Hotel - Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

34 - 35 High Street  Southampton 
SO14 2HN  SOUTHAMPTON
UNITED KINGDOM

1,408 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,408 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 49.00 GBP Non member rate
From 44.10 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Select your dates 49.00 GBP

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin is a 4 Star hotel that has stood in the heart of the city for over 500 years. Perfectly located near the main port it provides a great base to stay before and after your cruise or trip to the Isle of Wight. Within walking distance of Southampton's main shopping areas, historic harbour, Sea City museum, parks and city walls. Hampshire's top attractions including Beaulieu, the New Forest, Paultons Park and Marwell Wildlife Park are only a short drive away.

Mercure Southampton Centre Hotel is a Grade II listed building located in the heart of the city. Having recently completed a £4 million redevelopment programme, it is the perfect choice for business or pleasure.

Hotel extras
  • Situated right in the heart of the City with easy access to all tourist attractions and docks.
  • Hotel bar and One Rosette Signature restaurant serving international cuisine.
  • Grade 2 listed historic building with a fascinating history.
  • Complimentary high speed WIFI offered throughout the hotel.
  • Own onsite car park accommodating up to 80 vehicles.
This hotel is Planet 21 Silver
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 2 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

34 - 35 High Street
Southampton
SO14 2HN
SOUTHAMPTON
UNITED KINGDOM

Tel: (+44)2380/386460
Fax: (+44)2380/386470

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Access and transport
  • CITY LINK BUS : FREE BUS, SOUTHAMPTON STA
  • SOUTHAMPTON COACH STATION : 
  • SOUTHAMPTON AIRPORT At 5km / 3.11 miles
  • FERRY TERMINAL At 0.5km / 0.31 miles
  • SOUTHAMPTON CENTRAL At 0.5km / 0.31 miles

GPS : 50.900261, -1.403921

Our rooms

The hotel's 90 recently refurbished bedrooms offer guests a range of accommodation options including suites, family rooms and enhanced accessibility.All bedrooms are non-smoking and have complimentary WiFi access, flatscreen TV with satellite channels, hair dryer, iron and board, safe, tea and coffee making facilities and direct dial telephone.

  • Standard Room with 1 double bed
    Standard Room with 1 double bed

    Modern design, offering guests the very best in accommodation. All bedrooms offer en suite bathroom, LCD television, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, safe, controlable heating

  • Standard Room with Two Single Beds
    Standard Room with Two Single Beds

    All bedrooms are en suite, with LCD televisions, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, safe, controllable heating.

  • Standard Room with 1 double bed and sofa
    Standard Room with 1 double bed and sofa

    All bedrooms are en suite, with LCD televisions, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, safe, controlable heating

  • Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed
    Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed

    Double Bed, Mini Fridge, Nespresso Machine, bathrobe, slippers, upgraded toiletries, complimentary water, free unlimited WIFI, iron & ironing board, LCD television, safe, tea/coffee facilities, newspaper.

  • 99 rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Crib on request
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Telephone
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Crib on request
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

SIGNATURE Restaurant
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Lunch 11:00 - 18:30
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Dinner 18:30 - 21:30
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

SIGNATURE Type of cuisine: International


Signature has a contemporary design and feel. The menu will offer a range of dishes to cater for all, using fresh locally sourced ingredients. Breakfast served 6.30 - 9.30 Monday - Friday and 7.30 - 10.30 Saturday, Sundays and Bank Holidays

Find out more and book
OAK BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

OAK BAR


Modern design serving a wide range of drinks the perfect place to relax and unwind. Lounge menu available every day.

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 2
  • Maximum size: 120 m²
  • Maximum capacity: 120
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 100

Our customer reviews for Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating3.5/5 Based on 1,408 reviews

emma r 2016/12/07
« lovely stay in beauiful hotel »

couldn't fault it - lovely hotel - lovely staff - great breakfast. and very friendly pigeons outside the window! spacious room, busy bar but couldn't hear it in our bedroom - really nothing to say except excellent

188mrg 2016/10/31
« Not as advertised »

This hotel claims a 4 star rating, we didn't find anything 4 star during our 3 night stay. I am a member of the Accor loyalty program and my level gives me an upgrade on my room. When I enquired at check in I was told I had a 'nice' room already. Room 209 was not up to the standard of a 3 star seaside hotel. It was no where near the standard you would expect of a 4 star hotel, and not even a 3 star Mercure. It was small, the décor tired and bath room looked slightly grubby. We did not eat at the hotel so can make no comment on the restaurant. The bar was small but it was well set out. Though we did have to wait more than ten minutes for a barman to appear when the bar had about 10 customers waiting. The hotel is in a great location a couple of minutes walk from the marina area and the city centre, with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. The parking is reasonable for a city centre hotel at £5 a night This isn't a terrible hotel it just isn't at the standard advertised nor up to the quality I have come to expect from Accor/Mercure hotels over the years. It needs money spent on it and if updated to a good standard and correctly rated it would be a fabulous asset.

Ed C, Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear 188mrg Thank you for taking the time to review the Mercure Dolphin Hotel, Southampton. Our loyalty programme does have many benefits available according to membership level and the top tiers do include a complimentary upgrade, however this is always subject to availability. I can only assume therefore that all of our Privilege Rooms were already occupied during your stay. I have noted your comments regarding Room 209. We have a continual improvement plan in place and in light of your comments, I have instructed my maintenance team to escalate Room 209 up the list. Once again, thank you for your feedback, I hope that we can have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future where we can demonstrate the progress that has been made. Kind Regards Ed C

Joshl7876 2016/10/26
« Most Reliable Radiators In Town! »

In My girlfriend turned on the radiator when we arrived at the hotel. Only to find the valve had broken and wouldn't turnoff. Management to the rescue! "Here! Take this duct tape to fix the valve for us!" That's honestly what happened, no new room no new nothing.

Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Joshl7876, Thank you for your review. I believe when you stayed the hotel was fully booked so we were unable to move you to a new room. Although our reception team were unable to properly fix your radiator due to not being trained plumbers, they tied things over for you until we could get our maintenance engineer into the room after your departure. We admire their quick thinking and we have now been able to mend the radiator properly. Regards, Ed C

Damon S 2016/10/04
« Lovely hotel in a nice location in Southampton »

Recently spent one night at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel pre-cruise. We arrived early (noon) into Southampton, but the front-desk staff gladly stored our luggage while we went to get lunch at a nearby pub. When we returned, check-in was easy and the staff very professional. The hotel is definitely an old carriage-house style property, and I can easily believe that not all the rooms are alike, but we had a very large room with a good sized bathroom as well. I do prefer showers to shower/tub combinations, but that is a personal preference (that I know many do not share), and otherwise the room was fabulous. Large comfortable beds, spacious and well-maintained room. While not on the waterfront, the location of the property was wonderful with a large number of pubs & restaurants in easy walking distance around the property. Check-out the following day was similarly efficient. Everyone was friendly & professional, and they gladly arranged a cab to the cruise terminal for us when we asked at check-out (and had a taxi there in 5 minutes). I would highly recommend the hotel, and would definitely look to stay here again if I return to Southampton.

Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Damon S, Thank you very much for your kind review. We're delighted to read you found our staff to be so efficient and professional and that you a fabulous large bedroom with a comfortable bed - just what we want to hear! We hope to see you back here on your next visit to Southampton. Kind Regards, Ed C

rejoice2903 2016/09/11
« Unique experience, history abounds. »

Rabbit warren of corridors and steps but it became "home" to us in between other destinations. The staff were amazingly helpful and friendly. We had to prop up the windows as the window cords were broken but we loved our stay. Some beds unfortunately were a bit tired but the staff moved us to more suitable beds(two singles rather than 1 double) with no problem. Overall, oh so convenient for us for what we were doing.

Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear rejoice2903, Thank you very much for your review. We're so pleased to read our hotel felt like home during your time with us. Thank you for your very kind comments regarding our staff, we will share this with them. I'm glad they were able to change your room efficiently for you too. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Ed C

fubb212 2016/06/22
« a stay with a wedding »

The service was extremely slow for breakfast due to wedding breakfast in the next room and a vegi sausage took a total of 30 mins way too long the room was confortable and clean though and we did get our free drink even if the bar was empty

Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear fubb212, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you received your complimentary drink with us for being an Accor Le Club Member. I'm also pleased to read you felt your bedroom was clean and comfortable. With regards to the vegetarian sausage we will see what we can do to speed it up in future however I'm pleased we were able to cater to your dietary needs. Kind Regards, Ed C

158richard 2016/05/27
« Dolphin Hotel »

I had a short but excellent stay in Southampton at the Dolphin Hotel the hotel was comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Eating in the restaurant was a pleasant experience food good. Breakfast excellent. Nice bar to relax. I will visit again and can recommend.

Dawn W 2016/05/03
« 3 days business and pleasure »

I've stayed here before because it is a good central location for the city centre but also the docks. I travel by train so £1 gets me from Southampton central train station to holy rood church which is just 10metres or so from the hotel. Room 11 was compact so glad travelling alone. It's ground floor but note there are always two steps to get to that level and some rooms have another two steps to them. My room just shower so ask if you need a room with a bath when booking. No air conditioning so only control is a fan they left in the wardrobe. That said, it was fine for me in the weather. Had very comfortable 3 nights of sleep not disturbed by road noise or from revellers - including a Friday night. This room is towards the back of the hotel but a walkway runs beside the room so I had been (needlessly) concerned. Had breakfast all 3 days. Pretty standard and not cooked to order so depends what time you go. First day bacon had been out a while so looked less appetising and texture of cardboard though still warm. Selection of pastries is disappointing and I find one large pot of jam with small plastic containers to put some in unsatisfactory. Haven't eaten there otherwise as centre is very close by. You will find marks on walls etc. This is an old hotel. My room had watermarked ceiling. But it is very clean. Check in and out is efficient though can be a queue at peak time. They are used to people leaving luggage for storage so that is not an issue. I'd stay again. It's functional, staff polite on the whole, and well placed. But if you want rolling grounds and plenty of light, it maybe isn't for you.

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 49.00 GBP Non member rate
From 44.10 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 860 m ibis budget Southampton Centre
ibis budget Southampton Centre
From
From 39.00 GBP Non member rate
From 37.05 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 910 m Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton Hotel
From
From 54.00 GBP Non member rate
From 48.60 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 920 m ibis Southampton Centre
ibis Southampton Centre Hotel
From
From 39.00 GBP Non member rate
From 37.05 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 19 km Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
From
From 50.00 GBP Non member rate
From 45.00 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in SOUTHAMPTON
Select your dates 49.00 GBP Book from 49.00 GBP