes of the rooms which do not contain air conditioning or one can be requested via Reception. With regards to credit going back on to your card, if you would be so kind as to email our General Manager Mr Gavin Jones - email@example.com he will personally look into this for you and hopefully get it rectified as soon as possible. With regards to the refurbishment, we currently have a temporary restaurant set up in our main function room the Lakeside Suite which so far guests have been happy to dine here as it is a spacious and quiet part of the hotel. Our menu prices are in keeping with the market for a 4 star hotel and we receive many compliments on our food. The current refurbishment of our public areas, Dearman's Restaurant and reception area are due for completion next month with the aim of causing as little disruption to guests as possible. We do hope that you will consider returning to our hotel once all the refurbishment works have been completed so that we can restore your faith in our hotel. Kind Regards Rebecca Howard
A lovely property housed in wonderful grounds. A very relaxing stay. All staff very friendly and helpful. Food to a very high standard. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a quiet break. Easy access into Gloucester.
Dear ryanmark Thank you for your recommendation for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We were really pleased to read that everything was to your satisfaction with your recent stay particularly with regards to the welcome from our team and the meals you had with us. I will pass on your kind comments to those that ensured your stay with us was such a memorable one. We are fortunate to be situated in such quiet idyllic surroundings yet close enough to local towns and attractions to be used as a base for exploring. Gloucester city is only a 10 minute drive away making us an ideal location for a relaxing break. We do hope we are able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Rebecca Howard
Unfortunately there is no lift in this hotel so being on the 4 th floor was a bit of a struggle for my 75 year old mother. The staff are lovely and the food is very good.we booked privelige rooms but no where near as good as the Mercure Exeter hotel that was pure luxury in comparison. When we booked it stated free gift on arrival at hotel which we were not given so my husband had to ask and we were told the bottle of water in the room was it.the manager conceded and gave us a bottle of wine instead so it was a real flop of a weekend as there were no facilities either like swimming pool or
Dear nicky_white50 Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We were sorry to read that not every aspect of our hotel lived up to your expectations. Guests are advised to request a ground floor or first floor room should they have any mobility issues whatsoever as we do not have a lift to all floors. We do however had a platform lift for wheelchair users or the elderly who cannot manage stairs. Our Privilege rooms are on the top floor so that guests may experience the wonderful views of the hotel grounds and the surrounding countryside. We do hope that you were all comfortable however and enjoyed a good night's sleep. With regards to leisure facilities, the hotel has not had a leisure club for the last 2 years and this information was updated on any website featuring our hotel. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused to your weekend. We were pleased to read that our team looked after you during the course of your stay and that you enjoyed all of your meals with us. We do hope we are able to welcome you back to our hotel again one day. Kind Regards Rebecca Howard
When making a booking at this hotel: