Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5 37 reviews
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
See on a map
+ 16 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

You have reached the maximum of 6 favourite hotels, please remove one favourite before adding a new one.

Hotel extras

  • Grade II listed building with original features and newly refurbished bedrooms

  • The Goulty restaurant serves locally inspired dishes

  • Nearby famous North Laine and The Lanes shopping districts

  • The Coast View Suite is the ideal backdrop for weddings

  • The famous Bandstand is directly opposite the hotel

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed 15.00 GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • LONDON GATWICK
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Business center with support staff
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

149 Kings Road
BN1 2PP
brighton
united kingdom

Tel: +4401273351012

Fax: (+44)127/3821752

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    LONDON GATWICK At 32.18km / 20 miles - Shuttle paying

  • By train

    BRIGHTON STATION At 2.41km / 1.5 miles

GPS :50.822763, -0.155482

Our accommodations

All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Upgrade to a room with a sea view and air conditioning. In privilege and superior rooms you 'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, robe and slippers.

Classic room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 11
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 14
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic family room for 2 adults and 1 child

  • Max. number of persons: ‌3
  • Area: From 12
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic family room for 2 adults and 2 children

  • Max. number of persons: ‌4
  • Area: From 28
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Privilege room with 1 double bed and sea view

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 13
  • Views: Ocean/Sea view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Superior room with 1 double bed and sea view

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 32
  • Views: Ocean/Sea view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Privilege Room with 1 Double Bed, sea view and balcony

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Views: Ocean/Sea view *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌1
  • Area: From 6
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Compact Room with one double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic adapted room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 12
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Iron
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Our restaurants and bars

THE GOULTY

Type of cuisine: International

The Goulty offers traditional and locally inspired cuisine, delicious desserts and a selection of fine wines to compliment your meal. Offering panoramic sea views, we invite you to have a light snack or a delicious three course meal.

Dinner

18:30 - 21:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

NH BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Enjoy a carefully crafted cocktail and nibbles in the new NH Bar while checking your social media with complimentary WiFi access. Offering a range of wines, beers, gins and afternoon tea with fizz, you can sit back and relax until you are ready to leave.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 190 m²

  • Maximum capacity: 200 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 150 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 3.6/5

4,767 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

37 reviews

Ok

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Sazal Couples - 18/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Ambience of the hotel is fantastic is really good rooms are really beautiful thanks for the up gradation as well but staff is not cautious on the phone the refused to take in room dining order straight away by sayin chef is busy in preparation of ballroom function than some one came to take order on the door nex day breakfast was awful even the tea and coffe served was cold as ice . Front office staff dosent know about the places we can rome around famous brighton tourist points rest love to saty as the view from the room was hilarious loved it beautiful property but staff need to be bit courteous and why i am saying this because i am a hotelier to.

Dear Sazal S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I am sorry we did not impress you especially when you were celebrating a birthday and we gave you a complimentary upgrade to a sea view room. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Could have been better

Customer review rating 3.6/5

H C. Couples - 18/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Not the best,no offer of help with our suitcases and bags on check in lift was not operating so it would have been nice.Customer service was lacking and breakfast was a shambles every morning staff really need to trained properly.

Dear Hayley C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

very helpful staff

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Mike C. Couples - 17/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Nice room, comfortable bed, good breakfast - good location on the seafront Unfortunately being disabled the lift was a go-slow at the back of the hotel (sometimes 5 minutes)

Dear Linda C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Sorry about the issue with the lift. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Nice experience

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Lynn Couples - 15/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Liked the new decor lovely friendly staff

Dear Lynn D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We have rooms with bath however they are not sea view rooms. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Lovely stay

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Leandro Z. Solo - 15/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Hotel is very well decorated. My single room was small, but very comfortable and clean. Members of staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful.

Dear Leandro Z., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Not a business hotel

Customer review rating 3.6/5

M S. Couples - 14/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Had problems with wifi in my room and had to sit on the stairs to get a decent signal. I wanted to get 2 items printed but Reception neither got my email nor had a usb stick for me to copy the documents.

Dear Martin s., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I will have the routers checked around 412 as there should not be an issue with WIFI. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Not as good as it might have been.

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Ian B. Couples - 14/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

All was acceptable except the strange manner of decisions as to when diner was being served in the evenings which we found most off putting!

Dear Ian B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. The dinner times given were due to have other pre-booked commitments on food service. Similar to a restaurant being fully boked at particular times. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

mr pritesh A.

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Pritesh Business - 14/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

the stay was extremely disappointing, i was put in a room on the first floor which had a window that looked out onto a wall. the temperature in the room was over 25 degrees and the outlook out of the window was extremely dirty. i have pictures which i would like to send to you.

Dear Pritesh A., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Looking at your profile you booked on the day on a busy period. Initially you were allocated room 100 and after not being happy with this room you were moved to 164. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Not bad but could be better

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Dave B. Business - 14/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Nice room (great upgrade !) friendly helpful staff but breakfast - - -

Dear David B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Your tea or coffee should have been served once the team have seated you. Sorry if this did not happen and I will discuss with the supervisor. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

stay in Brighton

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Anonymous Couples - 14/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Efficient check-in and check-out. Interesting building. Comfortable and roomy twin bedroom

Dear George W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Perfect hotel for Brighton sea front.

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Beverley B. Couples - 13/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We had a one night stay here as a gift. Location is very good, the staff were friendly and helpful and our room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was ok but it would have been much better with more choice of fresh fruit and pastries and maybe cheese or cold meat as part of a continental choice.

Dear Martin B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Pleasant room and surroundings

Customer review rating 3.6/5

D P. W. Business - 13/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Room, facilities and general surroundings were pleasant, with good service from staff. Only let down by the fact that the shower drainage was partially blocked.

Dear Daniel W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Mr K.

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Brighton O. B. S. Business - 13/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Hotel was fine, reception good, room good, dining room needs improving

Dear Brendan Michael K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your S. at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Breakfast Service Awful

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Kim M Couples - 13/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

Firstly, lift had signage informing of being very ‘slow’, but we eventually gave up waiting and had to carry luggage up the stairs. Minor irritant that the TV remote did not work, but had to phone reception twice before having it replaced. Main complaint was the restaurant! Arrived for breakfast just before 9am and the restaurant was not at all busy, but all tables were still cluttered from the previous diners use. Had to ask and then wait ages before a table was cleared and prepared for us, then wait again for breakfast to be replenished, and yet again for clean bowls and plates. All in all, very unsatisfactory and disappointing!

Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast which will be fully investigated. There was a major conference in town over your stay dates and the delegates would have just left before your arrival at breakfast. However we should have been able to quickly clear a table for you. I am sorry breakfast was not to your satisfaction.

OK but overpriced for what you get

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Lee Couples - 11/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

I have stayed at many hotels in the Accor group, this is the only hotel that when the drinks voucher was received we were told it cannot be used for an alcoholic drink (how petty is this). The room itself was nice but very cold and the heating didn't make any difference. On checkout we were told that the invoice would be emailed which we are still waiting for.

Dear Carl S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I have just checked your profile and as a Le Club member you should get an alcoholic drink. I will speak to the bar team to ensure they are fully aware of the complimentary drinks offer. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager
Customer review rating 3.6/5

Anonymous Friends - 11/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The staff are great! Really appreciated their care!

Dear Jon-Michael H., Thanks for the 100% we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Underwhelming experience

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Jacob Business - 10/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

I have expected more from 4 stars and from Mercury! IBIS by the station beats you by a country mile in customer service and quality.

Dear Hugo C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Good decor, Great breakfast, tiny room

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Chris Couples - 10/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Good decor, Great breakfast, tiny room

Dear Christopher W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Being an old building we have various sizes of rooms and it depends on the category booked to the allocation of room. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Ok for very short stays!!

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Mark Couples - 10/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Before I start I would just like to say that I always try and give positive reviews and always look for the best in everything and realise that not everything is perfect. I have stayed in Mercure hotels before and found then pretty good,but The Mercure at Brighton was awful. Room(301) was very cramped,very stuffy and hot,and a very weird room layout.No Wardrobe,just a free standing unit with shelves that was dumped by the side of the room,just looked out of place!..My wife placed her black cardigan on one of the shelves and when she took it off was covered in dust.No Iron was provided, the safe didnt work.Even by basic room standards this was awful, £18 a night for parking is ridiculous!! Sorry Mercure got to mark you down for this one.You need to make this charge clear on sites such as Booking.com etc. Overall very disappointed,great location,poor value for money,just need to get the basics right.Would not stay at this hotel again or recommend it

Dear Mark T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. The parking is limited and the cheapest of all seafront hotels in the city. The price is on the Booking.com site and I am sorry that you did not pick this up when booking. We have various sizes of rooms depending on the room type booked. Room 301 has just been refurbished and I apologise you do not like the open plan wardrobe. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager

Hotel was untidy and the room smelt of damp.

Customer review rating 3.6/5

Chris Business - 10/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

I appreciate this isn't a JW level hotel but outside of my room were empty bottles (in the corridor) and my room smelt fusty/damp - when I told reception, they had no other rooms and instead sent housekeeping to 'spray' some odor eliminator which was poor. Also, the window couldn't be locked. I also found the food average at best.

Dear Chris T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Iain Lindsay General Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in brighton