Hotel - Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

34 - 35 High Street  Southampton 
SO14 2HN  SOUTHAMPTON
UNITED KINGDOM

1,484 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,484 reviews
Check Prices
Best price guarantee
From
From 60.00 GBP Non member rate
From 57.00 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Check Prices
Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 2 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

The hotel's 90 recently refurbished bedrooms offer guests a range of accommodation options including suites, family rooms and enhanced accessibility.All bedrooms are non-smoking and have complimentary WiFi access, flatscreen TV with satellite channels, hair dryer, iron and board, safe, tea and coffee making facilities and direct dial telephone.

  • 99 rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Crib on request
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Telephone
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Crib on request
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our customer reviews for Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating3.5/5 Based on 1,484 reviews

stefankP4540ZR 2017/04/01
« Central, typical british stay in Southampton »

A relatively small but cozy room in the basement, a large bathroom with very good warm water supply, quiet, clean, very helpful personnel, the typical assortment of tea & coffee, a very good breakfast - also for people being not fan of the typical British style breakfast

Phil-Angie2014 2017/03/26
« Nice hotel - Good food - Good Reception staff - Rubbish restaurant service »

This is a really nice building and hotel - ideally located for central Southampton. I was on business and had guests which i took for dinner in the restaurant - service was polite enough but when the bread rolls run out and the wine is just put on the table (not even opened) you know the staff have been trained to McDonalds standards (actually i think that might be a slight on McDonalds). This is something i am getting used to with Mercure Hotels in the UK as i have experienced the same in Bristol....These are the basics, i would go as far as to suggest that whoever trains the Mercure restaurant staff please sack them as they are letting everyone else down (reception was excellent and the rooms are really nice and well cleaned). To guests i would say - go elsewhere...even for breakfast - i had to ask for butter - i had to ask for milk - it goes on...........again basics!! I am happy for the management to contact me i stayed in room 207 on Tuesday 21st Mar - if the management are concerned about my comments please contact me - you have my details. PA

Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Phil-Angie2014, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel to be a nice building and ideally located for central Southampton. Also the our reception team were excellent and bedrooms nice and well cleaned, I will pass this feedback onto our Front Office & Housekeeping Teams. I was sorry to read that you felt our Restaurant team let your stay down, we have spoken to the team involved who served you that evening. Kind Regards, Ed C

Chanson_33 2017/03/14
« Out of Control »

This hotel is convenient for me and I've stayed here before. This trip has been terrible! - Room had not been checked or prepared when I arrived. It was very small, dirty, no ventilation. Batteries in safe and TV controller were dead. Tissue box provided - no tissues. - Very stuffy in room so needed windows open even in March. Sash windows rattle loudly in the slightest breeze - Windows and frames were covered in mould. Thick black mould. Obviously not cleaned for a long time. With no extractor fan in the bathroom everything steams up badly so ideal mould growing conditions. - Toilet not cleaned properly for a long time. Thick black limescale below waterline. - One day I was in my room and new guests arrived. In my room! They were as surprised and upset as I was. - Room key was cancelled at random times - One morning my outside door handle had been thickly smeared with oil. - Promised room would be cleaned on Saturday but nothing done. - When the GM finally showed his face he told me they knew the room was on a plan for investment! Quite how that helped me I couldn't understand Also told me they would not put bleach in the toilet as it was due for replacement!! - The manager seemed offended that I was questioning standards. Said deficiencies were "built into the price". It's a 4* hotel! -After 6 days I was moved to a better room. These people have no idea how to run and manage a hotel. It's completely out of control

Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Chanson_33, Thank you for sharing your views from your recent stay, we hope one bad experience out of your many previous stays will not put you off coming back. We have taken all of your comments regarding your original bedroom on board and are now putting a plan into action on how to get these resolved. Kind Regards, Ed C

emma r 2016/12/07
« lovely stay in beauiful hotel »

couldn't fault it - lovely hotel - lovely staff - great breakfast. and very friendly pigeons outside the window! spacious room, busy bar but couldn't hear it in our bedroom - really nothing to say except excellent

188mrg 2016/10/31
« Not as advertised »

This hotel claims a 4 star rating, we didn't find anything 4 star during our 3 night stay. I am a member of the Accor loyalty program and my level gives me an upgrade on my room. When I enquired at check in I was told I had a 'nice' room already. Room 209 was not up to the standard of a 3 star seaside hotel. It was no where near the standard you would expect of a 4 star hotel, and not even a 3 star Mercure. It was small, the décor tired and bath room looked slightly grubby. We did not eat at the hotel so can make no comment on the restaurant. The bar was small but it was well set out. Though we did have to wait more than ten minutes for a barman to appear when the bar had about 10 customers waiting. The hotel is in a great location a couple of minutes walk from the marina area and the city centre, with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. The parking is reasonable for a city centre hotel at £5 a night This isn't a terrible hotel it just isn't at the standard advertised nor up to the quality I have come to expect from Accor/Mercure hotels over the years. It needs money spent on it and if updated to a good standard and correctly rated it would be a fabulous asset.

Ed C, Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear 188mrg Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Dolphin Hotel, Southampton. Our loyalty programme does have many benefits available according to membership level and the top tiers do include a complimentary upgrade, however this is always subject to availability. I can only assume therefore that all of our Privilege Rooms were already occupied during your stay. I have noted your comments regarding Room 209. We have a continual improvement plan in place and in light of your comments, I have instructed my maintenance team to escalate Room 209 up the list. Once again, thank you for your feedback, I hope that we can have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future where we can demonstrate the progress that has been made. Kind Regards Ed C

Joshl7876 2016/10/26
« Most Reliable Radiators In Town! »

In My girlfriend turned on the radiator when we arrived at the hotel. Only to find the valve had broken and wouldn't turnoff. Management to the rescue! "Here! Take this duct tape to fix the valve for us!" That's honestly what happened, no new room no new nothing.

Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Joshl7876, Thank you for your review. I believe when you stayed the hotel was fully booked so we were unable to move you to a new room. Although our reception team were unable to properly fix your radiator due to not being trained plumbers, they tied things over for you until we could get our maintenance engineer into the room after your departure. We admire their quick thinking and we have now been able to mend the radiator properly. Regards, Ed C

Damon S 2016/10/04
« Lovely hotel in a nice location in Southampton »

Recently spent one night at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel pre-cruise. We arrived early (noon) into Southampton, but the front-desk staff gladly stored our luggage while we went to get lunch at a nearby pub. When we returned, check-in was easy and the staff very professional. The hotel is definitely an old carriage-house style property, and I can easily believe that not all the rooms are alike, but we had a very large room with a good sized bathroom as well. I do prefer showers to shower/tub combinations, but that is a personal preference (that I know many do not share), and otherwise the room was fabulous. Large comfortable beds, spacious and well-maintained room. While not on the waterfront, the location of the property was wonderful with a large number of pubs & restaurants in easy walking distance around the property. Check-out the following day was similarly efficient. Everyone was friendly & professional, and they gladly arranged a cab to the cruise terminal for us when we asked at check-out (and had a taxi there in 5 minutes). I would highly recommend the hotel, and would definitely look to stay here again if I return to Southampton.

Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Damon S, Thank you very much for your kind review. We're delighted to read you found our staff to be so efficient and professional and that you a fabulous large bedroom with a comfortable bed - just what we want to hear! We hope to see you back here on your next visit to Southampton. Kind Regards, Ed C

rejoice2903 2016/09/11
« Unique experience, history abounds. »

Rabbit warren of corridors and steps but it became "home" to us in between other destinations. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. We had to prop up the windows as the window cords were broken but we loved our stay. Some beds unfortunately were a bit tired but the staff moved us to more suitable beds(two singles rather than 1 double) with no problem. Overall, oh so convenient for us for what we were doing.

Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear rejoice2903, Thank you very much for your review. We're so pleased to read our hotel felt like home during your time with us. Thank you for your very kind comments regarding our staff, we will share this with them. I'm glad they were able to change your room efficiently for you too. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Ed C

fubb212 2016/06/22
« a stay with a wedding »

The service was extremely slow for breakfast due to wedding breakfast in the next room and a vegi sausage took a total of 30 mins way too long the room was confortable and clean though and we did get our free drink even if the bar was empty

Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear fubb212, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you received your complimentary drink with us for being an Accor Le Club Member. I'm also pleased to read you felt your bedroom was clean and comfortable. With regards to the vegetarian sausage we will see what we can do to speed it up in future however I'm pleased we were able to cater to your dietary needs. Kind Regards, Ed C

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From 60.00 GBP Non member rate
From 57.00 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee

Our other hotels nearby

At 860 m ibis budget Southampton Centre
ibis budget Southampton Centre
From
From 39.00 GBP Non member rate
From 37.05 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 910 m Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton Hotel
From
From 69.00 GBP Non member rate
From 65.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 920 m ibis Southampton Centre
ibis Southampton Centre Hotel
From
From 59.00 GBP Non member rate
From 56.05 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 19 km Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
From
From 65.00 GBP Non member rate
From 61.75 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in SOUTHAMPTON
Check Prices