Hotel - Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman

3.5/5 622 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 113.00 NZD Non member rate
From 113.00 NZD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Public indoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • WELLINGTON AIRPORT
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Babysitting on request

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 06:30 - 21:30
    • Opening hours : Week-end 06:30 - 22:00

Business services

  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

  • 73 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Baby bed
    • Iron in room
    • Microwave in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Hair dryer at reception
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our guest reviews for Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 622 reviews
Friends getaway - 05/01/2019 TripAdvisor review
« Nice New Year's break away »

We stayed at Mercure Abel Tasman last year and decided to stay again this year. Located conveniently near most CBD attractions, it makes it really easy to walk down to Cuba St or Courtney Place for a fine meal!The room was clean, the bathroom was clean and provided with fresh towels and shampoo/soap etc. There's a mini fridge and a microwave in the room along with some basic cutlery and bowls. There's not scrubber for the dishes though, so we had to use the dishcloth.The hotel is very nice, on new year's day they left a note asking if we wanted our room serviced as they're aiming to have their housekeeping staff finish by 12pm so they can spend time with their families - we ended up calling reception and letting them know that they can skip our room for that day.The double beds are nice and firm but the single bed was quite squishy - so generally comfortable depending on firmness you're used to!There's no aircon in the rooms so it can get a little stuffy, however you can open the window and an electric fan is provided in our rooms which helps a lot.Overall we had an excellent stay for the price - very affordable! Would love to stay again next time.

Couples - 18/12/2018 TripAdvisor review
« The Best Spot in Wellington »

If your are spending time visiting spots like Te Papa, there's no where better than the Abel Tasman for your base. Excellent service and great rooms. We went to the Terracotta Warriors exhibition, and the Hotel was ideal for the walk across town. Plus there was the shopping on the way.

Family - 14/12/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Disappointing »

This hotel lets the brand down. The lift is dodgy, the room extremely small and bathroom below basic standards. I slipped on slippery , slopey tiles in shower . I hurt my hip and informed rec emotion. They were lukewarm with response of “ Oh that’s no good, hope you’re ok”. At no time was I contacted further to see if I was ok . The breakfast is terrible and we didn’t eat there after the first morning even though it was free. No complimentary coffee for Platinum members is poor form. Overall run do an , old and poorly maintained . Difficult to sleep with noise and car park next door .

Solo travel - 01/12/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Lovely hotel »

It was great to stay in this hotel at the end of my world trip. It is located not far from the centre. The breakfast was excellent and the double room was big and clean. Only the windows could be renovated.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback is valued and appreciated. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Couples - 06/11/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Noise problems »

This hotel is on the fringe of the CBD. It is an older building that has been given a cosmetic makeover with upgraded soft furnishings, carpets and a lick of paint. The the dividing walls are still original and provide no insulation from the noise of other guests. The windows are only single glazed do not seal well, there would seem to be no notable views. The room was comfortable but our stay was marred by noise from the adjoining room, and from the construction site across the street from around 7am (even on a Saturday morning).

Friends getaway - 31/10/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Our stay at the Mercure Wellington »

We enjoyed the stay in this hotel. The room was a good size and in good condition. We had a good sleep for the two nights we stayed. We did not use the dining room this time as we did not have breakfast in our package.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. The team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Paul J Business - 30/10/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Work trip »

This was a work trip, it is in a good location in the city.It has an inhouse restaurant and has a good selection of food on the menu and a happy hour for drinks.The hotel is in a good clean condition.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for providing sharing your experience and providing helpful feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager.

Business - 29/10/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Night Staff were exceptional »

I arrived on a very late/early flight in from Sydney and didn't arrive at the hotel until after 1am, that staff were exceptional - they processed my check in quickly and were also kind enough to let me know that if there was anything I needed that they would be on reception all night and to not hesitate to let them know. The perfect amount of speed, accuracy and care.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that your check in experience was exceptional. Our team work hard to provide great service and will be delighted with your feedback. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Business - 13/10/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Convenient location, clean but very dated »

Great location - smack in the city. Helpful staff. Clean rooms. However, the rooms are very very dated. No airconditioning but the rooms do come with fans and heaters (not sure if this is norm for Wellington).

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your feedback. We continue to make improvements throughout the hotel. Most 3-3.5 hotels in Wellington do not have air conditioning. However I am pleased to report that we have recently put air conditioning into some of our superior rooms. We will be continuing the air conditioning project with another two floors of superior rooms getting air conditioning in the coming months. Your feedback is valued and appreciated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager .

Family - 01/09/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Improvements required »

Parking around this hotel is an issue as the basement parking is unable to accommodate our Hyundai Imax. Our rooms are without air conditioning and sometimes the rooms are stuffy. Heater struggle to work at night. Toilet exhaust is not sufficient and room noise insulation is poor. Conversations at next door could be heard clearly. Beds are ageing and in need of replacement.

Business - 28/07/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Great location, but that's about it »

I was upgraded on my stay, which was appreciated. However, the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, anywhere. The windows need some additional soundproofing, to dampen the nose of rubbish collection at 5am. The rooms could also do with more soundproofing, as I enjoyed the conversation my neighbour was having on their phone, but it wasn't what I wanted. Wouldn't stay there again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear James, Thank you for your feedback. I apologise that you did not find the bed comfortable and will look into this. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location. I sincerely apologise that you were disturbed by other guests. Your feedback is extremely helpful and appreciated. It helps us continue to make improvements throughout the hotel. Sincerely, Saurabh Doshi

Business - 17/06/2018 TripAdvisor review
« A Mercure hotel that delivers »

this hotel is value for money. the rooms are spacious enough and took into account the needs of a business traveller. the staff are very friendly. you must try to dine in the restaurant. the menu selection is really good and the service is superb. no fuss and they deliver value for money.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Solo travel - 15/06/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Better than Expected »

My stay exceeded expectations in terms of comfort, room quality and size, etc. Location is very handy to services. Very quiet until the nearby construction project started up at 8am - thats why the earplugs were provided!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for providing helpful feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Family - 02/06/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Fast trip for family bereaved »

Check in was at 9 pm, fast and easy after a long day, happy to give me a later check out. Left charger in the room and they posted it back to me. Only real concern was an ATM within VERY close view to gaming room which is actually a breach of the Gambling Act.

Family - 01/05/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Great location »

Hotel in a great location only a few minutes walk to Te Papa or Michael Fowler Centre. The earplugs were appreciated as the only down side was the rather loud night life. Room was clean and comfortable.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location. I apologise the inner city can be noisy at times. Your feedback is valued, helpful and very much appreciated. We hope to see you back next time you are in Wellington. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Family - 11/04/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Stopover before early flight »

A quick stopover before an early flight out of Wellington. Location and service were excellent. Just a little loud in the room. With the windows shut we could hear street noise quite loudly. Also people returning from a night out was loud in the hallways as conversations were clearly heard along with loudly closing doors

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location and service. I apologise the inner city can be noisy at times. Your feedback is helpful and appreciated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

travellersensai Family - 06/04/2018 TripAdvisor review
« I didn’t want to leave! »

Such a quaint property. Easy access to Cuba St and Lambton Quay. Wifi is exceptional! Rooms are cosy and clean. Loveeeeed it. They only have tv 1,2&3 so no sky channels but honestly that did not affect the stay. I stayed with my sister and they were happy to change our bed to king singles. Lovely stay.

Yan C Friends getaway - 27/03/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Fantastic Location »

Good price, fantastic location, room is of a decent size and clean, checkin/out was fussfree and staff helpful. However, if your room is facing the road it may get a little noisy if a loud vehicle passes by.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for sharing your experience. The team are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. I sincerely apologise the inner city can be noisy at times. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Couples - 21/02/2018 TripAdvisor review
« A couple of nights in Wellington »

Overall an enjoyable 2 nights at the Mercure Abel Tasman. The rooms were good quality recently refurbished and the location in the centre of Wellington is ideal for getting around. There is hotel parking available so the car can be parked securely. This does cost $26 per night but is convenient and probably is less than Parking elsewhere. The pros above just about outweigh the cons which are there is no air conditioning in the rooms and with having windows open leads to traffic etc noise especially at night which may effect a good nights sleep.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Your feedback is valued and appreciated. Your feedback helps make a difference and we are currently looking into air conditioning options. We hope to see you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Friends getaway - 10/01/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Awesome stay for the price »

We stayed here for 3 nights over the new years period. Prior to our stay I read up about the lack of air con, and to be honest, for us that was the only downside we had qualms about. The rooms we got came provided with a small fan which helped but it did get a little hot and stuffy overnight. Everything else was ship shape, the rooms were clean, bathrooms are newly rennovated, housekeeping did a good job, and the staff were friendly. Our package came with a free breakfast option, and because of new years shutdown the bistro only had continental brekkie as an option but we thought it was really good. We had plenty of options in what to have for breakfast and it was delicious for the 3 days we were there. Can't argue about the price we paid for our stay. The parking lot is quite tight and there only enough room for one car at a time to exit/enter, and if you have a bigger car you will definitely struggle to park and exit. Overall we were extremely pleased with our stay!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for sharing your experience. The team are delighted to hear you had an awesome stay. We are currently looking into options for air conditioning and apologise you found the room hot. Your feedback is valued, and appreciated and ensures we can continue to make improvements. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 113.00 NZD Non member rate
From 113.00 NZD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates