Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Germany Hotels > Hamburg Hotels > Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena)
Previous hotel
Discover Mercure

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena)

Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure

Next hotel
Hotel - Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena)
See : the photos

Practical information

    • PLANET 21 OR
    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Private indoor parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 2
    • Pet allowed - Paying
    • Indoor heated pool
    • Golf practice facilities - Paying - Nearby
    • Tennis - Paying - Nearby
    • Indoor tennis court - Paying - Nearby
    • Sauna
  • Number of rooms: 140
  • Hotel location: Suburb
  • Main point of interest: O2 WORLD HAMBURG (1.50 km)

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena) - hotel reviews in Hamburg

Hotel code: 1659

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 5.0 out of 5 stars "Quite good all aroiund"

4th August 2013, SF94114, San Francisco, California, USA

Stayed here for business. While it's not the most convenient location for downtown trips (bus+train) it's not annoyingly so. For visits to DESY it's ideal. Good happy hour (almost half off most cocktails), decent breakfast (though a tad pricey), nicely appointed and rather spacious rooms. There's really nothing about this hotel that I didn't like other than the extra 3 euro charge for in-room internet access. That said, the price is still very good if booked with a non-refundable rate. I recommend this hotel.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 2.0 out of 5 stars "Poor"

26th June 2013, Aarhus_DenmarkAarhus, Aarhus, Denmark

The room 310: There was a low frequent tone all night. It was very bad. I think it comes from the aircondition motor some were.The restaurant: We ordered steak menu number 2, and we get number 3. We ordered two desert with two ball of Vanilla ice creame, but we get only one Ball each.I am not sure we will come back to this hotel again.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good for business and events at the Arena"

9th March 2013, Cheltenham, United Kingdom

A Business hotel that is convenient for the corporate offices of many large companies that are nearby. It's also close to the Hamburg Arena. Staff are friendly and helpful. The food is good in the uninspiring restaurant environment. I do wish business hotels would stop charging for Internet access as this is 2013. They don't charge for using the electric, water or heating because its built into the room rate, so why charge for the Internet?

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 4.0 out of 5 stars "hamburg mercure hotel nov 2012"

4th December 2012

good hotel in an excellent price.very good breakfast!!the location is a little fare away from the city center, a car is a must. a very good and professional service in the receptiontake the business packet is worthy

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 4.0 out of 5 stars "Reasonable Hotel - awful service from Accor"

13th August 2012, NotSoHappyWithAccor, London, United Kingdom

We booked this hotel as a Novotel, having stayed their before. However the week before travelling upon checking the location for our Sat Nav we found it had disappeared! Upon contacting Accor we found it had changed to a Mercure and we also found we found they had zero customer support working on weekends and the booking helpline could not confirm the services available on their own hotels (we needed Room service). Accor helplines are all premium rate international calls and the UK is very poorly supported IMHO, we were left to call the hotel direct. Basically a not bad hotel which is not up to its old Novotel brand standards but a great deal better than Accor themselves.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 2.0 out of 5 stars "Nice Hotel, but terrible beds"

1st June 2012, Cara D, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg

We stayed at the Mercure hotel for my son's tennis tournament. Apparently this has been the hotel of choice for several years. Although the location is great and the hotel has apparently been recently renovated, the bed and pillows were awful, leaving me extremely exhausted throughout the weekend. My other frustrations include the fact that the rooms were extremely warm (it was unusually hot that weekend, and I can only assume that, like most building that far north in Germany, the rooms were not individually air conditioned). Add to that the non-existant pillows (I finally asked for extra pillows which helped a bit, but they were very thin and old) and extremely hard mattresses that must have been made from some type of rubber material (great when you consider bed bugs, but horribly uncomfortable), our sleep experience just did not allow for us to have an enjoyable stay. A shame, considering the bathrooms were quite nice and the room large and spacious (we were in a family suite with one double bed and a fold out couch, which was even harder than the bed.) The breakfast buffet is also not worth the charge. The food was quite average. I have stayed at equivalent hotels with similar breakfast packages that far surpass what the Mercure provided. Sorry, but I just can't recommend this hotel.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 3.0 out of 5 stars "Hotel OK, expensive"

14th May 2012, fbxOrnex, Ornex

I was travelling for work, and I did not need any particular service. For example, I did not even switch the TV on.I bought some internet traffic, way too expensive.Hotel OK, just expensive, and more expensive than my previous time there.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 1.0 out of 5 stars "My worst hotel experience in memory"

30th March 2012, London

It's a Novotel. I expected it to be basic, but deliver on my needs of doing a bit or work in the evening, going to sleep and then getting up for a meeting the next morning. It failed spectacularly. Reception didn't initially give me wireless passcode which i had prepaid. I was not offered help to my room as i strugled towards the lift with my luggage, and ironing board and iron under one arm. room was huge. Furniture the cheapest imaginable. The hotel was being refurbished - lour drilling until 9pm, which started again at 7am the next morning. I had not been told this when booking. Apparently the renovations are mentioned in a small inconspicuous message near the bottom of the hotel's website. The noise made work difficult. The double glazing did little to cut out the noise of the dual-carriageway outside. The mattress was made of cheap foam. not memory foam, the cheap foam you stuff caravan cushions with. it was so uncomfortable i slept less than 1 hour. I was given better pillows in my first year student accomodation than what was offered here. receptionist told me there was nothing to be done about the noise and suggested i move hotel. i will never stay here again. it's so basic to get these sort of things right, it's pathetic when hotels cannot.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 3.0 out of 5 stars "Good accommodation for the price. Well managed with a nice restaurant. English is spoken."

28th September 2011, cape123, NSW

My sister and I stayed at the Novotel Arena for 2 nights and altogether it was a pleasant experience. The restaurant meal was good. The hotel is expecting a renovation over the winter 2011/12 which will bring it up to another level. The only disappointment is that with smoking now banned inside the building, an area adjacent to the front entrance (complete with a tent) has taken some drinkers outside and the noise late at night can be heard through the windows which can be opened.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 4.0 out of 5 stars "Fine hotel"

3rd September 2011, T_Holmelund, Aalborg, Denmark

I did enjoy staying here, but had expected a little more service due to my position in the bonus system (A-club).Rooms were a little old fashion style. No flat screens.Liked the pool in the basement, and the restaurant was excellent.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 3.0 out of 5 stars "nice stay"

2nd September 2011, Prague

we had a nice stay - the hotel was ideally located for our purpose but for going to the center it´s quite far away. the breakfast at 16e is really expensive. the equipment of the rooms is quite old and esp. in bathroom it was obvious. the staff is really nice and helpful, rooms are middle-spacy, a typical accor hotel as you can see everywhere.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 4.0 out of 5 stars "very goog family solution"

15th August 2011, stavanger

traveling norway we stopped in hamburg. Very good hotel, linked via bus (n 3) directly to city center. Excellent treatment , free parking and Novotel standards fully available. Wireless connection at 3 Euro per day.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 4.0 out of 5 stars "dw"

7th August 2011, Hong Kong

Need more electrical sockets in room and washroom, very good breakfast. Hotel personnel are very friendly. There is no air conditioning in hotel! Uncomfortable electrical sockets. Found only 2 in room.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 5.0 out of 5 stars "novatel"

6th July 2011, cannock

excellent service polite and understanding staffbreakfast good quality could be abit cheaper .could have done with a kettle in the room(but that might be a british thing)overall great hotel staff great would recommend it and would stop there again

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 5.0 out of 5 stars "Perfect hotel for Imtech Arena"

2nd July 2011, London

Hotel was clean, staff all spoke English, food in restaurant was fabulous and best of it, it was within walking distance of the Imtech Arena, which is why we stayed there. Only complaint: no tea & coffee making facilities in room, very small point though. Would stay again.

Mercure Hotel Hamburg am Volkspark (ex Novotel Hamburg Arena): 4.0 out of 5 stars "short vacation"

16th June 2011, Stuttgart Germany

The room was quite big.The location was a bit far from city venter, it allow it, it's worth to stay.The breakfast wasn't good price, but good quality, we had many thing to cheese.

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.

Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.