Hotel addressMercure Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay QLD
4655 FRASER ISLAND
How to reach the hotelGPS :S 25° 23' 32.36'' E 153° 1' 48.12''
Contact the hotel
- Tel. (+61)7/41949300
- Fax. (+61)7/41949325
Recently viewed hotels
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island - hotel reviews in Fraser Island
Hotel code: 8299
Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor
18th September 2013, jbbs, Brisbane
We chose Kingfisher Bay Resort for a 60th birthday holiday. It was a good choice.The island environment is one not to be missed...; with history and unique attractions. The resort is quite 'laid-back', casual clothing is the go. It offers many activities and tours for all to partake in, with competent guides to get you to the island attractions and stories about each of them. Whale watching is available from the island.Short walks from and around the resort are quite well marked and pleasant to take, with good views and things to see. Bring insect repellent & sunscreen. The resort has varied levels of accommodation. We chose a 'hotel room', which has a comfortable airy layout, good facilities and a balcony. All appear to have easy access to the surrounding bush and small lakes at the resort. Thanks to the kind assistance of 'wonderful' Mitch (reception) , we had a nice quiet room with a view of the ocean. The facilities of the resort are quite good..., but some areas do need maintenance. Resort restrooms in particular and the pool tables (Sand Bar) are just a couple of them.The two resort pools are good, but could do with some shade, especially for the youngsters.Dining at the resort was affected by the renovation of the Maheno buffet restaurant, and was closed during our stay, even though the expected date of completion had passed. This was disappointing, as the website video shows the scrumptious selection of food normally available, and the Accor card is accepted there, for lunch and dinner.However, Sand Bar was the alternative for the more casual meals, which were very good 'pub' type meals. The Accor card was accepted there at that time.Fine dining is at the Seabelle restaurant. Very attractive and tasty meals by talented chefs, with emphasis on 'Aust. bush tucker' flavours and ingredients. Good serving staff.Breakfast is buffet style and a good selection of standard fare.Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much..., and it was made more so, by the friendly and helpful resort staff, especially Mitch.... big thank you!! We also enjoyed our 4WD tour to the 'Beauty Spots', especially with our tour guide/driver, Kirsty. Skilled driver, great personality and amazing story teller.... also big thank you!We will likely return at another time in the future, and are happy to recommend this resort for some lay-back holidaying for families, groups, couples or just on your own.rgs, J&MView management response »
Management responseDear jbbsThank you for your review about your time with us, your sound out to Mitch and for your feedback - which will be shared with our Resort Managers. I also wanted to also thank you for your patience whilst we worked to make the improvements to The Maheno restaurant, which was due to reopen mid September and will open at the end of this week. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not-too-distant future.
"Nature delight at Kingfisher"
6th August 2013, ChrisS083, Melbourne, Australia
Lovely setting with all the comfort of a 4* hotel with nature to awe you. A wonderful spot for nature lovers. Couples and families all catered for. Great staff and location. Only downside is that the ferry service timetable is NOT coordinated with the airlines schedule. With minor changes in the ferry schedule, guests will not feel hassled to get to the ferry when they arrive or waste a lot of time waiting around because of the ferry schedule. If you want to encourage more visitors, please, please change the ferry timetable ever so little as 30 minutes matters greatly to your guests enjoyment and convenience.View management response »
Management responseDear ChrisS083You're spot on - World Heritage listed Fraser is a fabulous spot for nature lovers and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and for taking the time to review us. We wanted to let you know that the Fraser Island ferry schedule is designed to meet the needs of many different guests with varying requirements. Unfortunately airlines change their timetables on a regular basis meaning if we adjust our ferry timetable to be in sync with flights it is likely to be out of sync again very shortly thereafter. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you back on Fraser again soon.
"Easter at Kingfisher"
29th July 2013, Reteppp1, Main Beach, Australia
In General the stay in the Hotel was good. The room very comfortable.There were only a couple of things which not what I would have expected.On arrival there was confussion and delay with the Reception staff in checking in??The food in the resturant was very ordinary for the price. The wine selection was very good. The Wait staff were very good.On the day of departure we were catching the Barge and requested a 1hr extension or late checkout and was told that we would have to pay half the Daily room rate for just 1 hr.The person was abrupt and unpleasnt. This spoiled the stay at Kingfisher.On departure, Reception was crouded with departing guests, the service slow. On speaking to others in the line, people were unhappy with their stay saying that they called Office, room service which was not answered and again rude.It seemed that there was a lack of training and leadership with staff.I enjoy coming to Kingfisher, I worked on the project during construction but this time and during a time where Aussie tourism is struggling being treated in such a manner makes you think about not returning.View management response »
Management responseDear Retepp1,Thank you for sharing delayed feedback from your stay at Kingfisher Bay in Easter this year.I note your positive comments in relation to the hotel room and your general stay with us.I am unsure as to the confusion that you have commented on at check in, being that you stayed in Easter you are correct in stating that it is a busy time of year. As you have commented on later in your post the reception was crowded with guests wanting to depart, please be assured that the hotel ensure that that the staffing in all areas is in line with the Hotels occupancy. As a note, with a majority of the resort guests arriving and departing at set times on the barge the resort offers an express checkout to guests to avoid any delays that may be encountered during these peak times.I note your comment in regards to the phone calls not being attended to, please be assured that we have rectified this issue since your stay with us. As a note, the resort does not offer a room service menu.Again thank you for your feedback, please be assured that all constructive feedback is welcomed and allows us to continually review our product offerings to our guests.The team wishes you well on your future travels.
9th July 2013
Spent a fantastic 2 nights in one of the standard rooms with the spa upgrade. Room spacious, clean and private. Took the Beauty Spots day tour with Tour Guide/Photographer Peter M - Brilliant! Service and facilities were all excellent.View management response »
Management responseDear A TripAdvisorMemberIt sounds like we have hit the mark with service, location and touring during your stay and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to review.
6th July 2013, Jodisalad, Gympie, Australia
This resort is in a lovely spot although the rooms and staff I cannot say the same for. Rooms are old and run down, nothing that was advertised was open eg, junior rangers, restaurant,pool bar, shall I go on? The service desk couldn't find our booking when checking in and tryed to charge us again for room on way out among other things as well that we never used, then has the hide to ring us on our way home trying to charge us again for things we had paid for and things we never used, Cannot believe Accor has this so called resort on their list!View management response »
Management responseDear Jodisalad,I note this your first trip advisor comment.Could I ask that you contact me on email@example.com so that I can discuss the issues that your have raised on your review.
"Kingfisher Bay Resort -- Accor confusing"
1st July 2013, rhondamac_1965, Brisbane
This resort, although now quite old, is still a favourite. The location is fabulous, the food fantastic and the staff are friendly, the rooms good. There were some small annoyances, such as on arrival we wanted to book a dinner and were informed that there was a special winter buffet in the Maheno Restaurant, when we came back later in the afternoon to book a time, we were told there was no buffet; we then had a beautiful meal in the Seabelle Restaurant and were informed that Accor discount was not available but that we had to present the card for loyalty points, again after waiting in line to pay/charge to the room, we were told that it was not necessary to present the card after waiting to do so; on the pamphlet for the sunset drinks and menu at The Jetty it instructed to book at reception before 3 pm; we tried to do so in the morning, but were informed we had to go down there to book and speak to the staff there because the wording was a mistake. The continued annoyance was the inconsistency with other Accor hotels and card use. Certainly, the discount may be different at different locations, but I would expect breakfasts to be included. As well, we had to present the card when the discount was available that meant always carrying with us. For example, we had come back from a 6km walk and did not have the card on us, and we had to walk back to our room (in the other direction) and then come back and order presenting the card for the discount. I would suggest a central system so that if charging to the room and Accor card number presented at check-in, any discounts could be calculated then on departure from the eating places and not cause this type of inconvenience. The discounts themselves and where they could be gained were confusing, a certain percentage in one eating place and another percentage somewhere else, no discount at all in certain places, or discount but only a for lunch and dinner. Understandably on Fraser Island things cost more with additional transport costs, but perhaps a set percentage of discount across the board would be better than the confusing way it seems to be currently. One other gripe, the area map for walks and tracks was not comprehensive enough, and staff did not seem to know how, or which direction to go to get to the track/s we wanted to walk when we queried. But, all these quite minor annoyances could not take away from the fantastic location, and the, mostly, genuine care and attention from the resort staff.
15th February 2013, Annie59_13, Maroochydore, Australia
We loved the setting & environs of the Resort, we do believe that first impressions are lasting, sign-age along jetty and around the resort need a face lift they are looking tired and worn out. On our first night we dined at the Seabelle Restaurant, service was brilliant that where it ends we found the prices too exorbitant for meals which were very bland & lacking.our room was lovely however needing more power points , my partner must wear a ResMed mask to bed every night there were no power points for him to plug his machine into. Bar staff at the Sand bar may need retraining, we had finished our first round of refreshments when my partner went back for a second round the barman was going to refill the same glass, my partner had to ask for a clean glass. Saturday night we dined at the Maheno restaurant (seafood buffet) I understand that flies & mosquitoes are part & parcel of the environment, more the reason to be vigilant with food checks, when I was at the buffet the oysters were almost gone what was left on the platter was certainly not appealing the salmon had started to dry around the edges there was a fly stuck to one of the oysters. All in all I did enjoy our short stay & would come back againView management response »
Management responseDear Annie59_13,Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the resort, I note this is your first comment on Trip advisor.I note your observations in regards to the signage around the resort and Jetty, we have only recently signed off on new replacement information signage that will be in place int he coming month.I am disappointed that you didn’t enjoy you meal at Seabelle, we feel that our Food and beverage pricing is comparable to other island resorts. I have however passed on your glowing comments regarding the service to the restaurant.You are correct in saying that insects are a part of the natural environment that the resort is located in, please be assured that we replenish the food regularly and that guest health and safety is our priority.I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
4th February 2013, Kathy756, Newcastle, Australia
This is a hotel run by young kids that dont really care and have no idea what customer service is. Our room was not serviced on our second day, the pool are remained covered in debris all weekend. Our few small requests were denied abruptly. Overall a very disappointing holiday. We will not be returning!View management response »
Management responseDear Kathy756,Thank you for your comments. I note that this is your first review on Trip advisor.I would like to ensure that I can investigate your comments accordingly and as your comments are generalised can I request that you contact me on firstname.lastname@example.org so that I can receive more detail on you perceived issues on your small requests that were denied.I would also be interested in finding out what debris you are referring to, the pool area did have some vegetation left around it during the weekend of unfortunate weather from ex tropical cyclone Oswald which was cleared up promptly when the weather improved.I look forward to your email.
"Kingfisher Bay Resort"
23rd November 2012, the_dish75, Hervey Bay, Australia
Fraser Island is a magical spot. While I don't have any complaints about the resort itself, it is very expensive for not very special rooms. They are quite old and not luxurious. We stayed for two nights, one night of which was free. We also had a voucher for dinner at the Maheno restaurant. Our bill was still close to $500 (2 people) and we only charged one other dinner and a couple of coffees to our room.It would be great if this resort could price itself more in line with what it has to offer.Staff were great but needed training in the computer systems. We had problems checking in and out (took ages).I recommend Fraser Island to everyone!View management response »
Management responseDear the_dish75Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Kingfisher Bay Report, it is always interesting to receive feedback from local area visitors.I note your comments in regards to the rooms and glad you were able to utilize a free night during your stay.I regards to you dinner I am glad you made use again of a free voucher however I am a little confused by your comment and would like to follow up with you personally if possible, the seafood buffet dinner is reasonably priced at $65 per person, if this was then for 3 people the food would only come to $195 so I am concerned with your comments regarding the other $300.If possible can I please ask you to contact me on resort_manager@ kingfisherbay.com, as I do not want our Trip advisor readers receiving incorrect information when reviewing Kingfisher Bay Resort.I note your comments in regards to you check in and check out of the resort, again some slight delays are experienced when guest are checking in and out at peak times, to alleviate this we do offer guests an express check out service to save time.I look forward to speaking to you personally about your Maheno restaurant Voucher.
"Kingfisher Bay Resort"
22nd November 2012, skip8, Hervey Bay
We had a great time at the resort , food , hospitality , location , atmosphere all good , enjoyed Seafood buffet , & meal & drinks at the sandbar one night , my only complaint was booking out , my account was some $100 over the correct price & it took around 1/2 hour to sort out , this is why the service area was only given 3 stars , otherwise I would recommend to others .View management response »
Management responseDear skip8,Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Kingfisher Bay Resort.It is always good to receive feedback from guest who lives in the local area.I note your comment in regards to the time it took upon check out to sort out your account; I am glad that it was fixed correctly in the end.We hope to welcome you back to Kingfisher Bay resort again soon.
1st November 2012, Brisbane
The location is without doubt one of the places to visit in Australia. Kingfisher Bay resort is best discribed as comfortable, we stayed in a two bedroom unit and it was very rooming and very comfortable and we had a great time. The food services at the three resturants that we tried was ordinary at best. We were very glad we had a self contained unit and when we go back, which we will we will take more of our own.
"Kingfisher Bay Resort"
9th October 2012, jaunitab, Brisbane, Australia
Beautifully maintained grounds and well appointed rooms. Great place for families and couples to relax. Good food and wonderful service. Staff pleasant and willing to assist with any request. Maps of area comprehensive for walkers and sightseeing. Especially loved the sunset bar and the happy staff. Will certainly be going again.View management response »
Management responseDear JaunitabThank you for your 5 star review.I have passed on your comments to the hotel team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
27th September 2012, DaniC37, Brisbane, Australia
This was my first getaway in over 6 yrs without kids n hubby and I wanted somewhere that I didnt have to hope in the car and drive anywhere. I defiantly got what I was looking for!! Total Relaxing and the food was great and service awesome too!!! I will defiantly be returning with the kids..
"Short break at Kingfisher"
6th September 2012, krb118, Brisbane, Australia
We took advantage of a 3 night special offer which included the ferry over as foot passengers. It was all very easy, checking in at the mainland River Heads reception and leaving our car in the secure carpark before being shuttle-bused the short distance to the barge. All our luggage went on ahead and was waiting for us in our room when we got to Fraser. The resort was fabulous and our room great, overlooking the billabong and out to sea. We enjoyed making a tradition out of sunset drinks and a platter down at the Jetty Bar. Food in the restaurants was quite pricey (not unexpected), and the quality was good. Facilities were good and the staff very helpful. I don't know what the full price would be, but we'd certainly go again if able.View management response »
Management responseDear krb 118,Thank you for your very positive feedback about your recent stay at Kingfisher bay resort.I will ensure that I pass on your comments to all departments.The team at Kingfisher Bay look forward to welcoming you back when you next get a chance to stay with us.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.