Hotel - Sails in the Desert - A member of Pullman Hotels
Pullman Hotel Pullman Hotel

Sails in the Desert - A member of Pullman Hotels

4.0/5 3,813 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 555.00 AUD Non member rate
From 555.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 15h00
Check out up to 10h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel (Paying)
    • High-speed Internet (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WIFI in your room (Paying)
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Babysitting on request
  • Air conditioned
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Air conditionning with individual remote
    • Air Conditioning
  • CONELLAN AIRPORT
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • Early Check In (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 4PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Currency exchange
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Swimming pool
    • Pool
    • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Massage
  • Babysitting on request
  • Tennis
    • Outdoor tennis court
    • Tennis

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 2 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 00:00-24:00
    • Opening hours : Week-end 00:00-24:00

Business services

  • 10 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Standard Rooms feature modern bathrooms, twin queen beds or deluxe king, and can accommodate up to 5 people. All rooms offer air-conditioning, TV, movies on demand, minibar and bathrobes.Spa Rooms have extended balconies with an open-air spa. Deluxe Suites are over twice the size of the Spa Rooms and provide separate living, dining and sleeping areas. Suites feature multiple balconies overlooking the garden and an indoor spa.

  • 228 rooms
  • 231 non-smoking rooms
  • 11 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Baby bed
    • 110/120 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Safe deposit box
    • Automatic air control
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • Wide working desk
    • Air conditionning with individual remote
    • WIFI in your room
    • Pay per view channel(s)
    • Baby bed
    • High speed transmission line
    • Minibar
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Nespresso experience offered
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Separate toilets
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our bars
See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.1/5 AccorHotels Rating 291 reviews

Our guest reviews for Sails in the Desert - A member of Pullman Hotels

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 3,813 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2018
Family - 10/07/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Lovely rooms and resort in a spectacular setting »

This was our 2nd trip to Sails (our first was 15 years ago). I was pleasantly surprised to see how well maintained the property was after all these years. Bathrooms were newly renovated when we visited last time - the same bathrooms looking a little dated now. Shower curtain and having to step into bath to shower are a bit yesterday! Staff, spacious rooms, fluffy towels and crisp linens all very luxurious, Lack of a moisturiser/body lotion in rooms was unexpected for 5 Star hotel. Pool area looked inviting but the icy cold water was a shock when you dived in. Pool heating and a gym would push this resort into the true 5 Star category. Ate at Walpa Bar and found this excellent for a relaxed meal. As we are not buffet types did not try breakfast or dinner at the restaurant - high prices and style of dining not ideal for a large family. Make sure you book experiences prior to arriving as some of the experiences we were interested in were already booked out when I attempted to book 6 weeks earlier. Sunrise camel trio and Sounds of silence Dinne excellent. Walk through field of lights was overrated - we were unable to book star pass which may have made field of lights a more positive experience. The cheaper options of Hiking around rock and Olga’s, and driving to sunset car park were the best experiences of them all!

Couples - 19/06/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Fabulous Red Centre experience »

We had an actie 6 day self drive trip taking in Alice Springs and surrounding canyons/gorges, Rainbow Valley, Kings Canyon and then 3 days at Sails in the Desert to finish off and spend time at Uluru/ Kata Tjuta. It was a perfect way to enjoy some comfort, great food and still have easy access to such wonderful landscapes and walks

Family - 04/03/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Fabulous time in Uluru »

Sails was the perfect base to visit all the iconic places of Uluru. The rooms were comfortable and relaxing. The service from reception, restaurant to room staff was friendly and efficient. The Sails resort was large, facilities great and enough pool chairs and lounges for everyone.

Family - 20/01/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Great option in the Red Centre »

Can’t fault the Pullman, great staff, great service and the rooms, while dated were better than average. The food was also high quality especially the buffet breakfast and drinks were very well priced considering the location.

Couples - 22/12/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Impressive Property in the Middle Of Nowhere »

This pretty resort slightly misses the mark. The elevator malfunctioned on the way to our room. There was a critically missed wakeup call. There were little bits of litter in the hallway area not picked up for days. The room telephone was unusable.

Couples - 09/11/2017 TripAdvisor review
« A Great Time »

Great accommodation with attentive and professional staff. The resort was excellent and the food very good. The facilities were excellent and well maintained. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay at Yalara.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi justinn504 Thank you for your lovely recommendation of Sails in the Desert and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort and the spiritual heart of Australia. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

Alastair M Couples - 24/10/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Not bad, not great »

Odd that public areas looked fine and room was OK, but exterior of accommodation block looked like a council estate. Not important to me, but it rather punctures the idea of a luxury resort. AIr conditioning in the room was pretty feeble. Cold if you stood directly under the aircon unit, but away from there it was getting quite warm even in mid October. Food in Desert Sands seemed better than at Sails. Baggage took a long time to arrive at room, presumably because lots of people arrive at same time. Staff were Ok. Five stars for Meenakshi at check in / concierge. Alert, friendly, intelligent and helpful. Well worth hanging on to. I give an average score for value given the remote location. In a city the value would be poor.

Couples - 19/10/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Red Centre Gem »

We really loved our time at Yulara. Accor has a really great setup here with accommodation & meal selections being 2nd to none. We stayed at Sails but ate at Desert Garden, Sails and the town centre - highly recommend the buffet at sails. The rooms have been upgraded except the bathrooms are a little tired. We found the staff to be excellent and looking to make a difference to your stay. We had a small issue that was resolved with a quick chat. Definitely a recommended for me.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi flyabit Thank you for sharing your lovely review of your stay at Sails in the Desert and we greatly appreciate your recommendation. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

887davidrm Couples - 24/06/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Deceitful practice »

As a member of Accor group we assumed that the Sails resort would honour the discount privileges of the club We had verified we were Accor members and they had our card number on file (we booked through Accor) but it was not until check out that we were told they do not honour the discount food and beverage for breakfast only the dinner or lobby cafe Had we had known we would have had breakfast in the cafe‼️ We were very annoyed to only be told this after the event and annoyed with Accor for allowing different protocols in their group with no advance notice

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi 887davidrm We are very sorry to read that your overall stay at Sails in the Desert was let down by your breakfast experience. The Accor Plus program excludes a discount for breakfast at resort properties throughout Australia. While we do assure you that this information is detailed within the terms and condition on the website we regret that you were not aware of this prior to dining with us. We do hope that you were still able to enjoy exploring Uluru & Kata Tjuta and we thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

Couples - 24/05/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Relaxing Red Centre stay. »

Sails in the dessert is a low rise hotel that is part of the Yalara Resort. Staying at the resort includes transport to and from the airport as well as access to the free resort shuttle. Very friendly staff and well presented common areas add to the appeal. Rooms are spacious and offer a lounge area as well as a desk and a balcony. Bathrooms are a little dated and could present access issues as the shower is over the bath. Main access to the rooms is via stairs, there is a lift but this is a little out of the way. Pool is heated but not warm enough to swim when we stayed. Lovely buffet breakfast and good range f light meals offered in the casual eating areas. Hotel is a little pricey but there's not much competition out there. We really enjoyed our stay and would be happy to recommend this hotel.

Family - 25/04/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Sails in the Visit quick trip »

Excellent hotel with friendly staff. My only negative comment would be the temperature of the water in the pool - it was freezing, even my kids were reluctant to swim. The rooms were lovely and comfortable.

Couples - 11/04/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Excellent Hotel with a nice touch »

Room was spacious and well maintained. Great breakfast! The guest laundry was unexpected but a real plus and a nice touch. Rooms were ready earlier than guaranteed which helped. This hotel is under common ownership with three other facilities at Ayres Rock and we scheduled our trip to stay here. We were very pleased.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi arthurs20 Thank you for your lovely review of Sails in the Desert. We are delighted that you were so pleased with your stay and could make use of the complimentary guest laundry. We hope that you also enjoyed exploring the National Park and we thank you for choosing to visit this beautiful part of Australia. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

Couples - 11/02/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Great but not quite perfect »

Let me be straight, it was a fantastic hotel. The room was lively, swimming area and snacks at the bar was top notch and breakfast was very close to perfect. There is one tribe in the bathroom that whoever paired the taps with the sinks needs to be fired. There is not bough room to get your hands underneath. Stupid design error. The biggest issue was by far that we know there is much insect life in Aus. At 10pm the area from hotel to the rooms was full of beatles and some got into the hotel. Still understandable. But the inside of the hotel when walking to the rooms after breakfast was still full of bead insects. I mean full. Considering many people get up early to look at sun rising at Ayers Rock, this is totally unacceptable. This should have been cleared up before 6am, before breakfast opens and not after late breakfast. Manager needs to address this.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi DavidGHooper Thank you for sharing your feedback and while I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us I do also greatly appreciate your constructive feedback. Due to extreme rainfall during late December and early January the region is experiencing more bug life than is usual and I would like to assure you that our cleaning and maintenance teams are conducting a thorough clean and removal several times throughout the day. I do however apologise for any inconvenience caused to you and we are certainly monitoring the situation on a daily basis to ensure the comfort for our guests. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

Couples - 25/01/2017 TripAdvisor review
« loved every minute »

We stayed 3 nights at Sails in the Desert Hotel. We really should have stayed 5 as we loved every minute of it! 3 days is the absolute minimum. We experienced the Sounds of Silence dinner (a must), a sunrise tour and base walk of Uluru & a sunrise tour & Valley of the winds hike at Kata Tjuta. We would have liked another day to rest & enjoy the resorts facilities & perhaps even added on another tour! Put it on your bucket list!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi ahyde2530 Thank you for your lovely review of Sails in the Desert and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and all of your activities. Perhaps we could entice you to return again in the future to explore even further and also enjoy some rest and relaxation time! Thank you for choosing to visit Ayers Rock Resort. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

Anthony H Couples - 10/01/2017 TripAdvisor review
« In need of a little TLC »

Unfortunately the hotel is showing its age and does not live up to a four star rating. There was also a water problem and when anyone rang to enquire the guest services failed to answer. Very disappointing

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi Anthony H We are sorry to read that your time at Sails in the Desert did not meet expectations and I am particularly concerned that we were unable to assist you to resolve your issues during your stay. I sincerely apologise for this and assure you that this has been addressed directly. I do hope that you were still able to enjoy exploring the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood Georgia Rowe Sails in the Desert

naama20162016 Couples - 30/10/2016 TripAdvisor review
« Field of Lights and dinner »

We stayed at Sails in order to attend the Field of Lights installation and the associated dinner. Extremely lucky with the weather which made the trip even more memorable. The staff were great. Breakfast excellent and a light dinner at the bar area good value. I think we were lucky to have a small view of Uluru as I don't think many rooms have this view. The hotel seems to be very well maintained but there ar some areas that need a little attention. Car parking is a problem as the car park closest to the hotel is very small but two other areas close-by can be used. Overall a great trip made even better with the accommodation.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi naama20162016 Thank you for your review of Sails in the Desert and Ayers Rock Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the Field of Light and it will be my pleasure to share your comments with our team. Thank you also for your additional constructive feedback, which is always appreciated. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

Couples - 19/09/2016 TripAdvisor review
« Desert oasis »

Perfect location for viewing both Uluru and Kata Tjuta. For its location in the middle of practically nowhere, this hotel was very comfortable. The interiors were impressive with touches of Anangu art as decoration. Our terrace room was very comfortable and had a lovely terrace overlooking the gardens and pool but we were unable to use it as the weather was unexpectedly overcast and rainy with thunderstorms. There is no longer fine dining available on the property, just a buffet restaurant and an adjacent area for lighter meals and drinks. The property exterior seems dated and is not as attractive with ugly metal fence-like grating around the periphery of the rear of accommodation buildings.

Couples - 23/06/2016 TripAdvisor review
« A bit tired »

The place is getting tired. Many young and indifferent staff at reception. Not good value I'm afraid. A lack of choice in this location seems to mean poor value, poorly trained staff and a lack of care

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi brebsonn Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Sails in the Desert. We are very disappointed to read we were unable to meet your expectations. Providing excellent service and a memorable, authentic stay is our goal and I am very sorry that this was not your experience. Your feedback has been shared as we continually strive to provide improve the experience for our guests. I hope that you were still able to enjoy exploring this beautiful part of Australia. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

Family - 09/06/2016 TripAdvisor review
« Needs a make over and needs to provide all Accor benefits if claiming to be invloved with Accor. »

We arrived for 2 nights and had requested an upgrade which was not provided, the reception area and restaurant was too hot (an issue with the heating system for our entire stay). We were unable to use our Accor card for breakfast yet if we booked at another site breakfast was included for a lesser price than we paid for accommodation only. Our bed spread cover was ripped and there were ants in the room and the bed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi Sondra290 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sails in the Desert. We are sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with our hotel and that we were unable to resolve your Accor benefits query during your stay. The feedback regarding your bedspread has been addressed with housekeeping and I apologise for the inconvenience. I do hope that you were still able to enjoy exploring the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park. Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

861rolfs Couples - 15/05/2016 TripAdvisor review
« Central Australian Trip »

This was our 4th visit to Yulara and we are still enjoying it ! Magic. This was our second visit to Sails in the Deset and we very much enjoyed all 7 days ! Our Ground floor room was excellent with a nice outside sitting area. The bed and linen were excellent. The extra room for table, chair and lounge is very much appreciated, particular in a remote area with limited night activities. Overal the hotel facilities are excellent with different spots for coffee or a light meal. The main restaurant is of good standard, although we rate the GRIL at desert garden as best in Yulara The Fillet Steak, Pork and Fish was of high standard, in fact the Steak was the best I have ever tasted, Congratulations must go to the Chef and his Staff !!! Overall a most pleasant experience ! We will come again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi 861rolfs Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your most recent stay at Ayers Rock Resort. We are delighted to read how much you enjoy staying with us and the variety of dining options on offer throughout the resort. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th stay in the near future! Kind Regards Riaz Mahmood General Manager Sails in the Desert

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 555.00 AUD Non member rate
From 555.00 AUD Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates