Hotel - The Sebel Kiama Harbourside
The Sebel Hotel The Sebel Hotel

The Sebel Kiama Harbourside

Our hotels AccorHotels
4.0/5 1,060 reviews
All hotels in Kiama
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 199.00 AUD Non member rate
From 199.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 11h00
Paying

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WiFi access
  • Parking
    • Private indoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Public indoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Manual temperature control
    • Air Conditioning
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM

Leisure and activities

  • Bicycle hire facilities  (Nearby)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Opening hours : Week 06:00 - 22:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 06:00 - 22:00

Business services

  • 4 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

  • 80 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 4 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • TV with on-screen billing info
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Manual temperature control
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • Minibar
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.4/5 AccorHotels Rating Based on 2,708 reviews

Our guest reviews for The Sebel Kiama Harbourside

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 1,060 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2017
AccorHotels certified review
Andrew Solo - 15/04/2018

Overall, very good. Helpful and flexible staff.

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 14/04/2018
« Kiama short break »

Our second trip to Kiama in some years. Very hot weather. The Blowhole obliged us this time and was a terrific sight. Enjoyed the hotel. All the staff very good except couldn't get an omelette for breakfast.

AccorHotels certified review
Julie Couples - 12/04/2018
« We enjoyed our stay over 2 nights. »

Room was spacious & clean. Dining facilities were good.

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Solo - 11/04/2018
« I had a great time. »

Thought the staff were lovely, the room was clean and had a great time.

AccorHotels certified review
Pui T. L. Families - 11/04/2018
« It was approachable, helpful and secured »

Approachable staff were willing to help and attended to customer concerns in a welcome and secured environment.

AccorHotels certified review
Calum H. Couples - 10/04/2018
« No complaints »

spacious well appointed rooms, professional & attentive staff, great location.

AccorHotels certified review
Karelle R. Friends - 10/04/2018
« excellent »

VERY RELAXING EVERYTHING CLOSE BY GREAT SERVICE

AccorHotels certified review
M R. Couples - 09/04/2018
« O/K but nothing outstanding »

finding the car park was not easy. Once in there, not easy to understand there was more space below. When you book you should be allocated a space as the hotel had a wedding and a number of people attending the wedding took up parking but did not stay at the hotel. This was a special occasion, my wife's birthday however; I paid more than top $ for an average room with half a view and wedding going on down. I have paid considerably less for a great room with a great room in Sydney and interstate. Reception was fine. Restaurant was good but; I would not stay again as it was not the special I was looking for at the cost I was more than prepared to pay for special.

AccorHotels certified review
Belinda Friends - 09/04/2018
« Another enjoyable stay »

My stay at the hotel was for a family wedding and was enjoyable. The standards and experience were consistent with my previous visits/stays at the hotel. A few issues with the door to my room on this occasion which were manageable but a little inconvenient at times.

AccorHotels certified review
Lisa Families - 04/04/2018
« Pleasant, »

Hotel was nice. Room facilities good. Disappointed that room was so close to railway line. Door keys unreliable. Needed re-programming several times which was annoying. Food at wedding reception on site was good. Wifi unreliable in far end of building

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Sebel Harbourside Kiama. I am sorry that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We have a variety of rooms all with different outlooks. If you choose to return to the hotel in future, please do not hesitate to contact our friendly reservations team who would happily explain the various room types we have available as well as their view for you. Thank you for your feedback regarding the door locks. We have identified this as a reoccurring issue and are happy to advise that all of our door locks will be replaced with more user friendly technology in the very near future. We have recently upgraded our Wi-Fi system so I am surprised to hear of the issues you were facing. I will discuss your comments with our Maintenance Manager to investigate why you were experiencing unreliable connectivity. Despite the above I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy your room as well as your meal at the wedding. Once again, I would like to thank you for your feedback and I hope you give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Michelle Preston Guest Services Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Anne C. Friends - 02/04/2018
« Relaxing »

Love staying in balcony rom with ocean view. Water forever changing & gives a sense of seri its & peacefulness. Staff are friendly & welcoming which is an excellent start.

AccorHotels certified review
Carolyn Families - 02/04/2018
« Really good »

Room was lovely. Staff were friendly. Great location.

AccorHotels certified review
T C. Families - 02/04/2018
« Tired, poorly kept rooms with pushy staff »

Utterly disappointing. I booked online and thought for over $470/night I would be getting a nice, bright 2 bedroom suite. The room was poorly kept - banged up furniture, broken block out curtains, bathroom fixtures coming off the wall. The second bedroom was really a glorified cupboard. We couldn't use the living area or have lights on in it once we put our kids to bed as the dodgy folding doors wouldn't close properly and had huge gaps, which allowed sound and light in. My husband and I spent most of the evening camped out on the balcony, listening to the trains rattling by, just so we wouldn't wake the kids in their makeshift room. It was a total waste of our precious long weekend time.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Sebel Harbourside Kiama. I am disappointed to hear that your room did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I will address the concerns that you have highlighted with our Maintenance Manager. Secondly, I am surprised to hear about your experience with our housekeepers. We pride ourselves on our exceptional service and I am disappointed that you did not receive this. I will discuss your comments with our housekeepers to ensure that this does not happen again. If in future you wish to return to our hotel I would recommend booking a Two bedroom apartment as I believe these rooms would better suit your needs. Thank you once again for your feedback and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Michelle Preston Guest Services Manager

AccorHotels certified review
Danny T. Business - 02/04/2018
« Mr »

Have requested tax inv to be reissued stating breakfast and not dinner if you could please email this through today would be greatly appreciated

AccorHotels certified review
Stephen K. Couples - 02/04/2018
« Excellent weekend »

We were there for the wedding food tasting and the service by all staff was great. The room, as always, was clean and tidy. No issues

AccorHotels certified review
Phil S. Couples - 30/03/2018
« excellent reception staff.....easy and quick checkin »

Great room Great food Loved all the staff we came in contact with

AccorHotels certified review
Ilinka B. Families - 30/03/2018
« Great »

Wonderful Stay & Good Service

AccorHotels certified review
Ian W. Friends - 30/03/2018
« Rooms were spacious and smart and breakfast was world class. »

staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was well laid out and the views are magnificent, free parking was greatly appreciated, lifts were close to the rooms, rooms are very smart, modern and spacious. gladly come again.

AccorHotels certified review
Ross Couples - 29/03/2018
« Amazing »

the whole experience was great! the staff on reception and the lady i spoke to on the phone were amazing. the only downfall is that there was a view of the train tracks and not the ocean.

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 29/03/2018
« Pleasant Spot »

This place is in an ideal location, essentially in the middle of town, with a great outlook, comfortable rooms and helpful people. Our room was clean with a very comfortable king size bed and looking out onto a leafy garden.

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 199.00 AUD Non member rate
From 199.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guaranteeHow it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

At 7.8 km Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
From
From 161.00 AUD Non member rate
From 161.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 29 km Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach Hotel
From
From 206.00 AUD Non member rate
From 206.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in KIAMA
See rates