Hotel - The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta MGallery by Sofitel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mgallery by Sofitel Hotel

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta MGallery by Sofitel

Jl Jenderal Sudirman 9 
55233 YOGYAKARTA
INDONESIA

2,931 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 2,931 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 780099.00 IDR Non member rate
From 780099.00 IDR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 780099.00 IDR

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta MGallery by Sofitel

Boutique hotels with personality for a remarkable travel experience

Elegantly set in the heart of Yogyakarta, close to Malioboro street, the majestic building of The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta, dating back to 1918, revisits in style the classical bygone era with a fusion of Asian and European decor. This MGallery by Sofitel boutique hotel, features a restaurant, a wine bar offering creative cocktails, a terrace overlooking an open courtyard, an inviting swimming pool, an indulgent day spa and modern conferencing facilities for your exclusive experience.

Ideal for travelers in search of unique and memorable experiences, the hotel location is ideal to travel over Yogyakarta. Discover the Sultan Palace in 10 minutes, Taman Sari water castle and Kota Gede silver craft makers in 15 minutes. The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta is 10 minutes walking or cycling distance to Malioboro, the vibrant shopping street. Adore the beautiful sunrise at Borobudur temple by 40 minutes road trip or be enchanted by Prambanan temple in 20 minutes.

Hotel extras

Enjoy the luxury of another era with our rooms with balcony, from which you can savour pool view. Live "Memorable moments" with our complimentary cultural activities such as Jamu Class & hotel tour to explore the heritage parts of this establishment.

This hotel is PLANET 21 Gold
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
  • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Breakfast
  • Fitness centre
  • Massage

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
  • Babysitting on request
  • Air conditioning
  • YOGYAKARTA INTL AIRPORT
  • Hotel open 24 hours a day
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Currency exchange
    • Gift shop/newspaper shop
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Massage
  • Babysitting on request
  • Rafting  (Nearby)
  • Other sports activities
    • Bicycle hire facilities (Nearby)
    • Darts
    • Horse riding (Nearby)
    • Karting facilities (Nearby)
    • Table tennis (Nearby)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 00:00 - 24:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 00:00 - 24:00

Business services

  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta MGallery by Sofitel

Jl Jenderal Sudirman 9
55233
YOGYAKARTA
INDONESIA

Tel: (+62)274/566617
Fax: (+62)274/566856

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Access and transport
  • YOGYAKARTA INTL AIRPORT At 15km / 9.32 miles  - Shuttle paying
  • TUGU STATION At 1km / 0.62 miles

GPS : -7.782697, 110.368393

Our rooms

  • Phoenix Executive 1 King Size Bed
    Phoenix Executive 1 King Size Bed

    Spread out in a very spacious room featuring a living room with Javanese heritage charm, combined with additional benefit a personal coffee machine, complimentary minibar, shoe shine butler service, local delights, and a gift upon arrival.

  • Deluxe Legacy 2 Single Beds
    Deluxe Legacy 2 Single Beds

    Elegantly furnished our spacious Deluxe room offers a unique Javanese colonial experience combined with a modern setup (flat-screen TV, rain shower, safe deposit box, unlimited complimentary WIFI Internet connection, and a daily turndown service).

  • Deluxe Legacy 1 King Size Bed
    Deluxe Legacy 1 King Size Bed

    Elegantly furnished our spacious Deluxe room offers a unique Javanese colonial experience combined with a modern setup (flat-screen TV, rain shower, safe deposit box, unlimited complimentary WIFI Internet connection, and a daily turndown service).

  • Superior Heritage 2 Single Beds
    Superior Heritage 2 Single Beds

    Beautiful and elegant Superior room in our colonial ambiance, with an authentic Javanese decoration combined with a modern setup (flat-screen TV, rain shower, safe deposit box, unlimited complimentary WIFI Internet connection, and turndown service).

  • Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed
    Superior Heritage 1 Queen Size Bed

    Beautiful and elegant Superior room in our colonial ambiance, with an authentic Javanese decoration combined with a modern setup (flat-screen TV, rain shower, safe deposit box, unlimited complimentary WIFI Internet connection, and turndown service).

  • Legendary Suite 1 King Size Bed
    Legendary Suite 1 King Size Bed

    Experience a truly lavish stay in the amazing Suite featuring separate living room with its Javanese heritage charm, with additional personal coffee machine, complimentary minibar, shoe shine butler service, local delights, and a gift upon arrival.

  • 144 rooms
  • 7 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Airconditioning
    • Emergency exit map
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Crib on request
    • Opening windows
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • WIFI in your room
    • High speed transmission line
    • Minibar
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Security peephole
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

PAPRIKA Restaurant
Lunch
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun
Dinner
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

PAPRIKA Type of cuisine: International


Located next to the swimming pool, in an open-air courtyard. Indonesian, Chinese and Western cuisine are available.

Find out more and book
1918'S TERRACE LOUNGE Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

1918'S TERRACE LOUNGE

VINO BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

VINO BAR

See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta MGallery by Sofitel Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 7
  • Maximum size: 300 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 500
  • Maximum banquet capacity: 220

Our customer reviews for The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta MGallery by Sofitel

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5 Based on 2,931 reviews

piphoshin 2016/07/26
« One of my Favourite Hotels in the World »

This was my third stay at Hotel Phoenix (pronounced Fonick by taxi drivers and locals) over the last 5 years. I am currently building a house 50 km east of Yogyakarta (Jogja) and anticipate that I will be staying more regularly. The Phoenix is a truly beautiful hotel and quite unlike the chain luxury hotels that have begun to over-supply the city. It's full of Javanese antiques and just a beautiful place to wander around. Unfortunately the competition appears to be taking its toll and some areas are in need of a refit; frankly this doesn't bother me at all. Indeed I crave authenticity and the Phoenix is certainly authentic. However, a small issue was that the double bed was two singles pushed together, no problem, except I kept making a mess of the sheets, quickly sorted by room service. The other effect is that the excellent service has got even better. Indeed, it truly feels like a luxury hotel at a bargain price. The food is good, but not perfect (and there are so many good restaurants in Jogja), but they try hard, I particularly liked the Jamu (traditional medicine) on offer at breakfast, a very nice touch. The bar has never worked and still needs something to liven it up. I cannot complain about the band, but maybe the soft pop could be hardened up (perhaps Jazz or even traditional Javanese music). The location is not as good as the cheaper hotels on Malioboro, but its only a short becak ride. However, it is one of the best located luxury hotels in Jogja. Indeed, Jogja is my favourite city in Indonesia and th Phoenix my favourite hotel. On the subject of first time visitors the Phoenix is perfect, authentic and unfamiliar enough to capture your imagination, but with service to make you feel completely at home. As a Muslim convert I was happy to find a really nice Masqid (Mosque) just a short walk from the hotel, in fact the kampung (neighborhood) was really nice and had some excellent local cafes. Completely safe to wander around, even though first time visitors to Indonesia may have some trepidation. I would never have found it, if the doorman hadn't pointed me in the right direction. If we eventually move to our new home, I can see us staying at the Phoenix once a month. So it will become a real home from home.

PR_TPHY, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear piphoshin, Thank you for your continue loyalty and for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to know that you were able to experience your stay and feel it as homey as your own home. Your nice review of our activities, interior, food and services are the most things that we really expect and want to hear from you. We are particularly proud to be one of your favorit choices in the world, and I will make sure to share your feedback with all our Team. We are looking forward to welcome you back in your new town and your new home away from home. Sincerely Yours, Thomas Evrard General Manager

Roy H 2016/06/13
« Charming Boutiqe Hotel with excellent Javanese touch »

It's good to be back to this hotel after couple of years. It still maintain its 5 star service with a nice touch of Javanese Culture. Love it. This hotel is an elegant colonial style building, back in early 1900's (I believe). very well maintain. You can feel the touch of Javanese culture from the moment you enter the hotel. Hotel staff will great you and assist you with the check in process. They will serve house blend drink and some local snacks, very nice... Location: Quite in the centre of Yogyakarta city. just across Tugu Monument. approx 1 km away to famous Malioboro street. Room: Stayed at standard room (unfortunately didn't get upgrade as Accor Platinum member), room was ok to so huge, equipped with Javanese style furnitures. The cupboard is made from teak wood, but not really showing a 5 star standard. bathroom amenities are poor, I would say for 5 Star hotel. They should improve it. Services & Facilities: Staff is super friendly and polite, very well trained all across depts (reception, restaurants, housekeeping, lounge). Excellent. There is Club Lounge serving coffee, tea and simple snack from 10 am to 5 pm. Restaurant is excellent serving delicious and vast range of Javanese/Indonesian food and decent choices of western. There is outdoor sittings in the centre. very warm and nice ambience.

Thomas_Evrard, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Roy H, Thank you so much for your beautiful review of our hotel. First of all, we apologize if we could not grant you the upgrade benefit as a Platinum member due to a full occupancy of upper room types. We are so thankful for the great way you described your experience with and the services we offer, it is very helpful to future travelers to Jogja. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Very Best Regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager

lanny8880 2016/05/29
« Satisfaction in a hotel »

Overall, friendliness, cleanliness. We were very happy to stay at this hotel, full comfort. Service was very good and satisfying . We will always stay at this hotel. Everything is very nice, beautiful, charming, full of art. We loved The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta.

PR_TPHY, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear lanny8880, Greeting from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta… It is such an honor to read your commentst about us. We are really happy to find that you were mostly satisfied with your stay and calling us as a beautiful hotel. I am sure that there will be another chance for us to welcome you back again in our hotel and we will give you memorable moment of stay. Warmest regard, Thomas Evrard General Manager

458steven24 2016/05/20
« Enjoyable stay in Yogya »

The hotel is situated near the train station which is perfect when travelling by train through Java. The building is well maintained and the swimmingpool is great! The hotel was our basecamp for 3 days while doing the site-seeing trips in Yogya. The staff is friendly and the breakfast I highly reccommend! The Spa services are good! The laundryservice is too expensive.

PR_TPHY, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear 458steven24, Greetings from The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta… Thank you for your time to write some review about our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to take your compliments above. Thank you for liking our location and building, the swimming pool, the staff and also the spa services. We do hope to welcome you back again to our hotel in the future. Warm regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager

2016/05/07
« Very disappointing stay and service »

I have been nothing but disappointed from the start. Here are my list of issues. 1) I had booked 2 rooms but upon check-in, the staff told me I had booked only 1 room. I had to tell them to check again because I had booked 2 rooms 2) The shower head in my friend's room was broken 3) For a 5 star hotel, the towels were more of 2 star hotel quality. They were awful! 4) The female staff at the check-in desk weren't particularly warm and pleasant. 5) Most staff could hardly speak English which was frustrating. How do you run a 5 star hotel with international guests from all over staying at your hotel when most of your staff can barely speak or understand basic simple English. Staff at Sofitel in Siem Reap had way better command of English 6) The daily breakfast was a major disappointment 7) Speaking of breakfast, the staff suggested they could pack a breakfast box for us to bring along to our trip to Borobudur. Guess what! They gave us rotting bananas. There were 3 of us. All 3 of us got rotting bananas. Well done 5 star hotel! 8) On my first night, as the sun set, 6 huge lizards entered my room through a gap through the CLOSED balcony doors, all within 10 mins. I had to ask for a change of room without a balcony. How is this even sanitary? This is a 5 star hotel! Not a budget hotel or dormitory. Even the air conditioner couldn't keep it out. I was fortunate there was 1 available room without a balcony. Otherwise, I probably would've camped at the reception area 9) After my return from Borobudur at 1pm on Sunday, I walk into my room to find the room still hasn't been made up. My friend walked into his room and found that his room wasn't made up either. 10) And then guess what happened? When the room service staff finally came to clean up my room, we left to go hang out at the pool. When I finally decided to go back to my room, the door was left open! With no one else inside! Seriously!?! What if someone had walked in and took our belongings? Bad! Bad! Bad!

PR_TPHY, Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear our valuable guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. We are truly sorry if we could not reach your satisfaction, and we sincerely apologize. We have taken your review point by point and it is our priority to work on them in order to progress. We take every negative comment as an opportunity to improve and we hope that your remarks will help us to progress. Best Regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager

ronaldsipahutar 2016/03/26
« Love Heritage? Must Stay in This Hotel! »

The Decorations, Statue and so many location with so Jogja! The food is so standard compare to others M Gallery but you will gonna love the variations. Our recommendation is to stay at rooms near the pool, so you can always enjoy the sunrise and sunset during swimming while eating ice cream :) The Employee so helpful and you can enjoy the vintage Mercy! or simple take photo near the Jogja Landmark "Tugu"

GM_TPHY, General Manager at The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear ronaldsipahutar, Thank you for mentioning us as a lovely heritage hotel. We are really glad to get your kind review about the hotel through TripAdvisor. Our guest satisfaction is our goal. Find out that you were mostly satisfied with your stay is such an honor for us. Thank you for liking our room, swimming pool also the staffs. We do hope to welcome you back again and will create another memorable moment with The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta in the near future. Warm regards, Thomas Evrard General Manager

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 780099.00 IDR Non member rate
From 780099.00 IDR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 1 km Novotel Yogyakarta
Hotel Novotel Yogyakarta
From
From 561000.00 IDR Non member rate
From 561000.00 IDR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 1.1 km ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
Hotel ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
From
From 464132.70 IDR Non member rate
From 464132.70 IDR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 1.4 km ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Hotel ibis Styles Yogyakarta
From
From 483300.00 IDR Non member rate
From 483300.00 IDR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 2.6 km Grand Mercure Yogyakarta Adi Sucipto (Opening December 2016)
Grand Mercure Yogyakarta Adi Sucipto (Opening December 2016)
From
From N/A --- Non member rate
From N/A --- Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in YOGYAKARTA
Select your dates 780099.00 IDR Rooms from 780099.00 IDR