The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 1,371 reviews
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
See on a map
+ 21 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

You have reached the maximum of 6 favourite hotels, please remove one favourite before adding a new one.

Hotel extras

Located in Auckland's Viaduct Harbour. The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour provides extensive views of the harbour and the city. The hotel offers luxury apartment-style accommodation to cater to your short and long term needs.

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Babysitting on request
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • AUCKLAND INTL
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Currency exchange
  • Concierge
Leisure and activities
  • Indoor heated pool (Nearby)
  • Fitness centre (Nearby)
  • Babysitting on request
  • Boat excursions (Nearby)
  • Bicycles rental (Nearby)
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • Hot meals
Business services
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

85 89 Customs Street West
1010
auckland
new zealand

Tel: +6499784000

Fax: (+64)9/9784099

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 11h00

  • AUCKLAND INTERNATIONAL :   AIRPORT EXPRESS STOP 7047

  • By plane

    AUCKLAND INTL At 22km / 13.67 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By boat

    FERRY BUILDING At 1km / 0.62 miles

  • By train

    BRITOMART At 1km / 0 miles

GPS :-36.843578, 174.763219

Currently, close to our hotel

The Chocolate and Coffee Show

From 05/10/2019 to 06/10/2019

At 328 m

New Zealand Fashion Week

From 26/08/2019 to 01/09/2019

At 362 m

New Zealand International Film Festival

From 18/07/2019 to 04/08/2019

At 511 m

Auckland Art Gallery, discovery

From 01/01/2019 to 31/12/2019

At 795 m

Seeing Moana Oceania, exhibition

From 02/06/2018 to 16/12/2019

At 795 m

Auckland Domain, walk

From 01/01/2019 to 31/12/2019

At 2 km

Run The City, Auckland marathon

From 20/10/2019 to 20/10/2019

At 2.4 km

One Tree Hill, discovery

From 01/01/2019 to 31/12/2019

At 6.7 km

Taste of Auckland

From 31/10/2019 to 03/11/2019

At 24 km

Auckland Botanical Gardens, visit

From 01/01/2019 to 31/12/2019

At 26 km

Our accommodations

With spacious stylishly appointed Guestrooms guests can relish both the independence of contemporary apartment style living and the convenience of a 4 star hotel.

City View Studio Suite Queen

  • Max. number of persons: ‌3
  • Area: From 35
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Phone
  • Mini Bar(...)

City View 1 Bedroom Suite Queen

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 50
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Phone
  • Mini Bar(...)

Marina View 1 Bedroom Suite Queen

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 45
  • Views: Harbour view *
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Phone
  • Mini Bar(...)

Marina Deluxe View 1 Bedroom Suite

  • Max. number of persons: ‌3
  • Area: From 78
  • Views: Harbour view *

* Subject to availability

  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Phone
  • Mini Bar(...)

Executive Deluxe 1 Bedroom Queen

  • Max. number of persons: ‌3
  • Area: From 90
  • Views: Harbour view *
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • High speed internet
  • Bathrobe
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Phone
  • Mini Bar(...)

Our guest reviews for
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.4/5

3,421 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

1,371 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Brilliant hotel

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Voyager12882523797 Business - 09/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

Rooms brilliant, cleanliness top marks & we were fortunate to have an amazing view (paid for it but was well worth the $). Hotel staff very obliging and the restaurant staff (Giraffe) top marks, they could not be faulted. Barman & our waitress was brilliant :)

The Sebel Auckland

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Explorer53912597995 Family - 07/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

Good place to stay. Room very spacious and clean. Location very near the waterfront promenade and with lots of restaurants. Car park a little difficult to find as it is along the side but it is a secure parking, which is good. Room does not provide toothbrush and toothpaste. Hotel not facing the waterfront may be noisy as there is a bar across the road.

great position to restaurants

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Couples - 29/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

excellent

Dear Phillip, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the location to everything. We hope we will be able to welcome you back for another well deserved break. Kind regards, Aniket Amin, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

great location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Deb Couples - 28/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

great location love the view very helpful staff

Dear Debra, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. We really appreciate your continued loyalty to Accor and The Sebel Brand. It is great to hear that our staff were helpful during your stay with us and had a lovely room with great views. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and we would like to welcome you back soon in the future. Kind Regards, Sankar Boopathy, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Over night stay

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Wanderer26749 Friends getaway - 28/05/2019 TripAdvisor review

The Hot breakfast was cold as were the plats. better supervision of large groups would have been appreciated. Evening meal was enjoyed. Though I do think bottle water a bit much what is the problem with iced tap water. Its Free.

Enjoyed the views mostly

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Gerard M. Couples - 26/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Very central to viaduct. Alot of fun

Dear Gerard, Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am glad to hear your enjoyed the Marina room. Location is perfect with everything within walking distance and I am pleased that you enjoyed it, I admit this is an ultimate experience of yours. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you soon in the future. Kind Regards, Sankar Boopathy, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Location x3

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Business - 25/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Great staff, great location, but property starting to look a little used/tired

Dear Shane, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that you took advantage of our location to your best. I'm sorry that you felt that the property is looking a bit tired. We appreciate you sharing your concerns with us. Please allow me to express my apologies for this. At The Sebel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest, therefore your feedback is very important to us. The Hotel is currently in process of reviewing the rooms and we hope to have a refurbishment programme in place soon. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Sebel. Kind regards, Aniket Amin, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Mr & Mrs

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Colin C. Couples - 25/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Lovely stay, great location.

Dear Colin, Thank you for your great review and your continued loyalty to Accor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Aniket Amin, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Very pleasant

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Lloyd T. Couples - 25/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Great location

Dear Lloyd, As always it is a pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for your great reviews and your continued loyalty to Accor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Aniket Amin, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Excellent location pity we couldn't stay longer

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Treena S. Friends - 22/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Great location, clean and tidy very welcoming

Dear Mrs S., As always it is a pleasure having you stay with us. Thank you for your great reviews and your continued loyalty to Accor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Aniket Amin, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Noisey fat fryer

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Craig Couples - 22/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Our room received Oil smells from the deep fryers in the restaurants below. The doors are not well sealed and all of the noise from the restaurants below disturbed our sleep

Dear Mr P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my apologies for the issues that you faced during your stay with us. I would also wish to apologise for the noise caused by the bars nearby. Noise is an experience which we don't want our guest to encounter and the management are aware of this situation. We are located right in the middle of the CBD and are surrounded by a few bars and restaurants, that have legal licenses to operate until late hours on some nights. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you better next time. Kind regards, Aniket Amin, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Hotel is dated and tired

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Business - 21/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

I used to stay with you at least 1 night a month. I then moved to Auckland and didn’t have the need. I’m now back in Wellington and stayed for the first time during this stay. I felt like the hotel was dated and tired and nothing had changed over the 2 years I hadn’t stayed. There are much better options around in auckland CBD so I will be staying there in future

Dear Amanda, Thank you for sharing your experience on our hotel. The team receive tremendous feedback from our guests who return year after year, so I am disappointed to hear this was not the case for you. I apologise for this. At The Sebel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Our Management are aware of the situation and are in process of reviewing the rooms. We are hoping to have a refurbishment programme in place soon. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind regards, Aniket Amin, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Love the location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Linda P. Couples - 21/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The reception staff are awesome. Very helpful and cheerful. Have stayed here many times. Do feel the rooms are getting a bit tired and probably need upgrading.

Dear Linda, Thank you for your review and we appreciate you in sharing your concern with us. I am very glad to read that you choose to keep returning to stay with us and make The Sebel your home away from home. We also enjoy welcoming you back each time and it is great to hear that the staff are providing you with our amazing customer service. I am bit disappointed to hear that you found your room bit dated and I am pleased to inform we are in the process of finalising a refurbishment programme for our hotel rooms and hope to have this in place soon. Thank you so much for your lovely comment and we look forward to see you soon. Kind Regards, Sankar Boopathy, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Great location, lovely staff

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Kelli C. Families - 21/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Room was lovely, handy to restaurants and bars!

Dear Kelli, Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay and I am very glad that you had a wonderful time with us. Location is perfect and we are glad you were able to get out and explore the city and viaduct basin. The many options on our door step for dining ensures you will have never have the same menu and I admit this is an ultimate experience of yours. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Sankar Boopathy, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Great

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Marina S. Couples - 21/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Comfortable room type. Friendly staff.the day after our departure I queried a $100 charge taken from our card on the day of our arrival to be told it was security for the mini bar and it would take a week for a credit to go through. Not happy with this at all.

Dear Mrs S., Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Please allow me to apologise for the inconvenience you faced due to the credit card hold that was taken upon check-in. However, this is a standard hotel procedure to take a pre-authorisation hold upon check-in to cover any incidentals costs. We do follow a strict policy at out hotel on releasing these holds on the date of departure to avoid any inconveniences for our guests. Once the hold is released from our end, it depends on how soon your bank releases the funds into your account. Some banks process this request in 2 working days and some can take upto 7 days. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Aniket Amin, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Ms Elles Hanepen

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Business - 21/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We had 8 international agents staying with you who were in Auckland visiting us at W.. Therefore it is not possible for us to give you any feedback- but we had o complaints from them so that is positive! Thank you for your help and it has been great dealing with you around the admin side of things. Kind regards, Elles Hanepen

Dear Elles, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am so happy to hear your agents were able to enjoy the room and services by our team. Once again thank you for sharing the feedback with us and we hope they enjoyed rest of their time here in New Zealand and we hope to welcome back. Kind Regards, Sankar Boopathy, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Very comfortable

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Hardeep K. Couples - 18/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Close to lots of activity on waterfront. Nice room

Dear Hardeep, Thank you for the review on our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and we are pleased that you were able to get out and explore the city and viaduct basin. We are glad that your stay was memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Sankar Boopathy, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

needs a good clean.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Michael B. Business - 17/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Average!

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. Our staff are very dedicated to make sure all our guest have a memorable stay with us. Unfortunately your room was not up to your expectation and I apologize for this. Your feedback in regards to room cleanliness is noted and our Housekeeping team have been spoken to prevent any future occurrence. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Sankar Boopathy, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Very good

Customer review rating 4.4/5

David Solo - 15/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

I had a very good experience staying at the hotel

Dear David, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! I am glad you were able to enjoy your 2 days with us and the team were able to assist with all your needs. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand and safe travels home. Kind regards, Aniket Amin, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.

Unorganised

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Sian R. Business - 15/05/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Upon arrival I couldn’t be found in the system, spelt name was found but it was actually someone else with completely different name. Had to show my booking then I was found in the system. The young lady who Meet me at the desk was very rude/blunt. I was made to feel it was my fault I wasn’t in the system..?! I had to ask regards parking even though I stated parking was needed. Room looks tired. The phone in the living area didn’t work. On informing reception I asked them to fix after my meeting had finished in around an hour. My meeting was then disturbed, 30mins in asking to send someone up. Not my most enjoyable stay

Dear Sian, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. We really appreciate your continued loyalty to Accor brand. However, I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and were not welcomed to the hotel. We really appreciate your time and effort. It's important to us that we know when we've fallen short of delivering exceptional customer service. We are constantly working to improve our service offered to our guest and feedback such as this is helpful. Thank you again for your review and we hope to better serve you on your next stay. Kind Regards, Sankar Boopathy, Duty Manager, The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour.
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in auckland