Country
Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > United Kingdom Hotels > Blackburn Hotels > Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa
See : the photos | the videosin association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 3
    • Pool
    • Number: 1
    • Indoor heated pool
    • Golf - Paying - Nearby
    • Golf course 18 holes - Paying - Nearby
    • Sauna
    • Jacuzzi
    • Fitness centre
    • Massage - Paying
    • Solarium - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 175
  • Hotel location: In the country
  • Main point of interest: TROUGH OF BOWLAND (16.09 km)

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa - hotel reviews in Blackburn

Hotel code: 6617

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Annual family trip"

29th August 2013, Chinchilla64, Sunderland, United Kingdom

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years as we have family near by. However on this occasion we were very disappointed with the overall standard of cleanliness, appearance of the place and noise levels. This is a lovely hotel and has some nice staff but it is need of a makeover and a good clean. Despite asking for a 'quite' room we were given room 71 which is located above the health spa and opposite the bar area. Consequently we had two very noisy nights and on both my husband had to ask people to keep the noise levels down! We are aware its a popular choice with wedding parties/functions most weekends. Our room was very spacious and the beds were comfortable as usual. However the windows were ill fitting allowing noise in easily, the room was very hot and there is no air conditioning. Moreover, there were dead flies and dragon flies lying around especially on window sills. Hand rails were sticky and we observed some of the chairs and carpets were stained. I'm afraid we didn't enjoy our stay this year which is a real shame. We used the swimming pool and health spa; this has had some areas repainted but the showers were full of black mould and in need up an upgrade. The pool is the thing our 9 year old daughter loves here and its always warm and enjoyable. Breakfast was still good but we chose to eat out locally the rest of the time as there are some fantastic restaurants near by such as The Villa in Clitheroe. We spoke to other guests who had similar experiences to ours; needs re-decorating, cleaning and new windows.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for providing feedback. I am sorry to hear that there were problems experienced during your stay. If you would like to speak to me personally about these, please contact me directly at the hotel. I am sorry that the stay was not as relaxing as it could have been. I can confirm that there is a significant refurbishment programme in place, including windows and decorationI hope that you may give us the chance to improve your perception should you be returning to the area in the futureYours sincerelyIvan LynchGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Nice castle."

15th August 2013, petersingh75, London, United Kingdom

We arrived at the Hotel to check in. Staff were friendly, but busy as there was a big wedding taking place. As a result of this wedding, all food stock was extremely low. No Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream, no yogurt, etc. Would be nice if the hotel was prepared in advance for such shortages. We booked two rooms. One Family room, and one Executive room. The Family room seriously looks dated and worn. There were dents in the doors, the walls were scruffy, and the lights very dim and dusty. Maybe it was deliberate to give the look and feel of actually living in a castle. No ghosts thankfully. The Executive room was better. It showed a tad more class, i.e. better carpets, no signs of dust, and just a better all round experience. Room service was polite and prompt, an breakfast could have been better. Would be nice if UK hotels had better patisserie items like European hotels. The food looked like it was budget, and there was something wrong with the sausages and bacon. I left mine on the plate. Good tea though. Back to the bedroom, the sleep quality was exceptional (in the Executive room). If I go back, will have to try a suite, and hopefully avoid a wedding. Pay more, get more for your buck I suppose. The swimming pool is a delight, although (i know...nit picking) there were some broken plastic bits near the edges where the water drains out, and in the pool a cover was missing ( a bit dangerous if a foot gets stuck in there). Overall, I will probably be back there, as it appears to be one of the best in the area.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for providing feedback. I was pleased to hear that on the whole, your experience was a positive one. There are always improvements to be made and we have a dedicated team here that are constantly looking to do so. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.Kind regardsIvan LynchGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good value mini-break"

1st August 2013, IJMOOR, Liverpool, United Kingdom

Have stayed 6 times in last 12 months on a full-board basis. Hotel and food has been good each time, but sometimes the service in the lounge bar is a little slow, although it has always ben good inthe dining room and at reception. Apart from this I would recommend Dunkenalgh for a relaxing getaway.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback in relation to your recent stay at Mercure Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa. I was pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. I will share your feedback with our Food and Beverage manager and hope to resolve the issues in the bar in due course. I hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.Yours sincerelyIvan LynchGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Great setting and good spa"

24th July 2013, Yogen26, Peterborough, United Kingdom

But let down because of small reception dealing with huge groups checking in or out... For getting to my room one had to pass through a lot of function areas and narrow corridor filled with cleaning stuff and a variety of material... soiled sheets etc, not once or twice but a number of times.Disappointing overall though the package was good and spa experience was good as well.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay. I was disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with all aspects of your stay. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies. I will review your comments with the team and try to make improvements where possible. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.Yours sincerelyIvan LynchGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa: 2.0 out of 5 stars "Disappointment"

21st July 2013, Tomsuisse, Geneva, Switzerland

This could be a great hotel but isn't. The bar & restaurant staff are poor, and have no clue about customer service. They work to a set of rules and seem not to trust customers. Room fine, maybe best to stay in it!

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I was sorry to hear that there were issues experienced with the service from some team members in the restaurant. Please allow me to express my sincere apologies. I will be reviewing your comments with the team and will take the appropriate actions to ensure the training of the staff meets with the guest expectationsYours sincerelyIvan LynchGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Nice pool & spa"

21st July 2013, SarahFitz, Halifax, United Kingdom

We had a room within the Courtyard area, although clean it did smell foisty the windows were blown & the opening ones were extremely small & didn't let enough air in. The room was booked for 2 adults & 2 children it had a double and single & we were brought a fold out bed for one of our children but we couldn't put it up before we went out for the evening as the room was too small to accommodate it. Food in the restaurant was good both in the evening and breakfast. The children loved the pool and I enjoyed the Spa area.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for providing feedback. I am sorry that there was an issue with the room allocation. I will follow up with our reservations team. Please accept my sincere apologies. I was pleased to hear that you had good dining experiences and that you enjoyed the pool. I hope that you may return in the future and enjoy the whole experience.Yours sincerelyIvan LynchGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good Hotel"

3rd January 2013, KenMilne, London, United Kingdom

We stayed here for two nights to meet up with friends who live nearby The hotel was good clean and it served our purpose well All the meals we had were good quality and service was excellent We never had time to use the leisure facilities but they were availableOne tip for drivers with a sat nav is on exiting the motorway turn left and not right as instructed

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for your feedback. Your comments are appreciated. I hope that you may join us again in the future and maybe take advantage of the spa facilities next time.Kind regardsIvan Lynch
« hide

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa: 3.0 out of 5 stars "A Very Cold Stay"

3rd December 2012, finchm01, Canterbury, United Kingdom

Hotel was ok but staff were not great at service and the hotel was freezing. I eat in the bar area and on all three days had to eat with my coat on. Only one member of staff was welcoming and that was a young guy on reception. Food was ok but the portions were very small.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. There were a couple of days where we experienced boiler problems that affected the bar area. We did have the boilers re-set, but the fault re-occurred and we had to put temporary measures in place until it was fully repaired. I am sorry for the inconvenience.I can assure you that this issue has been resolved. We need to ensure that the staff are offering a friendly and professional service. I will follow up with the team.Kind regardsIvan LynchGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Great overnight stay"

20th November 2012, Herts-Gent, Hertford, United Kingdom

Everything went so smoothly for my stay. Easy to find. Impressive driveway to the hotel. Plenty of parking right outside reception. Smooth check in. Excellant meal and wine lead to a good nights sleep. Must take advantage of the Gym and Spa next time.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you had a comfortbale stay. We get alot of our guestss using the spa and our fully equipped gym is available for all hotel residents to use, so be sure and bring your kit for your next visit. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Yours sincerelyIvan LynchGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa: 3.0 out of 5 stars "Disappointing, this time"

12th November 2012, olivaValencia_Spain, Valencia, Spain

We have stayed at this hotel many times before. However, on this ocassion, we were very disappointed. We reported our shower not working at 8am Sat morning, again at 4pm Sat afternoon. Still not fixed by the time we checked out on Sunday morning. No apology, no excuse, just no show.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestI'm really sorry that you experienced a problem and more frustrated that it was not resolved. I will try and chase this up with the reception and maintenance teams to find out why action was taken and you weren't communicated with. I am sorry that we let you down on this occasion, but hope to better serve you in the future.Kind regardsIvan LynchGeneral Manager
« hide

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Fabulous Hotel"

6th November 2012, Rotherham, United Kingdom

Really a terrific hotel - top class in every sense. The room was massive & real class. The meal was fabulous and the staff really outstanding. We couldn't fault this in any way. The swimming pool was fabulous and we had a go in the wonderful sauna. I'll definitely go back here.

View management response »

Management responseDear GuestThank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Kind regardsIvan LynchGeneral Manager
« hide

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.