Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema "Closed for refurbishment" Hotel 5 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 2,302 reviews
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema "Closed for refurbishment"
See on a map
+ 22 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • The most popular sunset in the city

  • Local gastronomy

  • Impeccable service

  • Advantage 4

  • Advantage 5

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private outdoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 2 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 5 meeting room(s)
  • Business center with support staff
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema "Closed for refurbishment"

AV Vieira Souto 460
Ipanema
22420 006
rio de janeiro
brazil

Check-in from 15h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BRS :   TWO PRUD DE MORAES

  • METRO RIO :   ZONA SUL NOSSA SENHORA DA PAZ

  • By plane

    ANT CARLOS JOBIN At 25.3km / 15.72 miles

GPS :-22.9863, -43.20726

Our accommodations

CLASSIC ROOM, 1 Queen Size Bed, views of Two Brothers Hill (Morro Dois Irmãos)

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Area: From 18
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Mini Bar

Superior Room, 1 Queen-size bed and city views, on 5th to 10th floors.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 33
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini Bar

Superior Room, twin beds and city views, from 5th to 10th floors.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 33
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini Bar

Luxury Room, 1 Queen-size bed and side sea views.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 33
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini Bar

Luxury Room, twin beds and side sea views.

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 33
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini Bar

Luxury Room, 1 Queen-size bed, Front Sea View

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 33
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini Bar

Luxury Room, twin beds and front sea views

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 33
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini Bar

Junior Suite, 1 Queen-size bed and front sea views

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 38
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini Bar

PRESTIGE SUITE, 1 Queen-size bed, views of theocean and Penhasco Dois Irmaos

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 66
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini Bar

Opera Suite - king-size bed, separate living room, separate office, on floor 19, 20 and 21.

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 100
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Nespresso machine
  • Mini Bar

Our restaurants and bars

23 OCEAN LOUNGE

Type of cuisine: International

Enjoy one of the most famous rooftops in Rio de Janeiro and sample the menu created by our executive chef Jérôme Dardillac to accompany the best view of the sunset over Ipanema Beach. Prepare yourself for a magnificent experience!

Lunch

08:00 - 18:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 00:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

GALANI RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

Contemporary cuisine is the hallmark of our chef, Willians Halles, whose creations mix local ingredients and suppliers with international culinary trends. On Saturdays, traditional cuisine comes in the form of the famous Feijoada.

CAJÁ CAFÉ

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Visit the flavors of France in front of Ipanema beach. A gastronomic trip through authentically French sweets, croissants and gourmandises.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 5

  • Maximum size: 113

  • Maximum capacity: 200 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 60 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema "Closed for refurbishment"

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.4/5

5,989 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,302 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Really enjoyed my stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

A. F. Business - 09/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Bed was very comfortable. Location is great and i enjoyed the room service. Wifi too was great. Met my needs.

Overall a very pleasant stay with the very friendly helpful staff making it more enjoyable!

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Mary J. B. Friends - 07/08/2019 AccorHotels review

We were surprised on arrival find out we could only stay 4 nights at the Sofitel as they were closing for major renovations. The staff made the transition seemless and were so friendly helpful and unbelievably kind. The hotel does need a major renovation!! The food was quite good but not up to Sofitel standard maybe because of the closing.

horrible smell at room

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anderson Business - 29/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Arrived one night before my schedule meetings, checkin around 7pm and left for dinner, got back to my room at 10pm and went to sleep to be refreshed for the next busy day. At around 1am woke up with a terrible smell at my room, it was so strong that I started felling bad, called reception and they couldn't tell where smell was coming from, I believe that you guys had a death animal at your air conditioner escapes. They agreed to change my room and I got to bed around 2h30am. You can imagine how my following day was.

The worst Sofitel in the world.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Andy J. Friends - 26/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Bathroom door does not close. Shower ceiling is yellow and mouldy. Toilet was blocked. Changed the room. Bathroom door still couldn't close. Wooden floorboards crowning. Hotel general manager should be sacked immediately.

Great location, great staff, nice public areas, but it’s shutting down soon

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Tim K. Families - 23/07/2019 AccorHotels review

My wife and two daughters (22 and 18 years old) spent 4 days here at the start of a couple of weeks in Rio. As the title says most things were good about the hotel. Our rooms were fairly basic and tired, but given the hotel is about to close, that’s to be expected (even though we weren’t advised in advance). The one issue was that the credit card we used to secure the payment on our rooms, and which we used only for that and nothing else during our stay and stayed in our safe, was cloned and deactivated by the issuer as someone had tried to get money using it at an ATM. The hotel staff didn’t seem to take this very seriously, which was disappointing.

Bonjour Mr K., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Once again a good experience

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Jean N. H. Business - 19/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Friendly and very helpful staff. Excellent location. Wonderful view of Ipanema beach and the “Dois Irmãos” mountain. Reasonable accommodation. However, the whole property is asking for a serious refurbishing. It is no longer a question of routine maintenance, the hotel needs to receive a real treatment to recover the level it should offer. However, as usual, the positive aspects were stronger than the more negative ones.

Bonjour Mr H., Thank you for the great review of our hotel! I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Fantastic

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Mike Friends - 14/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Outstanding customer service end to end

Bonjour Mr L.. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Some days in Rio

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

mCr61 Solo travel - 14/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

Very good service, as usual. Excellent location. The only thing I did not like, is that I could not drink my favorite drink as the welcome drink offered by the Hotel (contrarily to other Sofitel hotels, apparently there are limitations on the drinks you can choose). Otherwise, the type of hospitality you expect from a Sofitel. Will certainly be back.

Bonjour, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Bathroom and Showers are dated and in poor shape.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Ccc Business - 12/07/2019 AccorHotels review

The fixtures (faucets, showerheads and handles) are falling apart and very dated. Whenever you set the water temp, after a few minutes, it will go really hot and then suddenly really cold. It's like playing roulette while taking a shower. Very annoying. Besides this, everything else is ok.

Bonjour Ms C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Lovely stay in Ipanema on our first visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

David H. Families - 11/07/2019 AccorHotels review

The hotel is perfectly located right across the street from Ipanema Beach. Hotel staff is helpful and friendly, easy to communicate with in English, French, or Portuguese, and always available when you need something. We especially appreciated the team on the beach.

Bonjour Mr H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Great Hotel and Great Location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

A. S. Families - 11/07/2019 AccorHotels review

The hotel is perfectly located on Ipanema beach. My family and I enjoyed ourselves and felt safe throughout our stay. The hotel staff was very accommodating and exceptionally helpful. The concierge was excellent and gave us wonderful suggestions on places to eat and where to go. I highly recommend this hotel!

Bonjour Mr S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Great Stay

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Natalia Business - 09/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Hotel was clean. Great location. Nice Staff.

Bonjour Ms C., Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

great view, friendly staff, moldy smell in 5th floor room. Water leaking through roof when it rains.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Business - 09/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Hi the room was clean, except for strong mold smell. Quite strong in the room and in the 5th floor hallways. During the heavy rain, water leaked from ceiling. The view from the room was great.

Bonjour Mr C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Pleased with the facilities as well as with the personnel.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Marcia C. Couples - 08/07/2019 AccorHotels review

We were very satisfied with all the services provided in the hotel. found the personnel well trained and picked by hand. From the concierge, desk people, bell help, door guys, breakfast group of people to the cleaning ladies. The only thing missing was the windows not being able to open not even a small crack; it leaves the room over time with a smell of closed in. Overall very positive experience. Will return and look for Sofitel else where.

Bonjour Ms C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Superbe

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Business - 05/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Gentillesse

Bonjour Monsieur f., Nous vous remercions pour l'avis que vous avez laissé sur notre hôtel. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour et espérons vous accueillir à nouveau très bientôt. Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, nos salutations distinguées. Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Excellent from the door in

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anthuan Business - 02/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Leaves wanting from the door our. My hotel taxi to the airport was unprepared (no credit card machine, no awareness of scheduled protests), unprofessional (advanced his car on pedestrians so they would not further delay his trip, ignored me when I tried talking to him), and untrustworthy (because of his mishaps I had to withdraw cash to pay him). Terrible driver. I rode with him on June 30 on a car with a licence plate KRH7936

Dear Anthuan B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures, we send your complaint to the company that provides us with the taxi service. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Very good. Very friendly and helpful staff!

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Solo - 02/07/2019 AccorHotels review

The only sore point is that I was asked for tips on two separate occasions after finishing dinners at the rooftop restaurant.

Bonjour Mr C., Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

a very conveniently located hotel with excellent service

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Gabriel D. Business - 01/07/2019 AccorHotels review

I believe it is the 15th time I have stayed at your hotel. you have a very good service and permanent quality which does not fluctuate. this is important as a guest knows what to expect and indeed receives it.

Bonjour Gabriel! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Fantastic - loved every minute of it.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Sarah M. Solo - 30/06/2019 AccorHotels review

From the minute I arrived (3 am on a Monday morning) I felt right at home. All the staff I encountered from the front door to the Concierge team, the wait staff in the restaurant to spa were superb. They were all so friendly and extremely helpful, and made me feel right at home. The facilities were great, the breakfasts delicious, and everything was spotlessly clean. The little touches, such as the turn down of the bed with chocolate at night, were very nice and made me feel relaxed. I can't say enough good things about my stay with you over the period of a week. I would especially like to mention Silvio, one of your concierge team. I had the unfortunate experience of my luggage being lost in transit from Australia. The bags eventually arrived 5 days later but until then, Silvio was extremely helpful every day trying to assist me with the airlines in locating the whereabouts of the luggage. Every day he was very sympathetic to my situation and very professionally went about phoning every possible number he could (and frequently each day) to try to get answers about my luggage. His assistance was very much appreciated. I am aware he only joined your team several weeks ago, but he certainly didn't let this hinder his attempts to help me. During the time that he wasn't working his colleagues Juan and Estefanio were also very helpful and supportive. I would appreciate it if you could pass on my deepest thanks for their support and assistance whilst I stayed with you. Not only did they assist with the luggage, they were also quick to arrange taxi's and provide restaurant recommendations. I can't speak highly enough of their professionalism, and whilst this is their job they did it superbly. Thank you !

Bonjour Mr M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team especially with Silvio. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager

Great staff, helpful and friendly, with a superb beachfront location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

A. F. Business - 30/06/2019 AccorHotels review

Really enjoyed my staff mostly because of how friendly and helpful all the staff were.

Bonjout Mr A., Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Netto Moreira Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Hotel Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in rio de janeiro