Hotel - Fairmont Orchid - Hawaii
Fairmont Hotel Fairmont Hotel

Fairmont Orchid - Hawaii

4.5/5 3,493 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 475.00 USD Non member rate
From 451.25 USD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 16h00
Check out up to 11h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Public outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Valet parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Pets allowed 25  USD
  • Childrens Club for 6 to 12 years
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Air Conditioning

Leisure and activities

  • Swimming pool
    • Outdoor heated pool
    • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Jacuzzi
    • Massage (Paying)
    • Sauna
  • Childrens Club for 6 to 12 years
  • Golf  (Nearby)
  • Tennis
  • Beach and water sports
    • Kayaking
    • Private beach
  • Bicycles rental

Catering

  • 5 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)

Business services

  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Congresses/conventions
    • Congress center
    • Conventions hotel
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Our accommodations on the Kohala Coast of the Big Island of Hawaii let you escape it all. Imagine waking up to the sound of waves crashing along the shoreline while you plan your day. Or waking to spectacular views of the nearby mountains.And dont forget evenings spent on your lanai overlooking the hotels gardens and waterfalls. Our Hawaii accommodations are luxurious and our views are unforgettable.

  • 540 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
    • Air conditioning
    • Emergency exit map
    • Automatic air control
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • WIFI in your room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants
See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.5/5 AccorHotels Rating 3,493 reviews

Our guest reviews for Fairmont Orchid - Hawaii

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
Michelle Business - 10/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Best beach »

Paradise

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Ms. S., Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey following your recent stay at Fairmont Orchid. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again to Fairmont Orchid should your travels bring you back to Hawaii Island. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Will Business - 10/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Beautiful Stay »

Excellent service, beautiful grounds, and a totally relaxing stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Mr. B., Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey following your recent stay at Fairmont Orchid. We are delighted you had a relaxing visit with us and very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again to Fairmont Orchid should your travels bring you back to Hawaii Island. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Douglas A. Families - 10/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review

I have been bring my family to The Orchid for over 20 years. While my past visits have always been exceptional, our vacation was adversely impacted by an unnecessary ugly altercation in the bar. Multiple guests were verbally accosted by a belligerent guest at the bar. Over the period of 20 minutes at least three guests were insulted by the offending party. Despite the behavior, your employees did nothing to address the problem. When the disruptive guest appeared to be ready to get physical with a new guest entering the bar, my son in law attempted to calm the belligerent guest down. Unfortunately, after striking my son in law, he had to subdue the offending party until security ultimately came to extract the offensive guest. This entire episode was completely avoidable and put the remainder of our visit under an extremely negative cloud. Having spent approximately 20,000 for our family vacation, we would have expected better service.

L.… Couples - 10/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Former five star resort that serves three star food and with degrading bed matelas and technologically challenged to provide internet access »

Prices remains those of a five star resort but breakfasts were not .... Fruits were not ripe for serving, yogurt was missing, etc. Lunch Restaurant near the waterfront served taco fish made of unfresh and formally frozen fish, the worst I ever had. Bed Matelas semi comfortable Room Floor was not mopped daily.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Mr. L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont Orchid - Hawaii. It was concerning to learn that your recent stay with us was a disappointment. Please accept our apology for the shortcomings you experienced with breakfast offerings, room cleanliness, and bed mattress. Mr. L. we are truly sorry that you feel the hotel has taken a step downward. We assure you that we continue to strive for excellence in our products and service. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and regain your confidence. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Howard V. Families - 10/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Love our home away from home »

Great stay. Great staff. We come every year. The best thing about this beautiful resort is how kind all your employees are.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Mr. V., Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it would be my pleasure to share this with Kelley and the rest of the team. We hope to see you again next festive! Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

David Families - 10/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« We enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont »

We really looked forward to staying at the Fairmont. Check in was rough, we arrived at 10:00 pm and our room had not been cleaned and it took over an hour to get checked in. The front desk did a great job with customer service, but we expected a seemless arrival. There were a few instances when communication was lacking between staff and management regarding programs, offerings and follow up. In addition, we had a few interactions with staff that were less than friendly (like they couldn't be bothered with our inquiries). To be fair, many of your team members were exceptional, the pool service, outside bar tenders, concierge.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Mr. H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont Orchid - Hawaii. It was concerning to learn that your arrival experience was a disappointment. Please accept our apologies that your room was not ready upon arrival, resulting in a slow check-in process. We are very pleased that despite this unpleasant beginning, your stay was good overall and that some of our staff were able helpful. Thank you, Mr. H., for being our guest. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

John C. Families - 09/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« We've enjoyed the Orchid every year at X-mas since 1992. »

Over the years, we noticed an elimination of some amenities which is taking the Orchid from a 5 star hotel to a 4 star hotel. Examples: we used to get flower leis upon arrival; no more. At Brown's, a hula dancer used to perform with the musician and the children would get up and dance with her. Great fun, but no more. There used to be a Jacuzzi with a sand approach on the lawn between the pool and the walkway. No more, kids loved it and all the old regulars miss it, too. There used to be a gingerbread house in the lobby which the kids loved. There are fewer cabanas at the beach. At the beach, there used to be big, yellow floating chairs to sit on in the water; they were great! There also used to be blue rubber mats to float on which the kids adored playing with. There used to be a restaurant called The Grill which was excellent. These are just a few of the many enjoyable amenities that have disappeared and which has diminished the experience of staying at the orchid. I hope you bring them back. (I miss the President's Club, too.)

Anonymous Families - 09/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Very crowded »

Over New Years the hotel was too crowded. We arrived on New Years Eve, when part of the beach was set up for dinner, and cheap plastic lounge chairs were sprawled all over the lawn. The hotel grounds looked like a cheap beach or park. Things improved some the next day, but the beach and pool are not inviting when the hotel is at capacity. Luckily, we spent most of our time off property.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Ms. W., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Ms. W., we work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it is apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. I hope we will have a chance to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to Hawaii Island. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Edward H. Families - 09/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Should have been a 10. See next comment. »

Aloha Mr Pye. I have been a gust at the Orchid for the last ten days and am impressed by staff throughout the property. However I want you to be aware of a gap in service and I have not been able to get anyone to respond. I informed the front desk and concierge that I was expecting a federal express envelope on Dec. 31. Fed ex delivered it at 11 PST. It is now three hours later and all the staff will say is that it has to be logged in and they have no idea when it will get to me. Know one has been willing to go to the receiving desk and expedite. Actually, no one in the concierge office seems to care. I don’t understand why Edward H. 91…

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Mr. H., Thank you for your note to Mr. Pye, a copy of which has been forwarded to our attention for review and response. It is always disappointing to learn when we have failed to meet a guest’s expectations. Please accept our apology that your package was not given to you in a timely manner. From time to time when our occupancy is very high, our Receiving area can be quite inundated with several packages and letters, as they sort these for the entire hotel. We received your package from Fed Ex at 11:37 am, and it was delivered to our Concierge at 2:42 pm and that is when our Concierge had notified you. We have reviewed with our staff to be more diligent about following through to ensure a timely delivery, and the urgency of our guests' packages. Thank you, Mr. H., for being our guest. I hope you can forgive us for failing to fully meet your expectations on this occasion. Should your travels bring you back to the island of Hawai‘i in the future, we hope you will consider returning to Fairmont Orchid, Hawai‘i. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, and provide you with a completely positive experience. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

B. M. Families - 09/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Overall our experience was a disappointment considering this was a Fairmont and the service and offerings should have been at a much higher level. »

We checked in 7:30 PM (Appx) but were charged a resort fee for the day we checked in despite not using an resort facilities. I questioned this at checkout because it seemed unfair but was told that was policy. However when I asked if we we would be issued a credit for two breakfast buffets for that day I was told no. Seems really one-sided, you can't have it both ways. Despite four of us being in the room there were only towels, soaps, glasses, etc., for TWO guests so everyday we had to call for more. I would expect the Fairmont to inform housekeeping of four guests so they could properly service each room. Towels at the pool were in not high quality, something I would expect to see at a Holiday Inn. Very disappointed there was basically ONE restaurant open for lunch. Not sure why a luxury resort only has one sit-down lunch option? New Years Eve party was by far the biggest disappointment in many ways. Although the resort manager did call me and offered to comp the fee so that was appreciated. However at checkout only 75% of the fee was comped so i questioned it and it was then removed. Also, I was told there was a $25 gratuity added to the bill which I never authorized? I questioned the gratuity and the person at the check out could not explain it nor did she apologize? I was never told about the number to text for things I needed during check-in. I only found out about this number when the manager (who was very nice and professional) called me to address my concerns about the New Years Eve Party. The check-out procedure was a disaster. I found numerous errors on my bill that added up to over $600 in overcharges! NO APOLOGY offered by the desk staff? I honestly felt like the Fairmont was intentionally deceitful with the bill and had I not checked it three times I would have been overcharged hundreds of dollars. Even after i found mistakes on the first review and was issued a revised bill i then found more additional errors on the 2nd bill (more overcharges) so i had to get a 3rd bill. Again, no apology offered by the lady who checked me out. Overall I expected much higher service, quality and food options from a Fairmont. The one highlight was the food that we did have was very good and the grounds were nice but when compared to other resorts we have stayed at on the islands the Fairmont ranks on the lower end. The concierge (Far) and resort manager were VERY nice and helpful so I do appreciate both of them and their efforts. Had it not been for them reaching out to me I would have been extremely dissatisfied.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Mr. M., Thank you for your feedback that you have shared with us via this guest survey. We were so disappointed to read that you experienced so many problems during your recent stay with us. At Accor luxury hotels, we take great pride of the high levels of service we deliver and we apologize that this stay was not what it should have been. Mr. M., I wish to inform you that as the manager that conversed with you about the New Year’s Eve party I did remove the entire party charge immediately after we spoke. The charge you questioned at check out that the agent adjusted was for the sushi meal you had on January 1, 2019 which was located at Orchid Court Grill. Do you recall dining there that night? I can send you a copy of the check if you like? In reviewing the breakfast errors, it appears that the hotel missed adding a code to the reservation to indicate you were on a breakfast plan. This is what resulted in breakfast not being credited to your account. It was the same reason why the $100 credit was not applied until you had to ask for it. I sincerely apologize that this was missed and I assure you it was in no way to be deceitful or to purposely charge you falsely. This misstep has been directed to the responsible department to prevent this from happening again. The service downfalls you experienced with the guestroom, with the pool towel quality, check in completion have been shared with the hotel operations team as training opportunities and to follow up. Thank you for your compliments for our food offerings and for Far our concierge – we will be certain to appropriately recognize the individuals. Once again, we sincerely apologize that this was not the experience it should have been and I assure you this standard is not indicative of our company culture. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future as I am confident that it will be vastly different. Should you give us the privilege to rebook with us, please contact myself or Marissa Arakaki, Executive Assistant, email address is Ma… and we would be pleased to provide a complimentary suite upgrade upon your next booking. Should you have any questions any further feedback, please feel free to contact me. Mahalo, LESLIE SILVA DIRECTOR OF ROOMS Fairmont Orchid, Hawai`i One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, HI USA 96743 T + 80… M + 80… F + 80… le… fairmont.com

Amy Families - 09/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« It was excellent. »

Superior service, accommodations, and overall experience.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Ms. R., Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay at Fairmont Orchid. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it provides us a valuable opportunity to measure how well we are meeting the expectations of our guests. We are delighted that your stay this festive was very good! It is certainly wonderful to know that you enjoyed the hotel and our facilities. Thank you for recognizing our staff; we are fortunate to have them and would be our pleasure to share your great comments with the team! Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our home when you are on island. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Anonymous Couples - 07/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Very expensive for what was an overcrowded hotel that lacked the latest technology connections. »

We saw many guests wearing "nut leis" yet we were not offered one at check-in. When we asked for chair covers we were told they are only for guest renting cabanas so we had to use the ones from our lanai. We did find a few staff members who were accommodating and provided covers without hesitation, this should be the rule, not the exception, especially at $1K/night. Breakfast options were limited, we are not buffet diners, we prefer light breakfast and brunch entrees, nothing pool or beachside only an informal carryout that was swamped. Our meal at Brown's was overpriced and overrated, we have had better dining experiences with better food for much less, very disappointing. The technology in the room was outdated, we could not hook up our iPhones to the music system and the TV did not allow internet connections to services like Netflix. The workout facilities were overcrowded and the equipment lacked the connectivity boasted of (could not use the internet connection on the bike to access my online workout content). Would recommend replacing or acquiring Peloton bikes or other spinning bikes (a bike you can get out of the seat on). Overall this was a Holiday Inn Express experience at Virtuoso price.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Mr. C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Fairmont Orchid - Hawaii. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Fairmont, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your arrival experience as well as the connectivity challenges, and prevent future occurrence. We also appreciate your feedback about your dining experience and we apologize that this did not meet your expectations; we have shared this with our executive chef for his review. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Utta S. Couples - 07/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« People / Service / Food / Location EXCELLENT!!!! »

We are VERY HAPPY at our “Home away from Home” - our beloved FAIRMONT ORCHID! ❤️ That’s why we spend 3 months every year here! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Utta, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you and Wayne have and once again currently are enjoying your stay with "your 'Ohana!" Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Carolyn B. Families - 07/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« A lovely vacation spot that is both classy and unpretentious. »

Experience was good although there were some issues I was surprised to see in a hotel of such caliber. -We didn't get any shower gel the last several days of our stay. -The shower was fully clogged and almost flooded on day one. -The bathtub wouldn't close so we couldn't take a bath day one.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Ms. b., Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at Fairmont Orchid. We greatly value and appreciate your positive and constructive feedback and it will be my pleasure to share your kind compliments with our team. Thank you for letting us know about your challenges in your shower and lack of amenities and we truly apologize for the inconvenience. Your experiences will serve as a tool for improvement, as well as an encouragement to all of our colleagues as we strive every day to provide the highest standards of service for our valued guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again to Fairmont Orchid in the near future. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Steve B. Families - 06/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Place was perfect. We loved it

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Stephen Lewis B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont Orchid - Hawaii. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Dena Hunter Assistant Director, Food and Beverage Fairmont Orchid 80…-7559 de…

Kim B. B. Families - 05/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« I would have been perfect had I not been charged thru my credit card for the tow rooms I had already paid for once again while I was at hotel »

We had two rooms for 13 days. I am a big fan of the Four Seasons experience and can say that from a service and staff standpoint the Orchid has room for improvement.. The Hotel had some staff that was exceptional.. Christian at the Front desk is an example of the very best, but there were others that simply are not in the right business.. They do not understand what Hospitality really means. I also think that at times the Hotel seemed to be severely understaffed An additional disappointment was that we had counted on the new restaurant being opened as we had followed your announcements all thru the summer and fall.. Nope didn't happen.. Closed --- Big miss on the Hotels part to not have all eateries available at the busiest time of year

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Ms. B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Fairmont Orchid - Hawaii. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. At Fairmont, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the service you encountered, and assure you of our commitment to service excellence delivered with genuine aloha. As well, we apologize for your disappointment with our Japanese restaurant which we are hoping to open this spring. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Eric S. Families - 04/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We really enjoyed our stay but there are a few things such as beach/pool food and the gym that need improvement.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Mr. S., Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your recent stay at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii. We greatly value and appreciate your positive and constructive feedback and it will be my pleasure to share your kind compliments with our team. Rest assured your comment has been relayed to our F& B team for their review. As well, we appreciate you letting us know about the fitness center and pleased to inform you that we will be undergoing some enhancements to our spa/fitness area in the near future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again to Fairmont Orchid in the near future. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Anonymous Families - 03/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« The Orchid is luxurious & comfortable; we had a wonderful experience! »

Our 2-bedroom suite was VERY roomy; the beds were comfortable & the view was gorgeous. We loved the roomy pool where we spent hours throwing a football with our children. The staff was extremely accommodating! One of my daughters took the weaving class & wanted to continue weaving so the landscape staff provided her with a branch from a coconut tree! Additionally, I was so taken with the beautiful tropical plants & flowers that a staff member arranged for me to have a private, guided tour with the landscape manager. We really had such a lovely stay at the Orchid!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Ms. A., Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay at Fairmont Orchid. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it provides us a valuable opportunity to measure how well we are meeting the expectations of our guests. We are delighted that you had a wonderful visit! It is certainly great to know that you enjoyed the hotel, your room, our facilities, activity class and the personalized garden tour from Shawn our Landscaping Manager. Thank you for recognizing our staff; we are fortunate to have them and would be our pleasure to share your great comments with the team! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our home when you are on island. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Jf Families - 03/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Wonderful pool and snorkeling bay »

It is a very nice facility and well maintained. Our room was great and staff serviced it on a regular basis. In particular, the location of the wonderful pool and the lovely snorkeling bay were a big plus. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a great experience with the cabana rentals. Irene was our server most of the time at the cabana and she did a superb job making us feel welcome and pampered. The first week we were there, I think we were the only ones renting a cabana. Use of the cabanas picked up closer to Christmas, but I don't believe they were fully booked any of the times we were there. The holiday prices were a huge mark up and I think maybe this was the reason. We really liked having one, but it was a bit over the top as far as cost to value. To improve the offering at the current price point, consider throwing in some free cocktails each day and maybe bringing around a few "non prepackaged" snacks. Restaurants on premise. Food in general at the restaurants was repetitive and a bit overpriced. It would be nice to see evolving menus or special "items of the day" at the various restaurants. I was not a big fan of the morning buffets. When you add up the price of a few a-la-carte items, you get to the price point of the buffet quickly; yet, you really don't want to eat all that food. Wish there was a breakfast option somewhere between the pool side Brown's Deli and the buffet breakfast where you can get small, healthy made-to-order breakfast plates. That said, the Brown's Deli by the pool was nice and convenient and great for grabbing an on-the-go breakfast snack or a mid day snack for the kids. The Japanese restaurant was under construction so that option was not available during our stay. Brown's dinners were a highlight as far as food and service. They were the one exception regarding daily specials. We also attended the Christmas Day buffet which was well done given the amount of people, but the price tag was a little high for the amount/quality of food we ate. If we returned, we would probably do something different. We enjoyed the upper terrace at night quite a few times (convenient and setting was a draw), but just wish there were more food choices and maybe an evolving menu. The tables and chairs are a bit awkward for eating as well, but the live music was very nice. Service on the terrace suffered a bit as the number of guests went up; there seemed to be a host of new staff coming in for the holidays so there was a lot of training going on. The gym was very nice and we used it quite a bit. We enjoyed the spa twice and therapists were very good. Surprised there was no hot tub or soaking tub; a key when getting the most out of massage treatments. The "on premise" stores were nice and there was always ample parking when we returned from trips off property. The second part of our stay was more crowded than the first half and you could see its effect on the facility; people struggled to find chairs at the pool and it was harder to get restaurant reservations at desired times, but it is understandable given the peak holidays. Location, proximity to the airport and access to the island opportunities was really great. We had great weather too. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would recommend the hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Ms. F., Thank you for taking the time providing great detail regarding your stay at Fairmont Orchid. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it provides us a valuable opportunity to measure how well we are meeting the expectations of our guests. We are delighted that overall your stay was very good and that you will recommend Fairmont Orchid. It’s certainly wonderful to know you enjoyed the facilities and our beach. We’re glad you felt pampered by our staff! Thank you for recognizing them; it would be a pleasure to share your comments with the team. We also want to thank you for your feedback on the breakfast items and menus at our various outlets; this has been shared this with our Food and Beverage team for their review. We assure you that we do our best to reflect the prices of facilities and restaurants all around the Kohala Coast. As well, we apologize for any inconvenience with clarifying your bill at check out; I'm glad to hear it has been rectified. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our home should you travels bring you back to the island of Hawai’i. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Cory K. Couples - 02/01/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Peaceful, relaxing, great »

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at The Fairmont Orchid in Hawaii. The only thing that could use improving is F&B throughout. Menus and options at all restaurants/dining locations throughout the property could use a total overhaul. The experience was about relaxing on the beach so this didn't bother us, but the property is losing out on a major revenue opportunity by not having more modern options, and convenience in where/when food is offered, throughout.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Aloha Mr. K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Fairmont Orchid It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be delighted to share your kind comments and compliments with all our colleagues. As well, we appreciate your feedback about our F&B offerings and have shared this with our Director of Food and Beverage ~ mahalo! Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to warmly welcoming you again to Fairmont Orchid should your travels bring you back to Hawaii Island in the near future. Mahalo, Marissa MARISSA ARAKAKI EXECUTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT Fairmont Orchid One North Kaniku Drive Kohala Coast, Hawaii USA 96743 T + 80… F + 80… ma… fairmont.com

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 475.00 USD Non member rate
From 451.25 USD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
See rates