Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Cardiff Hotels > Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Air conditioning
    • Public indoor parking - Paying - Nearby
    • Private indoor parking - Paying
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 8
    • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • Number: 1
    • Indoor heated pool
    • Golf - Nearby
    • Sauna
    • Massage
    • Jacuzzi
    • Fitness centre
  • Number of rooms: 165
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: CARDIFF (1.80 km)

Hotel address

24 26 Newport Road
CF24 0DD CARDIFF
UNITED KINGDOM

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 51° 29' 2.35'' W 3° 10' 2.81''

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa - hotel reviews in Cardiff

Hotel code: 6622

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "nice hotel, shame about the memory lapses"

10th September 2013, sootyblue1722, Cardiff, United Kingdom

This was a good hotel and a generally positive experience. However, having requested that soya milk be put in the room at booking, we arrived to find no soya milk. We asked the receptionist and were assured that it would be sent up to the room. When we arrived back later that eventing (after 10pm) there was still no soya milk and we had to phone down to request it. We also requested extra pillows on arrival, and again when we phoned in the night - but these never arrived. This affected our quality of sleep as the pillows were of poor quality, being synthetic and prone to disappearing under the weight of a head!Service however was friendly, the room was lovely, the bed otherwise comfortable, and the air conditioning easy to manage. The shower was nice and big, but the bath tiny.

View management response »

Management responseWe really appreciate your honest feedback and can only apologise for not having actioned your requests more promptly. We are pleased though that you found the rest of your stay enjoyable and the staff friendly.We hope that next time we can 'wow' you and look forward to welcoming you backKind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Holiday"

9th September 2013, lillianroyle, Dorchester, United Kingdom

This hotel puts you right next to the centre of Cardiff and is an easy walk to a total retail therapy day, with the night life and a cultural experience thrown in. It is perfect, and the Hotel staff are also really friendly and attentive. The food is excellent and the Spa facilities are a treat. Thank you for a great few days.

View management response »

Management responseWe were so pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and managed to enjoy the hotel facilities and more importantly 'some retail therapy' - a definite must when you visit Cardiff!The staff really appreciate the mention tooWe hope you will have an excuse to visit us again soonKind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Lovely Break"

6th September 2013, Nia K

We stayed for 2 nights. Our room was upgraded as it was our wedding anniversary. Very friendly, efficient staff. We had a meal at the restaurant on the first night. It was very good value for money. Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty of choice and the food was nice and hot. We used the leisure facilities twice and it was very nice. We had a very peaceful night, no noise from other guests. The bed was very comfortable. I look forward to staying there again in the future.

View management response »

Management responseWe are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations with us. Thank you so much for posting your review, it is great to read that you found the stay so comfortable and the team friendly and efficient.We do hope you have reason to return again to us soon, maybe a special spa break.....Kind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 3.0 out of 5 stars "is this a SPA?"

28th August 2013, r_adroer, Londdon

The spa is not a really nice place, it has nothing special. The Jacuzzi was not working and the decoration is not charm at all. It is just a swimming pool with a sauna.The hotel was clean and the breakfast quite good.

View management response »

Management responseWe were sorry to read your feedbak and a little confused as our Spa is one of the largest in the city with 13 treatment rooms, spread over two floors with private dining facilities and relaxation room.Our gym and pool also has a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. We are aware that the jacuzzi was out of action for a few days whilst a part was being replaced and cannot apologies enough for this.We hope that you will consider trying us again and maybe take advantage of our spaKind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Decent"

24th August 2013, Rumarz, Reading, United Kingdom

Booked for our 2 year anniversary, the stay at this hotel was pleasant in whole. The staff always fulfilled what you asked of them, even though they seemed unenthusiastic about assisting. Staff were polite and courteous, and helpful with useful information about the local area. The room was massive, clean and had all the amenities you need from a hotel room. The bathroom was in superb condition, with a large bath and nice powerful shower. We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you found the room 'massive' and the bathroom superb.Hopefully you will have reason to return again soon and maybe we can tempt you to dine with us as well...Kind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent location and Value for money"

19th August 2013, MerfCaernarfon, Caernarfon

I have stayed in the five star hotels locally and though they are excellent I prefer the Holland House. The pluses for me was the room, a spacious corner family room which had a great panoramic view of the city. The service was faultless, in particular the staff who were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is only 200/300 yards from the shops/cinema and near the shuttle train to the bay. Car parking in the basement was handy and at £12 per night good value. Breakfast was included in the room price and again was excellent. I used the pool each morning and found it clean and easily accessible. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff made us feel grateful we had chosen their hotel!!

View management response »

Management responseA big thank you from us all for your positive feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review- and what a fantastic review too!!We are fortunate to have great spacious rooms and a location with easy access to all venues too, but to know the staff have impressed is the icing on the cake for us.Thank you again and we hope to be able to weclome you back soonKind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Service!"

17th August 2013, Dai56, Cardigan, United Kingdom

Have just returned from Mercure Cardiff Holland House and were really impressed by the friendly, efficient staff. Too often service at these chain hotels leaves much to be desired but our friends and ourselves commented on the cheery, polite staff who genuinely seemed to embrace customer care. How sad that we presume that courtesy and concern are a thing of the past but the Mercure Cardiff deserve the plaudits. In addition, we had a meal in the price on our first night and it was so good we booked for the second night as well. Will definitely return.

View management response »

Management responseWe were all thrilled to read your feedback- thank you so much. To be advised of how motivated and polite the team are really is the best compliment we could have.Chef also took great pleasure in sharing your feedback with his team as the food so often gets overlooked in hotelsWe hope you you will return again soonKind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 3.0 out of 5 stars "It was all right"

22nd July 2013, Stephen Y, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Not as central as it might sound and there is nothing around this part of Newport Road.. A good 10 - 15 minute walk into the town (but it was very warm, so you might do it quicker) and a taxi will set you back 5 or 6 quid from the Station.Clean.Nice big room.

View management response »

Management responseThank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent stay. We are sorry you did not feel our location was suited to your needs, we usually receive such positive comments about our location as it is literally a 2 minute walk to the main shopping street and has the benefit of being far enough away not to be disturbed by the noise at night.The central train station is a good 5 minute taxi ride away from the hotel but we are fortuante to be within walking distance of Queen street train station- we will try to highlight this fact more clearly on the website.Many thanks again for your commentsKind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent in every way."

21st July 2013, Martin911186263, Dorchester, United Kingdom

We had stayed at the Mercure Holland House Hotel and Spa in Cardiff on previous occasions, so we knew what to expect - good quality food, a high standard of service and good facilities. Our latest visit (for our son's graduation) confirmed that this is one of the better hotels in Cardiff. (We have tried most of the big chains in the city over the past five years or so).The food was superb, the wines were good and the staff could not have been more helpful. We had three fairly large rooms on the fifth floor and although the views across the backs of office blocks and car parks were not great, the rooms themselves were spotless and comfortable. The air con was perfect in the July heatwave and the spa/pool were cool and inviting. Everyone from check in to check out was kind and helpful. We will definitely choose the Mercure on our next visit to Cardiff.

View management response »

Management responseWe are not sure what to say other than thank you so much for you posting such a positive review. We all focus so hard to exceed our guest's expecations and it is great to read that we have succeeded on this occassion. We genuinely appreciate your comments as it helps encourage the team to keep setting a high standard.Many thanksMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Holland house stay"

18th July 2013, Chezza444, Pembroke, United Kingdom

I can strongly recomend this hotel. Although the parking charge of £14 per day is steep for residents. There was a really large stain on the hall carpet but the rooms and bathroom is excellent. It is a nice walk from the centre so away from the weekend revellers.The only down side is that in this good summer the rooms get quite hot.

View management response »

Management responseWe really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay and recommending the hotel - thank you. We would like to add that we are aware of the negative feedback regarding car parking prices and have reduced the charges from August to make us very competitive.We look forward to welcoming you back again soonKind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "mercure cardiff"

15th July 2013, archiecarson, Taunton, United Kingdom

a very pleasant stay in a very comfortable hotel. we stayed on the 9th floor but with express lifts it was not a problem. The breakfast was excellent. The bar was well stocked offering a wide range of beers and spirits and the restaurant offered a wide variety of dishes at reasonable prices.

View management response »

Management responseWe are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to post a review.The Food and Beverage team always get so motivated when their department gets a mention - for all the right reasons!We are just launching our new seasonal menu and hope you will be able to return soon to try it out!Many thanks againKind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Overall good"

4th July 2013, GSDummett, Cardiff, United Kingdom

Very nice Hotel ,nice view and setup of room, very close to the Centre of Cardiff.disappointed with price of parking of £14, no discount for a staying guest. I should have used external parking it would have been cheaper.

View management response »

Management responseMany thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to read that you found the location and quality of the hotel to be good but obviously concerned to read comments relating to our car parking charges.We are undertaking a review of our car park fees at present to ensure we offer our customers a very competitive dealKind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Lle da i aros/great place to stay"

1st July 2013, Haydn H

Ystafell fawr, gyfforddus, bwyd blasus gyda'r nos a phwll nofio heb ei ail. pawb yn glên ac yn gymwynasgar. Nice big room, good food in evening and superb leisure facilities. Frienly and helpful staff.

View management response »

Management response'great place to stay' what can we say but a big thank you for your positive comments - we really appreciate you posting this feedback and so thrilled to have exceeded your expectationsKind regardsMarisa MorteoGeneral Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.