Hotel - Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

3.5/5 379 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 69.00 GBP Non member rate
From 65.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WiFi in your room
    • WiFi access
  • Parking
    • Public outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Manual temperature control
  • EXETER AIRPORT
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 0:00 - 23:59
    • Opening hours : Week-end 0:00 - 23:59

Business services

  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

At Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, we have 98 bedrooms, including Deluxe rooms and Suites. All of our bedrooms include free unlimited WiFi, coffee and tea making facilities, flat screen TV, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.

  • 98 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Telephone
    • Opening windows
    • WiFi in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Manual temperature control
    • Baby bed
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.0/5 AccorHotels Rating 4,540 reviews

Our guest reviews for Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 379 reviews
BIRMINGHAMTRIP Couples - 13/08/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Generally good accomodation except the food »

Generally with one exception the hotel was good. The hotel looks quite grand, the entrance hall is spectacular. The standard room we stayed in was also good. The location is very good for exploring the city or acesss to businesses.The main challenge here is that the car park is very small, if it is full one has to use a public car park which is nearby but expensive. On the possitive side the hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful to us most of the time. Only at busy times did it seem as if there were were a little over whelmed. The poorest feature we experenced was the cooked breakfast, served in a dedicated breakfast room. Firstly, they took a long time to refill the hot trays in the buffet at peak times. Secondly, on one occasion when the hot trays wer refilled they put put cold baked beans and other food did not remain warm. Bacon was stuck together and sauages were to my mind of poor quality. One Omelettte was covered in so much fat we could not eat it. Overall we would rate our breakfasts as very poor. However, the location, the bedroom quality would tempt us back though we might eat breakfast out. Based on our stay If the breakfast were improved we would recommend the hotel without reservation.

Family - 12/08/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Mercure has great Exeter hotel at Rougemont »

As we start to visit Exeter more often (for the Uni), it was great to stay at the Mercure's central hotel - the Rougemont - right in the middle of things on Queen's Street. The staff were great - especially Helen and Claudia - making us feel right at home on the first of many visits.

David B. Couples - 09/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Great Staff.... »

The most helpful ladies on reception. When we arrived the hotel was somewhat chaotic as a large wedding was in full flow! Nothing was too much for the two ladies on reception....a great start. They are a credit to the hotel. Whilst the hotel has obviously been refurbished some detail was lacking, all the floorboards squeak! It’s a simple fix but spoils the effect of the refurbishment. Bar staff were good too.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I will pass on your lovely comments to our receptionists and bar staff.. With regards to the squeaky floor boards, this is something our Maintenance department are currently addressing. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be an improvement on the previous one. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Db Families - 08/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely staff, nice rooms. »

We stayed as a family and found staff helpful and friendly, the room clean and pleasant and the shower good. Although on quite a noisy road, the room was quiet with Windows closed. No air conditioning, but fans provided.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Cassie Couples - 08/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Okay »

It was a lovely hotel in a great location. However, our bed was very hard and when asking for directions to a smoking facility we felt very looked down on.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that you found your bed to be too hard. All our mattresses are brand new. And I also apologise if you felt that you were being looked down on by staff. I will pass your comments on to the team in order that we can rectify this in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be an improvement on the previous one. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Mrs S. C. Friends - 08/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Too hot no air conditioning »

Really surprised at the price of the room! I thought wedding guests were meant to get good rates! When I checked out I actually paid more than the women in front of me??? Room was clean but really small. Couldn't open the windows and the fan was broken. No air conditioning despite being told your hotel had air conditioning ! Breakfast was ok but surprised hot food wasn't served to table. Whole experience reminded me more of a Travel Lodge

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Regarding the cost of your room, all wedding parties agree rates in advance so this would have been agreed with Karena and Dan. There could have been a number of reasons why the person in front of you was paying less. Prices fluctuate depending on availability, the popularity of the date and how far in advance they are booked, much like airlines and tour operators. During the heat wave we've been doing all we can to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Unfortunately not all our rooms have air conditioning. Apologies if you were told otherwise. Health and Safety Regulations require us to have window restrictors on all guest windows. I'm sorry your fan didn't work. If you'd let Reception know then they would have arranged for you to get a replacement. Finally, at breakfast, in addition to our buffet, we offer a Cooked to Order menu. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Ladyg Families - 07/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review

Was not a great experience. Very quiet hotel with no ambience. Dirty glasses where left in our room for two days and cleaner cleaned the room throughout our stay, I eventually had to place the glasses outside the room. Compared to the other branch Mercure Southgate in Exeter which is excellent, this branch lacked in many areas from unfriendly staff (well except for Cameron and Charlotte in the bar )poor cleaning in rooms and general a boring quiet hotel with no substance. Imagine an open night mic was planned whilst we where staying at the hotel but no guests turned up

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will speak to Housekeeping about the dirty glasses in your room and ensure that the issues you encountered don't happen again. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Di Couples - 07/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Would have been much better if we coud have openend the windows in this heatwave... »

Not happy that window in room 105 did not open at all. We spoke to front desk re this and were told that it was for security reasons, and that room 105 was the only room which windows did not open… not at all sure why room 105 would be more insecure than any other? Thankfully there was a fan in the room, but it did not compare to having fresh air coming in. dinner booked at front desk for £10 ph and it was Ok. the buffet food was constantly being renewed, but not much choice for fresh fruit. lat check out on Sunday was a boon.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. During the current heat wave we have been doing all we can to make our guests as comfortable as possible. The reason why the windows in Room 105 cannot be opened is for the security of our guests because there is an external fire escape right outside the window. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Abi N. Couples - 07/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« A smokey downgrade to a hot box »

Great reception team when we arrived who were really friendly and welcoming. Our first room was massive and relatively cool but weirdly smelt like someone had been smoking in there. Because of that we asked to change room, although reluctantly as we were both exhausted and the room in itself was great with a massive bed. We were subsequently and very efficiently moved to another room but this was tiny in comparison and horribly hot. There was a token stand up electric fan in the room but this didn't do anything. If we were above the laundry room I would not have been surprised. It was unbearable and made for a really uncomfortable evening. We were too tired to move again so just stayed put but had an awful night and were up at 5:15 to catch a flight. Great shame as had the other room not smelt of smoke/ we had been moved into a similar sized room we doubt the heat would have been a factor. It did feel like we were downgraded. Other than that the location was great and the booking price for our initial room would have been real value for money.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms N., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We operate a completely smoking free hotel so I am very sorry that you could smell smoke in the first room you were allocated. I was unaware that a previous guest had been smoking in that room. I will investigate this further On the day you arrived the hotel was almost full and as such we had no choice but to give you a smaller room when you moved. During the current heat wave we have been doing all we can to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Happyhols Couples - 06/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Beautiful hotel, friendly staff in perfect location for exploring Exeter »

Arrived without a booking, staff were very helpful and friendly. Would certainly return if staying in Exeter.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Anonymous Business - 06/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very expensive and very average. »

- Room very basic for the price paid - No biscuits in the room - Had to hunt for the hairdryer - No air conditioning - Took a long time to check in, the lady at the front desk kept saying my card was being declined/was not working when I had used it 10 minutes before at the train station and she made me feel very uncomfortable about this - No dairy free milk provided in the room for tea/coffee - No breakfast included despite paying over £100

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have taken on board the issues you had: 1. I am very sorry that you had no biscuits. This was an oversight and should not have happened. And we have dairy free milk available upon request. 2. During the current heat wave we have been doing all we can to make our guests as comfortable as possible. 3. At reception I'm sorry it took you so long to check-in. By law our receptionists must adhere to PCI DSS (Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard) guidelines and cannot check any guests in without approved card details. I will investigate why there were problems with our card machine on 1st August 2018. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Ezzzzzee... Couples - 06/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Satisfied »

Very welcoming.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Anonymous Friends - 06/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Great City Break Hotel »

The staff were extremely friendly and the hotel itself is beautifully presented with an elegant mix of old and new. The only downside is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. The windows don’t open fully which I’m sure is less of an issue in the winter months. However in the height of summer the room was almost uncomfortably hot, even with the provide fan on.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I'm really sorry about the heat in your room. During the current heat wave we have been doing all we can to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Unfortunately Health and Safety Guidelines forbid us from being able to open the windows fully. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Sarah Couples - 06/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Hot room. Bed was hard. »

Beautiful hotel. Shame room was boiling hot and the mattress was not comfortable at all.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. During the current heat wave we have been doing all we can to make our guests as comfortable as possible. All the mattresses in the hotel are brand new. So I will personally check the mattress in room 209 where you stayed. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Leoyvp Family - 06/08/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Disappointed »

Used to a good quality from Mercure, we were quite disappointed by our stay in Exeter. The room could have been cleaner, then there were barely room to move (we had family room, that meens a double with two extra beds). We were also woken up around 6am by loud noise in the backyard, probably the delivery of the hotel. So definately not our best stay in a Mercure...

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Leoyvp, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that you did not find your stay to be 100% satisfactory but please be assured that I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be an improvement on the previous one. Sincerely, Amy Gleadow General Manager

Marc Couples - 05/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Great night »

Absolutely perfect. Nice touch with our anniversary cake and card. Great staff Thanks

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Sophie D. Business - 05/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Good staff but most things need improving »

Housekeeping changed our dirty sheets very quickly on arrival but there were black hairs on the bath towels and the shower tray was grimy too. Dust and hair on the bathroom door mouldings - everything needed a deep clean. Breakfast was poor - cheap ingredients and the cooked food lukewarm. Buffet untidy. Crockery not very clean. Staff very friendly (breakfast staff just kept coming and looking at the buffet then wandering away again). Hotel tired and quite shabby (the loos at reception and the restaurant furniture especially) - menus greasy with lumps of food or sticky marks caked on. Pillows thin. WiFi worked well. Location good.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ms D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have taken on board your the problems you had with Housekeeping and at breakfast. I will be conducting a full investigation to ensure that all these issues are resolved and do not happen again. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Anonymous Couples - 05/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Good but with a few issues »

We enjoyed our stay, the room was lovely. However we had a few issues over the course of our stay. Upon arrival the fridge was unplugged meaning the drinks were warm & there were no tea bags. On our second day we found what appeared to be new towels folded on the shelf but they appeared to be dirty - we're still unsure if they were clean or not. On our third day, after the room had been cleaned, we returned to find only one towel (instead of 2) & dirty glasses. The staff were very accommodating but we were disappointed to have to deal with these issues every day.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have taken on board the issues you encountered with Housekeeping. Please be assured that I will be conducting a full investigation to ensure that these issues do not happen again. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Greg C. Solo - 05/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very disappointing »

I stay in a lot of Accor hotels and this one was the worst I’ve stayed in. I checked in online 24 hours before arriving and asked for a quiet room on an upper floor. I was put into a room next to the lift! The room I was then given (305) was very small with little room to unpack and no drawers. It also looked out onto the main road, so was noisy. There was no air conditioning (although a large fan was provided). Windows had to be kept open which meant my sleep was disrupted by shouting in the street and car alarms (on 2 of the 4 nights I stayed). EVERY TIME I came back to my room my room card did not open the door, so I had to trek all the way back to the desk to get it reactivated.... I will stay at the Mercure Southgate next time!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I have taken on board the issues you encountered and I am sorry that your experience did not meet our usual high standards. I will be conducting a full investigation. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As a gesture of goodwill I will be awarding you an additional 2,000 Le Club points. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Viviana Couples - 04/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« That's how a proper 4 stars hotel should be »

We have travelled our share, but this hotel is one of the best 4 stars hotel we've stayed at. Spacious rooms with all the commodities you can desire. Friendly and down to earth relceptionists, that make you feel welcome and at ease. We didn't have breakfast, so we can't comment on that. An extremely positive experience.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Melissa Bacuzzi Operations Manager Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 69.00 GBP Non member rate
From 65.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates