Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Newcastle Upon Tyne Hotels > Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 1
    • Indoor heated pool
    • Golf lessons - Paying
    • Golf course 18 holes - Paying
    • Golf practice facilities - Paying
    • Fitness centre
    • Children Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Early Check-in - Paying
    • Half-Board - Paying
    • LATE CHECK-OUT - Paying
    • Full Board - Paying
    • A 2-course Menu at the restaurant - Paying
    • Champagne - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 103
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE (8.05 km)

Hotel address

Stone Cellar Road
High Usworth Washington
Tyne and Wear
NE37 1PH NEWCASTLE
UNITED KINGDOM

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 54° 55' 22.16'' W 1° 32' 2.12'' ‎

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa - hotel reviews in Newcastle Upon Tyne

Hotel code: 7552

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Overnight Stay"

17th September 2013, rarediamond20, Headley, United Kingdom

My Sister and I booked a twin room here as we had to attend a funeral. We then had my niece decide to join us and the hotel was then fully booked. I spoke with Joanne in reservations explaining our situation and she was able to sort us out a triple room. Very helpful and efficient.Nice large room, extremely clean. Welcome at Reception was very good. We all had breakfast and this was very good also.Great Service and made what was a sad reason for staying Washington a very relaxed overnight stop.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestMany thanks for your kind review. I am glad my team made your stay enjoyable, in what I imagine would be a difficult time.RegardsMartin HallGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 3.0 out of 5 stars "very much a conference hotel"

28th August 2013, pcbct, x

Probably the most souless hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff were welcoming and very helpful and kind but there was no atmosphere to the hotel at all.I had wanted to book a couple of spa treatments for our stay but couldn't find any details about what they offered on line. I did ask to be sent something but nothing ever came. The pool was small and you have to plod through the gym to get to the changing rooms.Breakfast is buffet style and was perfectly fine. Would have preferred fresh tea and coffee.When we were there the rooms were stifling hot even though it was only about 20 degrees outside. There was no aircon but thankfully the windows do open wide but it took a very long time for the room to cool down so sleep was a bit of an issue.All in all good value for money if you just want somewhere away from the city centre for one night.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I would like to assure you that your comments are being investigated and will be dealt with accordingly.Kind regards,Martin HallGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent stop, great hotel"

24th August 2013, Jodo78, Birmingham, United Kingdom

Booked online and all went smoothly when I arrived early evening. Rooms were clean tidy and well decorated. (room 19 does have air-con units outside the window so it was a bit noisy at night.)Excellent service at the bar and restaurant with comfy seating and sky sports, ideal for relaxing after a working day. Evening menu had a good selection and food was very good. Superb breakfast in the morning.Did not get chance to check out the leisure facilities or golf course but when back in Sunderland on business I will definitely stop here again.I would recommend booking the breakfast and evening meal deal.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, when you can hopefully enjoy the leisure or golf facilities at the hotel. Kind regards,Martin HallGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 2.0 out of 5 stars "not up to Mercures normal standards"

2nd July 2013, nuttydon, Heathfield, United Kingdom

ok room but staff were just not bothered to help or volunteer information. no little touches to make this a nice stay, really just an expensive travel lodge style experience. bed was far too soft, so as to be actually uncomfortable. we had an evening meal in the restaurant and it was very poor quality and not up to Mercures usual high standards. all in all we were very disapointed.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestI am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. I will ensure improvements from your comments are implemented as soon as possible.Kind regards, Martin HallGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Weekend break away"

21st February 2013, Jack3333168, Billingham, United Kingdom

Very enjoyable stay, close to the Metro centre for shopping, which was our main purposeStaff very helpful and polite. Room clean and comfortableNot enough sign posts to find location of Hotel though.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for taking the time and trouble to place your review of the hotel after your recent stay at the Mercure George Washington Hotel, Golf & Spa.I would like to offer my thanks for your kind comments. I will share your comments with the hotel team as it is good to recognise their efforts and that they were appreciated, as this is a good motivation tool.I will discuss your comment with regard to the hotel signage with the local council, with the aim to increase the number of signs as you approach the hotel.RegardsMartin HallGeneral ManagerMercure George Washington Hotel, Golf & Spa
« hide

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Service good food poor"

21st January 2013, 3nightstay, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Stayed at the G. Washington for 3 nights in January 2013 the hotel location and general facilities were to a good standard, the rooms were clean and the service good, however the standard of food was very poor and not what I was expecting. If your staying at this hotel EAT OUT.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestI would like to thank you for your comments from your recent stay at the hotel. Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for your disappointment regarding the poor standard of the food at the hotel. I will discuss your comments with both the Head Chef and Food and Beverage Manager and together we will implement the necessary improvements as soon as possible.I am very pleased you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and found the cleanliness and service good. However, I realise it is extremely important that all aspects of your stay are good and I acknowledge the food at the hotel requires improvement.I do hope you feel able to give the hotel a second chance in the future and I am confident you will experience the improvements.RegardsMartin HallGeneral ManagerMercure George Washington Hotel, Golf & Spa
« hide

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great hotel"

2nd January 2013, EricaClewes, Gloucester, United Kingdom

The abode was everything we expected and the ambience was first class.The attention to detail was superb both in the room and restaurant.We will certainly return to Chester again and enjoy a stay at the Abode and explore more of the city.

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Our Daughters Wedding venue"

1st November 2012, mikenhaze, Sunderland, United Kingdom

Most of the wedding party stayed after the wedding and we cannot complement the staff on their professionalism especially Anita who helped everything go smoothly throughout the day. Our only little grouse was that tea served with breakfast was on the cool side. It's such a small problem that I almost feel embarrassed at mentioning it.

View management response »

Management responseDear mikenhazeMany thanks for your kinds with regards to your daughter’s special day. I so glad that everything went well as planned and will pass your kind words on to Anita. On the other hand I’m sorry that tea at breakfast was not hot enough. This is something we would rather know about so it can be rectified for future breakfast service.Once again many thanks for your kind words.Kind regardsNeel ChawlaGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Lovely rooms but - King size bed???"

1st August 2012, 2plus2kids, Liphook, Hants

.We were generally very impressed by this hotel, which was actually the same price per room as the Premier Inn (ex breakfast which we did not have due to the cost). Rooms interconnected which was great for us as a family, and were absolutely spotless. Our only gripe was that, having been promised a king size double bed on the booking confirmation, the bed was actually only 4ft 6in ; not even Queen size! Having spent an uncomfortable night, we did query it with Reception the next morning, and were re-allocated two ENORMOUS rooms (again interconnecting) with king and single beds which kept everyone very happy. NB - tip for breakfast - there is a Sainsbury's and a Frankie and Benny's 2 mins drive away. Rooms have fridges (some work, some don't) to keep your milk in. The location was excellent and it was quiet. Would definitely stay here again if we could get the same room rate.

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Close enough for cricket at Emirates Durham"

17th July 2012, Perth, United Kingdom

Washington Mercure (hard to find at first, particularly if you're arriving late evening) is an excellent stopover for cricket at Chester-Le-Street's Riverside (now sponsored as Emirates Durham) ground.

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Good value hotel."

4th July 2012, bridgnorth

Good, pleasant hotel for a very reasonable price. Room was large, bed was comfortable. The inclusion of a fridge in the room was very useful. Would stay again & recommend to others.

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Perfect"

23rd May 2012, robertburgess282, Ilford, United Kingdom

We found the hotel the best we have stayed in. Quiet, staff friendly, fantastic food and idea location. Less than 10 minutes from the M192.

View management response »

Management responseDear robertburgess282Thank you for your kind remarks. I’m glad that you were extremely happy with the staff, food and location.I hope to see you soon in the near future future.Many thanksNeel Chawla
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.