Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel 3 stars

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5 794 reviews
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
See on a map
+ 18 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Within 1.5 miles of Horwich Parkway station

  • On-site swimming pool, jacuzzi, spa and gym facilities

  • Bolton town centre is located just 5 miles away

  • Located within one mile of the Reebok stadium

  • Nine function rooms for up to 300 guests

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Hairdressing salon
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Well-being
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 10 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

Manchester Road
Blackrod
BL6 5RU
bolton
united kingdom

Tel: +4401942330012

Fax: (+44)194/2816026

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    MANCHESTER INTL At 48.28km / 30 miles

  • By train

    HORWICH PARKWAY At 2.74km / 1.7 miles

  • By train

    HORWICH PARKWAY STN At 2.74km / 1.7 miles

GPS :53.576499, -2.560394

Our accommodations

All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. Rooms at the back of the hotel offer lovely views over the West Pennine Moors. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slipp ers.

Classic room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 195
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Classic room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 199
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk

Classic family room for 2 adults and 2 children

  • Max. number of persons: 4
  • Area: From 267
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Classic room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Area: From 172
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Privilege room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 355
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone
  • Bathrobe

Superior suite with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 296
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Business Desk
  • Direct dial telephone

Our restaurants and bars

BRASSERIE RESTAURANT

Type of cuisine: International

The Brasserie Restaurant offers traditional and internationally inspired cuisine, delicious desserts and a selection of fine wines to complement your meal in a relaxed atmosphere for an enjoyable dining experience.

Dinner

18:30 - 21:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

The Bar

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

The Bar offers a range of wines, beers, cocktails, spirits and soft drinks with helpful and experienced bar staff to ensure that you have everything you need. Light meals are available in the bar allowing you to continue relaxing.

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 10

  • Maximum size: 453

  • Maximum capacity: 275 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 240 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 3.9/5

1,789 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

794 reviews

mr terence C.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Terence Couples - 14/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Excellent greeting from receptionist Standard double had four poster bed Everywhere was clean and well maintained I would have given a 10 but although my egg at breakfast was cooked to order, I am not a fan of buffet style breakfast as the bacon & black pudding was dried out.

Dear Terence C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I did note your comment on Breakfast and I have asked the guys to rotate this more when we are quiet. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Lovely time

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Liam K. Friends - 13/10/2019 AccorHotels review

We had a lovely time. Room was nice and clean. Shower was nice and hot. Dinner was lovely. The breakfast was okay... There were several points where food wasn't available (eggs) and it was a bit expensive for what you got, but we did like how late it went on until.

Dear Liam K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Dirty

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Alex Business - 11/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Lovely friendly person at reception. Room itself was showing its age. Torn carpet, raised carpet, torn duvet cover, extraction fan in bathroom not working made a high pitched noise instead. Lights falling if wall in room. Room itself was dusty, silicone in bathroom had lots of black mold.

Dear Alexander C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I will pass on your comments to the housekeeper as "dirty" is not normal feedback for us. We appreciate your sharing your feedback and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

I had a pleasant 3 night stay in this hotel

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Keith G. Business - 11/10/2019 AccorHotels review

The room was a good size & bed was comfortable. It has a good size gym & breakfast was good.

Dear Keith G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I did note you comments about your LeClub recognition and I will follow that up with the reception manager as that is not like us! Thank you for highlighting this to me. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager
Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Couples - 09/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Comfortable hotel.Event catering excellent.Breakfast and brasserie food average.

Dear Janice F., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Friendly helpful staff

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Couples - 08/10/2019 AccorHotels review

No problems but an observation that staff could not maintain supply for demand at breakfast. When asked to replenish bread, pastries, hot water and other items this was done but the breakfast experience was very disorganized.

Dear Anne E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I also noted you comment about breakfast and I have shared that with the chef and manager on duty. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Extremely noisy room and awful mattress

Customer review rating 3.9/5

M H. Solo - 08/10/2019 AccorHotels review

I had a dreadful room with a window overlooking a very noisy wedding disco. I had to open the window as tge heeting was so high in the room. I also had a mattress with springs that dug into my hips and was so bouncy I had to hold on to stop rolling off.

Dear Margaret H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Most of our beds are new but your feedback has reminded me we had a number of single beds left to replace and I will use your feedback to chase that along. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in a new bed in the near future. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Disappointed with overall experience

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Couples - 08/10/2019 AccorHotels review

While the breakfast was OK, we and other guests had to point our that some of the food options and cutlery had run out. The bed was comfortable enough and staff were pleasant, but there were lots of shortcomings. The room itself was cramped, with the wardrobe doors obstructing both the bathroom and room doors when open, not least because they didn't fold back all the way (sliding doors would have improved this). The shower didn't always work and the bathroom itself was very dated and would definitely have benefited from refreshing the decor as a minimum (part of the wall was patched up poorly). Lighting was poor, especially when preparing for a wedding. There was no safe in the room. One of the two sockets next to the TV was broken. Overall we expected far better from a Mercure hotel, at the prices charged! The next page does not cover these problems. We booked the hotel as it offered a reduction for one night for wedding guests.

Dear Angela C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I did not you comments around the bedroom and I will pass that on to the owners to encourage further investment. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in a new bed in the near future. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Dissapointing

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Me Business - 07/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Room key wouldn't work and eating at the restaurant for my evening meal was a terrible experience

Dear Nicola D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I will be passing on your comments to the Chef as it is not like him or his team and I know he will address this in a positive manor. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Relaxing

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Couples - 06/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Very relaxing and a super breakfast

Dear Colin K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

dissapointed

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Oana Business - 03/10/2019 AccorHotels review

During my stay, in the morning I got to breakfast at 9.30 sharp. How 9.30 it was the hour of closure, the servers were rude and were almost screaming at me that is already closed twice! I was perplex! I went directly at the reception and complain by showing the hour of arrival. I understand that you close at 9.30, but seen that I arrived exactly at this hour, all the food was onto the tables and the servers were speaking with the people that were into the room eating, just one mean character can do this... What can I say more! I regret choosing this hotel!

Dear Oana Z., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Very often closing times are for a reason but it is unlike us not to offer an alternative such as Breakfast to order in the lounge and I will follow this up with the team. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Poor staff

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Guest Couples - 30/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Not good staff at 11pm surly

Dear Peter P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I will follow up on your comment of poor staff as that is what we normally get praised on. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Great customer service

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

Mtpleasant1 Family - 30/09/2019 TripAdvisor review

Arrived 745am but allowed us into the room for a £20 surcharge. Good value. We were staying 2 nights and we knew that on the morning of our departure it would be too early for breakfast. They kindly allowed us to have a breakfast on the day of check in instead . The boy on reception was definately on the "right bus"

Dear Mtpleasant1, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bolton Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share that with Ashley (The boy on reception) and the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience and I hope that you give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Miss

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Sylvia S. Solo - 26/09/2019 AccorHotels review

As always staff extremely helpful and polite. Just a 1 night stay this time. The food I had in the evening was chicken and bacon sandwich with chips. I nearly broke my teeth on the chicken. It was awful. The bar staff changed my meal for chicken tikka , which was very nice. Maybe they could have gone the extra mile and asked a manager to give me a refund?

Dear Sylvia S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I will be passing on your comments to the chef. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Weekend away in lovely hotel.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Dinah S. Couples - 25/09/2019 AccorHotels review

A really lovely hotel with such pleasant helpful staff. Had a superior room which was very comfortable and clean. Enjoyed our nespressso coffee.

Dear Dinah S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Disappointing

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5

danielscottgriffiths Couples - 25/09/2019 TripAdvisor review

Staff are very good, food had issues, room was dirty, we pointed out issues with food on 1st night and staff went the extra mile on the 2nd night, but with the other issues we had still made it feel that the birthday weekend trip for my partner got spoilt

Dear Daniel, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Bolton Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback both good and bad and I will share that with the team. Please accept our apologies the food did not live up to our usual standard on the first night but I was pleased to read the team restored this on night two Thank you again for sharing your experience and I hope that you give us another opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

Not good value for money

Customer review rating 3.9/5

A S. Couples - 24/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Our room was large but dated and far too hot. The bathroom had peeling paint, disintegrating sealant and stained towels. There was only one socket in the room - under a desk, making it difficult to access. We had to wait 45 minutes for our lunch of a burger and a toasted sandwich despite there being no one else in the bar. The food was okay when it finally arrived but overpriced. On a positive note, breakfast was good. We paid over £150 pounds for one night including lunch and early check in. I don't think we'll be returning in a hurry.

Dear Anna S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-S. General Manager

Noisy and not honoured promise of refund

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Fiona B. Business - 24/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Noisy on forst night - I moved rooms in the early hours and promised refund which has not yet materialised. Also promised £22 to use in restaurant by Lewis which also did not materialise.

Dear Fiona B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Lewis the guest care manager is going to call you today to explain what we have refunded as we cannot refund a pre purchased stay's as of the T&C's. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

One night stay

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Dr J. P. Couples - 20/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Pleasant hotel, close to where I want3d to be. Used the pool. Convenient for the M6. Difficult to use Accor Points at the hotel. Late check-out not available but upgrade provided (Gold status member).

Dear John P., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I did note your comment around the points and I will follow that up with My head receptionist. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager

One of the best.

Customer review rating 3.9/5

Anonymous Couples - 12/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Very relaxing. Brilliant staff and great service. Fantastic facilities.

Dear Ian B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Eric Spencer-Smith General Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in bolton