Hotel - Fairmont Orchid
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Fairmont Hotel

Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

1 North Kaniku Drive  Kohala Coast 
96743  HAWAII
UNITED STATES

Based on 1,475 reviews
AccorHotels Rating Based on 1,475 reviews
See rates
From
From 317.00 USD Non member rate
From 317.00 USD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates
Check-in from 16h00
Check out up to 11h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Public outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Valet parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 25  USD
  • Swimming pool
    • Outdoor heated pool
    • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Fitness centre

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Public outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Valet parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 25  USD
  • Childrens Club for 6 to 12 years
  • Air Conditioning

Leisure and activities

  • Swimming pool
    • Outdoor heated pool
    • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
    • Jacuzzi
    • Massage (Paying)
  • Childrens Club for 6 to 12 years
  • Golf  (Nearby)
  • Tennis
  • Beach and water sports
    • Kayaking
    • Private beach
  • Bicycle hire facilities

Catering

  • 5 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)

Business services

  • 1 meeting room(s)
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Our accommodations on the Kohala Coast of the Big Island of Hawaii let you escape it all. Imagine waking up to the sound of waves crashing along the shoreline while you plan your day. Or waking to spectacular views of the nearby mountains.And dont forget evenings spent on your lanai overlooking the hotels gardens and waterfalls. Our Hawaii accommodations are luxurious and our views are unforgettable.

  • 540 rooms
    • Emergency exit map
    • Bathroom doors 32 inches wide
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • WIFI in your room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants
See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.5/5 AccorHotels Rating Based on 1,475 reviews

Our guest reviews for Fairmont Orchid

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
AccorHotels certified review
Caroline A. Couples - 20/09/2017
« Overall okay experience »

Few people who stood out for great service: -Lexa from Norio -Paul and David: Bellman Things that could've been better: -AC not working in the room we were assigned, had to move room -Construction noise from above starting around 8:50am for few days in a row -Breakfast was very dissapointing, very poor service (had to track down our server ourselves) -No cell phone reception in the room -Poolside service very slow and not attentive Overall, we were dissapointed with the quality of the service except few people that I mentioned above. The atmosphere and the resort itself was great, but not sure if I would necessarily recommend or come back again to this particular Fairmont due to its quality of service.

AccorHotels certified review
Mark D. H. Couples - 20/09/2017
« Great overall experience. »

We really enjoyed your property, especially the mai tai's. Loved the hotel and the golf, played both courses. Your staff was especially hospitable and very friendly except for one miserable person at breakfast. One other thing, we received conflicting information as to whether or not the Japanese restaurant was open or closed. The staff at the beach restaurant advised it was closed when it was in fact open and we had a most marvellous dinner there. Our anniversary was recognized more than once which was very nice. We were advised in advance to join President's Club which gave us complimentary golf clubs, most appreciated. We will definitely return to Fairmont hotels.

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Couples - 19/09/2017
« Dream come true »

It was the luxurious, relaxing vacation we had planned for.

AccorHotels certified review
Dani P. Couples - 19/09/2017
« Paradise in paradise. »

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary and we had the most wonderful time at the Fairmont Orchid. The staff was amazing, attentive, and went out of their way to be helpful. Elizabeth (concierge) on the Gold Floor was particularly helpful and her service was outstanding. It was a joy to stay at the Fairmont Orchid again and we plan to do so again in the future.

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Couples - 19/09/2017

Relaxing, beautiful.

AccorHotels certified review
Katy L. Couples - 19/09/2017
« our best visit to the orchid yet! »

we have stayed at the orchid before and have always liked it, but this time we LOVED it! every detail has been refined. gardens, rooms, restaurants....and especially the wonderful level of hospitality by the staff. a pristine pool, beautiful beach, incredible gardens and waterfalls.....it is a truly beautiful hotel.

AccorHotels certified review
Kevin W. Couples - 19/09/2017
« Great service by the staff »

I am always blown away with how nice the staff is from the maids to the valets. We visit several times per year, will see you again at the end of October where we are visiting with friends..

AccorHotels certified review
Anita S. Families - 19/09/2017
« Amazing stay at a beautiful, service-oriented resort »

We stayed at the Fairmont Orchid in two gold level rooms - a suite for my five person family and a room for my in-laws. The resort grounds were beautiful and impeccably manicured. We took full advantage of both the pool and the beach. We rented a beach cabana most days and engaged in the water sports. The staff was courteous and service-minded at all times. The gold level concierge was very helpful. We loved the snorkel experience recommended and booked for us on the Fair Wind. All but one meal we ate on site. My two sons are allergic to peanuts with anaphylactic reactions (as most peanut allergies are). There was another family staying at the same time with a peanut allergy. The treatment of the allergies throughout the resort, especially on the gold level, was inconsistent at best and dangerous at worst. Please take the time to educate your staff and provide options for your guests. For example, at one point the concierge told us not to take anything on the gold level buffet because everything was sprayed with peanut oil. She kindly arranged for the chef to send up a plate for my sons. Later, when she admitted everything wasn't sprayed with peanul oil, she pointed to the two (and only) types of cookies set out which were both peanut butter based. That was a dangerous way to prove a point. If we are concerned about cross contamination, don't put peanut cookies and the daily afternoon bowl of peanuts out in the lounge. Hale Kai did an amazing job of preparing meals for my sons. We ate there daily, sometimes twice. We were unable to grab a snack at lunch or Brown's deli because of peanut cookies in the case with all the other food. They must turn away guests every day. Quick fix - keep the cookies separate. Better yet, serve macadamia nut cookies instead! In addition, we tried to go to Luana Lounge, but did not feel comfortable with the allergy handling. We are used to traveling with our sons and seeking accomodation for their allergies. I understand that this means every dining option will not be available to them. But having called multiple times before we traveled to the island, I expected a more professional handling of the allergy. Consider education of the kitchen staff and the service staff in combination with clear labeling. Overall, we loved our stay at the Fairmont Orchid. We cannot wait to come back! By the time we come back (and we will!) we expect the allergy not to be an issue.

AccorHotels certified review
Tiger G. Families - 19/09/2017
« Relaxing »

Good everyone is so friendly. The only thing I did not understand was why the snorkeling gear was only 1 hour use.

AccorHotels certified review
Charlene C. Business - 18/09/2017

i loved staying at the Orchid , the rooms are very spacious, well appointed, great bathrooms! the grounds are beautiful and the breakfast buffet world class.

AccorHotels certified review
Greer W. Couples - 18/09/2017
« Excellent »

Superb except our room did not have a partial sea-view as expected, it only had view of a water-filled golf course hazard. We had morning sun but nothing all day after 10am

AccorHotels certified review
Louise Business - 18/09/2017
« Gorgeous hotel in great location »

Fairmont Orchid was a gorgeous hotel in a magical place

AccorHotels certified review
William K. Couples - 17/09/2017
« I am really appreciative of your staff making our honeymoon stay very memorable with the room upgrade and champagne! »

It was excellent - the complimentary room upgrade and champagne bottle was excellent - I did not expect much from a hotel to do anything special as it is so rare these days to get anything "extra" from a hotel but this was really a great way for us to start off our trip and unexpected! I almost thought I would see some extra charge on our check out receipt on the last day. The resort was pretty quiet while we were there which was great and the beach and amenities were all amazing, really impressive. Gym was great too.

AccorHotels certified review
Kenneth S. Couples - 17/09/2017
« sheins »

the grounds were beautiful. service was impeccable, great buffet breakfast. would have like a true beach

AccorHotels certified review
L P. Friends - 16/09/2017
« Perfect smaller size luxury resort with everything »

We enjoyed the resort and staff members. The service was excellent. The rooms and resort layout was easy to navigate. We were able to find food and services easily. Everything was made available to us. The resort offered snorkel gear, stand up paddle boards and local kayaks, useage was for 1 hour free of charge. Weekly rentals were available for a small fee. The cabana rental for the day was 80.00 and was really enjoyable. Love the resort and really had a resort stay vacation. The sunset cruise arranged by the concierge was amazing. Love the resort.... I want to live there full time ❤️ Hahaha ....it was our best trip to Da Big ever. We are selling our time share now that we stayed with you.

AccorHotels certified review
Karen Couples - 16/09/2017
« Great Resort! »

Great overall experience. We were well taken care of and the hotel worked with us on accommodations for our last day.

AccorHotels certified review
Eugene K. Families - 16/09/2017
« We loved it »

Completely well accommodated especially in the gold room. I love that I was not charged for every little thing. Incredible authentic, helpful and genuine staff.

AccorHotels certified review
Tiffany T. Couples - 15/09/2017
« Breakfast Restuarant and valet service needs great improvement. »

But the breakfast restaurant was funny. They kept saying to us that it was full when 75% of the restuarant was empty. This happened every time. Then they would seat us in the worst seating while the front seating with a view was open. I would ask for better seating and they told me it was already taken. the people who ended up sitting there were waiting behind us with no reservation. It was rude. I then asked for the other table and they told me they couldn't seat us there because it was for 6 people. I understood this but then they sat someone there later on with only 2 people. It was rude every time. The first night we couldn't get into any restaurant after traveling for hours and being pregnant. We had to eat pizza in the upstairs bar area. It was frustrating that this same restaurant told us that they were at capacity with 60% empty. We pointed this out and they told us they had reservations coming in over an hour. We would have been done! So, we had to eat pizza. The valet were rude. We had to repeat our name over and over. They seemed to not listen and then blamed it on us. My husband and I both repeated the name to them. Then they said we didn't say the name! So rude. The resort itself was beautiful and overall pleasant experience but the staff - valet and hotel needs to be addressed. They acted like it was a 2 star hotel. Also, the women who checked us in said she was bringing us a bottle of champagne to wait there in the room. We waited for 2 hours, called, then another hour, called finally more then 3 hours later we got it. Their remark was, "oh you didn't get it?" Staff needs better management and to understand customer service. We overall enjoyed our stay and loved the front two resturants. We also thought that most of the staff especially security (who found our wallet) and some of the front desk were fantastic.

AccorHotels certified review
G Couples - 15/09/2017
« Best choice for our honeymoon »

Great experience, as expected from a Fairmont hotel. The quality of service is consistent everywhere! The resort facilities at Fairmont Orchid were amazing. Relaxing place, quiet and family-oriented.

AccorHotels certified review
Bart Couples - 15/09/2017
« Brilliant »

Fantastic

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
From
From 317.00 USD Non member rate
From 317.00 USD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
See rates