Hotel - Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
section.presentation.hotel.accorhotels
Mercure Hotel

Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Portland Street 
M1 4PH  MANCHESTER
UNITED KINGDOM

2,951 reviews
TripAdvisor Rating Based on 2,951 reviews
See rates
Best price guarantee
From
From 63.75 GBP Non member rate
From 60.56 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates
Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services in the hotel and nearby

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air Conditioning
  • Reception open 24 hours a day

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air Conditioning
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge

Catering

  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 13 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

All bedrooms are climate-controlled and feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers. Treat yourself to a top-floor superior room where you'll find an interconnecting lounge with sofa, desk, additional television and city centre views. Four poster rooms are also available.

  • 280 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Air conditioning
    • Emergency exit map
    • Trouser press in room
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Manual temperature control
    • High speed transmission line
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Sprinkler in room
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our guest reviews for Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 2,951 reviews
TripAdvisor review
Business - 07/08/2017
« Solid city centre hotel »

Good location in Piccadilly Gardens, 5 minutes from the station and right in the centre of the city. Room was acceptable though did feel a little tired in places. Good views however, and room was clean. Internet was quick in the bar/restaurant, but quite slow upstairs during 'peak' hours. Breakfast was good and included in the room rate (at £70 per night, decent value). Only other comment is that the lifts were a bit frustrating- on some days only 2 were working, when there are 14 floors it meant quite a wait to get down in the morning. I had dinner in the bar one night and the food was excellent, very nice freshly cooked fish and chips which were reasonably priced. Overall I'd stay again- functional and good value which met most my needs, but no more than this.

TripAdvisor review
Dan C Couples - 27/07/2017
« Very Good »

Had to visit my home city of Manchester and had always known of this hotel due to its extremely central location. Asked for a room overlooking g Picadilly Gardens and the request was granted. The room was clean and tidy and all facilities worked as they should so no complaints there. The lady checking us in was polite, helpful and fully explained everything. We did not eat in the restaurant but did go to the bar which is spacious and has a similar fantastic view of the skyline and expansive Windows. Parking at the hotel was superb and I had no problem finding the car park, but again I do know the city like the back of my hand so not sure others would find it so easy. There is an actual postcode on the website for the car park though. 24 hours parking cost £20 which some might find a bit steep but I would say that it was worth it as I parked directy outside reception in the private car park and felt the car was safe and in possibly the most convenient location for a city centre hotel. This was a good hotel and our stay went without a hitch and I will definitely be using the Mercure again.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Dan C, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review based on your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would choose to return to a Mercure based on your experience with us. I do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Yours sincerely

TripAdvisor review
Andrew M Friends getaway - 12/07/2017
« Great location and price »

Great location and price. Walkable distances from major locations inc Piccadilly gardens and train station. Great for shopping and China town and the local bars, restaurants and cafes. Parking was convenient although slightly pricey compared to other locations. But overall excellent.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Andrew M, Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel. It was great to read you enjoyed our location and facilities during your stay, especially with the advantage of our onsite parking. We recently reduced this price to £20 for 24 hours in order to remain competitive to the neighbouring NCP which charges £25 for the same 24 hour period. We look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 29/05/2017
« Worst Mercure I have ever stayed at »

This hotel is of poorer quality than the cheapest Ibis I have ever been in in over 40 years of hotels around the world. Room so small two people could not pass between the bed and the TV Virtually no shelf space to put away clothes so cases must stay open on the floor Bathroom door did not shut properly and certainly could not be locked Breakfast - hot food always running out; both toasters not working; anyway no bread for toast A charge of 3 pounds per item to store luggage after checkout - I dont remember getting this in my 50 years of hotels around the world. And finally unhelpful staff. How come this is a 4 star? I would not give it 1.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear ala9992015, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review based on your recent stay. I am sorry that you did not have a good stay with us, I am however aware that our Reception manager Matt has already responded to your email which you sent in personally. Yours Sincerely

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 22/05/2017
« Great service! »

I have stayed here many times and it is almost like coming home. The hotel already has my vehicle registration number for the car park and I was delighted to have my favourite newspaper delivered in the morning unprompted. The staff remembered me from a previous stay. Great hotel, great service, no bother.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear stevcolli, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review based on your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us yet again and that you feel at home whilst here that is really lovely to read. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Yours sincerely

TripAdvisor review
Nigel P Couples - 19/05/2017
« Great location »

The location is fantastic, being very central, and the rooms are a great size. Staff, other than housekeeping, were very friendly and we were most grateful on the final morning to be given an extra hour before check out due to my girlfriend feeling unwell. The standard of housekeeping however let the whole experience down, as dirty sheets were used and then re-used when pointed out, dirty towels and teaspoons were left unchanged, and the amount of tea/coffee/sugar/milk was so poor that we had to purchase more from a local shop as we received no help with this when phoning reception.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Nigel P, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review based on your recent stay. I am happy to read that you found the location fantastic and the rooms a great size. I am however sorry that you felt let down by our Housekeeping Team. We we usually praised for how friendly they entire team are so it is disappointing to read. I have passed on your feedback to our Housekeeping Team to address the issues which you have raised in your review and ensure that this does not happen again. Yours sincerely

TripAdvisor review
jamiej462 Couples - 17/05/2017
« Ok at best »

Staff we're great but the hotel is quite dated and definitely not worth the money. Our room was a good size and well furnished but absolutely stank on arrival as if somebody had literally just used the toilet. Breakfast was overpriced and of low quality. Avoid this hotel, although the location is excellent, there a far better options available in Manchester. J.Jackson

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Jamiej462, Thank you for leaving a review based on your recent stay. I am happy to read that you found the team to be great. I am however sorry that you did not enjoy staying in the hotel itself. We are currently in discussions over refurbishments and will keep your feedback for future reference. I am sorry that due to this you would not like to return however thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Yours sincerely

TripAdvisor review
Business - 17/05/2017
« Lovely hotel and excellent location »

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for the Historical Association Conference. The conference ran so smoothly. The lunches were much better than the the ususl conference fare and the dinner was excellent. The staff were brilliant!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear routemaster13, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review based on your recent stay. It is great to read that you had a great time with us and that the conference went well. I hope that we are able to welcome you back should you be visiting Manchester again in the future. Yours sincerely

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 10/05/2017
« Forget football there's more »

We stayed in Manchester twice on our holiday. Once on Saturday and the other on a Tuesday. Saturday is football day- lots of young people and partying. Tuesday is a working day- more serious. The hotel has excellent service and the rooms are well appointed. Most rooms have a great view across the city. The restaurant looks across the park in the centre of the city. We tried a Chinese restaurant (in Chinatown) just behind the hotel. Great location, good service. I can't comment on price-I'm a foreigner.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Colin B, Thank you for your review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel. It was great to read your comments and the team here were delighted to receive your review. We look forward to your next stay being as great as your previous one. Kind Regards

TripAdvisor review
Friends getaway - 04/05/2017
« Simply exceptional »

It's rare to find a place that has great location, proximity to shops, station, activities and different amenities. Friendly staff, clean and neat rooms and services, good food and attention to details. Mercure Manchester Piccadilly is certainly the place to stay anytime I visit Manchester.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Oludols, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review based on your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you found your stay exceptional, it is always a great motivator for our team to receive such feedback. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming in you back very soon. Kind regards

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 04/05/2017
« Manchester vs London »

After a delightful affordable stay in Mercure Kensington we assumed Mercure Mancheser would be similar. We were wrong. Manchester was over priced. We tried to negotiate but was unsuccessful. This annoyed us as we have used Mercure in Australia, Tasmania, New Zealand, Paris (Ibis) and felt prices were OK. The service and staff were all OK. We just did not like the price for the room

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear cw979, Thank you for leaving a review based on your recent stay. I am sorry that you felt the hotel was over priced, depending on what is going on in the city and how busy the hotel is will depend on the price, this does fluctuate quite a lot as Manchester is a very busy city with may attractions and events. I hope that should you visit Manchester again and the price is right for you that you do consider staying with us again. Kind regards

TripAdvisor review
Business - 02/05/2017
« From start to finish »

This location being very central I guess the customer relationship is somewhat not needed..a personal statement from a platinum member! Room was below average while check in and check out was efficient but not friendly!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ichab00, Thank you for leaving a review based o your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry to read that you did not find the check in process friendly, we are usually praised for our customer service on the Reception desk. I am sorry that this was not the case for you. I hope that this does not deter you from staying with us again in the near future should you be in Manchester. Yours sincerely

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 11/04/2017
« This time, cheaper than Ibis! »

I stay in Manchester quite frequently, and generally stay at an Ibis hotel. Occaisionally, however, the Mercure Piccadilly is actually cheaper than a nearby Ibis, so I take advantage of that. I had a view from a tenth floor room, and a free upgrade as a result of being an Accor card holder. The décor is now getting a bit tired, but everything worked well. The dinner and breakfast were both good.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay here at the hotel. I am sorry to see that your felt the décor was a little tired, but lovely to see that you were able to obtain an upgrade and enjoy the views from the 10th floor. Yours Sincerely

TripAdvisor review
Business - 10/04/2017
« A less than desirable experience »

I had a late check in (midnight) due to being out for a work event. When getting to the room I tried to open the door however it was slightly jammed. As I tried again there was a yell from the room, and reception had issued a room some poor person was in sleeping. I have never incurred this issue before and frankly would expect check ins to be like clockwork. Not a nice experience having someone yell at you when you think you're getting into your room after a long day of work.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay here at the hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies that you encountered problems in being checked into the correct room, this is certainly not an incident that we look at lightly, guest satisfaction and customer service are extremely high on our agenda, I am again sorry that you encountered a mix up during your recent stay with us here at the hotel. Yours Sincerely

TripAdvisor review
Business - 10/04/2017
« good location bad service at breakfast »

stay one night here and the rooms are great and spacious, the reception was very good and people polite, the only problem was the breakfast... buffet close at 9 am and staff in the bar are extremely rude,

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay here at the hotel. I am sorry to read that you felt staff appeared to be rude, this is certainly not the usual feedback we receive regarding the team, I am disappointed if it was perceived this way during your recent stay. Yours Sincerely

TripAdvisor review
AndrewPitman Business - 10/04/2017
« Good value city centre hotel »

I have stayed here several times and have always found it to be very well placed to reach all areas of the city and suburbs. Although it looks somewhat dated from the outside the rooms are always clean and well maintained and food in the restaurant is much better than most large hotels. Our stay was made so much better by Claudia on reception who did everything she could to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Much appreciated and a great asset to the hotel

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay here at the hotel. Lovely review to read and great to see a great comment in relation to Claudia. I do hope that you will visit the hotel again when your next visiting Manchester. Yours Sincerely

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 28/03/2017
« More hostel than hotel.... »

Me and our partner usually stay here on our anniversary, as it is in this hotel we first met.... Each year it seems to get worse.... The whole place is run down, everything is old and even the newly added items seem cheap.... This place is more like a hostel with double beds, than the high class hotel it makes out to be.... The linen is cheap. Also, me and my partner were bitten all over by bed bugs.... Mentioned these on booking out and were fobbed off and hurried out as the foyer was busy with guests.... It's £25 extra to park your car here, it's cheaper in every other car park in Manchester including other hotels which usually allow free parking for guests.... The only saving grace is the staff, most of them are really nice and friendly, with only a few exceptions.... We won't be sticking to tradition next year, we will be going elsewhere....

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay with us here at the hotel. I am not aware of any instances of bed bugs within the hotel and have never received any reports of these in my time here? Please could I ask you to contact the hotel direct to discuss this matter further. Kind Regards

TripAdvisor review
Family - 26/03/2017
« Reasonable hotel »

Accomodate on clear & tidy, location is very convenient next to tram/bus stops and 5 min walk to train station. Only disappointment was the over expensive drinks and their poor breakfast. Minimal choice of cereals, hot food is like warms at best even when new trays of food brought out which was rare. Stayed for three days and tried several different breakfast times all same even the selection of fruit was non existent as it had all gone by 9am. I would stay in the accomodate on but would never include breakfast which is a shame as the views of Picadilly Gardens on a nice day is brilliant. I'm still waiting for Accor to respond to my complaint!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay with us here at the hotel. I am sorry to read that your breakfast experience was not a memorable one for all the right reasons and that you found the drinks expensive within the bar area. Here at the hotel we value all our guests feedback and ensure we introduce new procedures following this to ensure as a business we continually move forward with our guest offering. Please feel free to message me separately should I be able to assist you in any other way. Yours Sincerely

TripAdvisor review
William CW L Business - 21/03/2017
« Convenient location »

room carpet can be little bit more cleaner, staff are very friendly. It is indeed a convenient location at downtown but it is suggested to avoid any late outgoing near the hotel. Shopping area and china town are a walking distance of less than 7 minutes.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay with us here at the Manchester Mercure. I do hope that you will visit the hotel when next in the vicinity, lovely feedback on the team thank you. Yours Sincerely

TripAdvisor review
keatingl2017 Business - 17/03/2017
« Mercure Manchester »

Hotel is good service is good however last time I stayed I pre paid for a 3 course meal and at checkout I was charged extra money, I again this time paid for the 3 course meal and again I was charged extra but this time I was informed that the money I paid was jus an amount and that it was not for a 3 course meal which totally contradicts what is on the web page............ I feel somewhat tricked with this and definitely will not be eating at the hotel again after this

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review following your recent stay with us here at the Manchester Mercure. I am sorry to read that there was some differences with your meals whilst staying with us here at the hotel. We will be looking further into this situation to ensure clarity across the board. Yours Sincerely

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book your stay in this hotel
Best price guarantee
From
From 63.75 GBP Non member rate
From 60.56 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
Best price guarantee

Our other hotels nearby

At 160 m Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Hotel(Newly refurbished)
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Hotel(Newly refurbished) Hotel
From
From 57.00 GBP Non member rate
From 54.15 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 360 m ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street (new ibis rooms)
ibis Manchester Centre 96 Portland Street (new ibis rooms) Hotel
From
From 45.00 GBP Non member rate
From 40.50 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 440 m Novotel Manchester Centre
Novotel Manchester Centre Hotel
From
From 73.00 GBP Non member rate
From 65.70 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 640 m ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street (new ibis rooms)
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street (new ibis rooms) Hotel
From
From 40.00 GBP Non member rate
From 36.00 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
10.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in MANCHESTER
See rates