Hotel addressMercure Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay QLD
4655 FRASER ISLAND
How to reach the hotel
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+61)7/41949300
- Fax. (+61)7/41949230
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island - hotel reviews in Fraser Island
Hotel code: 8299
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
18th September 2013, jbbs, Brisbane
We chose Kingfisher Bay Resort for a 60th birthday holiday. It was a good choice.The island environment is one not to be missed...; with history and unique attractions. The resort is quite 'laid-back', casual clothing is the go. It offers many activities and tours for all to partake in, with competent guides to get you to the island attractions and stories about each of them. Whale watching is available from the island.Short walks from and around the resort are quite well marked and pleasant to take, with good views and things to see. Bring insect repellent & sunscreen. The resort has varied levels of accommodation. We chose a 'hotel room', which has a comfortable airy layout, good facilities and a balcony. All appear to have easy access to the surrounding bush and small lakes at the resort. Thanks to the kind assistance of 'wonderful' Mitch (reception) , we had a nice quiet room with a view of the ocean. The facilities of the resort are quite good..., but some areas do need maintenance. Resort restrooms in particular and the pool tables (Sand Bar) are just a couple of them.The two resort pools are good, but could do with some shade, especially for the youngsters.Dining at the resort was affected by the renovation of the Maheno buffet restaurant, and was closed during our stay, even though the expected date of completion had passed. This was disappointing, as the website video shows the scrumptious selection of food normally available, and the Accor card is accepted there, for lunch and dinner.However, Sand Bar was the alternative for the more casual meals, which were very good 'pub' type meals. The Accor card was accepted there at that time.Fine dining is at the Seabelle restaurant. Very attractive and tasty meals by talented chefs, with emphasis on 'Aust. bush tucker' flavours and ingredients. Good serving staff.Breakfast is buffet style and a good selection of standard fare.Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much..., and it was made more so, by the friendly and helpful resort staff, especially Mitch.... big thank you!! We also enjoyed our 4WD tour to the 'Beauty Spots', especially with our tour guide/driver, Kirsty. Skilled driver, great personality and amazing story teller.... also big thank you!We will likely return at another time in the future, and are happy to recommend this resort for some lay-back holidaying for families, groups, couples or just on your own.rgs, J&MView management response »
Management responseDear jbbsThank you for your review about your time with us, your sound out to Mitch and for your feedback - which will be shared with our Resort Managers. I also wanted to also thank you for your patience whilst we worked to make the improvements to The Maheno restaurant, which was due to reopen mid September and will open at the end of this week. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future.
"Nature delight at Kingfisher"
6th August 2013, ChrisS083, Melbourne, Australia
Lovely setting with all the comfort of a 4* hotel with nature to awe you. A wonderful spot for nature lovers. Couples and families all catered for. Great staff and location. Only downside is that the ferry service timetable is NOT coordinated with the airlines schedule. With minor changes in the ferry schedule, guests will not feel hassled to get to the ferry when they arrive or waste a lot of time waiting around because of the ferry schedule. If you want to encourage more visitors, please, please change the ferry timetable ever so little as 30 minutes matters greatly to your guests enjoyment and convenience.View management response »
Management responseDear ChrisS083You're spot on - World Heritage listed Fraser is a fabulous spot for nature lovers and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and for taking the time to review us. We wanted to let you know that the Fraser Island ferry schedule is designed to meet the needs of many different guests with varying requirements. Unfortunately airlines change their timetables on a regular basis meaning if we adjust our ferry timetable to be in sync with flights it is likely to be out of sync again very shortly thereafter. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you back on Fraser again soon.
"Easter at Kingfisher"
29th July 2013, Reteppp1, Main Beach, Australia
In General the stay in the Hotel was good. The room very comfortable.There were only a couple of things which not what I would have expected.On arrival there was confussion and delay with the Reception staff in checking in??The food in the resturant was very ordinary for the price. The wine selection was very good. The Wait staff were very good.On the day of departure we were catching the Barge and requested a 1hr extension or late checkout and was told that we would have to pay half the Daily room rate for just 1 hr.The person was abrupt and unpleasnt. This spoiled the stay at Kingfisher.On departure, Reception was crouded with departing guests, the service slow. On speaking to others in the line, people were unhappy with their stay saying that they called Office, room service which was not answered and again rude.It seemed that there was a lack of training and leadership with staff.I enjoy coming to Kingfisher, I worked on the project during construction but this time and during a time where Aussie tourism is struggling being treated in such a manner makes you think about not returning.View management response »
Management responseDear Retepp1,Thank you for sharing delayed feedback from your stay at Kingfisher Bay in Easter this year.I note your positive comments in relation to the hotel room and your general stay with us.I am unsure as to the confusion that you have commented on at check in, being that you stayed in Easter you are correct in stating that it is a busy time of year. As you have commented on later in your post the reception was crowded with guests wanting to depart, please be assured that the hotel ensure that that the staffing in all areas is in line with the Hotels occupancy. As a note, with a majority of the resort guests arriving and departing at set times on the barge the resort offers an express checkout to guests to avoid any delays that may be encountered during these peak times.I note your comment in regards to the phone calls not being attended to, please be assured that we have rectified this issue since your stay with us. As a note, the resort does not offer a room service menu.Again thank you for your feedback, please be assured that all constructive feedback is welcomed and allows us to continually review our product offerings to our guests.The team wishes you well on your future travels.
9th July 2013
Spent a fantastic 2 nights in one of the standard rooms with the spa upgrade. Room spacious, clean and private. Took the Beauty Spots day tour with Tour Guide/Photographer Peter M - Brilliant! Service and facilities were all excellent.View management response »
Management responseDear A TripAdvisorMemberIt sounds like we have hit the mark with service, location and touring during your stay and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to review.
6th July 2013, Jodisalad, Gympie, Australia
This resort is in a lovely spot although the rooms and staff I cannot say the same for. Rooms are old and run down, nothing that was advertised was open eg, junior rangers, restaurant,pool bar, shall I go on? The service desk couldn't find our booking when checking in and tryed to charge us again for room on way out among other things as well that we never used, then has the hide to ring us on our way home trying to charge us again for things we had paid for and things we never used, Cannot believe Accor has this so called resort on their list!View management response »
Management responseDear Jodisalad,I note this your first trip advisor comment.Could I ask that you contact me on firstname.lastname@example.org so that I can discuss the issues that your have raised on your review.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.
Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.