Hotel - Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

3.5/5 457 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 70.00 GBP Non member rate
From 66.50 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • EXETER AIRPORT
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 0:00 - 23:59
    • Opening hours : Week-end 0:00 - 23:59

Business services

  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

At Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, we have 98 bedrooms, including Deluxe rooms and Suites. All of our bedrooms include free unlimited WiFi, coffee and tea making facilities, flat screen TV, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.

  • 98 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Telephone
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Baby bed
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.0/5 AccorHotels Rating 5,421 reviews

Our guest reviews for Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 457 reviews
Anonymous Families - 15/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Very comfortable, good room service »

As above. Not the most enthusiastic welcome, room comfortable, we ordered room service which was good but the room gave very few indications you do room service e.g. nothing saying what number to call (actually no details for any numbers including reception). Breakfast a little limited.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. Thank you very much for your feedback about the phone in the room you stayed in. We will make sure that the proper signage attached for future guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Mrs C. Families - 15/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Very bad customer service »

No remote tv, no kettle and a broken phone in our room. We had to wait some time for these items to be brought to the room as there was only one person on the reception and the other member of staff was interviewing at around 10:00pm. I also felt that the receptionist had a bad attitude towards us.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very valuable to us. I'd be grateful if you could provide me with some further information about the member of staff who gave you a lot of attitude? We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Maddison Business - 15/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Pleasant Stay »

Over all a pleasant stay. Breakfast was plentiful and the rooms comfortable. The check out process was easy and the lady checking us out was very friendly and approachable. We did feel that another member of staff on the reception desk wasn't as friendly and it was also noted by someone visiting us who asked for directions to our room. I didn't catch the name unfortunately.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms T., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I’m very glad you had a pleasant stay with us and appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Anonymous Business - 15/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Good »

Very nice hotel, comfortable room with good amenities but really quite noisy! Could hear rattling when windy outside, creaky floor boards and guests talking next door. Breakfast was lovely. Staff friendly and helpful. Good location. Would stay again but request a different room because of the noise issue.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms N., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I’m glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. However, I'm sorry you were disturbed in the night by wind. It has been very stormy in Exeter over the last couple of weeks. We will of course do all we can to allocate you a quieter room the next time you stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Simon C. Business - 14/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Room was tiny. »

This is the second bad experience with Mercure hotels this year, precious issue was with Staines. Company ordered a single room, room provided was tiny, smaller than a university dorm room. In the morning I had difficulty working out how both the ironing board and I could share the same space, and both still be functional. The walls were also thin, and I found myself woken up in the middle of the night by snoring. Discussed with hotel staff in the morning and advised that is should take it up with the company booking team, so I have - to request not to stay in a Mercure again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have looked into your booking and it was for a single room for one night. Our single rooms are indeed smaller than our doubles. I'm sorry to hear that you won't stay with us again. If you change your mind, then please email me direct before your next visit and depending on availability I will do all I can to allocate you a bigger room. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Anonymous Business - 14/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Average stay, clean »

It was okay, but not somewhere I would rush back to. Reception in the morning weren't the most helpful. Great experience for breakfast, really proactive and friendly staff

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms S., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast and found our staff to be friendly. However, I'm sorry you had an issue at Reception. If there was something in particular I'd be grateful if you could let me know by replying to this email. That way we can prevent future occurrence of the issue. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Gay C. Solo - 14/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« I was very impressed! »

Your reception staff were excellent! They couldn’t have been more pleasant or helpful. My room was very clean & comfortable. The food was very good. The hotel was impressive & well located. On the downside, it took too long to be served at the bar in the restaurant-evenings( my experience only). Sometimes the bar remained unstaffed for sometime, the queue grew with grumbling customers.... Overall it was a good experience, thank you.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms C., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your review with our team as this serves as encouragement to everyone. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you visit Exeter. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Sue Business - 14/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« On the whole, a much needed comfortable port in a storm »

I booked back in at the last minute, as an emergency, and so was allocated a single room, which was small but functional, check in and out staff were fabulous, especially Gill, my experience in the bar was less than ideal. I had had a really busy day which is why I was there in the first place, I arrived in the bar at around 8pm, needing dinner and a drink, and was completely ignored by the young man serving, he then attended to another lady who walked straight up to him, she left and I had to ask for attention. He then handed me a menu, and I was placing my order, when the young lady spoke to him, and said something about the kitchen not understanding an order that had just been placed, so he walked straight out, not speaking to me and not giving me my drink. To say I saw red was an understatement. I asked the young lady if I could please have my drink, and she asked whether it was a single or a double, I replied that it was a single, but she could make it a double for the same price, due to the lack of service I had received. She did this, and then later on, another young lady came over to my table,(a bit more experienced - maybe the bar manager) and apologised and said that they would not charge me for the drink at all. I finished my meal, and left to go to my room. In the morning, I asked Gill to check my bill, to ensure I hadn't been charged for the drink, but I HAD been charged for two meals! She quickly fixed this, but I definitely think the bar staff could do with a bit of training, predominantly in customer service!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms G., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I’m glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. However I'm very sorry to hear about the issues you had in the bar. I have forwarded your comments to our Food & Beverage Manager in order that she can address the problems you encountered and prevent future occurrence. I really hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Jon P. Business - 14/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Sleep quality poor »

On business I just need a good bed and shower. Both were good but my bedroom window,whichthe head of the bed was next to, was adjacent to a flue or extractor which was very noisy. I checked in at 1am so was too tired to get dressed and change rooms.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the fact that you were kept awake. Our extraction fans do not normally run through the night. I have asked our Maintenance team to look into this issue. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Anonymous Couples - 13/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« One of our favourite places to stay. »

Very enjoyable Staff very pleasant and helpful

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr S., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us again and we really hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Kreso Couples - 13/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Not a 4 star hotel »

1) found someone dirty belonging in cupboard 2) no shelves in room, just 1 cupboard 3) safe locked, 4) no gym 5) 1 set of body wash for a room of 2 6) no slippers 7) awful view from 1st floor window 8) breakfast lower quality than usual in 4* hotel in Europe 9)...

Anonymous Couples - 13/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« It was OK »

The rooms at the back have very thin walls and you can clearly hear your neighbours. The bar is bad, poor selection and looks dated. Didn’t try any food and didn’t want to based on the bar and Exeter has a good selection of restaurants and bars. One lift shared with housekeeping is not ideal! Very friendly and helpful desk staff, this was a great positive for the hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback about the bar is very important to us. We are in fact about to launch a new food menu. I'm sorry you had to share a lift with one of our Housekeepers. Being located in a Victorian building there is only one lift. I'm pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Rachel Business - 13/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Disappointed »

Although the bedroom itself was lovely, the service I received from some of your staff was diasppointing. Arriving at breakfast to be told I needed a voucher (when already paid for breakfast) and not letting me in was uncalled for. As a vegan I was limited on the options avaliable, and though accomodated had to wait long periods for my food. The organisers of the training course had pre advsied I was vegan and yet on the first day I was given a salad sandwich! After that I spent a week on bean chilli and rice at lunch time as that was all that I could have. The fruit that was served as mouldy and there was not enough sides to go around the whole group. I had to request soya milk every time coffee was replaced! It was a shame as my last stay with you was so different. I am not sure I would stay with you again. I had to eat out every night to ensure that I got variety in my meals which ended up costing me.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms E., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us. I have forwarded your comments to our Food & Beverage Manager, Sales Manager and Head Chef. Please rest assured that they are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you encountered with vegan food and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Rp Couples - 12/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Very pleasant stay »

Very helpful staff on check in and check out who assisted with parking difficulties. Very comfortable bed and clean facilities.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms P., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your review with our team as this serves as encouragement to everyone. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you visit Exeter. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Debs S. Families - 12/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Another good stay »

Great place to stay in Exeter, the receptionist who checked us in needs to relax and smile! Room was comfortable if noisy on the Saturday night with wedding guests.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms S., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I’m delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Anonymous Couples - 12/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Friendly staff, nice venue. »

Greeted by a very friendly and welcoming staff member who offered an excellent suggestion on a food recommendation for the evening. Room was clean and tidy, although sound proofing could be a lot better and some squeeze floor boards in the room and adjacent corridor caused some disturbance. Breakfast was reasonable for the price, but some of the pastries had clearly been on display for some time (dry/hard). However a good selection of continental options alongside the buffet made for a good selection. Lobby and lounge areas were well kept and comfortable.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr C., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I’m so pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. However, please allow me to apologise for the squeaky floor boards. This is as a result of the hotel being located in a Victorian building. And I appreciate your comment about the pastries at breakfast. I have forwarded your review to our Head Chef in order that he can prevent future occurrence. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you visit Exeter. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Jamie P. Couples - 11/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Great location »

Great location, clean room and great breakfast.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr P., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your review with our team as this serves as encouragement to everyone. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again the next time you visit Exeter. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Ian Solo - 11/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Almost a 9! »

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. On arrival the welcome was very friendly and informative. The room was as expected. The shower was great! However in general the bathroom was far too cramped and any type of movement, particularly with the door open was difficult. The facilities in the room were fine, nice TV and a kettle that worked, though for some reason (non-critical I may add) there was only DeCaf Coffee in the tray. Oh, there was also a random dark hair on the desk which mildly freaked me out, but I got over myself and moved on. My only other issue was the squeaky floorboards, audible from the room next door along with other movement noises - I was woken up at about 3am by such movement and then struggled to get back to sleep. The breakfast was amazing value and good quality. The staff in the breakfast room were extremely welcoming and friendly. In fact all the staff members I encountered were a credit to the hotel. If I had slept better that night, I would probably have added the extra mark to my overall experience score.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr R., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I’m delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our staff. I will share your review with our team as this serves as encouragement to everyone. Please accept my apologies for the minor issues you experienced . I have forwarded your comments to our Housekeeping Manager. And I'm sorry you were woken in the middle of the night by another guest. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon when hopefully you'll award us a 9! Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Ben Couples - 10/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely hotel but felt let down by little things. »

The shower tray was blocked and overflowed every time I had a shower. There was blood on the pillow of the bed which I found out in the morning. Apart from that it was a lovely room and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We appreciate your feedback about the issue you had with your shower. I have informed our Maintenance team so that they can fix the problem. I have also forwarded your comment about the pillow to our Housekeeping Manager in order that she can prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Alan B. Business - 10/03/2019 AccorHotels certified review
« A friendly place where staff smile and want to help. »

From the first greeting of the reception staff, to the bar, housekeeping, catering, management and maintenance staff. Every one I have met is helpful. Yes there may be a few issues here and there, but staff always try to correct challenges.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr B., Thank you for taking the time to write a review and comment on your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I'm delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your review with our team as this serves as encouragement to everyone as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 70.00 GBP Non member rate
From 66.50 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates