Mercure St Helens 4 stars

Customer review rating 3.4/5 141 reviews
Mercure St Helens
See on a map
+ 18 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Located in the heart of St Helens with easy access to Liverpool and Manchester.

  • Wedding facilities capable of accomodating 200 guests

  • 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms for up to 200+ guests

  • On-site lesuire facilities available for all guests

  • On-site 92 restaurant & 1552 sports bar with Sky & BT Sports.

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Other sports activities
Catering
  • Breakfast included in the price
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 2 meeting room(s)

Hotel location

Mercure St Helens

Linkway West
St Helens
Merseyside
WA101NG
st helens
united kingdom

Tel: +441744453444

Fax: (+44)1744/453444

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LPL JOHN LENNON At 22.37km / 13.9 miles

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER T1 At 46.19km / 28.7 miles

  • By boat

    LPL PIER HEAD At 17.7km / 11 miles

  • By helicopter

    CITY AIRPORT At 27.04km / 16.8 miles

  • By car

    M62 JCT 7 At 3.86km / 2.4 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

  • By train

    STHELENS CENTRAL At 1.61km / 1 miles

GPS :53.44994, -2.73679

Our accommodations

All our Bedrooms are a good size with ensuite facilities, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. The hotel has a variety of upgraded rooms including suites which include air conditioning.

Classic Room with one King size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20

Classic Room with two Single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20

Privilege Room with one King Size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 20

Suite with one King size bed

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 30
  • Mini Bar

Our restaurants and bars

92 RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Light, bright and colourful, 92 Restaurant is an ideal setting for anyone who appreciates good food and a warm welcome. As a family friendly hotel, our restaurant offers a wide range of fresh meals to suit even the fussiest of eaters.

Lunch

12:00 - 14:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

1552 SPORTS BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Our Sports Bar boasts a great location to sit back and relax with a drink in hand. With Sky Sports and BT Sports on the big screen, you are sure not to miss any big sporting event.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 2

  • Maximum size: 2,000

  • Maximum capacity: 300 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 250 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure St Helens

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 3.4/5

141 reviews

Very comfortable stay at St Helens Mercure

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Julie S. Couples - 07/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Very comfortable bed. Great room at a good rate

Dear JULIE S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kind Regards Khem Djedidi General Manager Mercure St Helens Hotel HA… Ph.01…

The hotel was fine, with a comfortable room.

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Anonymous Solo - 07/10/2019 AccorHotels review

It was fine.

Dear MERIEL J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding the atmosphere in the bar, I will ensure that this feedback is reviewed by the team here. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Naomi Reception Manager

Hotel room ok, restaurant/bar very poor

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Steve Business - 06/10/2019 AccorHotels review

The restaurant facility for a 4 star hotel was shocking, never again will I stay at a Mecure Hotel. To be told the restaurant isn't open because the menu is being revised is not a good start. Bar service was only available, even that was limited, I have no special dietary requirements, how a vegetarian would have coped, I dread to think. There was a bad storm one night, the reception was like a swimming pool, that many holes in the roof. All in all, not a good experience, Sorry, but I will have to advise not to use Mecure Hotels.

Dear STEPHEN MR D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind Regards Naomi Reception Manager

Good

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Anonymous Business - 05/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Ok but the pool was under maintenance which was disappointing.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Kind Regards Naomi Reception Manager

No swimming pool

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Robert Business - 04/10/2019 AccorHotels review

I booked this hotel specifically for the use of the pool. The pool that was advertised on the website was not actually open when I arrived.. When I reported this to the reception upon arrival they were less than helpful. I am very disappointed.

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your stay here at Mercure St Helens Hotel. I will ensure that all of the feedback that you have provided is passed across to our senior management team. Kind regards Naomi Reception Manager

good clean rooms

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Mark C. Business - 04/10/2019 AccorHotels review

easy check in / check out . Rooms are clean and tidy

Dear MARK c., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Naomi Reception Manager

First rate

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Anonymous Business - 04/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Staff were lovely , food was well presented and great quality

Dear THOMAS G B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind Regards Naomi Reception Manager

Friendly helpful staff

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Katie F. Families - 01/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Our stay was enjoyable apart from the night manager on Saturday giving us misinformation about the pool being closed on Sunday for refurbishment. We were looking forward to spending time in the pool that was why we chose this hotel so imagine our disappointment on Sunday to see people in the lobby who had obviously Benn in the pool

Dear Katie f., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that has been a mis-understandiing in regards to the pool refurbeshement programm; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kind Regards Khem Djedidi General Manager Mercure St Helens Hotel HA… Ph.01…

21st Sept stay

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Mike N. Families - 24/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Exceptional customer service when changing booking for a future stay. Reception staff were extremely helpful, as we were changing bookings for 4 couples from one night to 2 night stays in October. This was all accomplished during a large influx of guests at the time we were at reception.

Dear MICHAEL N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your visit will be a more positive experience. Sincerely, Kind Regards Khem Djedidi General Manager Mercure St Helens Hotel HA… Ph.01…

not a great experience for a Mercure

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Frederic F. Business - 20/09/2019 AccorHotels review

the room was very noisy because of the AC the breakfast quality was poor, the second we took the breakfast out of the hotel This is not the experience I have usually with Mercure Hotel in Europe

Dear FREDERIC F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kind Regards Khem Djedidi General Manager Mercure St Helens Hotel HB… Ph.01…
Customer review rating 3.4/5

Widiya Business - 19/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Generally it was good. Here are the points I would like you to improve: - provision at least one (1) mineral bottle in the room - please improve the light in the room. It was too dark and I couldn't work. - the food is good, but the service can be improved

Dear WIDIYA J., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your comments, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kind Regards Khem Djedidi General Manager Mercure St Helens Hotel HB… Ph.01…

Could have been better

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Karen J. Couples - 17/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Myself and my husband enjoyed our stay booked as a free bonus break as we are both Accor employees with 15 years service each to the company. The only negative was I very surprised to find after my stay my card was charged without my authorisation for £2. It’s only £2 so not a huge deal but was rather upset as the whole idea of presenting the free bonus break voucher on arrival is that the stay is complimentary and after mentioning to my general manager she insisted this feedback should be passed on and dealt with. Obviously it isn’t possible for a rate code to come through as £0 hence why it comes through at £1 per night but the guest should not be charged, this rate just simply needs to be adjusted.

Dear KAREN J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kind Regards Khem Djedidi General Manager Mercure St Helens Hotel HA… Ph.01…

Comfortable

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Martin Solo - 11/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Short and sweet

Dear MARTIN M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Kind Regards Khem Djedidi General Manager Mercure St Helens Hotel HA… Ph.01…

Comfortable, great staff, nice gym, good parking.

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Anonymous Families - 03/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Comfortable beds, good services. Ice machine not working. Needs to be fixed.

Dear ANNE J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Khem Djedidi General Manager

Very disappointed

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Sarah C. Couples - 02/09/2019 AccorHotels review

I would like to start by saying we do not normally stay in your hotels, however after searching for a 1 night break and seeing that you get a discount for joining, we decided to join and book for 1 night in the Mercure St Helens hotel for my birthday. We paid for a privilege room and were very disappointed when we arrived to see that : - there were no bathrobes or Slippers in the room - there was only 1 pillow per person - there was only 1 towel per person (as a lady I like to have an additional towel for my hair) - 1 pack of biscuits ( every other hotel we have stayed in has 1 each! ) I went to reception to ask for these concerns to be dealt with and have to say Naomi was fantastic, she had excellent customer service skills and explained that she would arrange for towels and bathrobes to be sent up to the room ready for when we got back from the leisure club. Our next disappointment was the visit to the leisure club; - the jacuzzi was not working ( I would not have booked had I known this) - the changing rooms are on a desperate need of refurbishment, 1 toilet out of order, paint peeling off the walls, ceiling tiles missing, broken lockers and no changing cubicles On the way back to our room we saw Naomi who gave me a complimentary drinks voucher for my birthday and informed me everything we paid for as part of a privilege upgrade was now in our room. On retiring to the room we also noticed that the bathroom door does not close properly and you have to slam it shut (room 311) however feeling slightly happier wrapped in our fluffy bathrobes, we pour a glass of wine and lie back on the bed to watch tv only to realise that the tv does not receive a signal and the picture is so bad it can’t be watched. At this point I’m time we have only been in the hotel for 2.5hrs, so rather than relaxing and watching tv we were extremely disappointed with our night away. The following morning we received a telephone call from reception at 11:20 to inform us checkout was at 11, I explained this is not what it stated in the e-mail booking confirmation ( another reason we booked this hotel was the 12o’clock checkout). On checking out the receptionist lacked customer service skills as I mentioned the e-mail I was told “when you book through booking.com it’s wrong and says 12 instead of 11”. I explained that I did not book through booking.com but rather through the accord hotels website to which the following reply was received “ well we’ve told the manager he needs to change it”, still no apology even though the e-mail received clearly stated 12pm checkout . I would like to say that on our departure the general manager did show genuine concern as to the issues during our stay, this was very much appreciated.

Dear SARAH C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

Creamfields weekend

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Vickyb Couples - 01/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Easy check in, friendly staff and really good breakfast.

Dear VICTORIA B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure St Helens. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Khem Djedidi General Manager

it's okay

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Kevin Business - 31/08/2019 AccorHotels review

I have stayed three times on business - I have a regular trip every month to st Helens area. In three visits, I have had to complain about the room twice, first time there was half eaten food left in the mini fridge and this week the toilet was dirty. The manager changed my room the time (he wasn't in post last time) but I didn't get the impression that they were too bothered

Dear KEVIN B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

It was a short stay, but a very comfortable and happy one

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Jason Solo - 25/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Not a great deal of time was spent in the hotel, but for a place to sleep and rest it was very very good. My only negative was that the bathtub was not clean. Lots of leftovers in and around the tub from previous occupants.

Dear JASON M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

room was good , badroom small

Customer review rating 3.4/5

M. Couples - 15/08/2019 AccorHotels review

hotel was good, badroom hot water was fluctuating between warm/cold and hot

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely,

disappointed in first room we were given

Customer review rating 3.4/5

Joy Couples - 14/08/2019 AccorHotels review

We booked a privilege room so we’re expecting something a little more special. Unfortunately The TV could not be turned on in our room. There was no phone in the room to notify reception and Only one pillow each on the bed. There was also a large clump of hair down beside the bed and the toilet looked as if it hadn’t been cleaned for a while. Once we had notified reception the staff moved us to another room which had a phone, tv worked and two pillows each on the bed and was clean and tidy. The bed was really comfortable and we had a great sleep that first night apart from a fault with the air conditioning that we were notified about. The second night was not so good with someone’s sexual exploits in the room next door going on until the early hours. The Staff were friendly and helpful but did not know that being a Privilege guest you could order a free newspaper. The food in the bar was very good but didn’t understand why the member of staff only came into the bar when someone else came in to be served then went back out until another customer came in. Breakfast was in a meeting room while a new restaurant is being done but bread for toast and tea bags were not being replenished and we went down at 8.00am which was quite early. The fitness centre was excellent. Everything from the pool, jacuzzi, gym, the staff, the cleanliness I Cannot rate it high enough and would definitely recommend.

Dear STEVE C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure St Helens. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in st helens