Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5 2,023 reviews
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
See on a map
+ 15 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

You have reached the maximum of 6 favourite hotels, please remove one favourite before adding a new one.

Hotel extras

  • Located just two miles outside the city centre

  • 200-yards from a park and ride shuttle service

  • Fully-equipped gym at the Feel Good Health Club

  • Discounted tickets available for Chester Zoo

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 200 guests

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 8 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Whitchurch Road
Christleton
CH3 5QL
chester
united kingdom

Tel: +4401244250012

Fax: (+44)1244/333437

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • CHESTER :   CHESTER

  • By plane

    LIVERPOOL J LENNON At 40.23km / 25 miles

  • By train

    CHESTER At 3.38km / 2.1 miles

GPS :53.185516, -2.848045

Our accommodations

All bedrooms feature an HD LED TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Most rooms offer views of the hotel courtyard and there is a choice of interconnecting rooms for families.In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, ne wspaper, robe and slippers.

Compact room with one double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 13
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic family room for 2 adults and 1 child

  • Max. number of persons: ‌3
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic family room for 2 adults and 2 children

  • Max. number of persons: ‌4
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Privilege room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Classic adapted room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Superior suite with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • TV room service ordering(...)

Our restaurants and bars

THE BRASSERIE

Type of cuisine: Brasserie

The hotel's friendly, professional team make sure dishes from the The Brasserie Menu are served just the way you like. Order afternoon tea with scones and tempting snacks from the lounge menu, or take advantage of room service 24 hours a day.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

THE BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

The Club bar offers a range of wines, beers, spirits and soft drinks with helpful and experienced bar staff to ensure that you have everything you need. Light meals are available in the bar allowing you to continue relaxing.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 8

  • Maximum size: 122 m²

  • Maximum capacity: 100 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 90 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 3.9/5

4,782 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

2,023 reviews

Disappointing : nice hotel and location let down by staff

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Roger A. Couples - 09/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Nice hotel in a good location. Clean and comfortable room. Spa was quite nice although the jacquzzi wasn’t working. However what let this all down was the staff. Very few smiles on show. Restaurant service was very poor. Handed menu but no offer of drinks until meal ordered. Waitress took order but didn’t write it down. Restaurant wasn’t busy but starters took a little too long to arrive. When our main courses arrived a side order of onion rings was missing but an extra peppercorn sauce was delivered. When we asked about the onion rings Waitress apologised and said they’de be a second. She continued to bring meals for other diners. They finally arrived as we’d almost finished our meal. I complained to the waitress and she agreed to not charge for them. At no time were we asked about our meal. We noted that other diners had problems with their food too. When our bill arrived we’d been charged for the extra peppercorn sauce which was removed. There seemed to be only two people covering the restaurant and they we’re frequently absent due to having to go to the bar for drinks or kitchen for food so weren’t observing diners or available for requests. At breakfast little explanation was given to guests as to the location of things such as the bread and toaster which were away from the main buffet area. Was very disappointed that hot drinks were DIY and not served to table. The male staff on duty were much better at explaining things to diners than the young girls who were probably temps but I would suggest need a bit of customer service training. I had to get new batteries for the tv r/c . Receptionist was very help and got a screwdriver and batteries and set about fixing things. I was conscious another guest was waiting next to me. Despite two other members of staff. Flitting about the back office and three times coming to the desk to collect paperwork none of them acknowledged the other guests presence so as the girl serving me was having trouble with the batteries I said I’d do so that she could serve the other guest. Who commented that he had felt.invisible!! And finally my wife noticed that “ Liqour coffee was sold here” according to a sign on the bar. I asked the barman what one of those was? He said “oh a liqueur coffee sir” when I suggested the spelling was incorrect he explained at first it wasn’t he who had written it . But later said it was correctly spelled! In conclusion better trained staff, who should be encouraged to smile and be more guest focused and it would be a really nice place to stay

Satisfactory stay, slightly disappointed with facilities

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Mr S. Couples - 09/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Room was a nice size and clean, only bad points were the pool facilities, when we used them, the sauna, steam room and hot tub were out of order, one or the main reasons I booked this hotel over other ones was the swimming pool facilities, so this was slightly disappointing, as it was at 10:00 AM the morning we were leaving when we found out about this and we had to check out at 12:00 so didn’t have time to wait for the hot tub to ‘cool down’ as we were told it was too hot, as for the sauna and steam room we were not informed as to what was wrong with them

Updating required

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Roy Couples - 09/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Stayed 2 nights.Room was constantly hot.Only 1 window would open.The fan provided did not function properly.On the final morning in the breakfast room staff had rock music blasting out.When I requested the volume be turned down,the attitude of the staff member who turned it down in a temper was disgraceful.Surely a bit of background music is sufficient at breakfast.I got the impression that the music was for the benefit of staff.

Very poor, tired facilities and under staffed

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Andrew H. Couples - 08/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Arrived to find note on reception 'back in 5 mins' - had to wait to check in. Superior/privilege room was identical to standard rooms just with the addition of aircon, a nespresso machine and bath robes and looked nothing like the photos on the website. Bar staff were also manning reception which was not ideal. Drinks were expensive. One lady bought two drinks but the lemonade syrup had run out in the second. She came back to have it swapped - bar person tried it and agreed it was wrong - then went off the find the manager to sort it our. 20 mins later the poor lady was still waiting for her new drink. Toilet cistern dripped all night. Issue with thermostat on shower - became too hot - turned water off to try to adjust and could not get a drop of water out of the shower thereafter. With hair full of shampoo this was particularly unhelpful. Overall a terrible experience

Lovely room and food, shame about the spa.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Sam Friends - 08/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We booked a one night stay including dinner, breakfast and spa access. The room was lovely and the food was fantastic! We were looking forward to spending time in the spa but we’re very disappointed! The hot tube and steam room were out of action and we do understand that things happen but some prior warning would have been good. There were also swimming lessons happening in the pool which was fine but again prior warning would have been good as we could have altered the order of our plans and used the spa on Friday rather than Saturday.

Mrs

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Carol S. Couples - 07/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

ROOM WAS CLEAN BUT HOT UNCOMFORTABLE AT NIGHT (was glad of the fan). Breakfast was a bit chaotic, no welcome or explanation (hot drinks machine)get your own & be seated. Tables not cleaned or refreshed food in a timely manner. Staff seemed a bit shell shocked, think they had just been extra busy with a coach party. KEVIN (maintenance man) was great, he seemed to be working & attentive), We were also disappointed with the eve meal, my cauliflower starter was inedible, main course, fish pie so devoid of fish and v small portion with 3 pieces of carrot. I had a pear for dessert. Our deal was sold at up to 3 courses for £22. Not so, your menu is for 2 courses only. Head of housekeeping was luvly but the star of your staff is definately Kevin. Thankyou

Dear Carol s., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I was sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your meal in the restaurant and was concerned to read that you were sold 3 courses for £22.00 If you can let me know further information on this and who sold it to you so that we can ensure that the correct information is being given out for our guests. Thank you for lovely comments regarding Kevin and Nikoletta I will ensure they receive the recognition and praise. Please do let me know if i can be of any assistance now or in the future. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

Pleasant stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Lauren Couples - 06/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Our stay at the hotel was good. All of the staff we spoke to were lovely and helpful. The room was cosy and was nice to sleep in. The only thing that bothered us was the room temperature, especially the next morning whilst trying to get dressed. It was really really hot and even whilst the windows were open, it wouldn’t cool down, making it quite uncomfortable. Above this, everything else was great and we would recommend the hotel to others.

Dear Lauren M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am sorry you found the room to be hot. I am sorry that we do not have air conditioning in all our rooms. There are options for a upgraded room with air conditioning at the upgraded price of £20.00 per night. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

Another great stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Robert E. Couples - 05/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

When we arrived we had a wonderful welcome from Richard although it was very late, in fact, more like the early hours of the morning . Romeo looked after our room and was so pleasant and kind and didn’t mind us taking our time and going out from my room rather late the next morning, even though we had made our bed when we returned that night it had all been redone in the proper manner, obviously our standard wasn’t up to his !!! Thank you for that. Our check out the following morning was swift and Paula was so helpful and cheery as we went on our way . We joked with the other receptionist as her name badge had ‘Training ‘ written on it and we teased her !! We look forward to returning to see you all again .

Dear Robert E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you so much for recognition of Richard, Paula and Romeo they will be delighted that you are so happy with their service. I will ensure that they receive the proper recognition. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

Comfortable and enjoyable

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Sarah B. Families - 02/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The receptionist who booked us in had lovely interpersonal skills. I mentioned my birthday and the next day our room had Swan towels and a birthday card. The room was hot despite the new tower fan and the floors were very noisy. Bed and pillows were comfy.

Dear Sarah B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am so glad that you enjoyed our birthday celebrations with us and congratulations to you. I am glad that you enjoyed your quality of sleep but was sorry to read that you had found the room too hot for your comfort. We do have some rooms with air conditioning which are available in our privilege rooms for upgraded price of £20.00 per room per night. If you need any assistance with with room allocation for the future please do let me know Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

Exactly as expected, a very nice hotel

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Fay Solo - 02/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, although I missed my porridge. Perhaps it was my fault. I never asked for any. Hotel room was spacious and the bed comfortable, but I found the pillows a bit hard.

Dear Fay H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

Hot day, cool room

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Derek M. Couples - 02/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Another visit, this time a friends birthday in town. Oh so glad the room had air con on one of the warmest day's of the summer so far.

Dear Derek M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a lovely time celebrating birthdays for your visit Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

Friendly & competent staff but Hotel not up to standard

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

JohnMcCheshire Couples - 02/07/2019 TripAdvisor review

Staff very helpful & friendly at reception.Thankfully we got an upgrade to a Privilege room because the Classic rooms we saw on the same floor looked very tired indeed & smaller!. The bed was a little tired so not great as we have a firm mattress. Room was small for the non refundable price pad with only just enough room to walk around the bed. TV did not work on several channels due to "no HDMI connection" whatever that means. Chester was very hot and air con would only turn down to 18C & duvet was winterweight. Shower worked before we went out for dinner but only gave tepid to cool water BUT following morning it would not work at all so we filled the bath. The shower came on while in bath then would not turn off. Breakfast was worse than a greasy spoon with hot plates of overcooked sausage & bacon and congealed fried eggs. Why not scrambled eggs. Make your own toast tea/coffee in a machine with the most foul orange juice. Not a word spoken by breakfast room staff apart from "room number". Only stayed here because of points BUT I am now complaining to Head Office because they stripped my points despite being told that it was the booking date which was the deadline for not losing over 2000 Loyalty points!! Shocking and very poor value especially as the taxi fare into Chester is £5.10 plus tip and black cab back £7.20

Dear JohnMcCheshire Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for commenting with regards to your stay. I am glad that you took the opportunity to upgrade to a privilege room and enjoyed the facilities there in. The smaller rooms you may be referring to our Compact doubles which are at a significantly lower price bracket than the larger classic room. I will certainly get the TV looked at in your room, and I believe may be just an rebooting of the channels on that particular TV. I was very sorry indeed to read your comments regarding breakfast and this is certainly something we have been working with our team to improve. I was very surprised to read your comments on the orange juice, this is served fresh daily. We will of course cook scrambled eggs should you so wish. We do not have it on the buffet as a standard though. I'm not entirely sure with regards to your Le Club points and your comments. Perhaps you can call me or email me and I can look into this for you. There are other options with regards to transport and there is a park and ride not far from the hotel at all if you wish to use an alternative options to taxi to get into town. With kind regards Catherine

good enough for a overnight stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Lorraine R. Couples - 01/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

room was comfortable , clean , and what you would expect for this type of hotel , leisure facilties were good and enjoyable , only complaint would be the breakfast , eggs brick hard , lying there for far to long and black pudding , couldnt be lifted out the dish for being so hard for once again lying to long .nobody bothering to check the state of the breakfast

Dear Lorraine r., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am sorry to read your comments on the breakfast and will certainly looking at that closely to ensure we are keeping it fresh and appetizing. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

Poor quality and poor service

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Claire T. Solo - 01/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Disappointing. I appreciate the room was cheap but the room was very hot with no air conditioning and was told there were no fans and I couldn't change. TV didn't work at all as said no signal and again went to reception. Told someone would come and fix it but no one came at all so had no TV for whole of stay as gave up asking for things. Reception and dining room nice and modern but bedrooms and corridors old and dated.

Dear Claire T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. I am so sorry to read that the TV wasn't working in your room and certainly not something that we have experienced issues with and I can only imagine that this was a individual issues. I am sorry that this was not brought to my attention so that i could have a look at it for you personally. I do realize that yes we do not have air conditioning in all our rooms and can be very hot if really warm day outside. We do have air conditioning available in our privilege rooms for comfort at an upgraded price of £20.00 per night. I would like to rectify this for you and to that end as a gesture of goodwill i would like to offer you a complimentary return nights stay with breakfast in one of the upgraded privilege rooms. This offer is available for six months and I hope very much you will be able to take me up on this offer and enjoy your return stay. Please do let me know your thoughts. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

Pleasant stay in a lovely room, clean with a comfortable bed, friendly staff.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Hp Business - 01/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Overnight business trip. Room was lovely, clean with a comfortable bed. Shower was lovely and hot. The room was extremely hot but a fan was provided in the room.

Dear Hema P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay and I'm sorry that the room was too hot for your liking. We have privilege rooms available for and upgraded price of £20.00 for air conditioning so please do let us know if you would like to book one of these rooms in the future Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

An enjoyable overnight stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Steve, E. Y. Couples - 01/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

My wife and I had an enjoyable one night stay at the hotel last week and we would happily stay again. The staff on reception and in the bar were welcoming and the experience overall was very good. We didn't have time to use the leisure facilities unfortunately. The location close to a regular park and ride bus route into Chester was also very convenient.

Dear Steve H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding the reception and bar teams they will be delighted to read them Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

Business stay over of 5 nights

Customer review rating 3.9/5

S W. Business - 30/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Clean room but tired hotel generally particularly corridors to bedrooms and bedrooms themselves, and brasserie area.

Dear Mr W. I very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback and I will share your comments with my team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I note your comments regarding corridor and the brasserie in particular and would like to reassure you we are working our way through priorities as quickly as we can to make improvements across the hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Catherine Holmes General Manager

Not up to the standard I expected

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Gt Couples - 30/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Was dissapointed in the condition of the room .Stayed during the hot spell and no air conditioning only a small fan Not much choice for the continental breakfast Poor shower pressure and water not always hot. Receptionist did say she would check the boiler and get back to us but didn't receive the feedback Stayed on a Virgin experience which s a retirement award from my company. I wouldn't recommend to anyone

Dear Gail T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. I am sorry if the rooms were too hot for you and completely understand your perspective and I'm so sorry if there was any issues with the hot water and certainly this is a very rare occasion. We do have privilege rooms with air conditioning available for and upgraded price of £20.00. I am really sorry that you are dissapointed and as a gesture of goodwill would like to invite you back for a complimentary two nights stay with breakfast and dinner on the first night in one of our privilege rooms. This offer is valid for a period of six months and is subject to availability. I do hope that you will be able to take me up on this offer and would like to come back and experience the hotel I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

hotel is a little tired and needs updating but front desk staff are very good and helpful

Customer review rating 3.9/5

John M. Couples - 30/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The Privilege room we got was small but adequate but it does require updating. The shower would only deliver cold water in the evening but in the morning it would not work at all until I filled the bath tub then it came on but only worked sporadically. The TV had no HDMI connection so unable to watch all channels. As a silver member I got 2 x free drink vouchers which I tried to use for 2 x gin & tonics BUT altho` I could use for the tonic any spirits or "fine" wines were not possible or beers. The corridors were not air conditioned so very very hot due to flat roof. We had booked a classic room but got upgraded so I dare not think what the room booked would have been like. Front desk staff quite good. Breakfast was disappointing and not value for money as coffee machine only delivered black coffee no latte or cappuccino. Fried eggs (old) + sausages & bacon which had seen better days on hot plate, fruit juice of dubious provenance

Dear John M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I will certainly be looking at the water pressure issues you have experienced and thank you for bringing this to my attention. I was dissapointed to read that you were not happy with the free drinks vouchers that we gave to you as part of your membership. We certainly do provide what is stated on the voucher which is 175ml of wine, beer or soft drink. I'm sorry that you were dissatisfied or have received alternative drinks in different hotels which i cannot comment on I'm afraid as the standard we have provided you is what is on the voucher. We have we waiting a couple of week for a new coffee machine to arrive so we hope to get this installed imminently and will rectify the comments you have made with regards to the coffee at breakfast. We are as a whole revamping lots of different areas and we are focusing on our breakfast offering and reinvigorating this to make it more appealing and appetizing. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Please do let me know if you stay again and I will ensure that you are looked after personally. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager

Very shabby and poor communication

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Annoymous Couples - 30/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Part of a wedding party and the guest rooms were on the other side of the hotel to the bride so made getting ready difficult Room was very shabby (355) and one of the worst showers I've ever used, took ages to get the water at a usable temperature. The carpets around the hotel are threadbare and old, not really worth the price of the room. And we had a discounted price aswell, I would have been very upset if I had paid the full price. Couldn't open the window because the noise from the buildings air conditioning was so loud so the room was very very warm Had an email from a manager asking how the stay was, I replied asking questions and had no response, why email asking for feedback if no one is monitoring the replies? Breakfast buffet was average and much of it had been sitting out for while and was quite dry The wedding itself was lovely and I have based my review on solely the room and the fact I heard nothing back regarding my email.

Dear Leanne C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am so sorry to read that you were dissapointed with your stay and that you were allocated away from the bride. We do have many different room types and family room and all kinds of rooms available both with air conditioning and without. If guests are part of the wedding party we do generally allocate the rooms close to the function area of the hotel. I am so sorry but I have not aware of any direct communication with regards to previous correspondence and I do answer anything that is sent to me. I have come into the hotel today to ensure that I've kept up with all my guests responses and i'm very passionate about providing service. Please can you advise which email address you used? I believe i looked after the wedding on the day of the 22nd for Carla and John and would have happily discussed anything you needed to personally as i was working at the time of your stay if you experienced any issues I would have tried to help you. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes General Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in chester