Return to list of hotels
Find a hotel > Portugal Hotels > Oporto Hotels > Novotel Porto Gaia
Previous hotel
Discover Novotel

Novotel Porto Gaia hotel

Mid-scale hotel for business or family trips

Next hotel
Hotel - Novotel Porto Gaia
See : the photos  | the videos in association withTVTrip

Practical information

    • CERTIFIED SUSTAINABLE-ISO 14001
    • PLANET 21 OR
    • Wi-Fi at the hotel
    • High-speed internet
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Private enclosed outdoor parking
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility rooms: 1 - Paying
    • Pet allowed - Paying
    • Outdoor playground for children
    • Babysitting on request - Paying
    • RESTAURANT MENU - Paying
    • LATE CHECK-OUT - Paying
    • KIDS' MENU - Paying
  • Number of rooms: 93
  • Hotel location: In town
  • Main point of interest: Port Wine Cellars (5.00 km)

Hotel address

Lugar das Chas
Afurada
4400-499 VILA NOVA DE GAIA
PORTUGAL

How to reach the hotel

GPS :N 41° 8' 38.47'' W 8° 38' 27.59'' ‎

Map and Itineraries
TomTom

Contact the hotel

Simplify future bookings using your account

New search

Recently viewed hotels

Return to list of hotels

Novotel Porto Gaia - hotel reviews in Oporto

Hotel code: 1050

Accorhotels.com customer reviews in partnership with TripAdvisor


Novotel Porto Gaia: 3.0 out of 5 stars "It was useful"

23rd July 2013, Patuquer

I stayed in this hotel with a close friend to attend Marés Vivas music festival for just one night. If you go by car everything it´s OK, it´s easy to get there, the problem is...what if you want to take a walk to the port, or just get out the hotel complex?. We decided to go to the festival, which was at the Praia do Cabedelo, walking, because the recepcionist told us that it was just a 20 min walk. It was true...but it wasn´t a safe night walk, we were just thinking how we would go back when the concerts finish. The situation was a little problem, that´s why we decided to went back by taxi.The swimming pool was just ridiculous, we have to say that the photographer was incredible getting the best angle to make it bigger.When we went back to the hotel at 4 a.m. we were starving, there isn´t any vending machine or a 24h food service...so, we had to go to another hotel there, where the waiter was just an angel and made us a great sandwich to calm our hunger.Yes, the room was great, that was true...but just the room.

Novotel Porto Gaia: 4.0 out of 5 stars "good for family but lack public transportation"

27th June 2013, cl_viper, Lisbon, Portugal

It's a bit far off and not really close to public transportation, although it has private free parking. The pool is not that big and is located outside and unheated. It has a playground and a inside (tiny) play area for children. It offers free wifi through wifi-pt network, so free wifi around many public areas throughout Portugal as well. Typical continental breakfast, bar and restaurant service.

Novotel Porto Gaia: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Location: very good as a base (if with car) but somewhat hard to find"

2nd January 2013, webtraveler99

I am impressd with Novotel's welcoming policies (room price & sizes, check out times, and complementary breakfast for kids). The stay at Vila de Gaia was very good on all these aspects. We had a car, which made for exploration of the Caves (Port wines) as well as select spots in Porto very convenient. The only somewhat difficult part was to find the hotel the first time around.

Novotel Porto Gaia: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Good Hotel comfortable stay"

6th September 2012

Good size room, bit dated but comfortable. Great size outdoor area for kids to play and swim. Only problem is finding the hotel, hard to locate. Would stay there again as it was quiet and plenty of free parking

Novotel Porto Gaia: 5.0 out of 5 stars "Enjoyed our stay"

2nd July 2012, marciap123

Stayed for one night with my two children. Room was very spacious and the kids loved the trundle bed. Nice, large bathroom. Front desk staff very friendly. We had the buffet dinner which was varied and good. Nice breakfast. Would recommend and would stay again. Actually, we are staying again at the end of the month. Hope to explore the area to get a better sense of the hotel's location.

Novotel Porto Gaia: 4.0 out of 5 stars "A pleasant low-rise hotel"

17th June 2012, WorldWideKiwi, Christchurch

The staff and pool were welcoming ! Service in the restaurant was polite and friendly while the quality of food was good, althiough the a la carte choices somewhat limited.Very good choice of dishes for the buffet breakfast.Our fourth floor room, which gave splendid views of the river Douro and it's mouth, was spacious, quiet and comfortable.The hotel's location means a bus ride followed by a metro journey is the most effective way to reach the city, unless you take a taxi.

Novotel Porto Gaia: 4.0 out of 5 stars "good value"

24th May 2012, 300kay, Cardiff, United Kingdom

ideally situated off the motorway but a long steep walk to Vila Nova de Gaia. Refurbished rooms--good value. Friendly ,helpful staff. restaurant good,varied breakfast buffet.

Novotel Porto Gaia: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Novotel Porto Gaia in January."

24th January 2012, Saxmundham, United Kingdom

The service was excellent both in terms of room cleanliness and the restaurant where the buffet breakfast and dinner were very good value for money. The Superior room had a beautiful view across the entrance to the Duoro estuary and was well fitted out.The only difficulty we had was with our UK Tom Tom getting us to the site as the hotel did not come up as a Point of Interest. The room was good value for money with the only drawback of one window being misted up due to failure of the double glazing seal.

Novotel Porto Gaia: 4.0 out of 5 stars "Excellent hotel if you have a car"

28th August 2011, Dimitris-Athina

Very clean,with good breakfast and in good price(when you catch the crazy prices or other similar offers).Many activities for children are available.The personnel is very friendly and helpful.The parking is free but for few cars.Nevertheless there is a huge free parking area 30 meters from the hotel.Very easy to access the city by car, otherwise it is a little away from city center.

Novotel Porto Gaia: 4.0 out of 5 stars "good value for reasonable money"

17th July 2011

I recommend this hotel to the people with own/rented car as this is not easy to get it. However the service is very good, free parking, free internet and the XBOX for children as well. Currently they are building Etap hotel next to Novotel so it might be noisy. Anyway if you have a car and you want to visit beaches of north Portugal Iadvise to have the base there. One more thing very good buffet (eat as much as you can) for lunch and dinner - 15,50 EUR adult and 9 Euro children. The swimming pool good for adults and children -2,20m/1,50m.

Novotel Porto Gaia: 5.0 out of 5 stars "An excellent stay for a port experience"

14th July 2011, Porirua

good provision for children, excellent breakfast, and extremely helpful staff, proactive in offering help.A bit of a walk to old Porto and to port wine area of Gaia, but taxi not expensive if too far to walk.

Novotel Porto Gaia: 4.0 out of 5 stars "great hotel, a little hard to access"

21st May 2011, Curious_Laura, Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom

The hotel is a great value for your money. Probably among the best hotels in the area and which includes a pool as part of the amenities (other hotels require additional payment for using their pool). The only inconvenience was the accessibility from the hotel to town since it is located in an island surrounded by a highway and the bus leaves you right at the bottom of the hotel but the bus stop to leave is around the corner. We had to walk passed a bridge and find a bus stop that takes you to town and since we were two women traveling alone we took the taxi which was not bad at all (5 Euros). Once in Villa de Gaia we used to public transportation to move elsewhere and that was really easy. We bought the travel card for three days for 11 Euros with no restrictions and you can use the bus, metro, and tram. Enjoy your stay and trip to Portugal, we definitely did! :)

Novotel Porto Gaia: 4.0 out of 5 stars "All the family loved it!"

27th April 2011, Cascais

Taking into account its very pleasant rates, this is for sure an hotel to stay, specially if a family with 1 or 2 children. Excellent location, with a great view to Oporto, Douro river and sea. Its swimming pool is for sure an added value - my kids loved it!

1. Lowest prices found over the following seven days.
These prices may be based on different room types. Depending on the country, these prices may not include taxes, may include VAT only or may include all taxes (VAT and city tax). When prices do not include all taxes, the relevant taxes (VAT and/or city tax) will be stated in the following stages of the reservation process. The price is only guaranteed at the time of reservation.

Hotel classifications (1 to 5 stars for France) correspond to criteria laid down by local regulations.