Hotel - Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa

Blackburn Road  Clayton Le Moors Lancashire 
BB5 5JP BLACKBURN
UNITED KINGDOM

1,262 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,262 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 79.00 GBP Non member rate
From 71.10 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 79.00 GBP

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

The Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa is a beautiful 700 year old country manor retaining many of its original features including turrets and porticos. Set in the Lancashire countryside in idyllic grounds, Dunkenhalgh Hotel is the ideal location for relaxing spa breaks offering a full range of spa treatments, an indoor pool and modern fitness centre. The 14 meeting rooms holding up to 400 guests set in idyllic grounds make it a perfect wedding venue and an ideal venue for meetings and conferences.

The hotel is set in a serene setting in the countryside of Blackburn. The main point of interest near the hotel is the Trough of Bowland which is a valley and high pass within the Forest of Bowland and is renowned for its outstanding natural beauty .

Hotel extras

The hotel offers free car parking for up to 250 cars and free Wi-Fi throughout the building. As well as the Spa there is an indoor pool, laconium, steam room, rock sauna, aroma grotto and bio sauna. There is also a golf course on-site.

This hotel is Planet 21 Silver
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Swimming pool
    • Number
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Breakfast

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Hotel open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Beauty salon
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Swimming pool
    • Number
    • Indoor heated pool
  • Thalassotherapy centre
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Jacuzzi
    • Massage (Paying)
    • Solarium (Paying)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 HOURS
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 HOURS

Business services

  • 15 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa

Blackburn Road
Clayton Le Moors Lancashire
BB5 5JP
BLACKBURN
UNITED KINGDOM

Tel: (+44)1254/426800
Fax: (+44)1254/872230

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Access and transport
  • BLACKPOOL At 57.6km / 35.79 miles
  • LEEDS At 93.7km / 58.23 miles
  • MANCHESTER At 43.8km / 27.22 miles
  • ACCRINGTON At 3.1km / 1.93 miles

GPS : 53.768386, -2.394730

Our rooms

175 bedrooms blend age-old comfort with modern design and include one suite, three special feature rooms and enhanced accessibility rooms - as well as the brand new Executive Wing with walk-in showers and luxury welcome pack.All bedrooms are non-smoking and provide 24-hour room service, complimentary car parking, hair dryer, ironing facilities, flatscreen TV, and tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Classic double or twin room
    Classic double or twin room

    Rooms have modern or traditional decor and offer en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, trouser press and modem access points.

  • Superior Double or Twin Room
    Superior Double or Twin Room

    Superior rooms have modern decor and facilities include upgraded toiletries, robes & slippers in addition to hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, iron / ironing board and trouser press.

  • Classic Family room
    Classic Family room

    Rooms are set with a double and single bed. All have en-suite bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, tea & coffee making facilities, iron & board, modem access points and also limited space for another pull out bed.

  • Privilège double or twin room
    Privilège double or twin room

    For an extra special stay , enjoy one of our Privilege rooms and their added luxury. Facilities include upgraded toiletries, robes, slippers, Nespresso coffee machine, bottled water , Mini bar and Wifi in addition to their classic amenities.

  • Classic Single room with en suite facilities
    Classic Single room with en suite facilities

    Rooms have modern or traditional decor & are in all areas of the hotel. All have en suite bathroom,hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satelite TV, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, trouser press, modem access points.

  • 175 rooms
  • 3 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 77 family rooms
  • 6 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Trouser press in room
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Telephone
    • Crib on request
    • Direct dial telephone
    • DDI - Direct Dialing In
    • High speed transmission line
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

CAMEO RESTAURANT Restaurant
Dinner 18:30 - 21:30
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

CAMEO RESTAURANT Type of cuisine: International


The well-renowned restaurant of the Mercure Dunkenhalgh also has a fresh flavour thanks to the refurbishment project. The Cameo Restaurant has been elegantly redecorated to enhance its charm and offer an even more inviting environment.

Find out more and book
CAMEO BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

CAMEO BAR


The Cameo Bar serves light snacks in an informal setting. An excellent selection of wine and beer is available both by the glass and by bottle.

SPA NATUREL Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Midday
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

SPA NATUREL


The leisure club offers a relaxing atmosphere and serves light snacks.

See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 15
  • Maximum size: 370 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 400
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250

Our customer reviews for Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel and Spa

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 1,262 reviews

sean_morris_4214 2016/04/18
« My Stay in Accrington »

The site is a sprawling conversion of an old manor house. Very well appointed. The room was excellent (especially the shower!). The food was very good and the staff were great. Will definitely stay again if I am in the area,

Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear sean_morris_4214, Delighted you enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

mfootman 2016/04/15
« Showers.... »

Always enjoy staying here. But there are regularly issues with the waste water not running away and filling up the bottom of the showers in the exec rooms. All else fine. Service in the bar and restaurant always terrific!

Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear mfootman, Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, we appreciate your kind remarks. We are aware of issues in the 'Exec' block and will continue to try and resolve, it is now top of the Maintenance Teams list. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager

KirstyHalliwell 2016/02/03
« Excellent Relaxed Stay »

My friend and I stayed for the night after my fiance had bought me a Spa Day, which I had the back massage and head massage which were extremely relaxing, Thankyou Chelsea! We had full use of the facilities for the rest of the day. We had a lovely stay, very good value for money and a nice quiet nights sleep. I would stay again!

Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear KirstyHalliwell, We are delighted to see you enjoyed the Spa experience and I shall pass your feedback on to Chelsea. We do hope you come again soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

mfootman 2016/01/11
« My Weekly Stay »

Food and service always very good. Quality of accommodation in Superior rooms generally good. The quality of the shower is always important to me and they are good here. But the shower waste in room 515 needs unblocking and I informed the front desk. On my second morning the problem had not been rectified.

Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear mfootman, Thank you for taking time to review the Hotel and we really do appreciate your positive comments. I shall check that the Maintenance Team have addressed the drainage issue in 515 immediately. We do hope you visit again soon, Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

TheViareggioCappo 2015/11/24
« Quality, homely, welcoming...every time »

Recently I have stayed here on a regular basis. Over the next 4 and a half years I will stay another 20 times at least. On my last 5 visits I have found it everything I require...friendly, affordable, spotless and welcoming. Zara and Andrea at reservations couldn't have done more to help us with our requirements-not always the case with some other chains, and usually not the case when you go to a central reservations! We ate in on the Saturday night and were entertained by Greg who was 10 out of 10 with the kids. Nothing was a problem from start to finish. this is an excellently run hotel and you have our sincere thanks.

Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Viareggiocappo, We are looking forward to seeing you and your family on a more regular basis and hope we can continue to exceed your expectations. I will certainly pass on a word of thanks to Sara, Andrea and Greg. We really appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. Many Thanks Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

Chiplet1 2015/10/30
« Blackburn »

This is a good business hotel. The rooms are of mixed quality. The cleaning is sometimes s but hit and miss. I found a large pair of ladies pants still in the wardrobe! The breakfast excellent. The parking is also a nightmare if they have a function on.

h6617_dm, Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Chiplet1, Thank you for your recent post regarding your stay here. Please accept my apologies about the housekeeping issue you experienced, this is not our usual standard I can assure you. We are a very busy hotel and our front car park gets full very quickly however we do have another large car park to the rear of the hotel. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and I look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards Luke

Whitey_bev 2015/09/20
« White »

me and my daughter booked into this hotel but funnily enough fell on this on the internet only by chance which was really good, I was taking my daughter for a spa pamper relaxing stay over as she is going back to university the week after. Both me and my daughter were both really impressed with the hotel and we stayed in a room off the courtyard which was beautiful and really clean, the spa facilities were brilliant in every department too. The staff were also very helpful as well, the food in the restaurant was amazing too, we will definitely be staying sometime in the future.

Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Whitey_Bev, We really appreciate your positive comments and are delighted to see you both enjoyed your experience at Spa Naturel, please do return soon, good luck to your daughter in University. Kind Regards Ivan Lynch General Manager

rleigh77 2015/09/16
« Great Weekend »

Lovely old venue, with very nice spa facilities. The rooms and corridors are not the most modern but, still nice, clean and well presented. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the weekend was made all the better by ‘Captain Birdseye's’ impromptu historical tour and tales of the ghostly Lucette!

Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear rleigh77, We are obviously delighted you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to thank Nick on your behalf. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Ivan Lynch General Manager

Gary M 2015/08/13
« Adult only swim times! »

Room - very good - clean, warm and quiet. Breakfast - buffet style but not much actual choice. Check in / check out - very efficient. Bar - very nice area, both inside and outside. Service - recommend Neil (Conciege), very friendly,helpful and attentive. 'Pool and Spa - visiting with children - beware of 'Adult Only' times for the members of the health club. My kids were devastated that they could not go swimming at 2pm on a Sunday afternoon, when there was only ONE ADULT in the pool!!.

Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gary M, Thank you for the positive feedback received follow your recent visit I will ensure all staff, Neil in particular, are aware of your comments. With regard to the children s swim times these have been introduced following feedback from both Leisure Club members, hotel guests and visitors on Spa Packages to the Club. For the six months or so they have been in place it seems to suit requirements, we will take your comments and monitor closely going forward. We do hope to see you all back at the hotel soon. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch General Manager

Richard V 2015/08/10
« Good Location, Great Food »

Good quiet location, despite being near the M'way. Rooms a bit tired but in keeping with an older property. Restaurant was rather lacking in any atmosphere, but the food was excellent. Beautifully presented and very tasty. Will stay here again on my next visit to Accrington.

Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Richard V Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again soon. We shall have a look and see if there is anything we can do about improving guests perception of the dining experience. Kind Regards, Ivan Lynch, General Manager.

azizahusain 2015/06/07
« Not impressed at all »

External Building and grounds lovely but does not reflect the internal building including bedrooms. Dated and worn out deco. - Toilet dirty around inner rim. - Mouldy tiles and bath tub had hair in it! - Limited toiletteries - not enough for 2 people. - Tried to call reception on a few Occassions with no answer. Would definitely not stay here again and would not recommend as a 3 star. We booked 3 rooms here and all 3 rooms were in the same condition. Had high expectations but very disappointed with our stay.

Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear azizahusain, Really sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay on this occassion, I will address theservice issues raised with housekeeping and management. Kind Regards Ivan Lynch General Manager

BobBarnsley 2015/06/03
« Poor service »

I'm sad to say that the service in the restaurant / bar was poor. We arrived around 12:30 on Saturday and apart from us (4 adults and 1 child) the bar was almost empty. We twice had to ask for a children's menu, one of the meals that arrived was wrong (I also heard another couple complain their order was wrong), and they forgot the child's dessert. In the morning at breakfast we asked for 2 coffees and 1 coffee and 1 tea arrived (the second coffee never did arrive). This is the eighth hotel I've stayed in this year (1 or 2 nights in each) and this is the worst service I've had. The service at check in and out (the same South African girl each time) was very pleasant and helpful.

Ivan L, General Manager at Mercure Blackburn Dunkenhalgh Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bob Barnsley, Sorry to see we did not get bar service correct whilst you visited recently, I will discuss with the Restaurant Manager to ensure we improve immediately and provide a service more likely to meet guest expectations. We cannot accept simple errors that could be rectified by just paying attention to guests requests. I willalso thank Beverly personally as she is a new team member and has adapted well and fit in quite quickly. We appreciate your feedback, please do return soon , feel free to contact me direct if I can assist with your booking. Kind Regards Ivan Lynch General Manager

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 79.00 GBP Non member rate
From 71.10 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 21 km ibis Preston North
Hotel ibis Preston North
From
From 49.00 GBP Non member rate
From 46.55 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 24 km Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
From
From 52.25 GBP Non member rate
From 47.03 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 25 km Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
From
From 74.00 GBP Non member rate
From 74.00 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 29 km Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
From
From 54.00 GBP Non member rate
From 48.60 GBP Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in BLACKBURN
Select your dates 79.00 GBP Rooms from 79.00 GBP