Hotel - Mercure Johannesburg Bedfordview Hotel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Johannesburg Bedfordview Hotel

33 Bradford Road Bedfordview  PO Box 75825  Gardenview 
2047 JOHANNESBURG
SOUTH AFRICA

206 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 206 reviews
Best price guarantee
From
From 915.00 ZAR Non member rate
From 869.25 ZAR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Select your dates 915.00 ZAR

Mercure Johannesburg Bedfordview Hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Mercure Hotel Bedfordview is located in the Suburb of Bedfordview, directly across the road from the Eastgate Shopping Centre and 15 minutes from O R Tambo International airport. Certified the first Fair Trade city based hotel in South Africa, the hotel stands out for its exemplary labor standards and environmental policies. An abundant buffet breakfast is served with tempting African dishes of the day. A bar, swimming pool, 24 hour security and 3 elegant meeting rooms cater for all your needs.

The Mercure Hotel Bedfordview is located in the exclusive suburb of Bedfordview and is directly opposite the Eastgate Shopping and Entertainment centre, boasting over 260 shops, restaurants, banks and cinemas.

This hotel is Planet 21 Bronze
PLANET 21 programme

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area (Nearby)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Breakfast

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • Wi-Fi in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area (Nearby)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • O R TAMBO
  • Hotel open 24 hours a day
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Currency exchange
  • Porter

Leisure and activities

  • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Golf course 18 holes  (Nearby)
  • Ski hire facilities  (Nearby)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)

Business services

  • 3 meeting room(s)
  • Self service business centre
See all services

Hotel location

Hotel - Mercure Johannesburg Bedfordview Hotel

33 Bradford Road Bedfordview
PO Box 75825
Gardenview
2047
JOHANNESBURG
SOUTH AFRICA

Tel: (+27)11/6221556
Fax: (+27)11/6228725

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00
Access and transport
  • O R TAMBO At 10km / 6.21 miles  - Shuttle paying
  • RAND AIRPORT At 30km / 18.64 miles
  • highway n12 At 4km / 2.5 miles
  • n12 At 2km / 1.25 miles
  • n3 At 0.5km / 0.31 miles
  • PARK STATION At 9.99km / 6.21 miles

GPS : -26.179300, 28.118999

Our rooms

The hotel has 120 rooms - choose between a Standard Apartment with 1 Queen Bed or Standard Apartment with 2 Queen Beds. All have a spacious layout with a separate lounge, kitchenette, bathroom, patio, telephones, Satellite TV, Wi-Fi, electronic safes.

  • Standard Apartment with 1 Queen size bed
    Standard Apartment with 1 Queen size bed

    1 Standard Apartment with 1 Queen Sized bed, separate lounge, kitchenette, bathroom, outside patio, direct dial telephone, laptop safes, wifi internet in rooms. 32 Inch LCD TV offering satellite tv including four international channels

  • Standard Apartment with 2 Queen size beds
    Standard Apartment with 2 Queen size beds

    1 Standard Apartment with 2 Queen Sized bed, separate lounge, kitchenette, bathroom, outside patio, direct dial telephone, laptop safes, wifi internet in rooms. 32 Inch LCD TV offering satellite tv including four international channels.

  • Standard Room with 1 double bed
    Standard Room with 1 double bed

    Comfortable room with air-conditioning, bathroom, satellite TV, pay movies, Internet access, modem point, direct dial telephone, hairdryer & safe deposit box.

  • 120 rooms
  • 67 non-smoking rooms
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 88 family rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Crib on request
    • Ice machine
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Airconditioning
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Radio in room
    • Crib on request
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Remote control TV
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Telephone
    • Microwave in room
    • Full kitchen
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Shower
    • Hair dryer at reception
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

BREAKFAST ROOM Restaurant
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Dinner 15:00 - 22:00

BREAKFAST ROOM Type of cuisine: Regional


This 54 seater breakfast room has a full selection of hot and cold varieties to choose from. African dishes available daily as well as a fine selection of Fair Trade coffees.

Find out more and book
LADIES BAR Bar
Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding
Evening
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LADIES BAR


A relaxed bar that offers fine Fair Trade coffees and speciality coffees as well as a large array of regional cocktails to choose from.

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Mercure Johannesburg Bedfordview Hotel Meeting Room

Our meeting rooms


  • Number of meeting rooms: 3
  • Maximum size: 112 m2
  • Maximum capacity: 80

Our customer reviews for Mercure Johannesburg Bedfordview Hotel

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5 Based on 206 reviews

Fred01nt 2016/03/15
« Not recommend for business trip »

The hotel is next to a new shopping mall and about 15 minutes from the airport. The Wifi is really bad and employees is not able to change this because it is from an external provider. For a stay you get only 250 MB free. But most of the time Wifi doesn't work. The restaurant offers a kind of fast food in aluminum shells from the micro wave. The complex itself is very nice and well maintained

Elma2919, General Manager at Mercure Suites Bedfordview, responded to this review

Dear Fred, Thank you for providing us with your honest and constructive feedback regarding your stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that certain aspects of your stay did not live up to your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with regards to the WiFi offering and restaurant offerings. Our restaurant only serves Breakfast and the meal that you can order from us is quick frozen meals and heated up for you. The rooms are equipped with crockery, cutlery and microwave. We also do offer the service of meals ordered in from a variety of restaurants in the area. It is regrettable that these unfortunate incidents could not have been remedied during your stay. I can assure you that this is not a reflection of the high standards we strive to deliver to all our valued guest. I sincerely hope that this will not deter you from using Mercure Bedfordview in the near future, as I would like to personally welcome you and your guests back in order to restore your confidence in our product, facilities and services. At Mercure we strive to deliver a superior service experience, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I will be taking appropriate action to address the issues raised. Yours Sincerely, Elma Labuschagne Acting General Manager

frank_liske 2016/02/21
« Oldfashioned rooms, dirty walls and moskitos »

The big suite is in very old-fashioned condition. Dirty walls, odd bathroom, defective stores and lots of mosquitos in the room resulted in a very unhappy first night. Mosquito problem was solved by the hotel the next day. Breakfast is nice and people are friendly and helpful.

Elma2919, General Manager at Mercure Suites Bedfordview, responded to this review

Dear Frank, Thank you for providing us with your honest and constructive feedback. First of all, I am happy to hear that our team has made you feel welcome at our hotel by providing you with some true Mercure hospitality. Thank you also for the positive comments regarding our Breakfast Buffet. However, we are extremely disappointed to hear that the room you had stayed in did not meet your expectations. We are currently in the process of doing upgrades in our Bathrooms and have completed to date 26 rooms. I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to Welcome you back in the near future to experience the quality of our product and service offering at our establishment. Should you need any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact me direct. Kind Regards, Elma Labuschagne Acting General Manager

Nick B 2016/01/08
« A 'Suites' style hotel beside Eastgate Shopping Mall »

The Hotel was formerly some sort of 'Suites' hotel before it became a Mercure so it is unusual for a Mercure Hotel, in my experience, in that the rooms have a small kitchen with Microwave, fridge, hob. Plus tea and coffee making facilities. So we ate in the room as we had some stuff with us and saved the 150 ZAR for breakfast the hotel were charging. The room was roomy! Small balcony, aircon, sofa, large coffee table, wardrobes, desk, hairdryer, bath, shower.... Shower was not so 'gushing' and the decore in places was a bit worn. Aircon was good but the room was so hot when we got in (32 it said) that it took many hours for the room to cool down. Hotel has a small pool which we didnt go in and a bar. No restaurant but there are lots of restaurants over the road at the Eastgate Centre (plus shops of course and cinema.). I think the centre was the largest in Jo'Burg when it was built. Reception said it was perfectly safe to cross the road and walk the 150m to the Centre entrance. We also bought milk there for breakfast in Woolworths. As expected, the hotel site is gated and guarded and parking was good, some of it shaded, and you could park beside your room. Ours was up a staircase above the conference centre but there are ground floor rooms. TV had good selection of channels and we watched a free film on the Movie channel. Bed was comfy. I would stay there again and recommend it. We booked at AccorHotels.com and it said we had prepaid but reception said that you have to ignore that as they cant take the payment from the details. I then paid cash and it was 25% cheaper than what I should have 'prepaid' so that was a bonus! I guess the rand exchange rate plummet was the reason!

Elma2919, Manager at Mercure Suites Bedfordview, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you kindly for your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Suites Bedfordview. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards, Elma Labuschagne Acting General Manager

alfredm642 2015/08/27
« Upgrade overdue »

We last stayed here a few years back and it was a pleasant and still fairly new facility. We were shocked on our recent stay on the condition of all facilities in the room. For instance, our shower leaked badly, shower head in desperate need of replacement, old kitchen utensils, need to request for old and very thin pots and pans, old fridge etc

Elma2919, General Manager at Mercure Suites Bedfordview, responded to this review

Dear Alfred Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Suites Bedfordview. I apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; your feedback is very important to us. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We would like you to give us the opportunity to demonstrate our high quality standards; kindly accept our invitation to personally contact me for your future bookings. We appreciate your sharing your concerns and are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Elma Labuschagne Acting General Manager

Ireen M 2014/12/28
« Our stay Experience »

I would like to thank every who attended to us during our stay at the hotel, the hotel is allocated in the good area close to eastgate more which was so convenient to us. The room was ok but not very good because we had some linkages in the bathroom. The service was good but some people were not friendly. The location of the hotel is supperb and this was the best for me.

Michelle2919, Manager at Mercure Suites Bedfordview, responded to this review

Dear Ireen Compliments of the season for you and your family! On behalf of the entire team of the Mercure Hotel Bedfordview, a short note to thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We will celebrate your positive comments will share them with everyone at the hotel, giving us even more motivation to strive for service excellence in 2015. Yours Sincerely Andre van Niekerk

DenverM73 2014/11/30
« A Short Stay »

I was in this time for just a night. but it was a very nice one. The hotel was very welcoming as usual, they kindly arranged a airport pick and drop. The breakfast was good. The room this time was much better and brighter than the last one i stayed in. the rooms on the line attached to the meeting room seems to be the better ones. All in all was a good stay again.

Michelle2919, Manager at Mercure Suites Bedfordview, responded to this review

Dear Denver Thank you for your kind comments. I will most definately share this with the team. We at the Mercure Hotel Bedfordview take pride in our product and services. I am looking forward to host you again on your next trip to Johannesburg. Kind Regards Andre van Niekerk

DickinsonAB 2014/11/18
« Good Hotel for Single/family »

I chose this hotel because I am a member of Le Club Accor.I was not disappointed as all.Neat bedding,big space.The EastGate Mall is a great place and hotel allows posting of bills from some restuarants to your hotel room,like Mantovannis restaurant.I found most of the staff helpful.Except cleaners struggle with English.Great place with a lot of privacy.Hotel must fix internet quality and little dark spots on bathtub (for internet only 100MB per day and you buy the rest,it is not stable at some places,choose rooms upstairs)

Michelle2919, Manager at Mercure Suites Bedfordview, responded to this review

Dear Dickinson Thank you for providing us with your honest and constructive feedback. First of all, I am happy to hear that our team has made you feel welcome at our hotel by providing you with some true Mercure Hotel hospitality. But especially for identifying some further areas of improvement which I will discuss with the management team. Kind Regards Andre van Niekerk

Priscila S 2014/10/27
« Vacations on South Africa »

The service was satisfactory, with polite and helpful employees, but rooms facilities like the old carpet and the bathroom shower (too short) made me rating this hotel as average. Suggestions would be to have a shower with a standard height of the hotels in other countries and to remove the carpet what would make it easier on cleanliness.

Michelle2919, Manager at Mercure Suites Bedfordview, responded to this review

Dear Priscila Thank you for the review. We value your comments made regarding our showers and will assess them accordingly. It is always good to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpfull as it is one of the Mercure Hotel Bedfordview's values. Yours Sincerely Andre van Niekerk Assistant General Manager

Leylandbros 2014/09/21
« Basic Hotel with great service. »

I had contacted the Hotel prior to our arrival in order to arrange a taxi to pick us up from the airport. The driver was there on time to gather us from the airport and take us to the Hotel, saving us any distress of getting safely to the Hotel. Upon arrival at the Bedfordshire, we were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment on arrival. The room itself was basic but adequate for our overnight stay. The selection of restaurants available across the road in the shopping mall was brilliant and is obviously very popular with the locals. Had a lovely meal at the Cape Town Fish Market. Check out was simple and , once again, our transport to the airport was smooth and seamless. Definitely great for an overnight or short stay hotel.

roger j 2014/03/16
« JNB Stay »

We had a renovated 1 br apartment which was very comfortable. Has everything you need including a small kitchen. Mug N Bean across the road in Eastgate shopping centre for breakfast plus lots of good restaurants to eat in. A safe area with good security.

BernadetteCC2013 2013/12/20
« Friendly Place »

The accommodation we stayed in was an apartment. It had everything in there you needed and if something happened to be missing you only had to ask and a member of staff would deliver it to you. The staff were very helpful and friendly, The hotel was really close to a fabulous shopping centre which also housed some lovely restaurants.

Janine D 2013/11/17
« SA visit »

Comfortable rooms and convenient location close to the shopping centre but lacking some basics like cookware. Not one pot or pan provided in our unit. Our unit's balcony was dirty, with filthy chairs, though inside the flat was clean. An ironing board would also be useful.

ianmountjoy 2013/11/13
« Underwhelming »

Overall, all aspects were average to sub-standard, but the quality of the property the hospitality of front office staff were especially poor. Moreover, Platinum status with Accor rendered almost no benefit at all. Would not recommend this property. The only plus side was that the house cleaning staff was very thorough and kind.

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Booking

Best price guarantee
From
From 915.00 ZAR Non member rate
From 869.25 ZAR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I earn Huazhu Rewards points
  • I can use my points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages

Our other hotels nearby

At 16 km Mercure Johannesburg Randburg Hotel
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg Hotel
From
From 660.00 ZAR Non member rate
From 660.00 ZAR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
At 20 km Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand Hotel
From
From 595.00 ZAR Non member rate
From 565.25 ZAR Members' rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Lowest public prices observed over the following seven days
All our hotels in JOHANNESBURG
Select your dates 915.00 ZAR Rooms from 915.00 ZAR