Hotel - ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Ibis Hotel Hotel

ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile Hotel

77 South Bridge 
EH1 1HN  EDINBURGH
UNITED KINGDOM

2,149 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 2,149 reviews
See rates
Best price guarantee
From
From 130.00 GBP Non member rate
From 123.50 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates
Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 10  GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air Conditioning

Services and practical information

  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 10  GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air Conditioning
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing (Paying)
    • Ironing room
    • Shoe shine machine
  • Currency exchange

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)

Business services

  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

  • 259 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 13 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 110/120 V AC
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Automatic air control
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Manual temperature control
    • Automatic temperature control
    • Crib on request
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Hair dryer at reception
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Our guest reviews for ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 2,149 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2017
TripAdvisor review
Friends getaway - 29/07/2017
« Lovely! »

Great central location next door to a chain coffee shop and a small chain grocery store :-) ! Lovely hotel for the price, with lovely staff :-) ! We especially appreciated the gorgeous chocolates, beautifully laid out, free water, and hand written card to welcome us.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear skatebabe_uk_2001, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh South hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Lukasz - Reception Team Leader

TripAdvisor review
146narellev Family - 15/07/2017
« Edinburgh South Bridge »

A well situated hotel for exploring central Edinburgh. Nice rooms and great breakfast. Unfortunately we were there on a Saturday night and the noise from local clubs was very loud until about 3am, so we did not get much sleep that night.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear 146narellev, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay here with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and your time exploring the city of Edinburgh. I do apologise about the disruption to your sleep on the Saturday night, it may be the one downfall of being right in the heart of the city center. We do hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Stacey Reception team leader

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 27/06/2017
« Comfy and clean »

Room was nice, clean and functional. Reception was speedy and check-in - appreciated the friendly welcome. Room was overlooking a courtyard but was informed about this beforehand and given an opportunity to change to a different room. Really good location. No complaints.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for short and sweet review in209. I am glad you enjoyed a speedy check-in and a friendly welcome. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. All the Best, Pash Front Office Manager

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 27/06/2017
« Friendly and accommodating »

The South Bridge Ibis, although not as well located as the Royal Mile Ibis which I wish I knew when I booked, is nevertheless not a bad place to land. The breakfast is excellent, the rooms are efficiently designed although I found the bathroom cramped with little shelf space for toiletries. The staff is very helpful. It's a fun place to stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hello violinII, 'Fun place to stay' - what a wonderful comment. Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and i hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Pash Front Office Manager

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 27/06/2017
« Scotland stay »

Service was amazing. I was greeted by staff and the experience was very good, I had arrived early and need to leave my bags till check in. The young gentleman was very friendly checked my details and arranged breakfast, he showed me to the restaurant and arranged to have my bags stored. He then arranged my room offer me an option of floor and view. This made me feel valued and the service continued throughout my stay. Hotel was in a great location and easy walking distance to the Royal Mile and attractions. Highly recommend this hotel and commend the staff.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mary A L, A review about our team is always such a pleasure to read. I will be sure to share your review with the team. There is nothing more important than our guest feel valued. I am very happy you felt that way. Should you ever book with us in the future, please let me know you are coming back on h8484-fo@accor.com All the best, Pash Front Office Manager

TripAdvisor review
catherinelP1228VI Couples - 13/06/2017
« Spring break »

The check in was so easy and quick, our room was on the 9th floor the roof top beautiful views, the room was spotless the bed was super comfy, the walk in shower was amazing, breakfast was fantastic, the decor was awesome, the staff was so helpful, the hotel location is just of royal mile central for everything, overall will defo stay here again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear catherinelP1228VI, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh South hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Lukasz - Reception Team Leader

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 08/06/2017
« Very pleasant hotel »

The hotel is very clean and tidy with a quick in and check out. Hotel is a bit pricey due to it's location but as it's a 10 minute walk from the main city centre and rail station makes it worth the while. Staff were friendly and helpful, The food in the restaurant was excellent.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear richgray50003, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another journey with us. Sincerely, Lukasz - Reception Team Leader

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 07/06/2017
« too expensive »

we probably chose the wrong Ibis as we had heard it was nicely decorated. This was very standard with a bathroom reminding you of the old container-motels. Service was fine but price was extreme, almost 200 pounds per night without breakfast. The day after it was 135....a bit strange.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Lasse N, I would like to thank you very much for your valued feedback. I will share your comments with the appropriate teams. However, prices do fluctuate depending on different factors, just like airlines. In the hope that your next experience with the Ibis Family will go above your expectations as this is what we strive for. Sincerely, Thibault RENARD Operations Manager

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 25/05/2017
« Good location. friendly staff. Clean and silent room »

Good location easy arrival from airport. Staff young and friendly always accessible. Room very clean. Breakfast with good selection, only no vegetables at all. Easy access to main attractions. Very good Wi Fi.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Moshe A, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review of your stay at the Ibis Edinburgh South Bridge hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed the time that you spent with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Lukasz - Reception Team Leader

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 22/05/2017
« Perfect break »

We recently stayed at this hotel and we have to say it is without doubt the "Best Hotel" we have stayed in. From the moment we stepped inside to the moment we departed, we were treated like royalty! The location is brilliant for all of Edinburgh's attractions, the room was spacious and clean with a great bathroom and the food was very tasty! The staff are great examples of what customer excellence should be and were always on hand to help. Special mention to Pesh for whom nothing is too much trouble! Also the 2 young ladies in Fogg's Bar & Restaurant, you made our visitspecial with your service and smiles. We will be back!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear davejm2015, Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let Pash that he made an impact during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon! Kind regards, Lukasz

TripAdvisor review
Martin-Leonhard Couples - 18/05/2017
« Good hotel but - like most hotels in Edinburgh - far too expensive. »

Clean and comfy rooms, a fabulous breaktfast (sic!) and a really nice restaurant/bar. But: the bathroom was kind of a plastic booth built into the room which tarnished the overall room impression a bit. The hotel is located a short three to five minutes walk towards the Royal Mile. The staff was professional, helpful and friendly. As most hotels also this one was quite expensive for a hotel with standard rooms and no spa. Around 170 Euros per night. There is another IBIS close by which is similar to this one but even more expensive. Nothing for a longer stay, especially for families. Apart from that it really was a great stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Martin-Leonhard, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh South hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Many thanks, Lukasz - Reception Team Leader

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 17/05/2017
« Much better than many other IBIS hotels in Europe »

The hotel is a very good one. The rooms are bigger than the normal Ibis standard. The breakfast is good. The hotel is near the Royal Mile, so it is in the city centre. So, if I return to Edinburgh I will try to book this hotel again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear rbruben, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge - Royal Mile. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another journey with us. Many thanks, Lukasz - Reception Team Leader

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 16/05/2017
« Perfect Location »

Overall, I like this hotel. The Check-in Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was fairly good, a little noisy from outside, but bed was comfortable. Location was perfect. Grocery store and coffee shop was next door, restaurants all around and walking distance to both Old and New Town.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Joanwc808, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Edinburgh South hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Lukasz - Reception Team Leader

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 29/04/2017
« Clean and comfortable »

Found the room very clean and bed very comfortable. Only noise was the shower in the next room at one o'clock in the morning. Breakfast wasn't that good, bacon was too overdone, sausages looked awful, took continental instead - was ok. Hotel very handy for town centre and Royal Mile. Bar was to close at midnight on Tuesday night for maintenance and when we arrived at the bar at eleven o'clock it was closed, not good if they shut early they should have changed all the notices to read the new time. We weren't the only people looking for a drink.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear DuffyLanarkshire, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a good stay overall and that you enjoyed our 'Ibis Sweet Beds'. However, I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our Fogg's Restaurant. This has been communicated to the concerned F&B Manager. We hope to welcome you to the hotel again soon. Kind regards, Lukasz - Reception Team Leader

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 18/04/2017
« Comfortable and nice »

I have a nice holiday in Edinburgh because stay in ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge Location is convenient, big quiet room with view, and the bed is comfortable. I will recommend visitors choose this hotel when take a trip to Edinburgh

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear satinehuang, It is really wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the time that you spent with us in our hotel and that you would recommend us to others visiting the beautiful city of Edinburgh. Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Patrick - Reception

TripAdvisor review
Family - 18/04/2017
« Excellent trip »

Excellent Trip in the Ibis Edinburgh centre south bridge. Good brakfrast. At our arrival, we have been upgraded with our children to a bigger room, with free welcome drink. The localisation of the hotel is very good, neat rtestaurant, pub...

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear sylvainmuller67, Thank you very much for leaving us with such a positive and complementary review of your stay at our hotel! We are always happy to welcome our senior le-club members and I was happy that we were able to provide you with such a satisfactory stay. We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Patrick - Reception

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 13/04/2017
« VERY NICE »

Good location, city center, just beside the Royal Mile. 5 minutes walking distance from the bus stop (AIRLINK 100 from the airport, 30 minutes trip). Nice room, clean, free wifi, tv, comfortable bed. Everything OK

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear andrea_breviglieri, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such a great 5 star review! It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards, Patrick - Reception

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 13/04/2017
« Ultra Super service »

Patrick at the reception and Anna at restaurant are what man can call the service quality. kindness, reactivity, professionalism. I just loved my unhappily too short stay in that wonderful hotel and City. I say thank you. Daniel

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Daniel, Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let Patrick and Anna that they made an impact during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon! Sincerely, Lukasz - Reception Team Leader

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 06/04/2017
« Great Location, Good Service, »

I have stayed at many Ibis hotels and this one was up to the usual good standard. Check-in was informal, quick and efficient, the room was comfortable and quiet despite overlooking a busy main road and the facilities all worked well. The one disappointment was the cooked breakfast. As a vegetarian I found it poor value for money (tepid baked beans, sloppy scrambled egg, two types of sausages but no veggie version, for example). The continental breakfast is better value, but I wouldn't pay again for the cooked breakfast. The greeting at breakfast was a little peremptory, and it took me a confused minute or so to find the plates and cutlery (some distance from the food) and the coffee (even further away). Far better, and better value, breakfasts are available within easy reach. The location is great, just a couple of minutes' walk from the Royal Mile. I'd certainly stay here again, but on a room only basis.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Stoneytony, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay in our hotel. I was really pleased to hear that you found our check in procedure to be quick and efficient and that you were happy with the facilities in the room. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Patrick - Reception

TripAdvisor review
Family - 28/03/2017
« Good »

Everything was ok only some nuances like confusing numbers of floors and some furnitures were dusty but it didn't impact significantly my stay. The hotel is very close to main street and even though it is by busy road it was quiet

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear danielpR1561DM, Thank you for your review of your stay in our hotel. We hope that you will return to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Patrick - Reception

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From 130.00 GBP Non member rate
From 123.50 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee

Our other hotels nearby

At 130 m ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile - Hunter Square (new rooms)
ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile - Hunter Square (new rooms) Hotel
From
From 137.00 GBP Non member rate
From 130.15 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 390 m Aparthotel Adagio Edinburgh Royal Mile
Aparthotel Adagio Edinburgh Royal Mile
From
From 149.00 GBP Non member rate
From 134.10 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 640 m Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel
Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel
From
From 146.75 GBP Non member rate
From 132.08 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 790 m ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square Hotel
From
From 125.00 GBP Non member rate
From 118.75 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in EDINBURGH
See rates