Hotel - Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall  Hotel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel

Bondend Lane  Upton St Leonards 
GL4 8ED  GLOUCESTER
UNITED KINGDOM

744 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 744 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 69.00 GBP Non member rate
From 62.10 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Select your dates 69.00 GBP
Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 15  GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Ski hire facilities  (Nearby)

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 15  GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Leisure and activities

  • Ski hire facilities  (Nearby)

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Upgrade to our superior room with lake view, and lounge around whilst browsing the morning papers or flicking through complimentary magazines.

  • 72 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Trouser press in room
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Manual temperature control
    • Automatic temperature control
    • Crib on request
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer at reception
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our customer reviews for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall Hotel

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating4.0/5 Based on 744 reviews

Antondec 2017/01/09
« Big wallet needed. »

Eye watering bar prices, expensive food, tired rooms no lift, there are much better Mercure hotels than this.There is a Pub nearby where we eat well including drinks for the price of one Steak grill at the hotel, after all its Gloucester, not Mayfair..

BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Antondec Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback we receive on Trip Advisor. We were sorry that not everything was to your satisfaction during your stay with us recently. Our bar and restaurant prices are keeping within market guidelines for a 4 star hotel and we do feel that the quality of the food and drink we serve is reflected by this. We do hope that every other element of your time with us was up to standard and that you will visit us again. Kind Regards Rebecca Howard

Duncan W 2016/10/30
« Very good value »

At the super-bargain rate for a two-night stay (including breakfast, plus dinner on our first night) on the Mercure web-site, this was excellent value. You have to work hard on the web-site to find the best deal, but it#s worth the effort. The hotel coped well with the large coach parties which (presumably together with weddings) represent its most lucrative income-stream. But individual guests were nor forgotten, and the service at breakfast and dinner was excellent. Food at dinner also very good; help-yourself-hot-buffet-breakfast not quite so good. You can just hear (but not see) the M5 traffic, and the wooded surroundings make the situation very pleasant. If we stayed again, I'd be tempted to ask for a room with a view, and a lighter duvet - and certainly NO mattress-topper! Even allowing for the exceptionally mild late-October temperatures, we were uncomfortably hot on the first night.

ForzaRobur 2016/07/20
« Super Hotel and Brand New Restaurant too !! »

Stayed here twice before and have enjoyed our stay every time. Staff are very friendly, food is good, and rooms are plenty big enough, in good condition. Big bed and comfy too. We had a two night b&b package with one evening meal, good value and ideal for our three day trip to the Cotswolds. The decorators were in during our stay but not a problem and as they had just finished the lounge and restaurant we had it all brand spanking new. Very Nice!! We liked the old style but think the new look is very impressive. We will be back

BowdenHall, General Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ForzaRobur We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Bowden Hall Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Gavin General Manager

maryhA1946BO 2016/06/08
« Hot rooms »

Whilst the grounds were lovely, the hotel was undergoing refurbishment which although mentioned on the website a week before our stay, there was no mention of it at the time of booking. Some areas were very tired looking. On arrival we spent a pleasant afternoon sat on the terrace, which was followed by dinner in what appeared to be the lobby of the hotel as the restaurant was being prepared for a wedding. Food was fine although a little overpriced for what was ordered. We were allocated a room on the top floor - 422. The temperature in the room was overbearingly hot, even with the window open with no air conditioning unit. Throughout the night, we were subjected to a constant hum which reverberated through the bed and prevented sleep. At 5am, after no sleep we reported it to the night manager who advised us that this was the hotel fans and that this was at its worst at 5-5.30 when the chef arrives and activates the kitchen extractor fans. He told us to inform the receptionist later in the day which we did. She was apologetic and promptly moved us to another room (which was equally as hot but with no noise) and advised that there would be a gesture of goodwill credited to my debit card used for the booking, despite the hotel having credit card details on arrival.Three days later this has still not been done. Overall, a disappointing stay.

BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maryhA1946BO Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Bowden Hall. We were extremely concerned to learn that you did not experience a good night's sleep during your first night with us but glad that our Reception team were able to relocate you to a more comfortable room. Please accept our sincerest apologies. Fans are supplied and situated in the wardrobes of the rooms which do not contain air conditioning or one can be requested via Reception. With regards to credit going back on to your card, if you would be so kind as to email our General Manager Mr Gavin Jones - gm.mercuregloucesterbowdenhall@jupiterhotels.co.uk he will personally look into this for you and hopefully get it rectified as soon as possible. With regards to the refurbishment, we currently have a temporary restaurant set up in our main function room the Lakeside Suite which so far guests have been happy to dine here as it is a spacious and quiet part of the hotel. Our menu prices are in keeping with the market for a 4 star hotel and we receive many compliments on our food. The current refurbishment of our public areas, Dearman's Restaurant and reception area are due for completion next month with the aim of causing as little disruption to guests as possible. We do hope that you will consider returning to our hotel once all the refurbishment works have been completed so that we can restore your faith in our hotel. Kind Regards Rebecca Howard

ryanmark 2016/06/01
« Wonderful setting »

A lovely property housed in wonderful grounds. A very relaxing stay. All staff very friendly and helpful. Food to a very high standard. Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a quiet break. Easy access into Gloucester.

BowdenHall, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ryanmark Thank you for your recommendation for Mercure Gloucester Bowden Hall. We were really pleased to read that everything was to your satisfaction with your recent stay particularly with regards to the welcome from our team and the meals you had with us. I will pass on your kind comments to those that ensured your stay with us was such a memorable one. We are fortunate to be situated in such quiet idyllic surroundings yet close enough to local towns and attractions to be used as a base for exploring. Gloucester city is only a 10 minute drive away making us an ideal location for a relaxing break. We do hope we are able to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Rebecca Howard

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 69.00 GBP Non member rate
From 62.10 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 3.7 km ibis Gloucester
ibis Gloucester Hotel
From
From 36.00 GBP Non member rate
From 34.20 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 10 km Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
From
From 105.00 GBP Non member rate
From 94.50 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in GLOUCESTER
Select your dates 69.00 GBP