Return to list of hotels
> > > Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel

3-star hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

  • Participating

    This hotel participates fully in the Le Club AccorHotels program.You will benefit from all of the advantages of Le Club Accorhotels in this hotel (earn & burn points and receive in-hotel benefits).
Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Planet 21 Bronze
    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 2
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • Children Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM - Paying
    • Full Board - Paying
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM - Paying
    • A 2-course Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Half Board - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 76
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: HATFIELD (4.18 km)

From 59.50 GBP


53.55 GBP


Hotel address

Roehyde Way

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 51° 44' 44.43'' W 0° 14' 29.23'' ‎

Map and Itineraries

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel - hotel reviews in Hatfield

Hotel code: 8208 customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "A very nice hotel"

19th September 2013, AnAmericanInUK, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were superb. The hotel is in a perfect location for visiting the university and in a good location for Hatfield. The bathrooms have been refurbished recently. Other furniture in the room was dated but nice.

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Nice hotel - but no airconditioning in room"

10th September 2013, DecoyKing, Barnsley, United Kingdom

Stayed for just one evening in this hotel which was clean and modern and in a very good location close to the motorway network. Drinks and bar meals however were very expensive and we found it cheaper to get to a taxi into nearby Hatfield and we ate there for around half the price of the meals in the hotel even taking into account the taxi fare. Our ground floor room was very nice but unbearably warm - it must have been around 80 degrees - and this led to an uncomfortable and restless night which was not ideal with an early start the next morning. I would definately stay here again but only in the winter months.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review.I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.I am sorry you thought our food was expensive, my view is that it offers excellent value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back in the Winter.RegardsDavid
« hide

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "7 day end of 11 week holiday stay"

27th August 2013, philiph441925, Derby, United Kingdom

This hotel was mostly everything a Mercure should be. The restraunt service was below standard on several occasions, however, that seems to be the case amongst most hotels we stayed at over the europe trip. We recieved our upgrade on arrival, however the WI-Fi system did not work. We tried in most places in the hotel, even the office, but no joy. It took 6 days of our 7 day stay to solve the Wi-Fi problem. On a positive note, we enjoyed our stay, in general. The hotel grounds and infrastructure were cared for, and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel is 45 mins from Heathrow on a normal traffic day. The food is good,and plentyful, and I would recommend this hotel for short or long stays.

View management response »

Management responseDear Mr Hope,Thank you for your review.I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, although suprised and dissapointed that the restaurant service was below your expectations on some occasions.I am sorry it took so long to solve the issue with the WiFi connection on your laptop, so that other such problems are solved much quicker we have training for our duty managers.It was a pleasure to meet you and I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us.Best wishesDavid
« hide

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Close to London"

24th August 2013, DVTCornwall, Cornwall

Reception and welcome was friendly and efficient. If you want a decent nights sleep then ask for a room at the back as the hotel sits adjacent to the A1M and the front rooms are extremely noisy 24/7. Needs aircon in rooms in summer as the room was too warm and opening the window brought yet more noise into the room. The restaurant for breakfast was excellent both in Service and food quality. Overall the hotel needs updating and refreshing to bring it up to the Accor Mercure standards - this one is not much different from an Ibis. However for access to London by car, bus or train it is ideally situated.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review.I am sorry you were disturbed by traffic, we are close to the A1 but fortunately the building is designed so that most of the rooms face away and they are notable quiet. When Focus hotels took over the property four years ago new windows were bought for all rooms which ensures all rooms including the road facing ones are quiet - however I do understand when teh windows are opened you will be able to hear the road.I was pleased to read that you found the team to be friendly and efficient.RegardsDavid
« hide

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Beats the Competition!!!"

17th July 2013, M_Smith001, Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom

The first thing to greet you is a friendly welcome from the receptionist who books you in with a minimum of fuss, you're handed a key card to a clean well appointed room complete with a King size bed and spotless on-suite . The hotel is located close the the University, main roads, town center and only a short trip to the nearest railway station. But the defining moment was at breakfast where you could choose from Continental, full English or something a bit me extravagant like Eggs Benedict, and all served with freshly brewed tea or filtered coffee It makes the Hatfield Travelodge and Holiday Inn look poor value.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review.I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stayDavid
« hide

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Rude Staff"

30th June 2013, Toady08, Leeds, United Kingdom

The hotel was generally nice. The problem for me was with the staff working in the restaurant. I had my evening meal there, and when ordering I asked to change chips to salad. I was looked up and down and the waitress questionned my decision with a rather rude attitude. Also she was loud and other people were listening in to her. It made me feel uncomfortable. When my main course arrived which was a steak it was put on the table and the waitress walked away. I thenhad to ask for some sauce, which she couldnt understand so she had to get someone else. I then realised I had no steak knife so I asked for that, she forgot so I had to ask again. Food was very good so the chef is decent, just not the staff on the floor. Breakfast was served until 10am which was good as I wasnt leaving until later on.I went down at 9.30am and the food was still out. I was asked what egg I wanted so they could good it which was good. But they then cleared the food away before I had got anything, so they had to put it on the plate for me. Not a bad option but on a buffet you can get what you want, where as in fact they only put a small amount on. Overall ok, but wouldnt rush to go back, new staff required in the restaurant.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review.Myself and my colleagues were very concerned to read your review, particularly as it closely followed similar comments from another guest. I am fortunate in have a friendly team here and whilst we have our faults being rude and not caring about our customers is not one of them. Upon investigation we have found that the young lady who served you was a work experience student who may have come across a little brusque as she was out of her comfort zone in the restaurant. Please accept my apologies as whilst it is important we support our young people by giving them experience in the world of work we should never allow this to compromise the service we offer our guests.Thank you for your comments with regards our breakfast, midweek our breakfast is served from 6.30am - 10am and it is important during this period that our food is always fresh and tasty. Consequently as the service becomes quiter we withdraw the hot items and cook them fresh to order, perhaps we need to comunicate this to our guests as by removing the buffet my staff were actually trying to improve the service they offered whilst the reverse seems to have been achieved.
« hide

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Ibis Hatfield, Herts"

8th November 2012, Sutton, United Kingdom

Good location near A1(M). Useful for flight from Luton Airport the following morning. Warm and cosy room in typical 'pared down' Accor hotels style - but a long walk from reception. Very good value at the price though, and would stay there again in the future.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your reviewI was pleased to read you enjoyed your stayRegardsDavid
« hide

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Working away"

18th June 2012, glennmandrews, Hatfield, United Kingdom

ideal hotel for my stops while working away and i stop here EVERY week great staff, and FREE wifi so really is good for business traveller

View management response »

Management responseDear Glenn,Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read you are enjoying your regular stays at the Mercure Hatfield Oak and hope we continue to retain our high levels of serviceRegardsDavid
« hide

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Improves every time I stay there"

23rd April 2012, MT1567, Bath, United Kingdom

Been using this hotel pretty regularly for the last 18months and it has steadily improved since joining the Mercure chain. Rooms at the front of the hotel can be a bit noisy from the adjacent A1 but those at the back of the hotel are very quiet. Breakfast is a bit run of the mill but in the evenings the restaurant turns out some really quite good food for a hotel of this size.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review.We are very encouraged that you have found the hotel to be improving and delighted that you enjoy the evening meals we serve. I understand your comments with regards breakfast and we have been working hard behind the scenes to also improve our breakfast and make it special, with a number of improvements been made two weeks ago.Please let me know after your next stay if you found breakfast had also improvedRegardsDavidDavid
« hide

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent value and quality with just minor issues"

14th April 2012, POB42, Sheffield, UK

Booked this hotel as it is reasonably close to the Harry Potter Studio Tour. The hotel is just off the A1(M) and within 4 miles of the M25. Ideal for visiting London (we drove to Cockfosters Tube Station about 8 miles away). It is also only a mile away from 'The Galleria' where there is outlet shopping, a wide range of restaurants and fast food outlets.Excellent value for money overall, we stayed for 2 nights for less than £100 in total (excluding breakfast). The room was very large (Room 125) and the sofa has been made into a large bed for our son.When we checked in we asked to have breakfast on our first morning (hadn't booked it in advance). This was of good quality although I'm not sure it was worth £8 per person.The only issues were on checkout. First we were asked to pay for phone calls. We both have mobiles with massive inclusive minutes included and never even touched the phone in the room. The lady looked confused and asked me 2 or 3 times to confirm that I hadn't made the calls before removing them from the bill. Secondly they billed us for breakfast on both mornings when we had only asked for and only eaten it on one of the mornings. This was quickly removed.The only other minor thing was that we were charged £4 for my young sons breakfast. First I feel that this is a lot for a small child, he only had a bowl of cereal. However on returning home and looking back at my original booking confirmation it stated that children's breakfasts were complementary. I'm not really too bothered about £4, but I don't like it when information given at the time of booking is different to what happens during the stay.These minor issues really wouldn't stop me from visiting this hotel again and I highly recommend it to anyone needing to stay close to London without the high prices that London can attract.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review.I was pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak hotel and found it conveniently located for the Harry Potter Studio tour - only 7 miles away!I am sorry you were asked if you had used the phone in the room, we had a computer glitch that day and an automatic charge had appeared on your account, this was identified by the receptionist when reconciling your bil.I have investigated the charge for a childs breakfast and am happy to confirm that you are right, your son's breakfast should have been free of charge, I am happy to advise you that my reception manager has refunded the £4 to your card.I was delighted that over all you found the hotel to be excellent value for money, although suprised you doubted the breakfast was of equal excellent value. We offer a great array of dishes -from the cold buffet we have;Chilled juicesfruit saladmeats and cheesefruit yoghurtsprobiotic drinkscerealsfreshly baked breaddanish pastriescroissantFrom the hot buffet;Fried eggsscrambled eggs back baconcumberland sausagesbutton mushroomsgrilled tomatoeshash brownsbaked beansWe also cook some great specials which include smoked haddock, kipper, eggs benedict or porridge. Plus toast and a great selction of teas and coffees.The usual price for this is £13.95 which is great value when considering a coffee these days is £4 but for even better value it is easy to prebook breakfast for between £8 - £10.I do hope you stay with us again and I hope on your second visit you are impressed by your breakfast with us.RegardsDavid
« hide

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Service let it down"

23rd February 2012

Stayed at this hotel as we were attending a wedding in the area and the majority of the wedding party were staying there. We couldn't fault the hotel at all on the first night. However at breakfast the next morning the service was shocking. We had to wait in the entrance for a table to be made up which we didn't mind, however no -one came back out to us.We went back into the restaurant to find no staff around so found our own table. When a staff member finally came out I ordered tea and toast which never appeared. I again ordered tea and toast, the tea arrived after about five minutes but the toast didn't appear at all. That said, the food at breakfast was very good however I think £10 per breakfast was steep considering the choice available. Service at breakfast the second morning was better, however they were different staff. Didn't eat here in the evenings so can't comment about service then.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review.I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Hatfield Oak but of course dissapointed with the service you experienced on your first morning. My food service team and I have investigated the service you received and we are taking steps to ensure we deliver consistency in our high levels of service, I was pleased to read that your second morning was a pleasurable experience.RegardsDavid
« hide

Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "It was cold outside"

15th February 2012

Difficult access for overseas visitors but otherwise good service and value for money. A local map would have been particularly beneficial. Hatfield is not easy to find your way around especially when weather conditions are less than ideal

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your review. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.Following your post we now have a Hatfield and area A to Z street atlas behind reception to help guests who need local maps.Regardsdavid
« hide

1. Best price guarantee
Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.
2. Paying

Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.