Hotel - Sails in the Desert a member of Pullman Hotels
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Pullman Hotel

Sails in the Desert a member of Pullman Hotels

Yulara Drive  Ayers Rock 
0872  YULARA
AUSTRALIA

3,059 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 3,059 reviews
See rates
Best price guarantee
From
From N/A --- Non member rate
From N/A --- Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates
Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 10h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Massage
  • Babysitting on request

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Babysitting on request
  • Air Conditioning
  • CONELLAN AIRPORT
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early Check In
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Massage
  • Babysitting on request
  • Tennis
    • Outdoor tennis court
    • Tennis

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 00:00-24:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 00:00-24:00

Business services

  • 10 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Standard Rooms feature modern bathrooms, twin queen beds or deluxe king, and can accommodate up to 5 people. All rooms offer air-conditioning, TV, movies on demand, minibar and bathrobes.Spa Rooms have extended balconies with an open-air spa. Deluxe Suites are over twice the size of the Spa Rooms and provide separate living, dining and sleeping areas. Suites feature multiple balconies overlooking the garden and an indoor spa.

  • 228 rooms
  • 231 non-smoking rooms
  • 11 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 110/120 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Safe deposit box
    • Automatic air control
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Wide working desk
    • Air conditionning with individual remote
    • WIFI in your room
    • Crib on request
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • High speed transmission line
    • Minibar
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Nespresso experience offered
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Separate toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.1/5 AccorHotels Rating Based on 291 reviews

Our guest reviews for Sails in the Desert a member of Pullman Hotels

100% certified reviews from our guests

Find out more
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 3,059 reviews
Certificate of excellence 2016
TripAdvisor certified review
887davidrm Couples - 24/06/2017
« Deceitful practice »

As a member of Accor group we assumed that the Sails resort would honour the discount privileges of the club We had verified we were Accor members and they had our card number on file (we booked through Accor) but it was not until check out that we were told they do not honour the discount food and beverage for breakfast only the dinner or lobby cafe Had we had known we would have had breakfast in the cafe‼️ We were very annoyed to only be told this after the event and annoyed with Accor for allowing different protocols in their group with no advance notice

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi 887davidrm We are very sorry to read that your overall stay at Sails in the Desert was let down by your breakfast experience. The Accor Plus program excludes a discount for breakfast at resort properties throughout Australia. While we do assure you that this information is detailed within the terms and condition on the website we regret that you were not aware of this prior to dining with us. We do hope that you were still able to enjoy exploring Uluru & Kata Tjuta and we thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 24/05/2017
« Relaxing Red Centre stay. »

Sails in the dessert is a low rise hotel that is part of the Yalara Resort. Staying at the resort includes transport to and from the airport as well as access to the free resort shuttle. Very friendly staff and well presented common areas add to the appeal. Rooms are spacious and offer a lounge area as well as a desk and a balcony. Bathrooms are a little dated and could present access issues as the shower is over the bath. Main access to the rooms is via stairs, there is a lift but this is a little out of the way. Pool is heated but not warm enough to swim when we stayed. Lovely buffet breakfast and good range f light meals offered in the casual eating areas. Hotel is a little pricey but there's not much competition out there. We really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to recommend this hotel.

TripAdvisor certified review
Family - 25/04/2017
« Sails in the Visit quick trip »

Excellent hotel with friendly staff. My only negative comment would be the temperature of the water in the pool - it was freezing, even my kids were reluctant to swim. The rooms were lovely and comfortable.

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 11/04/2017
« Excellent Hotel with a nice touch »

Room was spacious and well maintained. Great breakfast! The guest laundry was unexpected but a real plus and a nice touch. Rooms were ready earlier than guaranteed which helped. This hotel is under common ownership with three other facilities at Ayres Rock and we scheduled our trip to stay here. We were very pleased.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi arthurs20 Thank you for your lovely review of Sails in the Desert. We are delighted that you were so pleased with your stay and could make use of the complimentary guest laundry. We hope that you also enjoyed exploring the National Park and we thank you for choosing to visit this beautiful part of Australia. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 11/02/2017
« Great but not quite perfect »

Let me be straight, it was a fantastic hotel. The room was lively, swimming area and snacks at the bar was top notch and breakfast was very close to perfect. There is one tribe in the bathroom that whoever paired the taps with the sinks needs to be fired. There is not bough room to get your hands underneath. Stupid design error. The biggest issue was by far that we know there is much insect life in Aus. At 10pm the area from hotel to the rooms was full of beatles and some got into the hotel. Still understandable. But the inside of the hotel when walking to the rooms after breakfast was still full of bead insects. I mean full. Considering many people get up early to look at sun rising at Ayers Rock, this is totally unacceptable. This should have been cleared up before 6am, before breakfast opens and not after late breakfast. Manager needs to address this.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi DavidGHooper Thank you for sharing your feedback and while I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us I do also greatly appreciate your constructive feedback. Due to extreme rainfall during late December and early January the region is experiencing more bug life than is usual and I would like to assure you that our cleaning and maintenance teams are conducting a thorough clean and removal several times throughout the day. I do however apologise for any inconvenience caused to you and we are certainly monitoring the situation on a daily basis to ensure the comfort for our guests. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 25/01/2017
« loved every minute »

We stayed 3 nights at Sails in the Desert Hotel. We really should have stayed 5 as we loved every minute of it! 3 days is the absolute minimum. We experienced the Sounds of Silence dinner (a must), a sunrise tour and base walk of Uluru & a sunrise tour & Valley of the winds hike at Kata Tjuta. We would have liked another day to rest & enjoy the resorts facilities & perhaps even added on another tour! Put it on your bucket list!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi ahyde2530 Thank you for your lovely review of Sails in the Desert and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and all of your activities. Perhaps we could entice you to return again in the future to explore even further and also enjoy some rest and relaxation time! Thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

TripAdvisor certified review
Anthony H Couples - 10/01/2017
« In need of a little TLC »

Unfortunately the hotel is showing its age and does not live up to a four star rating. There was also a water problem and when anyone rang to enquire the guest services failed to answer. Very disappointing

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi Anthony H We are sorry to read that your time at Sails in the Desert did not meet expectations and I am particularly concerned that we were unable to assist you to resolve your issues during your stay. I sincerely apologise for this and assure you that this has been addressed directly. I do hope that you were still able to enjoy exploring the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood Georgia Rowe Sails in the Desert

TripAdvisor certified review
naama20162016 Couples - 30/10/2016
« Field of Lights and dinner »

We stayed at Sails in order to attend the Field of Lights installation and the associated dinner. Extremely lucky with the weather which made the trip even more memorable. The staff were great. Breakfast excellent and a light dinner at the bar area good value. I think we were lucky to have a small view of Uluru as I don't think many rooms have this view. The hotel seems to be very well maintained but there ar some areas that need a little attention. Car parking is a problem as the car park closest to the hotel is very small but two other areas close-by can be used. Overall a great trip made even better with the accommodation.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi naama20162016 Thank you for your review of Sails in the Desert and Ayers Rock Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the Field of Light and it will be my pleasure to share your comments with our team. Thank you also for your additional constructive feedback, which is always appreciated. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 19/09/2016
« Desert oasis »

Perfect location for viewing both Uluru and Kata Tjuta. For its location in the middle of practically nowhere, this hotel was very comfortable. The interiors were impressive with touches of Anangu art as decoration. Our terrace room was very comfortable and had a lovely terrace overlooking the gardens and pool but we were unable to use it as the weather was unexpectedly overcast and rainy with thunderstorms. There is no longer fine dining available on the property, just a buffet restaurant and an adjacent area for lighter meals and drinks. The property exterior seems dated and is not as attractive with ugly metal fence-like grating around the periphery of the rear of accommodation buildings.

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 23/06/2016
« A bit tired »

The place is getting tired. Many young and indifferent staff at reception. Not good value I'm afraid. A lack of choice in this location seems to mean poor value, poorly trained staff and a lack of care

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi brebsonn Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Sails in the Desert. We are very disappointed to read we were unable to meet your expectations. Providing excellent service and a memorable, authentic stay is our goal and I am very sorry that this was not your experience. Your feedback has been shared as we continually strive to provide improve the experience for our guests. I hope that you were still able to enjoy exploring this beautiful part of Australia. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

TripAdvisor certified review
Family - 09/06/2016
« Needs a make over and needs to provide all Accor benefits if claiming to be invloved with Accor. »

We arrived for 2 nights and had requested an upgrade which was not provided, the reception area and restaurant was too hot (an issue with the heating system for our entire stay). We were unable to use our Accor card for breakfast yet if we booked at another site breakfast was included for a lesser price than we paid for accommodation only. Our bed spread cover was ripped and there were ants in the room and the bed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi Sondra290 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sails in the Desert. We are sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with our hotel and that we were unable to resolve your Accor benefits query during your stay. The feedback regarding your bedspread has been addressed with housekeeping and I apologise for the inconvenience. I do hope that you were still able to enjoy exploring the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

TripAdvisor certified review
861rolfs Couples - 15/05/2016
« Central Australian Trip »

This was our 4th visit to Yulara and we are still enjoying it ! Magic. This was our second visit to Sails in the Deset and we very much enjoyed all 7 days ! Our Ground floor room was excellent with a nice outside sitting area. The bed and linen were excellent. The extra room for table, chair and lounge is very much appreciated, particular in a remote area with limited night activities. Overal the hotel facilities are excellent with different spots for coffee or a light meal. The main restaurant is of good standard, although we rate the GRIL at desert garden as best in Yulara The Fillet Steak, Pork and Fish was of high standard, in fact the Steak was the best I have ever tasted, Congratulations must go to the Chef and his Staff !!! Overall a most pleasant experience ! We will come again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi 861rolfs Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your most recent stay at Ayers Rock Resort. We are delighted to read how much you enjoy staying with us and the variety of dining options on offer throughout the resort. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th stay in the near future! Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

TripAdvisor certified review
Family - 04/05/2016
« Stay in Yulara »

Nice accomodation, wouldn't want to stay in any other place in the area. The accomodation was in walking distance to the shops and was one of the only hotels to have a pool in its area. Also, the use of the laundry was free with the hotel even providing free washing detergent unlike others in the NT. The shuttle bus around town was good to see the rest of the Accor chain of hotels. For a 5 star hotel, I would have expected to be provided with free water during my stay. As it is in the outback, only option was to pay the hotel prices for water or purchase it at the local IGA.

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 02/05/2016
« Uluru escape »

On a 3 day break to visit Uluru after my first visit in 1977. I knew that it would be different but was amazed at the way the whole area has been developed but does not impact on the iconic site. It was a delight to have the facilities and comfort of any large resort in the middle of nowhere. I realise now that I would need more time to do the visit justice but enjoyed my experience. In particular I went on the free Mala Walk at Uluru and found the guide Steve to be very knowledgeable and made the tour of 2 hours most educational. My understanding of aboriginal culture has improved.

TripAdvisor certified review
anthonybaini Family - 24/04/2016
« Great place to stay »

Friendly place, smiles everywhere and great service. Food in all restaurants was very consistent and taste was beautiful. Having a fruit plate and sparkling water on arrival was very welcoming and the kids loved the pool.

TripAdvisor certified review
Couples - 05/04/2016
« Sails at Ayers Rock - Rocked It »

Over all the room and hotel was excellent . Service was great - amenities excellent also . We have traveled extensively across the globe and this was one of the best hotels we have stayed at .The Bed was just divine !

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi frankNkathy Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay at Sails in the Desert. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and could enjoy a great nights sleep after a full day exploring this beautiful part of Australia! Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

TripAdvisor certified review
Family - 10/02/2016
« Great place to stay where options limited »

In Feb 2016 our family of four stayed at the sails in the desert for three nights. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff , service, food and the comfort of the hotel was excellent considering the weather conditions people have to work here. The closest town centre is some 400km away. Just a warning don't try to compare cost and quality to other hotels in highly populated areas. Remember Sails is located in a harsh and isolated place to live and work, hence overhead cost of running the place will be naturally high.

TripAdvisor certified review
Family - 18/12/2015
« Lovely Resort »

Sails is a wonderful place to stay while in Yulara. Very central and very convenient to shops and tourist attractions.All the staff from reception through to bar/restaurant and cleaners were very friendly and excellent.

TripAdvisor certified review
TNT620002 Couples - 16/10/2015
« Hot spot in the desert »

Great hotel with excellent amenities. The pool area was great and the rooms really well laid out. We had a ground floor room near the pool area that had some shade. As the temperature was 37 degrees during the day this was important. The only thing missing was a gym. Given the heat running after 7 am was impossible so a gym would have been appreciated.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi TNT620002, Thank you for taking the time to review Sails in the Desert. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities on offer. Given we are in a destination designed for outdoor activities we have until now resisted a gym however I do appreciate your comment. Thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Kind Regards, Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

TripAdvisor certified review
robgage2016 Family - 12/10/2015
« Good facilities excelent service »

Everything was up to standard. This is a remote location and would have logistical problems to deal with, but in spite of these challenges Sails is very well run and supports operations with good levels of service.

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From N/A --- Non member rate
From N/A --- Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee

Our other hotels nearby

At 90 m Desert Gardens a member of Novotel Hotels
Desert Gardens a member of Novotel Hotels Hotel
From
From N/A --- Non member rate
From N/A --- Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 390 m Emu Walk Apartments a member of Grand Mercure Apartments
Emu Walk Apartments a member of Grand Mercure Apartments
From
From N/A --- Non member rate
From N/A --- Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 550 m Outback Pioneer a member of ibis Styles
Outback Pioneer a member of ibis Styles Hotel
From
From N/A --- Non member rate
From N/A --- Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in YULARA
See rates