Hotel - Mercure Auckland
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Auckland

8 Customs Street East 
1010  AUCKLAND
NEW ZEALAND

2,064 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 2,064 reviews
Check Prices
Best price guarantee
From
From 154.00 NZD Non member rate
From 154.00 NZD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Check Prices
Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WIFI access (Paying)
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying, Nearby)
    • Valet parking (Paying)
  • Fitness centre
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • French

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WIFI access (Paying)
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying, Nearby)
    • Valet parking (Paying)
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • French
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 Hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 Hours

Business services

  • 9 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

After a busy day exploring or working, relax in our cosy and comfortable rooms. Upgrade and enjoy sensational harbour views or spread out and relax in the more spacious Superior Room.

  • 207 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Extra bed in room for adult
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Data port in room
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Radio in room
    • Crib on request
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Manual temperature control
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Message alert
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our customer reviews for Mercure Auckland

Reviews collected from customers who booked on AccorHotels.com

TripAdvisor Rating3.5/5 Based on 2,064 reviews

Javier F 2015/11/04
« Not what we expected »

Staff were great but facilities extremely poor, bathroom old, toilet made continual noise and room on seventh floor could still hear the night club across the street until it closed at 6am, charged more for parking than advertised, shame management don't apply the same standards to the hotel as there friendly and helpfully staff do.

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Javier F Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Mercure Auckland. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am pleased to say we are in the process of a full refurbishment, which will certainly address the aging feel of the rooms. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

AngeG01 2015/11/04
« Noisy night - but nice new rooms »

the new rooms are really nice with lovely bathrooms but there was a grate in the ceiling where you could hear running water all night! Oh and of course the noisy party goers down the road. Would be great if they could have a bit more soundproofing, but I guess some of this outside noise is quite common when staying down this end of town.

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear AngeG01 Thank you for the great review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Mercure Auckland. We look forward to having you back with us when next in Auckland. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

Magp1 2015/10/30
« Auckland Adventure »

Parking was an issue to start the couple of day - unable to park outside to drop luggage was annoying to say the least! Front of house staff however made up for this & turned around first experience with Mercure Auckland. Great view from room facing the habour - room could do with a serious face lift though carpets worn to almost thread bare, previous used face towel left in bathroom, vents in bathroom very dirty, TV channels very limited & in evening we could smell smoke on a non-smoking floor! However bar/resturant views stunning, staff in the evening & mornings very nice. The best about this Hotel is the location - pulse to EVERYTHING was just great.

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Magp1 Thank you for the great review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Mercure Auckland. We look forward to having you back with us when next in Auckland. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

Marcos S 2015/10/29
« Needs some renovation »

THe room that I stayed at was a good size one, but it was needing some renovation, the bathroom had some paint peeling, some piece of wood showing under the sink. The sofa it was blue once in his life but it was gray

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Marcos S Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Mercure Auckland. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am pleased to say we are in the process of a full refurbishment, which will certainly address the aging feel of the rooms. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

JaredHirst 2015/10/18
« Old place that needs some work »

The staff here were amazing, it's a shame that the place is so old.Bathrooms were very sub standard. The AC in my room didn't get cold enough as it seemed older than me, there was no room to park a car, luckily I pulled over on the side of the road illegally and someone came out and took my car as Valet, this might be because they are renovating, but there was no instructions of this when I booked, so that was frustrating. The bar upstairs had an amazing view and amazing food, but the Internet in the entire building was beyond useless. I had to use roaming data just to check emails. Other than that everything was OK, the best bit was the staff, so friendly and nice!

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear JaredHirst Thank you for the review, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. I will look into the internet issue as we have just had fiber installed and there should be no speed issues whatsoever. I am please to sat we are in the process of a full refurbishment, which will certainly address the concerns you have with the rooms. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

Jomebr 2015/10/13
« Great Location but Very Tired »

Almost the perfect location, with great service. The bar on the top floor offered great views,but there were some shortfalls. The rooms desperately need a refresh and a proper scrub. TV remote needed new batteries in 4 rooms our party booked, and only to receive analogue channels. Bathrooms were circa 1970's and looked it. Cooling non functional. Again the staff were wonderful!

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Jomebr Thank you for the review, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. I am pleased to sat we are in the process of a full refurbishment, which will certainly address the concerns you have with the rooms. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of the staff and service and hope to have you return in the future. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

SCC1977RM 2015/10/12
« Never again! »

I could not stay here again until major changes have been made. The air conditioner sound like a tractor and when I mentioned to one of the staff they apologized and said that they often get complaints about this. Bed was similar to a smooth rock. Hard but not lumpy. The toilet leaked which caused the shower to dribble out but if I moved around fast enough I could get a little bit wet. But had to be careful as I am sure that the stain on the bath may have been bath scum? Or the lack of the water in the shower may have been caused by the leaking tap in the sink. Then when looking for power there must have been theifs as the alarm clock and bedside lamps being hard wired left no option but to change my phone in the bathroom. I could have moved the desk but the filth back there put me off this option. In short I have no intention of going back any time soon. On the positive side the staff were very nice!

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear SCC1977RM Thank you for the review, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. I am pleased to sat we are in the process of a full refurbishment, which will certainly address the concerns you have with the rooms. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of the staff and service and hope to have you return in the future. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

Pacificwoman59 2015/10/10
« Affordable harbour view in Auckland »

Our room at the Mercure in Auckland was certainly tired and in need of new carpet, paint and furnishings however the foyer and the bar/restaurant area are newly renovated and this hotel is great value for money. We had a lovely view of the harbour from our room and the hotel is in a great location for walking around the Auckland CBD and accessing trains, buses and ferries. The bar and restaurant are tastefully decorated and we enjoyed eating our buffet breakfast while taking in a fantastic view of the harbour. The staff were very friendly and efficient and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Pacificwoman59 Thank you for the review, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. I am pleased to say we are in the process of a full refurbishment program, which will certainly address the aging feel of the rooms, I am glad you enjoyed the rest of the staff and service and hope to have you return in the future. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

LoveTaupo123 2015/10/09
« Fantastic Location »

Convenient central city location but meant for a noisy Saturday night stay. Easy walking distance to Viaduct and Vector Arena. Rooms need some TLC but were clean and tidy. Very accommodating staff and handy valet parking.

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear LoveTaupo123 Thank you for the review, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion. I am pleased to say we are in the process of a full refurbishment program, which will certainly address the aging feel of the rooms, I am glad you enjoyed the rest of the staff and service and hope to have you return in the future. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

sally_519 2015/10/07
« comfortable stay »

This hotel is well situated in the centre of Auckland and is ideally near good restaurants shops and harbour. It is a little tired in the rooms but restaurant and bar up on the top is amazing. The staff were very helpful and take your car for secure parking.

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear sally_519 Thank you for the review, I am glad to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the staff and service and hope to have you return in the future. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

TrevChel 2015/10/01
« Poor standard »

As far as a Mercure hotel goes this is Ibis standard at best. We found the room stuffy with a very uncomfortable bed, even turning on the noisiest air conditioning ever made little difference. Front desk staff checking in and out had their problems and were difficult to understand. Room was old and tired carpet wrinkled and bottom of toilet door swollen, maybe signs of old flooding. Room adjacent to service lift and laundry even though my preferences on Accor state away from lifts and noise. Not one of our better stays in this chains hotels and we have stayed in a few. The bar/restaurant have there views no doubt and this would be the only positive we took from this visit.

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear TrevChel Thank you for the review, I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Mercure Auckland. At the Mercure we strive to provide an enjoyable stay to our guests, which does not seem to be the case on this occasion and for that I apologise. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

Alicat1955 2015/09/23
« The best hotel we have stayed in »

The Reception Staff were very welcoming and friendly, the Restaurant Staff were also welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The view from our room was superb. A great experience.

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Alicat1955 Thank you for the review, I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us at the Mercure Auckland. Thank you for the positive comments, we hope to have you stay with us again in the near future. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

P9357HUjamess 2015/09/18
« A day in the city »

The Mercure Auckland is in an ideal place for getting around Auckland. It is a great place to stay, it has a great restaurant with the best views in town. the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only problem was that there was only one of the three lifts working, this made it very slow when there was a lot of people using it.

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear P9357HUjamess Thank you for the review, I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us at the Mercure Auckland. Thank you for the positive comments, we hope to have you stay with us again in the near future. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

rowie55 2015/09/16
« Disappointing »

with only one lift working out of 3, this tested the patience of many. One of them was capable of being operated manually but there seemed to be a reluctance to place a staff member in it, to transport guests, particularly at checkout time. Room was in need of cosmetic makeover.

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear rowie55 Thank you for the review, I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us at the Mercure Auckland. At the Mercure we strive to provide an enjoyable stay to our guests, which does not seem to be the case on this occasion and for that I apologise. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

holmesdec 2015/09/09
« Mecure Custom Street-Auckland »

I booked this hotel through my Accor club membership as my first choice, the Soffitel, was unavailable (conveniently), I am pretty sure Accor do this so that your free night is always at a lower standard of hotel, even though they sold me the card on a free stay at Soffitel??? The Staff are adequate, with no real complaints there, and check in/check out was handled efficiently enough. The Room was terrible, I think the standard room rate for the night was $245.00 (NZD) and I opted to upgrade to an improved suite, which cost me an extra $60.00. What a complete disappointment.The carpet is threadbare in places with a lumpy floor beneath at the entrance way, the furnishings are very low quality and damaged, the air con units make a terrible noise and the general room noise makes sleep difficult. There was barely any cutlery, not even a bottle opener and the only glasses available were the ones in the bathroom for brushing your teeth. The Shower head is very low and at 1.8 meters tall i had to stoop a fair way to get a shower, and you would think they could have a separate bath and shower??? I had a free breakfast voucher so we tried the breakfast buffet-I would not do it if I was expected to pay, the selection was terrible, the juice offering very average and everything was bland and tasteless. Overall I have a very poor opinion of this hotel and would not recommend the hotel to anyone, the fact that you might need be expected to pay $300+ for a very low quality room in this hotel is insulting. I am very disappointed with this Accor group location and cant believe I wasted my free night on this 3rd rate accommodation

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear holmesdec Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Mercure Auckland, I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not up to expectations. With regards to the rooms, we are aware they are not to the highest standard, and are currently underway with a full refurbishment program. I am however very surprised by your breakfast comment this is an area we receive great feedback about, we currently have a selection of 5 different juice options for breakfast. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

Emma613 2015/08/30
« :( »

Room was rundown - and sadly a bit dirty. Also was advised wrong on check-in about the accommodation package that was purchased - which was extremely disappointing, parking at $40 per night is also pretty steep!

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Emma613 Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Mercure Auckland, I am sorry to read you did not enjoy the stay on this occasion. I am however pleased to say that we are in the process of a full hotel refurbishment, which will certainly address the aging feel of the property. We look forward to having you stay back with us in the future. Regards Ian Shipman I Hotel Manager

ruthd229 2015/08/18
« We'll be back »

This hotel is very well located for guests relying on public transport. A free room upgrade was a nice bonus. The view from the restaurant is great and the food was outstanding. The elevators are being upgraded so having only 2 in operation was a minor inconvenience.

IanShip, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear ruthd229 Thank you for the review about your recent stay with us.Thank you for the awesome comments they are most appreciated, look forward to having you back with us. Regards Ian

See more In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From 154.00 NZD Non member rate
From 154.00 NZD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee

Our other hotels nearby

At 160 m The Sebel Quay West Auckland
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
From
From 194.00 NZD Non member rate
From 194.00 NZD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 160 m So Sofitel Auckland (opening Q1 2018)
So Sofitel Auckland (opening Q1 2018) Hotel
From
From N/A --- Non member rate
From N/A --- Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 360 m ibis budget Auckland Central
ibis budget Auckland Central
From
From 64.00 NZD Non member rate
From 64.00 NZD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 360 m The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
From
From 174.00 NZD Non member rate
From 174.00 NZD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in AUCKLAND
Check Prices