Hotel - Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

73 High Street  Oxfordshire 
OX1 4BE  OXFORD
UNITED KINGDOM

1,057 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,057 reviews
Check Prices
Best price guarantee
From
From 105.00 GBP Non member rate
From 99.75 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Check Prices
Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Public outdoor parking
  • Reduced mobility rooms
  • LONDON HEATHROW
  • Reception open 24 hours a day

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Public outdoor parking
  • Reduced mobility rooms
  • LONDON HEATHROW
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 6:30 am to 10:30 am
    • Opening hours : Week-end 6:30 am to 10:30 am

Business services

  • 1 meeting room(s)
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

  • 64 rooms
  • 64 non-smoking rooms
  • 1 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 3 family rooms
  • 2 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Air Cooling System
    • Trouser press in room
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Radio in room
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Telephone
    • Crib on request
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our customer reviews for Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating3.5/5 Based on 1,057 reviews

MARTIN H 2017/03/23
« Another great night »

An occasional treat for us. We love the place. great staff great place to stay to enjoy Oxford. Food v good and PARKING ! The only downside was noisy people upstairs but we still had a good night`s sleep in v comfy bed

ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Martin H Thank you so much for your kid review, greatly appreciated and such a morale boost to the team. Oxford is a lovely city, can be a little noise when the students are relaxing or celebrating, however full of history and fun, we are located ideally in the middle. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future With best wishes Peter Watt General Manager

Z5628TPsaral 2017/03/22
« nice location »

The location is good and the breakfast as well Room is OK. the staff was very helpful as they did their best to offer early check in and also helped us find our luggage that we forgot in the oxford tub bus. I recommend this hotel

ManagerOxford, Front Office Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear TPsaral Thank you so much for your kind review, I was pleased to read that the team had been extremely helpful in in retrieving your luggage. Your kind words have been greatly appreciated by the team and a huge morale boost throughout. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

georgekV3033WT 2017/02/17
« Good hotel, disappointing service »

We had a nice experience at the Mercure Eastgate Oxford but there were a few issues that were quite disappointing, and could be a reason to look for other hotel options when we visit Oxford again. 1. We paid for a privilege room, which should come with bathrobes. When we arrived there was only one, so we requested another one which never arrived. 2. We tried making coffee the following morning and it tasted like it was burnt, the Nespresso machines often need maintenance which could be a reason for producing such low quality coffee. 3. After the room was cleaned the second day, we came back to find only one set of towels, and still one bathrobe. 4. After coming back late at night we found our room door open. As you can obviously understand this is completely unacceptable. We did mention that when we checked out, and the reception casually thanked us for letting them know - we were not planning to make a big deal out of this but it was unacceptable, and I am assuming that such things don't happen all the time in your hotel so their reaction was confusing. 5. As a result of the above, I felt that the staff was not professional or properly trained. Having said that, the room was lovely and we especially loved the big bathroom window and views. Also, whenever we asked for anything, besides the bathrobe incident, the reception responded fast.

ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear George K Thank you for your recent review, I was pleased to note that you liked Oxford and parts of the hotel. I am very sorry and embarrassed at the lack of attention to detail from our housekeeping department, please be assured I have a meeting already booked with the Regional Manager for the housekeeping company and will be speaking in detail as to the way forward. We have a couple of new members to the housekeeping team since the beginning of the year, and although they are good they do not fully understand English and still need some extra training. With the door being left open, that was a total error I can assure in a city centre hotel we are very conscientious of hotel and personal safety. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, and we will ensure a totally safe, clean and tidy bedroom Yours sincerely Peter Watt General Manager

Rachel R 2016/12/23
« Exceeded expectations »

Excellent location, friendly, welcoming and efficient staff, comfortable bed and tasty breakfast. We could not have asked for more. A great choice for a stay in central Oxford. The less mobile should stay on the first or second floor as there is no lift to the third.

ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Rachel R. Thank you very much for your kind review, greatly appreciated and a huge morale boost for the team. We are situated in the city centre, on site parking and a small walk to all the places of interest, universities and shops. The hotel was renovated last year. we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back, please do look on the hotel website for our 2017 offers. With kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

elizabethhI7368IN 2016/11/29
« Fantastic stay in Oxford »

The hospitality in this hotel is always excellent. We have stayed her a few times and have also stayed elsewhere and find the front desk staff a delight- helpful and knowledgable. We love the Ruskin Suite. A great space, a bit more expensive but a great place to have a child at university come and relax and just spend time in a homelike setting!

ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth Thank you so much for your kind review, I must admit the Ruskin Suite is a lovely room and prior to being the manager I did spend one night in the suite. I was pleased to read that the front of house team looked after you and that it like home to home. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards Peter watt General Manager

Archie01052010 2016/09/24
« Rip off in Oxford »

Having arrived in the small car park we observed a staff member kangarooing around in a guest vehicle so parked our Range Rover in a position where it would not need moving. At reception we were gruffly told that whilst it would not need moving keys must be left at reception if we wished to use the car park. Having paid £296 to include parking and breakfast for my wife and I we expected something special. The room was nice and clean but the bed and pillows did not have protectors fitted. The pillows were particularly uncomfortable made of high density oblong shaped foam. Coupled with creaky floor boards and slamming door from the room above through the night, little sleep was had. We dined in the Marco Pierre White restaurant. The wrong started was brought to the table with apologies from the server. A salad ordered with the main course had to be requested again half way through the main course. It arrived with further apologies and was not charged to the bill. We were given a chit for two free drinks by way of placating us following the rude reception. After supper we ordered two single malts at the bar and presented the chit only to be informed that it only entitled us to a beer or house wine. We explained we had been told only that it was for "two free drinks at the bar". After the intervention of the restaurant manager the chit was accepted as payment. Breakfast was appauling, again served in the MPW restaurant. The bacon was under cooked and cold. The fried eggs were over cooked and rubbery. Having completed a survey the hotel awarded us 1500 points on their club card. Added to the points awarded from our booking we now have over 2000 points which gives a E40 discount on future bookings. In light of our experience we shall not be using them! The reader can decide whether this hotel offers value for money.

ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Mr Dagg Following on from your review that you completed onine direct to the hotel and which I have responded to. I am very sorry that there are points that we were not made aware of on your online guest survey and I would be pleased to discuss your stay in person, as I was not informed by my team of your concerns at the time of your stay or received any feedback personally from the front desk personnel. I wish to personally apologise for the disappointment you encountered on your stay, and would be grateful if you could personally telephone the hotel and ask for myself or leave a telephone number so I may return your call. The hotel number is 01865 248332. Yours sincerely Peter Watt General Manager

JDouglasA 2016/06/14
« Our stay at the Eastgate in Oxford »

Good hotel and location very central for Academic Oxford. Our room on the 3rd floor was not easy to access, involving the left, a flight of stairs and a long passageway with 4 steps more and to dose for reaching the room at the end of the building. The room was comfortable but the air-conditioning struggled to cope with the warm afternoon and evenings, the location can be noisy and the windows had to be kept shut overnight. The food was good, the staff were pleasant and helpful (although the restaurant staff struggled a little with English-language) and the bar prices were quite expensive. Nevertheless, it was an enjoyable stay and we would use that hotel again.

ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased that you liked the hotel and the newly refurbished bedrooms. I am sorry for the problem with access to bedrooms on the third floor, I am afarid due to the age and structure of the hotel, we cannot extend the lift to the third floor, we have asked on numerous occasions. Oxford is a vibrant student city and with all the exams going on at present, can be a little boiterous when they have finished. i have asked my colleague to look at the air conditioning system, it was recently serviced in preparation for the summer. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From 105.00 GBP Non member rate
From 99.75 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee
Check Prices