Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Stratford Upon Avon Hotels > Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel
See : the photos

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Public outdoor parking - Paying
    • Private outdoor parking - Paying
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking - Paying
    • Pet allowed - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 78
  • Hotel location: In the centre of town
  • Main point of interest: SHAKESPEARE THEATRE (0.40 km)

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel - hotel reviews in Stratford Upon Avon

Hotel code: 6630

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "mercure stratford upon avon"

14th September 2013, 123yahoo123, Aylesbury

Need to be aware car park is small and might not get in.Also hotel charge £10 per night to say in their car park.Need to put do not disturb on room door otherwise we found our room was cleaned whilst we had breakfast even though we had the key

View management response »

Management responseDear Guests,Thank you for your positive review and pointing out some issues that you have experienced.We will review your comments and these will help us to improve our service standards.I hope to welcome you back in the future.Kind regards,Marnix TeekenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "MDBryntawe"

12th September 2013, mdbryntawe, Swansea, United Kingdom

A lovely oldy worldy hotel in the centre of Stratford upon Avon. We had a privilege Room which was a good size.The afternoon tea was lovely and a good price and the evening meal was good too. The staff were friendly. There were many nationalities staying here.Would recommend.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guests,Thank you so much for your kind comments about our "Olde Worldy" Hotel and friendly staff. We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.I hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Marnix TeekenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Mercure Stratford Upon Avon - eat before you go!"

12th September 2013, 707RMB, London, United Kingdom

Fabulous location, and very nice staff - but do not bother eating in the restaurant - ridiculously small portions and heaven help if you're in situ when they have a private group in the next room, we literally ended up putting our plates on the adjoining table as no one to clear, for 35 mins....

View management response »

Management responseDear Guests,Thank you very much for your positive review here on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us, but I would like to apologise for the delay encountered in our busy restaurant.I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Marnix TeekenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent hotel in Stratford upon Avon "Mercure""

7th September 2013, WooStockholm, Stockholm, Sweden

Very good location, very close to shops and restaurants. Easy to find. Room is very comfortable bed and clean room. Service is excellent. Special thanks to Becca Ireland, very helpful and acceptional service.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guests,Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your room and the service you received at the Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel.Thank you as well for your compliments you made about the service you received from myself, it was my pleasure.Kind regards,Becca IrelandFront Office Manager
« hide

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Aug bank holiday at Stratford on Avon"

30th August 2013, kathymoulds, Pontyclun, United Kingdom

We had a lovely night at the Shakespeare. Great location in the centre of town for all amenities.Will definitely stay here again in the future. Lovely traditional room, Clean and comfortable. Lovely young lady at reception check-in, who gave us advice about parking etc.

View management response »

Management responseDear Kathy Moulds,Thank you for your positive review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your time in Stratford-upon-Avon and the hotel.Kind regards,Marnix TeekenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 2.0 out of 5 stars "This hotel needs to take a look at itself"

29th August 2013

We stayed here for three nights on a half-board basis with complimentary room upgrade "if available". I do not consider a cramped, gloomy room at the back of the hotel, which I felt could do with some attention, a room upgrade. The evening meal options, for those staying on a half-board basis, were very limited and the meal on the second of our three nights was so unappetising that we ate out on the third evening. This was altogether a most disappointing experience which is such a shame as Stratford-Upon-Avon is a lovely town.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guests,Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. I have shared your concerns with the Head Chef as this will help our continious path of improvement.We hope to welcome you back to The Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the future.Kind regards,Marnix TeekenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "great location"

21st August 2013, Iainhopcroft

The girlfriend and I had a fantastic stay at the Shakespear hotel, the food was amazing and is in the best location for people wanting to explore the town.the staff were friendly and the hotel was very clean and tidy

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Delightful hotel in splendid location!"

16th August 2013, 3767, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

A warm and very efficient mid-afternoon reception in spacious surroundings led on to the car being conveniently parked in the hotel car park.Our air-conditioned room was well-appointed, quiet (looking on to car park at the rear of the hotel) with full-sized bathroom en-suite, comfortable bed and 40" TV. The hotel is ideally situated for pedestrian shopping and sight-seeing in Stratford with several restaurants and coffee shops also within easy reach.An excellent breakfast was enjoyed in the dining room and altogether it was top marks all round for both Stratford and the Mercure.

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Mercure stratford upon Avon"

14th August 2013, Tray2013, Nottingham, United Kingdom

Weekend trip with my husband sister and brother in law. Amazing stay at the mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare hotel. Large room in the Garrick wing. Very clean and quiet. Friendly and very helpful staff. Amazing food. Central to shops bars and river. Definitely return for another weekend.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guests,Thank you so much for your great feedback about your large room in the Garrick wing and the amazing food in our Othello's Brasserie. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back at the Mercure Shakespeare Hotel in the near future.Kind regards,Marnix TeekenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great location, friendly staff, good value"

10th August 2013, 493Visitor, Ipswich, United Kingdom

Second time we have stayed there and both times found staff really welcoming, room good and really good price. Location excellent, beautiful historical building a must for staying in Stratford. Didn't have breakfast or dinner there so cannot comment on that facility.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guests,Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and the friendly staff. Your feedback will be shared and will encourage the team to improve their guest service standards.We hope to welcome you in the near future.Kind regards,Marnix TeekenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Well worth a visit."

8th August 2013, cathedral2013, Littlehampton, United Kingdom

Up grade your room where possible. Pre book a car parking space, and you will thoroughly enjoy this location. Food and service very good. We enjoy that fact that the hotels are situated centrally in cities but enjoyed the location at Newbury last year!!! Searching for our next venue as we write.Thank you.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guests,Thank you for your kind comments about our food and service in Othello's. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.Enjoy your stay at the other Mercure.Kind regards,Marnix TeekenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Mercure Stratford on Avon"

5th August 2013, clearAirTurbulence, Ringwood, United Kingdom

Great location and atmosphere - perfect for theatre and restaurants. Parking should be booked in advance to ensure you get a place. otherwise it's a 5 minute walk to the nearest car park (they do give you a voucher, £5 for 24 hours). Would like real coffee in room not instant, but you're lucky if you get that anywhere.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guests,Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your time in Stratford-upon-Avon. We do offer a Privilege Room which carries a supplement of £ 20 per night and the main benefits are slippers, bathrobes, additional toiletries and a Nespresso coffee machine which creates a lovely espresso coffee.I hope to welcome you back in the near future.Kind regards,Marnix TeekenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 3.0 out of 5 stars "friends reunion weekend"

18th July 2013, pandafranklin, Bicester, United Kingdom

Extremely frustrated by overbooking, only told when I arrived that they had no room for me so had reserved a room at a nearby hotel (I had booked 4 months prior!!)Thankfully I arrived with a very good friend and we wanted to remain in the same hotel so ended up sharing a room.

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Please accept my sincere apology for not honouring your original reservation. I would like to stress that we do not purposely overbook the hotel, but that a genuine mistake was made prior to the day you were staying with us. We left a booking site open and too many reservations were made. I hope that this experience will not deter you for returning to the hotel. Please contact me direct and I will look personally after your reservation.Kind regards,Marnix TeekenGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Stratford upon Avon Shakespeare Hotel: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great for service"

9th July 2013, silvermaplelondon, London

I am a very fussy hotel user & I found the service & dedication to clients to be excellent. Nothing was too much trouble, all staff were friendly, efficient & available for what was required. The breakfast was delicious & effecient - we did not have to continuously wait for the buffet to be replenished - it was there straight away. It is a quaint old hotel which lends character, but the walls are thin & the corridor squeaks when bags are trundled along at 6am! But this cannot be helped. The bed was quite hard - wondered if it was straw in keeping with the age of the hotel!! Downside was that there was only one double socket in the room for lamp. kettle & any personal items.. Not good as the bedside lamps were wired in so the sockets could not be used. Good wi-fi but could not get the MP3 to play through the TV as advertised in the room. All in all - i would go back with an extention lead & a mattress softener!!

View management response »

Management responseDear Guest,Thank you very much for your time to write this review. Your kind comments about our hotel and staff are much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the future.Kind regards,Marnix TeekenGeneral ManagerMercure Shakespeare Hotel
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.