ibis Styles Invercargill Hotel 3 stars

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5 329 reviews
ibis Styles Invercargill
See on a map
+ 10 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

You have reached the maximum of 6 favourite hotels, please remove one favourite before adding a new one.

Hotel extras

ibis Styles Invercargill offers business and leisure facilities including Wi-Fi in public areas and rooms, copy / print and fax facilities, direct dial telephone, work desk with chair, off-site gymnasium and in-house movie theatre

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre (Nearby)
Business services
  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
Catering
  • Snack & beverage machine

Hotel location

ibis Styles Invercargill

15 Tay Street
Invercargill
9810
invercargill
new zealand

Tel: +6432113800

Fax: (+64)3/2113801

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • By plane

    INVERCARGILL At 3km / 1 miles

  • By plane

    INVERCARGILL At 3km / 1 miles

  • By train

    INVERCARGILL At 0km / 0 miles

GPS :-46.413208, 168.348672

Our accommodations

Warm, welcoming and modern, with a comfortable bed and a practical bathroom, our rooms offer everything you need for an enjoyable stay.

Standard Room with 1 double bed.

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 22
  • Most of the accommodation: Corner Room *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard Room with 1 queensize bed.

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 25
  • Views: Park view *
  • Most of the accommodation: Corner Room *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

APARTMENT, 1 QUEEN BED

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 35
  • Views: City side, Garden side *
  • Most of the accommodation: Corner Room *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Apartment with 2 bedrooms for 4 persons.

  • Max. number of persons: ‌4
  • Area: From 35
  • Views: City side, Garden side *
  • Most of the accommodation: Corner Room *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Deluxe Apartment with 2 Bedrooms.

  • Max. number of persons: ‌5
  • Area: From 45
  • Views: City side *
  • Most of the accommodation: Corner Room *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Apartment, 3 double beds

  • Max. number of persons: ‌6
  • Area: From 65
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 64 m²

  • Maximum capacity: 12 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
ibis Styles Invercargill

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

329 reviews

Hotel Stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

458john Business - 09/05/2019 TripAdvisor review

i did not mind the room itself as I was only staying for one night. It had all the basic essentials I needed for that short stay. Probably suitable for one or two individuals, and if you're only staying for a short time.

Dear Guest. I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area again soon, don't hesitate to call us.

Not the Ibis Styles I was expecting

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

MILJW002 Family - 25/03/2019 TripAdvisor review

Generally we have had a great experience with the Accor hotels. Our first preference is the M Gallery chain, but when they’ve not been an option Ibis has still been good. Cheap and cheerful. I was a little disappointed when we arrived at the Ibis Styles Invercargill. After we checked in and made it to the room it had more of a converted backpackers feel than a hotel. Not the “cheerful” part if was hoping for. Invercargill was a halfway point between Dunedin and Queenstown, and our original plan was to stop here on the way. We decided to push on to Queenstown rather than stay here. The staff were friendly, but it had more of a backpackers feel, and wasn’t particularly relaxing.

Thank you for sharing your most constructive feedback regarding your recent visit . We are extremely concerned to read the areas of opportunity that your review has brought to our attention and sincerely apologize for your experience and not meeting your expectations. Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance to us.Please allow me to assure you that I will investigate this occurrence and take up this feedback seriously with my entire team in regards to the lapse in service and the adequate training needs will be reiterated to the team. I am extremely disappointed at letting you and ourselves down. The standard of service experienced by you is definitely not the kind that we aspire to achieve.

Our Stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

24yogesht Couples - 12/03/2019 TripAdvisor review

Unhappy with the parking charges. A customer staying in this hotel has to pay for parking, it is ridiculous. After parking in the basement you have to criss cross from a maize and scan key at multiple doors to reach your room. I met at least three other customers lost on the way. Elderly will have a nightmare.

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit. The concern which you raised have been noted and feedback will be shared with the management.We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

Expensive Backpackers

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

jeffyoung2016 Couples - 31/01/2019 TripAdvisor review

Hotel needs to be upgraded. The weather was in the 30 degrees c. No AIR CONDITIONING. No bar or restaurant. Friendly staff. Expensive for what it is. Out of date decor. Cramped rooms. Mini bar offers little selection.

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit. The concern which you raised have been noted and feedback will be shared with the management.We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

Contented

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

173ruthw Couples - 24/11/2018 TripAdvisor review

Value for $ included breakfast for $1 dealContinental very adequate. Comfortable bed as per usual in Ibis hotelsRoom adequate for our need and cleanGaraging providedIn centre of townEast to come ang go once got the hang of the garaging

Dear Ruth W, Thank you for your feedback, I am please to see that you were happy with your stay with us.

More budget than apartment.....

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

rodgerthat73 Family - 15/08/2018 TripAdvisor review

First impressions were great central location.....room impression a bit dissappointed. Was marketed as a 2 bed apartment, but reality more hostel set up. It was clean and tidy and at $140 a night, the most competitive in Invercargill for our family of 4. Beds are built in to the wall, so you have to climb over the other person to get in and out, quite a tight space, but fine for a one night stay. Breakfast room opened 1 hour late (no explanation except, there hadbeen a problem? But breakfast was included in tariff and pretty standard for a continental breakfast. On colder days ring ahead and ask then to turn heating on, as room was very cold when we first arrived.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to see that you were happy with our central location, I do apologise regarding the breakfast room no being open on time, this was a staffing issue but has now been resolved.

Decent hotel with a few flaws.

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

ChrisNZontheroad Couples - 08/08/2018 TripAdvisor review

Hotel was reasonably priced in a convenient location close to shops and cafes as well as main road. Staff were helpful and answered our questions. However both the noise and the room layout left a lot to be desired. Noise traveled throughout the floor whenever other guests entered the area so we were woken up multiple times throughout the night be others talking in the corridor and opening doors. The layout of the room was also a bit odd as they had jammed the bed up against a cupboard meaning one of us had a face in the cupboard all night with no bedside table easily accessible. There were multiple other places the cupboard could've gone so it seemed odd to put it right next to the bed. The overall room was clean, however the bathroom needed a bit of attention as the shower head looked old and dirty and the grouting was starting to look poor. Overall a decent place to stay.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with our central location, Yes the layout of some of the rooms were not thought out well when this building was made into accommodation, we are however in the process of upgrading our property so moving the wardrobes is possibly something that we could look into.

southern Sodjourn

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

omana887 Couples - 25/07/2018 TripAdvisor review

Most unexpected ,centre of town easy to walk to restaurants and attractions, great value for money, pleasant and obliging staff, all very good. the Motor cycle mania is right next door and the Hayes hardware shop is an easy walk for its special delights.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to check out our local attractions.

Reasonably priced and centrally located

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

MarmiteNZ Solo travel - 07/05/2018 TripAdvisor review

While the hotel is not flash, it has basic catering equipment including a microwave and a small fridge that's bigger than a minibar which makes it a great place to stay long term. The bathroom also had a fold down seat in the shower. I didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on it. It was quiet too. Minor faults with lights as the bedside lamp didn't work and had a wonky shade plus the bed light flickered.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased you were happy with our price and central location, we do have new lamps on order and are waiting for them to arrive, but I will have the housekeepers check the bulbs and make sure they are working as they go.

A few days at Invercargill

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Thomas P Couples - 09/03/2018 TripAdvisor review

We had 4 nights at the Ibis in Invercargill. The reception and other staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. We had a clean, comfortable well serviced and maintained queen bed room. There is parking under the hotel and the location is central for the town and good for visiting the attractions and scenic sites in the area. The continental breakfast is basic but adequate.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, with our central location and friendly staff

A very welcome and restful stay with generous breakfasts!

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Moira T Couples - 09/02/2018 TripAdvisor review

Our stay was a very welcome rest! The staff were helpful and the rooms clean, spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was good and generous. Our departure was marred by a failure of the front door mechanism as we were leaving to get our taxi. This meant we had to leave by the back door but the taxi driver was instructed by the receptionist to meet us there.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to take advantage of our complimentary continental breakfast. I do apologise that you were not able to get out our front door, but am happy that the staff were able to let the taxi no where to pick you up from.

Summer Holiday in Invercargill

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Gerard W Couples - 17/01/2018 TripAdvisor review

Avoid this hotel in summer. There is no air conditioning and the rooms are like a furnace on a hot day. Otherwise the hotel is well located and offers a reasonably good breakfast. Staff are also very helpful.

Dear Gerard W, Thank you for your feedback, Yes Invercargill has been extremely unusually hot this summer, it has been hard to get away from the heat no matter where you are, although we have no air con (as its not usually needed in Invercargill :)) I do hope our staff provided you with a decent fan to keep you as cool as possible.

Comfortable place to stay

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

hizzock Family - 02/01/2018 TripAdvisor review

Comfortable, smart, modern rooms. The design is simple and fresh. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel's car park was full when we arrived, but we were able to park just outside on the street. Good location right in the centre of the city. A decent breakfast was included, although the breakfast room could do with some more attractive decor and furniture - it felt a bit like a school room. Overall a very comfortable and pleasant stay.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were happy with our central location, and complimentary continental breakfast.

Service was good but hotel is awful

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

SHY001 Family - 10/12/2017 TripAdvisor review

All the hotel staff were lovely, the (double) beds are comfortable and the bathrooms were clean and had good water pressure, however the hotel is woeful. We had a three bedroom apartment fronting onto Tay St. The blinds didn't close properly and the window are only single glazing, so the bedrooms were constantly lit up and noisy (Invercargill boy racers every night!) making it near impossible to sleep. Off street parking was in addition to the $188 per night tariff at a cost of $10 per night. The garage we were allocated had a broken door and was manually locked at 11pm, not opening until 7am. We had to chase up new internet passwords everyday, as they expired every 24 hours on the dot. The weather was very warm, and with no aircon the rooms were very uncomfortable, both warm and humid. Despite a guest limit of 6 there was only enough seating for 3 people in the unit. There is a high step into both the toilet and shower room (waterproofing?) which proved very dangerous in the dark - stubbed toes and tripping. Expected a lot more for an Accor property and also for the price.

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you were happy with our staff. Sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us, we are in the process of replacing our blinds with curtains, the garage door is now fixed, November was a very unusually warm month for us this year.

Great breakfast, Convenient location, Strange Layout

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Tracy G Friends getaway - 27/11/2017 TripAdvisor review

This is a wonderful property, although the pictures on the website when booking did not match. It was good for our needs except the bedding layout. It was two fulls, but each room had a desk. It would have been much more useful to have one of the rooms with two twins and one with the full size bed/desk layout. However, the staff was lovely and the breakfast was outstanding. We did greatly enjoy the stay.

Dear Tracy G, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were happy with our complimentary continental breakfast and friendly staff.

Simple and value for money.

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

OuterLegsRace Couples - 24/11/2017 TripAdvisor review

We stayed at the Ibis Styles Invercargill for a two night stay. We had a room on the 4th floor, which had a king size bed and good views over the city. The room was okay, very clean and tidy, with no signs of wear and tear. However, the bathroom was very small (especially the shower) and we were unable to open some of the draws in the kitchen without opening the main door to the corridor... The included continental breakfast was appreciated. Overall, I would stay again if visiting Invercargill - overall value for money.

Dear OuterLegsRace, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.

Good location.

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Kiwignome Family - 09/11/2017 TripAdvisor review

As an Accor member this was the only option in Invercargill. At the time there was a points promo on as well. We had a 3 bedroom apartment which was ideal for us. The breakfast was handy and all we needed to start the day. I liked the location as you could walk to bars and eating places. The only issue I had was my sisters arrived before me.. They were advised that parking was $10.00 a day so decided to park on the meters for which they picked up a fine. When I arrived I was informed that as a silver member parking was include. The room was booked in my name through the Accor website so my status was shown. Only a minor issue but overall a good spot to stay and I would stay there again.

Dear Kiwignome, Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our central location, I am sorry that your Sisters were not informed regarding the parking for Accor members and do hope that you were given a park on your arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.

Great place to stay in Invercargill

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

K1W1couple12 Business - 24/09/2017 TripAdvisor review

The location is right in the part of the city close to restaurants, shopping and routes to other places. The room I had was on the second floor and had full sun streaming in during the afternoon. There is a fully appointed communal kitchen. Breakfast is a very basic continental option but more than adequate to start the day. Free secure parking was very welcome.

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and support. Safe Travels, Regards.

Better than expected

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

115blairc Business - 20/08/2017 TripAdvisor review

I had read a couple of bad reviews before arriving so was a little unsure of what to expect. But I found the hotel to be very good. The room was compact but served my needs just fine. It was nice and clean. I really liked that the use of a full gym just down the street was included. I thought that was much better than a half hearted attempt with poor quality equipment that you often get at other hotels. The breakfast was a simple continental but very nice. I would definitely stay again

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, business and support. Safe travels and we look forward to host you in near future. Kind Regards Kartik Bhandari

Do not stay here

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

darronm777 Business - 21/05/2017 TripAdvisor review

I stay at a lot of Accor Hotels as I'm a member, the Ibis Styles Invercargill would have to be the worst Hotel that I have stayed in!! I had a three bedroom apartment that was dirty and during my stay (2 nights) the bathroom wasn't cleaned. If I was the manager at Accor I would seriously consider removing this Hotel from the website. I will not stay here again, I would rather forgo earning points for my stay and stay somewhere else.

Dear Darronm777, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I hope you called down to reception after arriving in your room to let the staff know that your room was unclean, our staff you have been happy to come and rectify this straight away. Although we do not give our rooms a full clean on a daily basis you should have received a daily service where the staff would have come and changed your towels and replenished the amenities in the the room, i apologize if this was not done for you. Regards Margaret
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor