Hotel - Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel
Swissôttel Hotel Swissôttel Hotel

Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel

Our hotels AccorHotels
4.4/5 1,171 reviews
All hotels in Basel
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
From
From 149.00 CHF Non member rate
From 149.00 CHF Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • WiFi in your room
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking (Paying)
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Valet parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed
  • Outdoor playground for children  (Nearby)
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Air Conditioning

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre
  • Massage
  • Outdoor playground for children  (Nearby)
  • Golf  (Nearby)
  • Tennis  (Nearby)
  • Other sports activities  (Nearby)
    • Bicycle hire facilities (Paying, Nearby)
    • Squash court (Paying, Nearby)

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)

Business services

  • 10 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Discerning business travellers will be most comfortable in our 238 elegant rooms and suites with various amenities.

  • 238 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Crib on request
    • Air conditioning
    • Emergency exit map
    • Automatic air control
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Crib on request
    • Opening windows
    • WiFi in your room
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Minibar
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Emergency info in rooms
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.4/5 AccorHotels Rating Based on 1,171 reviews

Our guest reviews for Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
AccorHotels certified review
Gary W. Families - 13/04/2018
« The room's equipment had a number of issues during our stay. »

Refrigerator did on work - light was one but unit not cooling The Power Tower in the desk - 110VAC not working, 220 VACs was working Desk Lamp was very problematic to get bright enough - the hotel staff might have replaced it and it was then ok The floor lamp had one working bulb and one was missing A single sleeping sheet and blanket is a issue for people who tend to only require a sheet as they sleep wam The shower glass was a hassle to keep the water in the shower and off the floor

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. W. Thank you very much for your visit and your very important feedback. We read your words with high attention and we are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our deepest apologies for any inconveniences you had during your visit. We can fully understand that your experiences were not very joyful and we are very pleased that you contact our colleagues with this issues during your stay. All our efforts to make your stay as pleasant as possible had unfortunately failed. Once again, we are very sorry. Please let us know, if we can do anything for you to make the situation better. Thank you again for bringing these important issues to our attention, as it is only through such constructive comments and observations that we are able to continually monitor and so improve the services we provide. We would be very thankful if you give us a 2nd chance to convince you from us. Meanwhile, we wish you all the best and most of success. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Margaret Couples - 11/04/2018
« Relaxing, comfortable »

Bed was very comfortable. Asked for non-allergenic pillows and they were promptly delivered. Great bathtub/shower. Delicious breakfast. Super convenient to public transportation. Viking members super helpful. Hotel people friendly and efficient.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. E. What a great review - thank you very much for sharing your positive experiences with us! Our entire team is happy to learn that you had an enjoyable visit and that you felt welcome and comfortable with us. Especially that you appreciated our dedicated staff is a great praise for our colleagues. Further we are glad that our central location at the exhibition square was the perfect starting point for activities. We hope that you discoverd full of energy Basels beautiful and historic old town. Surely you got many new impressions during your visit! Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Swissôtel in the near future. Until then, we wish you a very pleasant time. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Varun Business - 10/04/2018
« Pleasant Stay »

The check in experience was smooth and quick and the rooms were in very good condition as always. The highlight of the stay in the warm and friendly staff at the reception, concierge and the restaurant, which makes a big difference to the overall experience.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. C. Thank you so very much for taking the time to review the Swissôtel Le Plaza Basel. It was such a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope that you are already planning your next trip to Basel and stay again with us. We very much appreciate your kind comments regarding the service you received during your stay and we will share them with our entire team. It really is a pleasure for us to receive such wonderful people at our hotel that leave with such fond memories. We look forward to welcoming you soon again and meanwhile, our entire team wishes you all the best! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
C L. Couples - 08/04/2018
« A warm welcome and comfortable start to our holiday »

I had been in touch with reception regarding late arrival. All confirmed. Our arrival was delayed because of transport problems and we were given free drinks vouchers to help us get over the long day. I thought this was a lovely touch. The room was clean and very comfortable. Both linch and dinner were very good and reasonably priced. All staff members were exceedingly polite and helpful. They also seemed very happy. The guide to Basel and the free tram tickets were very helpful. I stay in hotels on a regular basis for work. My experience at this hotel is a very positive one and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. L. What a great review - thank you very much for sharing your positive experiences with us! Our entire team is so happy to learn that you had an enjoyable visit and that you felt welcome and comfortable with us. Especially that you appreciated our dedicated staff and the welcome drink after your long jouney is a great praise for our colleagues! Thank you very much for your warm words. Further we are glad that our central location at the exhibition square was the perfect starting point for activities. We hope that you discoverd full of energy Basels beautiful and historic old town. Surely you got many new impressions during your visit! Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Swissôtel in the near future. Until then, we wish you a pleasant time. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Marjoleine Business - 08/04/2018
« Welcoming »

It was a comfortable, warm and welcoming stay

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. B. Thank you very much for your visit and your marvellous feedback. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was comfortable and that you appreciated our hotel facilities. Especially your kind comments regarding our helpful and professional team are a huge motivation for all our colleagues. We set a high value on your satisfaction and of course, we will share your words with our entire team. Furthermore we hope that you can look back over a successful time here in Basel! Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future. Until then, we wish you all the best and a pleasant springtime! With best regards from Basel Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Couples - 06/04/2018
« Vacationeers »

Room was great, food in Restaurant was very good and stff was helpful

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. D. Thank you very much for your visit and for your friendly input! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Especially that you appreciated our GRILL25 and the responsiveness of our colleagues is delightful to read. Of course, we will share your compliments with our entire team. This is a huge reward and a motivation at the same time. Thank you very much! Further we hope that you spent an enjoyable time in Basel and that you visited the famous sights in the historical old town. There is a lot to see and to explore and we are sure that you made many new experiences. Once again, we would like to thank you for the trust you have placed in us and we are already looking forward to your next visit! Until then we wish you all the best and a pleasant springtime. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
G. Business - 02/04/2018
« It leaves no impression at all »

As the Hotel and the room inside are so "ordinary", there is nothing outstanding to remember. The best is the location. But for the rate we offered during the fair, we don't know how long we want to pay for. It is not sincere.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. G. Thank you very much for your visit and your valuable feedback. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for the circumstances you had. Please rest assured, that your feedback has been discussed with our entire team. We used this opportunity to address the issues and prevent future occurrence. Thank you once again for sharing your concerns and we hope to have the chance of warmly welcome you again in the near future. If we can be of any assistance to you in the meantime, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 28/03/2018

Overall very good. Only problem was that when I plugged in my flattening iron, the power went off (on that switch).

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. U. Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback! We are very delighted to learn that you had a good experience with us. Of course, we will share your compliment with our entire team. It is a huge pleasure to receive such feedback - thank you very much! Please also accept our deepest apologise for the issue regarding the power switch off when using the iron. We are sorry for any inconveniences this may caused. We assure you that we will check immediately how this could occur. Thank you for your support and we are looking forward to see you again very soon! Meanwhile, we wish you all the best and a wonderful springtime! With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
T D. Business - 27/03/2018
« Satisfactory »

Beds very comfortable. Facilities only average. The corridors had a strong unpleasant smell. Is there a drainage problem? Staff are very friendly.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. D. Thank you very much for taking the time to complete our survey. We are glad to receive such great words regarding our friendliness. Thank you very much for this compliment, this is a huge reward for all our colleagues. At the same time we regret the inconveniences caused during your visit. Please accept our deepest apologise for that. We will do our best to prevent future occurrence, please rest assured that your feedback has been discussed with our entire team. Thank you once again for sharing your concerns and we hope to have the chance of warmly welcome you again in the near future. If we can be of any assistance to you in the meantime, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 26/03/2018
« Quick business trip »

the new room was fine and all the service was great, however the internet connection was really bad.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. L. Thank you for taking the time to review us after your visit. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are delighted to read that you found the hotel and your room accommodating to your needs and that our staff were able to make you feel comfortable and give you such memorable service. Of course, we pass on your lovely comments to our entire team and we are sure they shall very much appreciate your praise. At the same time, we regret the inconveniences with the internet connection. Please accept our apologies for that. We will immediately check this issue! Thank you once again for your feedback and it would be an enormous pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future! Meanwhile, we wish you all the best and a great spring time. With best regards from Basel Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Rainer Solo - 25/03/2018
« Central and welcoming »

A most welcoming place with helpful personal and a breakfast that beats any description. That alone justifies a try should you be a first time visitor to Basle.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. K. Thank you very much for your visit and for sharing your great Feedback with us! We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Especially that you appreciated the breakfast and the responsiveness of our colleagues is delightful to read. Of course, we will share your compliments with our entire team. This is a huge reward and a motivation at the same time. Thank you very much! Further we hope that you spent an enjoyable time in Basel and that you visited the famous sights in the historical old town. There is a lot to see and to explore and we are sure that you made many new experiences. Once again, we would like to thank you for the trust you have placed in us and we are already looking forward to your next visit! Until then we wish you all the best and a wonderful springtime. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 23/03/2018
« good room, bad restaurant, fake spa »

room was very comfortable, all dining experiences were bad... either extremely salty or tasteless... and when I went to look for the spa... there is no spa! tried to schedule via concierge but the one person who could do a massage was not available.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. B. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We are verry sorry to lern that you had such experiences during your visit. Please accept our deepest apologise for all the circumstances. Of course, we are thankful for your feedback and we take your words very seriously. We talked immediately with our kitchen crew regarding your food experience. We proudly stand behind everything we serve and this should not happen. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We can also fully understand that it was very annoying that you could have no massage because the person was already overbooked on your prefered time. We recommend an early registration, sometimes our massage therapist is not available when there is a high demand. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please get in touch with us if we can do something for you. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Christian Business - 19/03/2018
« OK »

Overall it was OK. I expected to have a better bed - related to the price of CHF 240 per night. I had a double room for single usage and on both beds there were like "huge holes" where you felt like in a hammock. This is not what I expect from a hotel in this category. Checkout: This is the single place in Switzerland where a PostFinance Card is not accepted. For years, already!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. N. Thank you very much for staying with us and for your valuable feedback. We read your words with high attention and we want to express our deepest apologies for the inconveniences. Our entire team regrets that you made these experiences during your visit. Please rest assured that we will check the bed immediately and prevent future occurrence. We also want to explain the issue with the PostFinance Card. Unfortunately we do not accept this card for payment. Our experience has shown that our guests nou used this card for payment. For this reason we decided against the PostFinance card. We accept all major credit cards and Maestro. We are sorry for any inconveniences caused by that. Despite this, we hope that you had a successful time in Basel and maybe the opportunity to explore the city a little bit. Thank you once again for sharing your concerns with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back again to convince you of our efforts. Do not hesitate to get in touch with us if you have further questions. In the meantime we wish you all the best and most of success. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 19/03/2018
« Expensive for the quality of the room upkeep »

Hotel was well situated. Staff was pleasant, but was very disappointed in condition of room - lots of dings in furniture, missing paint. But at least it was clean, and the pillows were comfortable.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. E. We read your feedback with considerable attention and we are thankful that you shared your experiences with us. First of all, we are glad that you praised our dedicated team. Thank you very much for this compliments. At the same time, we would like to use this opportunity to express our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence. Despite everything we hope that you had an impressive and successful time in Basel. Thank you again for bringing these important issues to our attention and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. In the meantime we wish you all the best and most of success! With best regards from Basel Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Valentina Business - 19/03/2018
« Good location, Nice amenities »

The hotel is in the center of Basel, really close to everything and well connected thanks to the tram system of the city. The rooms are nothing special and particularly cold even if the radiators are maximum speed all day. The breakfast is excellent but to be paid additionally and the other amenities are pretty good. The gym is super well equipped, small sauna and small steam bath are really great but might be overcrowded some hours of the day.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. L. Thank you very much for your visit and for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. and that you appreciated the breakfast and the gym as well. Of course, we will share your compliments with our entire team. This is a huge reward and a motivation at the same time. Thank you very much! Further we hope that you spent an enjoyable time in Basel and that you visited the famous sights in the historical old town. There is a lot to see and to explore and we are sure that you made many new experiences. Once again, we would like to thank you for the trust you have placed in us and we are already looking forward to your next visit! Until then we wish you all the best and a pleasant time. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Yulia Business - 15/03/2018

Great experience, excellent location for business accommodation, responsive and professional stuff. Was previously the favorite hotel for staying in business trips and became even better after renovation. Nice gym & good breakfast.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Yulia P., Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and left with fond memories of your visit. We are delighted to read of what a lovely experience you had and would like to thank you for your kind comments towards our team. We can only say what a pleasure it was to receive you at the hotel and pamper you over your stay. We very much hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future! Manwhile, we wish you all the best and most of success. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 14/03/2018
« Nice room and fantastic customer service. »

Nice room and fantastic customer service. Thanks!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. C. We are really delighted about your amazing words! Thank you very much. It is great that you appreciate our quality during your business stay and that you felt like home with us. This is exactly our goal and it will be our pleasure to share your kind compliments with our team. Such feedback is an award, an incentive and also shows us the way ahead. Hopefully you had a successful time during your visit and we would be glad to see you again soon! Thank you again for your trust in us, we sincerely wish you all the best and maximum success. With best regards from Basel Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 14/03/2018
« low service »

- the only highlight was the female receptionist on Tuesday morning (6.3.) and the ladies at the breakfast buffet. - very impolite receptionist on Tuesday evening (6.3.) at around 7pm. - room wasn't renovated and therefore the price is tremendous. - my invoice was handed out in the night to my room. After a few days I recognized that the paid amount was higher than my invoice so I had to call and claim. Apparently the breakfast was forgotten, even if I told it already during daytime on 6.3. --> overall a very unpleasent experience. Only the location next to the congress center was very good and convenient.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs. G. Thank you very much for sharing your concerns with us. First of all, we want to express our deepest apologies for all the trouble. We regret that you made such experiences during your visit. Our colleague made a mistake with your invoice. First he gave you the invoice without the breakfast charge. That was the reason why the paid amount was higher than the invoice you got from the colleague. You are totally right, this should not happen and it is very confusing. Once again, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Do not hesitate to get in touch with us if we can do something to make the situation better. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Mike Business - 13/03/2018
« Everything was great »

Everything was great

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. B. Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our Swissôtel! It is such a delight to read about your wonderful time here with us - please accept our sincere thanks and gratitude for your kind comments. Of course, we will share your survey with our entire team! Further we hope that our central location was the perfect starting point for trips out in the local area. We are sure that you gained many new impressions and had many interesting experiences, especially in the historic old-town. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for your kind feedback. We are looking forward to welcome you warmly back again very soon. Meanwhile, we wish you all the best! With best regards from Basel Brigitte Fritz General Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Business - 12/03/2018
« Customer request was simply ignored and not taken into account »

felt bad and will try to move to other hotels in future

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr. C. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns with us. We very much regret that your experience does not meet your expectations. Of course, we read your words with very high attention and we want to explain the situation. Your request was not simply ignored, the problem was the cancellation policy for your reservation. You wanted to change your reservation on the day of arrival and this was unfortunately not possible. Changes or cancellations for your reservation were possible free of charge up to 48 hours before arrival. After this period you can change or cancel the reservation but in this case you have to pay 100% of the costs. We can fully understand that this situation was annoying for you and we regret that you did not noticed the cancellation policy earlier. Thank you once again for sharing your concerns and we hope to have the chance of warmly welcome you again in the near future. If we can be of any assistance to you in the meantime, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us. With best regards Brigitte Fritz General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 149.00 CHF Non member rate
From 149.00 CHF Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

At 90 m Pullman Basel Europe
Pullman Basel Europe Hotel
From
From 140.00 CHF Non member rate
From 140.00 CHF Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 200 m Aparthotel Adagio Basel City
Aparthotel Adagio Basel City
From
From 96.00 CHF Non member rate
From 86.40 CHF Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 2 km ibis Styles Basel City
ibis Styles Basel City Hotel
From
From 120.00 CHF Non member rate
From 114.00 CHF Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 2 km ibis budget Basel City
ibis budget Basel City
From
From 82.00 CHF Non member rate
From 82.00 CHF Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in BASEL
See rates