Hotel - Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park

Newton Solney 
DE15 0SS  STAFFORDSHIRE
UNITED KINGDOM

426 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 426 reviews
See rates
Best price guarantee
From
From 58.50 GBP Non member rate
From 55.58 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates
Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 15  GBP
  • Fitness centre
  • 100% non-smoking hotel

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • Pet allowed 15  GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Windows from most of our rooms open onto views of the hotel's landscaped gardens. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers.

  • 50 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Crib on request
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Trouser press in room
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • TV room service ordering
    • Crib on request
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our guest reviews for Mercure Burton upon Trent Newton Park

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 426 reviews
TripAdvisor review
Business - 18/09/2017
« Mercure Hotel Burton »

Excellent hotel and Friendly people. Excellent service and its value for money. I have slept well. Cleanliness was spot on. I like the location which quite and calm. Room was neat and clean.So I will book again for my next trip.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Makarand K, Thank you so very much for your kind review. I have to say our beds are super comfy. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. kind regards Wilma

TripAdvisor review
Business - 15/09/2017
« Average »

The rooms are quite old and definitely in need of a refurb. Car park is fine. The breakfast is standard quality. I felt the hotel was quite traditional and could be better by being modernised. I booked it as a Accor member but I would look for something more modern next time.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Usman R Thank you for your review on the hotel. I have read your comments with great interest. The hotel is a grade 2 listed building - so it will never be modern. The furnishing inside are inkeeping with the style of the building and again would never be modern. You obviously prefer the newer hotels. It was a pleasure to have you with us. Wilma

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 11/09/2017
« Excellent »

The Newton Park Hotel is the most beautiful period property and grounds. It is furnished very sympathetically to the building's age. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. We only experienced the breakfast but, in our opinion, it was more than adequate for all tastes. We would certainly use this hotel again when in the area, and would recommend - providing you are not looking for a 'modern block' property.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear John T Thank you so very much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. What pleases me more is that my team made a positive impression on you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future. Kind regards Wilma

TripAdvisor review
DaveF1704 Couples - 09/08/2017
« friendly and welcoming »

Very Friendly Staff and great Service. A Lovely Property , convenient for a large part of the midlands. Being out of town it is very quiet but with good facilities only a short drive away. The breakfast and evening meals were very enjoyable with plenty of choice.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear DaveF1704 Thank you for your very kind words regarding your stay. It makes myself and the team really enjoy what we do when guests take time to write about their experience and to read such a great review. kind regards Wilma

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 19/07/2017
« Beautiful garde, perfect location. »

We had a lovely two nights stay at this hotel, confortable clean room overlooking the flower garden. Very quiet, roomy and light. Staff on all fronts made you feel welcomed. Breakfast was very good, with ample choices. Diner was also worth having. The inside of the hotel which was a mansion is most interesting. Within easy reach of the Arboretum Memorial. Also the very interesting castle in Tamworth and the cathedral in Liechfield.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Sylou45 Thank you so much for your kind words they are very much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind regards Wilma

TripAdvisor review
Family - 15/06/2017
« Comfortable stay »

This hotel is a little dated, everything else very good, cleanliness, delicious breakfast, good food, comphy beds. The staff couldn't do enough for us, especially Zachariah in the dining room, well done.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear fbarlow Thank you for your very kind comments. They are very much appreciated. Zach is a credit to the hotel and a valued member of the team. I am delighted you were able to experience his customer service. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the very near future. Kind regard Wilma

TripAdvisor review
nathansV7232AL Family - 10/05/2017
« left in the past »

The Grounds of the hotel are really nice but inside the room is a different story. unfortunately, the rooms need a total revamp. some sockets in the room did not work. bathroom was really outdated and breakfast for £15.50 was a real let down. stayed for a wedding down the road and the rest of the family who stayed with me all had the same opinion on this accommodation. all in all not worth the £196.00 for 2 nights price and will not be able to reccomend to others.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the hotel. I take on board your comments and I also acknowledge the time you have taken to write a review. Kind regards Wilma

TripAdvisor review
malcolmw275 Couples - 29/03/2017
« WEEKEND BREAK »

Returned to this hotel after many years absence remembering the great location. If we're honest, the service was a bit mixed. Greeting at Reception was polite although somewhat flat (male) giving the impression that it was just a "transaction" rather than pleased to receive us as guests. He said our booking request for a "quiet room" was noted but he could not guarantee quietness as a charity function was taking place until midnight. All he could do was move us to a standard twin room further away (rather than a Privilege room booked and paid for). Therefore a down-grade rather than an up-grade ! As we were going to be out until midnight ourselves it was not too much of a problem but disappointing after a long trip up from London. Size of room was great. Clean, but perhaps a little tired in decor. Also lacked promised robes & slippers so returned to reception to query. A very friendly and pleasant female apologized and provided these to our room within minutes. She also located the tea/coffee/kettle in our room. Why are these items hidden away in a drawer rather than next to the coffee machine which seems more logical ? The shower water was warm rather than hot (at 17:30 hrs on 25/3) but the following morning (0900 hrs) it was nice and hot as you should expect. So it must have been a hot water supply problem rather than the shower itself. Mentioned it on check out and staff promised to look into it. Minor point but why is there no towel rail near the wash basin ? It is located down the far end of the bathroom which seems strange. The bed was very comfortable and got a good nights sleep. Overall, the full English breakfast was very good. However, the buffet section was somewhat depleted (at 09:45hrs when breakfast runs until 10: 30hrs). Fresh fruit was very low, we had to ask for more yogurt. Our hot food was served very promptly but then we found there was no wholemeal bread to toast. We asked the young assistant (who seemed "not wanting to be there" and lacked the ability to smile) and the impression gained was we would be lucky but she would "see what she could do". 6 slices eventually appeared. Suggest the buffet is more closely monitored so things don't run out. What a shame because the dining room has great views ! Check out was fine and the female assistant who dealt with us was very pleasant. Still loved the location and character of buildings/grounds but service was a bit mixed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your very detailed review of your stay with us. Please be assured that your comments have been taken seriously and will be addressed with all of the team concerned Once again thank you for your comments. regards Wilma

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 15/03/2017
« Weekend away »

The hotel may be a little tired but this is more than made up by the staff who are very helpfull, hotel is set in a quiet village and although there was a wedding going on we had a good couple of nights sleep. The hotel is only 15/20 mins drive from the National Arboretum.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am delighted you have a great time. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind regards Wilma

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 31/12/2016
« Not very impressed with this brand! »

We were not told that the more expensive room we booked was directly above a very loud 50th Birthday party The staff were good and helped us once we requested a move to a quieter room The grounds are great but the interior really could do with a refurb Room service- full English breakfast was quite poor and cold I travel a lot for business and pleasure and would probably avoid this brand after my recent experience. On the plus side the manager was very friendly and helpful

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am sorry you were disturbed by other guests celebrating a special occasion. However I am pleased we were able to move you to a quiet room. Thank you once again. Wilma

TripAdvisor review
angelawV5353SV Business - 27/11/2016
« Most Disappointing »

Very, very tired "comfort" rooms last updated in 1985, hole in wall, curtains that entirely covered the radiator, tiny bathroom with 6" between toilet and wall, under filled wine glass from bar, room service loop from room to reception to kitchen to reception - eventually it was easier just to go down to reception to place an order, in the end wished I had driven the 3 hours home. Room service breakfast extortionate at £18 + £5 tray charge. Have stayed in lots of accor hotels (former platinum and now gold member) but unfortunately this was the most disappointing.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear angelawV5353SV Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you left the hotel feeling disappointed. This is not how we like our guests to leave. I have read your comments with interest regarding our pricing and to be honest they are competitively priced within our competition. Kind regards Wilma

TripAdvisor review
Jez1888 Couples - 07/09/2016
« More like 3 star ! »

Keep this short and sweet Room dated we stayed in and were given two single beds for a married couple! But didnt complain just pushed beds together Best part of stay for wedding would be the great staff Always helpfull and a smile when busy Breakfast was poor Make your own hot drinks machine did not work The bacon was well undercooked and no black pudding as advertised And the foreign women in charge very slow on the uptake ! Waited 15 minutes for cup of tea Whole building needs work Outside the grounds very poorly maintained and guttering leaking everywhere due to blockages Stay was ok for one night and wedding But would not stat longer

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Jez1888 Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am so sorry you had such a disappointing stay. Unfortunately when people book a room we never know in advance their marital status, on booking our guests have the option of twin or double rooms, it is their choice which to book. I am so sorry the lack of black pudding and the maintenance of our guttering caused you so much disappointment that you would not return to the hotel. I can honestly say our grounds are well maintained and are attended to by a team of gardeners weekly so I really must dispute that claim. With the regards to my lady in breakfast - she has been with the hotel for many many years, an accomplished author in her own right - travels the world regularly to continue to broaden her knowledge but I am sorry if you felt that during your visit she was "slow on the uptake" I can assure you she is most certainly not. However again please do accept my apologies for the shortcommings you experienced during your stay. Kind regards Wilma

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 20/08/2016
« Friendly and helpful »

All the staff here are friendly and helpful, the food is good and the accommodation clean and fresh. The hotel is well positioned for Derby and most of Staffordshire having fast road connections close by.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear DaveF1704 Thank you for your review on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future. Kind regards Wilma

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 02/08/2016
« Poor »

Stayed here on a Friday night. There was a wedding on so couldn't get to the bar at all because of the number of guests. We ate in the restaurant and the food was shocking . My wife had fish and chips, the batter was a strange colour and you barely cut it. Everyone else in the restaurant was also complaining. Manager was refunding people as they knew it was bad. The room itself was small and dated. Had no shower other than the one you can hold in the bath. When we left nobody asked how our stay was as I suspect they knew the answer. I have no idea how the AA gave this 4 stars but save your money and go elsewhere

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Hotel. Co-incidentally this morning the Manager in question was actually discussing your "complaint" with the rest of the team. I am sorry you had a disappointing experience in the restaurant. I have addressed your issues with the Kitchen and please do accept both mine and their apologies. Again I am truly sorry of the experience you had I can assure you your comments have been taken very seriously. Kind regards Wilma

TripAdvisor review
bruynioli Family - 27/04/2016
« Magnificent hotel and gardens. »

Very pleasant hotel. It was like being a visitor in a stately home.fiendly staff. Nice quiet location. Good food in restaurant. Nice big family room. Good shower. Very pleasant gardens.Would definitely visit again.

TripAdvisor review
Business - 02/03/2016
« The Staff saved our weekend »

Expecting a quiet weekend we were a little shocked at the attitude of some of the wedding guests that were staying that weekend, allowing kids to run riot down corridors, fire escapes and stairs. Saying that some of the adults were acting worse than the kids. Seeing we were not part of the wedding parties, we were asked and gratefully accepted a move to a quite, upgraded room away from all the noise. All the staff went out of there way to make it a real enjoyable weekend for my wife and I, the food was excellent, service exceptional and everyone really friendly. I just felt sorry for the abuse and additional work the staff had to do clearing up the mess of ignorant wedding guests.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear R15wilkinson, Thank you for taking the time to post a review to the TripAdvisor community. I am delighted to read that you had such a great stay and I have shared your comments with the wider hotel team at our morning meeting today who were equally thrilled to read your comments. Thank you once again and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Regards , Raj Singh

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 04/01/2016
« Burton on Trent 2nights stay with Dinner 1st night »

Both my wife and I stayed 2 nights from 26th-28th December 15 with meal on the 1st night and breakfast both mornings. Our 1st room they gave us had a broken window that didn't quite closed so after we mentioned it they moved us to another room which was much better. The hotel was very quiet, I think there was only another couple in the whole hotel, but they made us very welcome and catered for our needs. We had been there before so knew what to expect. The waiter worked tirelessly for our needs and was very pleasant, I think his name was Luke, so would like to thank him very much for making our stay and meal/ breakfast very enjoyable. Booking in and out was a good experience and we enjoyed our stay, thank you. Would recommend.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, your feedback is vital as we strive to improve in our customer service & standards. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that Luke looked after you well. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to him. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope it won't be long before we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future. Happy New Year and Kind Regards Moira Banks

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 03/01/2016
« Mercure Burton Upon Trent Newton Park »

Our welcome and check in was excellent, especially when it turned out I had booked for one person rather than two. This was sorted out quickly and efficiently, with a minimum of fuss. The room was on the small side, out in the wing, but was clean and comfortable. The main hotel building is beautiful and the gardens looked interesting, though we did not spend any time out there in late December. It is a short walk to the village, which has a couple of interesting pubs. My reservations about the place were minor - the cleaning of the dining area had been rushed, with lots of evidence of the Christmas festivities - litter on the floor, discarded cracker gifts and the like. Also we went into breakfast at 9.20, with an advertised finishing time of 9.30, to be ticked off like naughty schoolchildren and told that 'breakfast is nearly over'. Not sure what the point of this was as they were either going to serve us or not - why create bad feeling when breakfast was produced anyway. That said, I guess the staff had worked hard over the holiday and were a bit stressed and I wouldn't let it put me off returning to stay again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am pleased to hear that you would be happy to return. I am sorry that you were did not receive the most welcoming reception at Breakfast, this is not our usual standard and I will ask our Food & Beverage Manager to speak to the individuals concerned. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope it won't be long before we welcome you to the hotel. Happy New Year and Kind Regards Moira Banks

TripAdvisor review
Dfran0503 Couples - 11/09/2015
« Average stay »

The hotel was ok - it was a little dated and tired. Our room was in desperate need for modernisation and we thought that the character of the hotel was so nice but it clearly hadn't been used to it's best advantage. We did feel though that it's niche market was weddings and not day to day guests. I have to say that it wouldn't be a place that I would choose to get married! We had booked for dinner, bed and breakfast. At dinner we did ask twice if there were any limitations on what we could order, twice we were told no. Then the manager came to our table and said that our meals did have limits in terms of cost, just as we were finishing!!! The waitress was pleasant but we did say it wasn't her fault regarding the monetary limits on dinner, she clearly hadn't had the right level of training. Overall, a very average stay in what is marketed as 4 stars!!! It won't be somewhere that we would use again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry there was a communication issue regarding the dinner allowance included in your rate. The waitress was correct in saying there is no limit to what you can choose to eat as instead of restricting the choices or offering a limited TDH menu, we allow guests to choose what they wish to eat from the a la carte menu then deduct the allowance from the bill with the guest paying the difference. We find guests prefer this option as they choose what ever they fancy to eat rather than being restricted to just what is included. Thank you for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

TripAdvisor review
LeClubMember99 Solo travel - 26/08/2015
« I love and hate this hotel »

As a world travelling Accor LeClub member fluctuating between Silver & Platinum, I have always loved this hotel for my regular visit to the village with its traditional style & atmosphere and friendly local staff making up for minor issues from the age of building. But I was initially allocated one of hotel’s worst rooms (112 overlooks rubbish bins & is adjacent to noisy and hot kitchen & laundry, windowless bathroom with inadequate light– unable to see to shave, hole in room floor disguised by thick carpet, etc.) despite being a LeClub Member and others at same price being available. Breakfast has abandoned traditional kippers & the service of toast at tables - I was reprimanded by young ‘waiter’ for eating cereal rather than watching my toast cook very slowly in the poor toaster ('fire risk' – he then stood over me until it was cooked!) Dinner - non wedding party guests made to have dinner in the non-atmosphere make-shift Trent Room, no view outside, steak tough (poor sourcing by hotel), none of our 3 meals were cooked as requested, wine awful, ‘waiter’ not trained in wine service, entire meal over-priced and far inferior to what available on several outstanding ‘pub’ restaurants within 5 mile radius (I recommend you and your 'chef' to dine at the Boot in Repton) - my 2 invited dinner guests were most unimpressed, they were expecting an oak-panelled room and good food and wine. The Credit Card machine invited a gratuity but already included at 10%! I feel Accor & LeClub are of no interest to UK’s Jupiter Hotels - they are letting down Accor where I am used to LeClub recognition and good food, accommodation and service and I would not expect individual guests to be treated as inferior to wedding parties, even if the latter are key to hotel’s financial survival. They do still have some good long-serving staff, such as waitress Nina. I ‘love and hate’ this hotel.'

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with this stay. I have asked my Food & Beverage Manager to look into the problems you encountered. Thank you again for your feedback. Yours sincerely Moira Banks General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From 58.50 GBP Non member rate
From 55.58 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee

Our other hotels nearby

At 4.5 km ibis budget Derby
ibis budget Derby
From
From 38.00 GBP Non member rate
From 36.10 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 22 km Novotel Nottingham Derby
Novotel Nottingham Derby Hotel
From
From 45.00 GBP Non member rate
From 42.75 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in STAFFORDSHIRE
See rates