Hotel - Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

At the Foot of Box Hill 
RH5 6BX DORKING
UNITED KINGDOM

476 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 476 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 114.00 GBP Non member rate
From 102.60 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 114.00 GBP

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel is a 4-star hotel set in stunning North Downs. Enjoy the beautiful surroundings coupled with the divine detail of the hotel itself, with striking wooden beams in the Tithe Barn making this a perfect wedding venue in Box Hill. Burford Bridge hotel is within close proximity to Dorking, Leatherhead and easy reach of the M25, Gatwick and Heathrow airports, ideal for business or leisure. Experience the complimentary outdoor heated swimming pool between April and September.

The hotel is situated in the countryside at the foot of Box Hill and is 30 miles from Central London and 12 miles from Gatwick Airport. For activities within the area there are golf lessons available nearby the hotel at an 18-hole golf course .

Hotel extras

Experience fine British cuisine at the on-site hotel restaurant 'Knightley's' or relax in the hotel's outdoor heated swimming pool. The hotel offers parking spaces and Wi-Fi in your room as well as in the communal areas.

This hotel is Planet 21 Silver
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
  • Outdoor heated pool
  • Breakfast
  • Golf  (Nearby)
    • Golf course 18 holes (Nearby)
    • Golf course 9 holes (Nearby)
    • Golf lessons (Nearby)

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
  • Air conditioning
  • Hotel open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Porter

Leisure and activities

  • Outdoor heated pool
  • Golf  (Nearby)
    • Golf course 18 holes (Nearby)
    • Golf course 9 holes (Nearby)
    • Golf lessons (Nearby)
  • Croquet

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 Hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 Hours

Business services

  • 8 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Our rooms

With their fresh new look, all of our 57 rooms are en-suite and offer modern convenience and comfort. You'll find air-conditioning, flat-screen TVs, free WIFI, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and a trouser press.or 24-hour room service for something more. You'll find air-conditioning and all the usual things; toiletries, direct dial telephone with a direct line in, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and a trouser press.

  • Privilege Double Room
    Privilege Double Room

    Enhanced comfort with a double bed, deluxe toiletries, robe & slippers, complimentary soft drinks, Nespresso machine, Preferred Check-in/Check-out times, enjoy Privilege Perks evening drinks and canapés, 100 bonus Le Club points and a gift

  • Classic Double Room
    Classic Double Room

    Rooms include a double bed, free WIFI, air-conditioning, telephone, TV, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, trouser press, mini bar and en-suite bathroom with bath.

  • Classic Twin Room
    Classic Twin Room

    Rooms include two single beds, broadband, air conditioning, telephone, TV, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, trouser press, mini bar and ensuite bathroom with bath.

  • Superior Double Room
    Superior Double Room

    Our Superior rooms offer extra living space and a balcony or patio with beautiful views of our gardens. The rooms include a sofa, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary mineral water and toiletries.

  • 57 rooms
  • 57 non-smoking rooms
  • 3 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Airconditioning
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Air Cooling System
    • Trouser press in room
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Web TV
    • Telephone
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Crib on request
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • DDI - Direct Dialing In
    • Printer
    • Fax machine
    • High speed transmission line
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

EMLYN RESTAURANT Restaurant
Lunch 12:00 - 15:00
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Dinner 19:00 - 21:30
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

EMLYN RESTAURANT Type of cuisine: Regional


The Emlyn Restaurant is open to residents and non-residents alike. Overlooking the gardens, you can experience fine British contemporary cuisine in an exquisite setting. Al fresco dining is available in our beautifully landscaped gardens.

Find out more and book
BURFORD BAR & LOUNGE Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BURFORD BAR & LOUNGE


From morning coffee to light lunches, homemade afternoon teas and evening meals, choose froma wide selection of dishes from our Burford Bar & Lounge Menu. The bar serves a wide range of drinks as well as a selection of cocktails. Open every day.

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 8
  • Maximum size: 284 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 220
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 220

Our customer reviews for Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5 Based on 476 reviews

Chris O 2016/07/25
« A quality Mercure hotel »

This hotel is beautifully situated in lovely grounds at the foot of an impressive view of Box Hill. The staff were excellent and the quality of breakfast was first class. Dinner was rather expensive so we tended to eat elsewhere. Our room was a good standard and it was a pleasure to sit in their garden and have a drink. There is a good outdoor swimming pool but the only downside to this is that the locals have some sort of membership which means that in good weather the pool is crammed with local children and their parents. Apart from this the hotel is well managed with good staff and close proximity to Dorking, RHS Wisley and Polsden Lacey.

Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris O Thank you very much for your considered review and I'm really pleased to see that, on the whole, you really enjoyed your stay here. You're right that we're so lucky with our location and the stunning Box Hill as a back drop - especially beautiful from the Lido Pool. I really hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kindest regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

MercureBoxHill 2016/06/25
« Lacking a few basics »

We had pre-booked a 'superior' room for the last night of our stay in the UK before flying home the next day. Afrer checking in and having searched in vain for the room safe, we phoned reception to enquire where it was, only to be told that not all 'superior' rooms have one (why not?). It was a cold, rainy evening and so we turned up the thermostat in the room to get warm, but all we could achieve was a blast of cold air. Another phone call to reception elicited the information that we had no control over the system's ability to heat (despite the thermostat indicating that we did), only to cool (why?). There were no spare blankets provided in the room (why not?) and so we asked for one to be brought up so that we could at least be warm in bed. It arrived promptly. We then made several more calls to reception to ask how we could check in to our flights, but getting no response to any of them we went down in person. We were told that facilities existed to print out our boarding passes, but only after we had somehow managed to get through the on-line check-in process (how, without a device to do this on?). The next morning we enquired again and the new (and much more helpful) receptionist then on duty found us a tablet. Boarding passes were printed out very promptly. Finally, the water in both the bathroom sink and shower were very slow to drain away (which might account for the 'pondy' smell throughout the room). Overall we were disappointed that a modern hotel, especially one located so close to a major airport, should fail to provide some of the fairly basic facilities that a traveller might be expected to require, i.e. somewhere safe to store a passport, a method of keeping warm and a stress-free way of checking in to a flight.

Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your considered review and for your comments. I'm sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Because of the design of some of the Superior Bedrooms we do not have anywhere to put a safe however we would happily have moved you to a bedroom with a safe, or taken your items in for safekeeping to the hotel safe. The Air Conditioning unit only controls the cooling of the bedroom, the radiator controls the heat so I'm sorry for the confusion. At this time of the year we need both active as some days are very warm and others are cool. Regarding your comments about your online check-in, we rarely get asked to do this anymore as most guests have a phone or tablet and can do it themselves, which is more secure. We are always happy to print off any boarding cards that you require however. I am glad that we could find you a tablet to use and I shall thank the Receptionist who found this solution for you. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

pauleenh22 2016/03/17
« Fabulous »

We stayed for just 1 evening (business trip) and was more than pleasantly surprised. The decor and the food was amazing. Breakfast shouldn't be missed. The staff in the restaurant could not do enough for us, without being intrusive. Well done to all . Would not hesitate to stay again.

Nicholas B, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pauleenh22 Thank you so much for your kind and considered review of your stay at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your time here and I shall make sure that the team, especially on Breakfast, see your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Nicholas Bees General Manager

Cate S 2015/10/17
« Very poor »

I stayed 3 nights on business; I didn’t get a decent night’s sleep on any of them. The room was so hot it was almost unbearable - and that was with a large French door fully open. The bed was like a plank and the pillows like rocks. No surprise that all the feather pillows were with other guests. The room service menu was poor also, not much choice, no light healthy salads – everything fried. I arrived on Sunday and the restaurant wasn’t one just the bar – which was the same as room service. I ate elsewhere the remaining nights and was very happy to leave. The rooms were clean on the face of it, but the 2 hairs I found in the bathroom remained there all 3 days – fortunately at the top of the shower stall, so no investigation needed. I didn’t explore the room cleanliness after that – ignorance is bliss after all. The staff were pretty pleasant and quite helpful, but somewhat ineffectual – I had to phone twice for fresh milk for example; it’s a very strange reception area too. The hotel has style after is flooding remodel a few years ago – a definite case of style over substance I’m sad to say.

Tony T, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear of the shortcomings during your visit. I take cleanliness very seriously and will address your feedback regarding the bathroom with the team to ensure we avoid re-occurrence. We will also discuss your feedback regarding our reception service. Our restaurant is only closed on Sunday nights, but our bar serves a large variety of food items as as an alternative. We take your feedback regarding the room service menu on board. Whilst we don't fry much of our food, we will look to offer more low calorie (salad) options to enhance a healthy diet. We appreciate you brought this to our attention and do hope we may serve you better in the near future. Kindest regards, Tony Tijhuis General Manager

hillsy2015 2015/06/24
« Spolit by noise »

Setting stunning, breakfast sublime - noise from other guests running around like drunken loons - disappointing Décor very impressive, the grounds also good - the slackness at responding to our complaint was poor

Tony T, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your writing a review following your recent stay with us at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. I am pleased to read that you like our hotel, the setting, our decor and our breakfast offer, which we recently upgraded and are sorry this positive experience was spoilt by noise from other guests. We will discuss this with our team to ensure that should this occur, our team will attend to the disturbance quicker in the future. We appreciate you feedback and hope to welcome you back soon again. Kindest regards, Tony Tijhuis General Manager

Wilf W 2015/03/29
« A good Stay at The Burford Bridge Hotel »

A good clean hotel and we had a pleasant stay. We enjoyed great evening dining and were very happy to use the the facilities more than once during our stay. Overall well worth staying at this Hotel if your in the area.

Tony T, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, We are glad you shared your experience on tripadvisor and will pass your feedback to our team. We all hope to welcome you back soon again for another enjoyable stay. Kindest regards, Tony Tijhuis General Manager

donaldbovill 2015/01/04
« Mercure box hill,A Box of Delights. »

We stayed at the mercure Burford bridge for 3 nights including new years eve. From the moment we arrived we were treated like part of a family. The whole team from the people on reception to the food and beverage manager Christopher made the whole experience an absouloute delight. We opted to have the wine and dine experience in the restaurant on new years eve and we were telephoned a few days before that we would be the only people in the dining room as the other guests had opted for the meal and disco in the tithe barn. We are'nt that fond of Disco so asked to be in the restaurant as planned.The meal was fantastic as were the matching wines. Special mention must be made to Diddier The Maitre'd who was thouroghly charming. We cant thank the Burford bridge enough for making this new years celebration so memorable. The garden room was extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were a delight,the only downside was that leaving this wonderful hotel came far too quickly. It's not often that we go back to britain for a lengthy stay but if we are in this part of the country again,this will be our first choice. Once again thank you Burford Bridge and the entire team.

Tony T, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guests, Thank you very much for your review following your New Year's Eve stay at the Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel. We are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your break with us. It is always a great motivator to get such encouraging feedback and our staff will be delighted to read your feedback. I will especially thank both Didier and Chris. We hope you will come back to the UK in the not too distant future and look forward to getting the opportunity of being your hosts again. Kindest regards, Tony Tijhuis General Manager

Lesley S 2013/12/11
« enjoyable »

only there one night but would have quite happily stayed longer. the service was excellent the room comfatable and clean, we thought that there might be noise from the road as there was no double glazing and we were directly on to the road but is was not a problem at all as there was not much traffic using the road.

mistyrabbit1 2013/08/27
« qϒ射��n�juv.��7���u� »

My husband and I stayed for a wedding at this hotel. It is in a lovely location and has a pleasant atmosphere. Our room was comfortable and attractive. The breakfast selection was very good and the meal at the wedding was top class. The hotel had, however, some issues with service. I requested porridge and after some time a waitress came and asked "porridge?" I said yes. She proceeded to place a bacon bap in front of me. I had to explain that it wasn't porridge. Also, the bar staff at the wedding were very slow. When multiple drinks were ordered, they proceeded to fill out the order one drink at a time rather than put the glasses under the taps and fill them together. They had no change in the till and seemed generally disorganised. One staff member behind the bar refused to pass the cordial because she wasn't allowed to serve. All in all, a lovely hotel but some training is in order!

Paul M, General Manager at Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your recent stay here at the Burford Bridge Hotel . I was pleased that in general you enjoyed your stay and will look into the service concerns that you encountered during your time with us to ensure that are rectified for the future .

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 114.00 GBP Non member rate
From 102.60 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 2.5 km Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel
Mercure Dorking White Horse Hotel
From
From 81.00 GBP Non member rate
From 72.90 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 14 km Sofitel London Gatwick
Hotel Sofitel London Gatwick
From
From 139.50 GBP Non member rate
From 132.53 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 16 km ibis London Gatwick Airport
Hotel ibis London Gatwick Airport
From
From 64.00 GBP Non member rate
From 60.80 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 21 km ibis Styles London Croydon
Hotel ibis Styles London Croydon
From
From 44.10 GBP Non member rate
From 41.90 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in DORKING
Select your dates 114.00 GBP Rooms from 114.00 GBP