Hotel - Fairmont Zimbali Resort
Fairmont Hotel Fairmont Hotel

Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Our hotels AccorHotels
4.1/5 1,151 reviews
All hotels in Zimbali
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
From 2521.00 ZAR Non member rate
From 2521.00 ZAR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel (Paying)
    • WiFi in your room (Paying)
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Valet parking
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Services for children
    • Babysitting on request
    • Children's Club for 4 to 6 years
    • Childrens Club for 6 to 12 years
    • Outdoor playground for children (Paying)
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Air Conditioning

Leisure and activities

  • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Massage
  • Services for children
    • Babysitting on request
    • Children's Club for 4 to 6 years
    • Childrens Club for 6 to 12 years
    • Outdoor playground for children (Paying)
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • Private beach  (Nearby)
  • Other sports activities
    • Bicycle hire facilities
    • Squash court (Paying)


  • 4 restaurant(s)
  • 4 bar(s)

Business services

  • 5 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Our 154 well-appointed rooms offer scintillating views of the Indian Ocean, oversized verandas, and elegant decor of stone, wood and earth tones inspired by the areas breathtaking natural surroundings.

  • 154 rooms
    • Air conditioning
    • Emergency exit map
    • Automatic air control
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Opening windows
    • WiFi in your room
    • Minibar
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Emergency info in rooms
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants
See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.1/5 AccorHotels Rating Based on 1,151 reviews

Our guest reviews for Fairmont Zimbali Resort

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
AccorHotels certified review
Tanya Couples - 16/04/2018
« Satisfactory »

The stay was satisfactory. Room's were spacious and great, but not as clean as you would expect for the amount of money being paid. Despite the hotel's main restaurant being advertised as an 'all-day' restaurant, you can't actually get food there all day. In room wi-fi seemed to only be available for President's Club members. For a 5-star establishment, I would have expected wi-fi in room. All in all, a satisfactory visit.

AccorHotels certified review
Kate Families - 15/04/2018
« Not my favourite hotel »

Im afraid I didn't enjoy my experience at Zimbali hotel - I felt enclosed on a large site. I felt the accommodation needed a good tidy up on the exterior. Crisp packets near the swimming pool. Poor service near the swimming pool. Good bar service and I enjoyed the breakfast.

AccorHotels certified review
George T. Couples - 15/04/2018
« Mr »

Fine thank you

AccorHotels certified review
Pierre Business - 15/04/2018
« Pierre L. »

I am very disappointed and think that considering the money spend . I left a Day early and did not even get a refund for the day not stayed . Seems you need the mo sy more than return customers

AccorHotels certified review
Ravi L. Families - 15/04/2018
« Have received better service from 4 star hotels »

The welcome was not 5 star expected at reception. The only person that was exceptional was Sipho - the Porter. The reception staff were unfriendly and did not make us feel welcome. They did not explain the various facilities around the estate. I questioned here on the number of pools that I read on the internet. The rooms were not 5 star as you could see the dirt on the tiles and under the mat. The toilet floor had stains. We had to constantly phone housekeeping for various items not placed in the rooms eg, towels/facecloths/soap/teas. We had an experience that we got to the room at 2pm and the morning beds were not made up. When we approached the staff in the passage they giggled and said when they finish they will attend ours. At breakfast, we were not notified that this closes at 10:30am. While still eating, they closed the doors without even informing their guests.

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Families - 14/04/2018
« Satisfied »

I think the rooms were big and hotel grounds brilliant .The rooms cleaning was hot and miss - sometimes half of toiletries not left . The room arrive was brilliant , and staff very friendly . Real shame about the beach as it’s sold as hotel on the beach - but beach not useable !

AccorHotels certified review
Lucia K. Couples - 14/04/2018
« Out of this world! »

The food was good. The suite was perfect. The vibe was great. All in all, it was a wonderful experience. However, we did have some trouble with our luggage. The porter forgot to load one of our bags and the hotel claimed that it was left by us in the hotel suite, so we basically had to arrange and pay for our bag to be transported from KZN to Mpumalanga.

AccorHotels certified review
Richard Couples - 13/04/2018
« Relaxing and comfortable stay »

Everything was up to standard. The choice of food a the buffet could have been better.

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Families - 13/04/2018
« Satisfactory »

The Zimbali Resort is beautiful and the pools are amazing. The service however was not good. I stayed for 5 nights and not once was there milk and tea filled in my room from what I used. Breakfast that I ordered in my room was always late even though I was guaranteed 30min. At the main pool it was difficult to get service and then took an hr or more to get the food and it was not busy. AYOBA, - didn't have most items for the cocktails and could only make one of two on the menu. Also didn't have Avocados. Food was also not good. 31degrees - lovely cakes and service was great. Praveshan was specifically good and explained all the items on the menu. Seafood buffet - a nice treat and food was execellent except paella which I could not try as it had pork. The rooms were not cleaned daily and when it was the floor was so wet that we could not walk on it without slipping Staff were all friendly especially at the kids club.

AccorHotels certified review
D. N. Couples - 12/04/2018
« Great break, sadly spoilt by check-in rate confusion. »

We stayed at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort for two nights on a trip to South Africa. The resort was amazing and the staff were friendly and attentive. Our overall experience was however clouded by our experience when checking in. When we came to pay for our stay, the rate they wanted to charge us was approximately £125 (R2000) more than what was confirmed when booking on the Accor site.

AccorHotels certified review
Shaun F. Couples - 11/04/2018
« Bery satisfied »

I can not fault anything at the hotel. The staff was friendley and helpful went out of their way to make us feel at home

AccorHotels certified review
Bheki G. Couples - 11/04/2018
« Awesome experience! »

The rooms were nice and clean, staff was welcoming and friendly.

AccorHotels certified review
Carlos Couples - 10/04/2018
« Great and enjoyable location »

Overall the experience was positive although I would like to point out 3 points that were disturbing for this standard of hotels: - Air conditioning was way too cold in the room, and there was probably a lack of isolation of the room, as even when shutting down the A/C in the room, the room was still cold with the cold air coming from the corridor A/C. - On my last day I called twice to order breakfast in the room, on both occasions, the room service line was not attending and I was transferred to reception, who told me they would ask room service to call me back, which never happened. So I left the hotel without breakfast... - When we arrived at reception on the first day, we "credited" our account of 500ZAR per day. First, I rarely have this type of request in this hotel standard, as usually I pay at the end for what I have ordered. Second, even by doing this credit, it did not work, as on the second day when checking out from the pool the waiter told me that I had no more credit which was impossible as we only had one lunch. So I had to wait for him to call reception (which did not attend) and after 20min I had to go to my room to take some cash to pay the bill (of less than 100ZAR). I mentioned this issue at reception when checking out and they were not able to provide an explanation. Frankly you should amend this mechanism to more standard practices

AccorHotels certified review
M. Families - 09/04/2018
« Unsatisfactory »

We are loyal members and you can check our stay with you. We spent 2017 Easter holidays with you and the 2018 Easter holidays we decided to bring along friends and their children as we always brag about Zimbali resort being our second home and the 5 star service. I was embarrassed this time around especially with our first time guests. first, on arrival we were not given the attention i know of, i had to ask if we will get welcome drinks as they were just displayed at the reception without being offered to us and the ladies at the reception apologised and then offered us drinks. upon check in, the rooms i requested when i booked where not allocated as requested. We had booked 4 rooms next to each other as the two rooms were for the kids and obviously should be next to the parents. We had to spend one hour sorting out the problem until we were allocated rooms as requested. the overall service is really not as we know it. In 2017 Easter holidays we had an incident where my Daugherty's iphone got stolen at breakfast by one of your staff, we used "find my phone" to locate it at the dressing/change rooms for staff. your security manager whom i forgot his name handled the issue, this time again, our guests left a designer jacket for their son in the room and later when they went to fetch it, it was gone, the same security manager handled the case and i told him how disappointed we were that it was the second time happening to us worse this time it happened to our guest who we meant to impress with our second home. There were other small incidences in terms of service that were not what we are familiar with. Our guest even told us that they wont come back, but as for me and my family, we will surely be back but we were not happy this time around.

AccorHotels certified review
Khalil B. Couples - 08/04/2018
« Mr B. »

The facilities is good but the service at the hotel is rather laid back, I’m not used to that from a 5 star hotel. They charged me 150 to go to a garage that’s not even 5 kilometers from the hotel.

AccorHotels certified review
Ntsoaki N. Families - 08/04/2018
« An amazing place! »

Loved it. Was beautiful, kids enjoyed it.

AccorHotels certified review
Abigail Couples - 06/04/2018
« Mrs »

We had a pleasant stay at Zimbali Fairmont Resort. U guys did not disappoint as it was my first time there and again it was my hubby's birthday. Therefore, this was a surprise romantic getaway and he was over the moon. Thank you

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Families - 04/04/2018
« Underwhelming »

The food needs to be upgraded in all restaurants. There were not enough staff members therefore compromising the overall experience of the hotel. We had to request basic things for our room which we feel should have been there initially I.e. Tea cups, coffee, milk, sugar and clean glass tumblers. The sleeper couch looked like it was on the brink of breaking and made horrible sounds when one turned on it.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Nthabiseng T. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are saddened to hear that you left our hotel dissatisfied with your stay. We are sorry that your dining experience did not meet your expectations and for any discomfort you experienced as a result. We are also sorry to hear that you felt that you did not feel that you were adequately provided for in service and that you faced challenges with items not being refilled. This is not the Fairmont standard and we hope that you can please accept our apologies and rest assured that we are sharing your feedback with our team to ensure improvement moving forward. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future to provide you with a memorable experience with us. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Rowan Couples - 04/04/2018
« Great potential , let down by staff. »

Our first impression which stayed with us the rest of out stay was that staff , while friendly, were disinterested. Nobody greated us when we arrived, we were carrying out bags and nobody offered to help us. We stood for ages at the wrong counter in the lobby waiting for staff on the phone because nobody had directed us. After check in we went to the main pool, we had to go get our own menu, and then to order we had to go back to find a waiter. Once our food arrived we asked for salt which never arrived, once again we had to go and get it ourselves. Ayoba was even worse eventually we just left because the staff never bothered to come take an order even though we had gone up to the bar and asked for a menu. At the lobby cafe, we had some coffee when we wanted to leave we had to go searching for a waiter, then we waited a good 15 minutes for a bill. We had billing issues at Oza as well. The room was fine, outside wall needed maintenance the paint was peeling which was unsitely. Considering the price I was irritated that I was expected to pay for WiFi, as a guest I expect this as a free service from a good hotel. Positives, the pool was great, the quality of the food was good, staff when we could get hold of them were friendly, the room was clean.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Rowan H. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are disheartened to hear that your visit at the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that you left feeling dissatisfied with the service you received. This is not in keeping with the Fairmont standard, and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Please rest assured that we will be discussing your concerns with our team to ensure improvement moving forward. We hope that you will view these circumstances as once-off occurrences, and that you will consider staying with us again, giving us the opportunity to provide you with a memorable stay. Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Dave Couples - 03/04/2018
« very comfortable and enjoyable »

great time but you have issues with service in certain sections- - phoning for the vehicle to be ready- hardly ever happened and we would had to ask again and wait when we got down to the car park more often than not- whoever takest he call is not passing the message on - there was only one robe in the bedroom- we had to ask 4 times -and three different people for another one to be suplied- took a day and a half - no hair dryer was in the bedroom - only bin was in the bathroom- no bin by the coffee station - Room was only serviced in the afternoon- we were out all morning and it was not done- maybe you should allow guests to put something on the doors when they are out so you can clean - turn down after 9 at night? is this normal

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Dave J. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. We are however sorry to hear however that you did not feel adequately catered for in certain areas and we acknowledge that we fell short. This is not the Fairmont standard and we apologize for any discomfort experienced. We continue to strive to improve the quality of our service and we thank you for your valuable comments allowing us to implement specific changes to improve moving forward. We hope that you will be back in the near future, giving us the opportunity to provide you with a memorable stay! Kind Regards, Nils Rothbarth General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From 2521.00 ZAR Non member rate
From 2521.00 ZAR Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
See rates