The Olsen Melbourne - Art Series Hotel 5 stars

Customer review rating 4.3/5 1,082 reviews
The Olsen Melbourne - Art Series
See on a map
+ 18 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age

Le Club AccorHotels

Not participating hotel

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I do not earn points

  • I cannot use my points

  • I do not benefit from advantages

  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Onsite Pool and Gym

  • John Olsen Art and Art Library in every suite.

  • Chapel Street, Shopping & Dining Precinct.

  • Melbourne's Sports & Entertainment

  • Onsite Restaurant, Bar & Room Service

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on requestPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LaundryPaying
  • Beauty salonPaying
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Outdoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Massage
  • Babysitting on request
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 2 restaurant(s)
Business services
  • 10 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

The Olsen Melbourne - Art Series

637 641 Chapel Street
3141
south yarra
australia

Tel: +611300092875

Fax: (+61)3/90401223

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    TULLAMARINE AIRPORT At 30km / 18.64 miles

GPS :-37.837909, 144.995693

Our accommodations

Be inspired and mesmerised by the elegant rooms at The Olsen. Experience the ultimate in boutique luxury accommodation, capturing refinement and the charm of John Olsen, as well as the energy and charisma of Chapel Street.

Studio Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: A partir de 29
  • Mini Bar

Studio Suite Balcony

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: A partir de 34
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Mini Bar

Deluxe Studio Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: A partir de 34
  • Mini Bar

Deluxe Studio Suite Twin

  • Max. number of persons: 5
  • Area: A partir de 43
  • Mini Bar

One Bedroom Deluxe Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: A partir de 44
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Mini Bar

Two Bedroom Open Plan Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 5
  • Area: A partir de 88
  • Mini Bar

Two Bedroom Deluxe Balcony Suite

  • Max. number of persons: 5
  • Area: A partir de 91
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Mini Bar

John Olsen Penthouse

  • Max. number of persons: 5
  • Area: A partir de 156
  • Most of the accommodation: FIREPLACE *

* Subject to availability

  • Mini Bar

Lake Eyre Penthouse

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: A partir de 160
  • Most of the accommodation: PRIVATE_POOL *

* Subject to availability

  • Mini Bar

Our restaurants and bars

TWO WRONGS BAR

Type of cuisine: Other cooking style

High-end dining fused within a dive bar experience. Welcome to Two Wrongs.

SPOONBILL RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: Bistro

Drawing inspiration from John Olsen's love of all things Australian, Spoonbill's menu offers a multi-faceted paddocak to plate experience. Highlighting the origin, delivery and special characteristics of the food, Spoonbill leaves guests enlightened.

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 10

  • Maximum size: 170

  • Maximum capacity: 70 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 60 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
The Olsen Melbourne - Art Series

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.3/5

1,082 reviews

Relaxing and blissful

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Sneha Couples - 17/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Celebrated our first wedding anniversary at The Olsen hotel. It was memorable. We absolutely loved the service and the room/bathroom was very clean. Hope to come back in the near future again! Also would recommend it to family and friends. Thanks heaps everyone!

fast service, helpful and obliging. great food. generous with drink coupons, room was lovely and comfortable.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Carole L. Business - 17/10/2019 AccorHotels review

I enjoyed a relaxing evening and a good sleep after a very tiring business day. I especially appreciated your young staff member the next morning when i was checking out and parked where there was no designated parking. he noticed and approached me, saying he would take care of everything for me and i handed him my room card and said good bye. great service and much appreciated.

Sophisticated Hotel in a great location.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Scott W. Couples - 16/10/2019 AccorHotels review

I had not been to Chapel St for years. Staying at the Olsen was an ideal base for a new introduction to the area. We went everywhere on foot. Shopped, ate, drank and saw a movie.

Perfect

Customer review rating 4.3/5

John K. Solo - 15/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Was a great stay. Was there for my cousins wedding who had her wedding there in the penthouse suite.

A perfectly Melbourne experience

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Alicia Business - 15/10/2019 AccorHotels review

I was travelling for business and found the rooms to be a generous and comfortable size allowing space to work and make a tea or coffee. The art is beautiful and really gives the hotel that funky Melbourne vibe. There are some really nice personal touches during your stay, a hand written welcome note, chocolate and complimentary glass of wine. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hello Alicia, Thank you for the great review of our hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. It is great to hear you loved all the persoanl touches we added to your stay. If you had a moment to tell others about your stay, we always appreciate a review on www.tripadvisor.com If we can assist in the future please do not hesitate to reach out. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards,

The hotel is absolutely filthy

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Dr S. M. Couples - 15/10/2019 AccorHotels review

The whole hotel felt very dirty - from the bathroom, light switches, foyer, hallways not to mention mould around the edge of the pool (pools walls need to be scrubbed regularly to maintain water quality). Staff didn’t care for my feedback. Management should be embarrassed at the state of their hotel

Relaxing

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Keryn F. Business - 15/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Very convenient as I attended a conference nearby and friendly staff

Hello Keryn, Thank you for the great review of our hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. If you had a moment to tell others about your stay, we always appreciate a review on www.tripadvisor.com If we can assist in the future please do not hesitate to reach out. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Brad Vivian Front Office Manager

A very comfortable stay.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Vickie Families - 15/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Comfortable room with adequate facilities. Liked I could open a window. Furnishings were a little worn. The noise from construction made it very difficult to communicate in the hotel foyer. Overall happy with our stay.

Mixed feelings

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Jo Couples - 15/10/2019 AccorHotels review

We arrived to quite a chaotic scene. The hotel was clearly very busy but there was only one staff member on the check in desk. The carpark was full. I was instructed to park elsewhere or pay $40 to vallet park. I chose to pay the $40 as we were on a tight schedule. I drove around to find the driveway overflowing with cars and no staff. We were forced to illegally park and leave the car for some time before staff moved it. The staff were pleasant and helpful but they were clearly stressed and possibly understaffed. This didn't make me feel relaxed on check in. Our room was fine but the balcony was littered with cigarette butts. I did tell staff about this and they were apologetic. Overall, not a terrible experience but I wouldn't stay again.

Welcoming stay in great location

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Josie M. Couples - 14/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Comfortable, clean and cheery was our experience at The Olsen. It’s positioned in a great location near trams and trains. Local shops are great. We’ll be back!

Hello Josie, Thank you for the great review of our hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. If you had a moment to tell others about your stay, we always appreciate a review on www.tripadvisor.com If we can assist in the future please do not hesitate to reach out. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Brad Vivian Front Office Manager
Customer review rating 4.3/5

Adrian F. Solo - 14/10/2019 AccorHotels review

It was good. But I dislike the change in amenity from the EVO brand and the service in the bar was appalling.

Hello Adrian, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know that your stay was generally positive. We appreciate your comments regarding the change of bathroom amenities. Unfortunately this decision was made for us, with EVO pulling out of the Australian market. If this had not occured then we would not have changed. If you had a moment, do you mind telling me when you were in the bar and was there anything specifically that you could share to assist us with our training? If we can assist any further please do not hesitate to reach out. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon. Kind regards, Nick Gouin General Manager - The Olsen Hotel +6… ni…

Well located hotel close to facilities

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 14/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Prompt check in with spacious room allocated

Hello Graeme, Thank you for the great review of our hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We really appreciate the support of Fulton Hogan and if we can assist in the future please do not hesitate to reach out. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Nick Gouin General Manager - The Olsen Hotel +6… ni…

Professional and relaxing

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Storm P. Couples - 14/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Very private and all the staff were very accommodating. Enjoyed the ease with witch we checked in and the express check out was great.

Hello Storm, Thank you for the great review of our hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We really appreciate you kind words about our staff. If you had a moment to tell others about your stay, we always appreciate a review on www.tripadvisor.com If we can assist in the future please do not hesitate to reach out. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Nick Gouin General Manager - The Olsen Hotel +6… ni…

Service and communication was a let down

Customer review rating 4.3/5

James Couples - 14/10/2019 AccorHotels review

We were disappointed. Room wasn't ready for a long time after check in. Staff weren't sure where our bags went that we left with them. Staff didn't seem to know about our booking. Room was amazing and food was great.

Always a problem every time I stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Elizabeth Business - 13/10/2019 AccorHotels review

House keeping forgotten again, customer complaints not dealt with, phone lines not working, room service wrong

Nick has spoken with this guest directly, following an email she had sent the hotel directly.

Great Service & Experience at The Olsen!!

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Tj Couples - 13/10/2019 AccorHotels review

My girlfriend Linda and I loved our Olsen experience!! Our anniversary celebration stay started off wonderfully with a great 2-bedroom corner suite room upgrade Many thanks to the staff and management for sending up champagne to us also. We enjoyed room service both mornings and had good drinks and food in the restaurant on the lobby floor!!

Hello TJ, Thank you for the great review of our hotel, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We really appreciate your kind words about our team and we are happy to have played a small role in making your anniversary a special one. If you had a moment to tell others about your stay, we always appreciate a review on www.tripadvisor.com If we can assist in the future please do not hesitate to reach out. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards, Nick Gouin General Manager - The Olsen Hotel +6… ni…

Great experience

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Mija Business - 12/10/2019 AccorHotels review

I'm in loovvee with the scent in your lobby. Overall a great stay with excellent staff. My only criticism is that either the air-conditioning or fridge in the room is incredibly loud and kept waking me up as it changed settings to regulate temp. Look forward to staying again though!

A bit average.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 11/10/2019 AccorHotels review

I stayed two non-consecutive nights last week, once on the 11th floor and once on the second floor. It's the second time I have stayed there. The 11th floor room was fine, but there was a big gap under the door and the light in the corridor was surprisingly bright in the room. The second night, I was directly opposite the building site. The noise wasn't too bad, but was quite off putting while I was trying to work. The TV was broken, it had a line down the screen on the left hand side and neither the remote nor the TV controls allowed me to turn the volume up. A bit disappointing overall.

Hello Michael, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We do appreciate your thoughtfuland honest feedback. We specifically appreciate comments regarding the TV and the nearby construction. The majority of the demolition is nearing completion and we anticipate that the noise will return to some normality. With regards to the TV, we have plans to upgrade our system and TVs later this year. As well as this the hotel will undergo a refurbishment in 2020. If we can assist any further please do not hesitate to reach out. If you are thinking of returning I would encourage you to contact me, as I would like an opportunity to assist with a great rate and room upgrade. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon. Kind regards, Nick Gouin General Manager - The Olsen Hotel +6… ni…

All staff friendly and efficient.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Dan O. Families - 11/10/2019 AccorHotels review

The lady that serviced our room deserves commendation and recognition. The underground parking caused some issues and the attached restaurant served a chicken special dish that was not completely cooked.

Caring

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Michelle T. Business - 11/10/2019 AccorHotels review

From the time I checked in (to my lovely room 1107) I had a luxury stay. The gorgeous man who checked me in was fabulous. Room beautiful. And when feeling a little tired and cold at night it was lovely to find a blanket in the cupboard

Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in south yarra