Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5 1,108 reviews
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
See on a map
+ 15 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Marco Pierre White Restaurant on site

  • Kings Hall capable of holding upto 500 guests

  • Leicester Railway Station just 800m away

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 300 guests

  • City Centre Location with On-Site Car park

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Dry cleaning / IroningPaying
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
Business services
  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Granby Street
LE1 6ES
leicester
united kingdom

Tel: +4401162149257

Fax: (+44)116/2342819

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • ST. MARGARET´S :   ARRIVA

  • By plane

    EAST MIDLANDS At 41.84km / 26 miles

  • By plane

    EASTMIDLAND AIRPORT At 32.19km / 20 miles

  • By train

    GREAT CENTRAL RAIL At 19.31km / 12 miles

  • By train

    LEICESTER RAILWAY At 0.32km / 0.2 miles

GPS :52.633121, -1.129789

Our accommodations

Escape the bustle to the calm of your classic room, combining Victorian details with modern décor. All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newsp aper, robe and slippers.

Classic room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Classic room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Classic room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Privilege room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Superior room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Classic adapted room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Classic adapted room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Compact room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Our restaurants and bars

MARCO'S NEW YORK ITALIAN

Type of cuisine: Brasserie

Marco's New York Italian by celebrity chef Marco Pierre White is the perfect setting for lunch or dinner. Enjoy cuisine inspired by one of America's most vibrant dining scenes in friendly and contemporary surroundings.

Lunch

12:00 - 14:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

12:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

MARCO'S BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Marco's Bar has a contemporary atmosphere and a great selection of cocktails. It is the perfect location for a relaxing drink with friends.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 283

  • Maximum capacity: 400 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 300 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 3.7/5

3,325 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,108 reviews

Mattress poor

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Lou Business - 11/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Reception area is so grand and inviting, it's a shame its not carried through to the actual bedrooms. Mattress was like sleeping on a plank of wood.

Dear Louise A., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. Please do let us know when you are staying again and I will ensure that your room allocation is looked at and especially with the bed for your comfort. If there is anything we can do to make your stay extra special please do let us know. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes Operations Manager

noisy and poor quality room

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Couples - 10/09/2019 AccorHotels review

unfortunately (for us), there was a particularly noisy event which went on for quite a while during our stay, this was not helped by having quite thin walls which meant that we could hear guests chatting and moving around. Additionally, the shower took quite some time to get up to temperature, which did not help when preparing to go to an early morning event ourselves. For the price, the only good thing about our stay was that the hotel was central, and the staff were nice.

Dear Asiri O., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I was sorry to read that you were disturbed by noise in the hotel from an event and that marred your satisfaction with your stay. I will look into the comments regarding the water pressure and share this with the team so that this can be looked at. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes Operations Manager

All staff went out of their way to be helpful

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Denise B. Business - 10/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Very comfortable- lovely room. Staff try to make stay as relaxed as possible. Banqueting staff very good - looked after everyone very well. Even managed to accommodate vegetarian requested that they had no prior knowledge of.

Dear Denise B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I was delighted to read your comments regarding the service you received and thank you for commenting on the way our banqueting team looked after the dietary requirements. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes Operation Manager

Dirty and stains

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Pm Couples - 09/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Dirty towels, dirty pillows, smelly room

Dear Pravish M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence and I've passed your comments onto our housekeeping team the make the necessary improvements. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes Operations Manager

dirty and tired rooms

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Pponting Business - 09/09/2019 AccorHotels review

was moved to 3 different rooms in total due to toilets not working, showers broken and filthy condition, appalling for a 4* hotel at £130 a night! Breakfast was cold and we had to wait a long time to be served due to shortage of staff, overall a terrible couple of nights

Dear Paula P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I am sorry that you experienced issues during your stay due to staff shortages and certainly this is not acceptable from a service perspective. We are working hard with the management team to ensure we have the right people in place in order to ensure guest satisfaction and I'm really sorry that there was a shortfall in service during your stay. If we can be of any assistance in the future please do let me know as I would like to ensure that you are looked after. To that end would like to offer you complimentary one nights stay including breakfast in one of our privilege rooms. I hope very much that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes Operations Manager

The state of the room

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Reza S. Couples - 09/09/2019 AccorHotels review

No welcome pack or information pack in the room. The lift was smelly. The shower basin was chipped in several places. Could not use the iron. No instructions or information. I reported all these at the reception but they give me an email address and said complain to them.

Dear Reza S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We have welcome screen on the guests televisions with information on there so I will have a look to see if this is working and I'm sorry that you were not advised of this. I am not sure what the issue with the iron was but we could have replaced this straight away if we were aware of a problem. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes Operations Manager

Worst possible hotel I've ever stayed in from entire AccorHotels group.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Filip R. Business - 09/09/2019 AccorHotels review

This was the worst experience i ever had, in any of the AccorHotels i stayed over the time. There was dirtiness all over the elevator and on the hallway at 1st floor. The smell in the hallway was extremely grouse, and you could feel it write after you exit the elevator. In the room (428) that i've stayed in .. there was no iron or ironing board in the room, and i "called" the reception ..actually tried to call the reception, but the phone in the room was not functioning, so i needed to go back downstairs to ask for one. Also there are huge spot marks of oil on the carpets in the room, and all over the place there were scratches on the walls, and on the floor baseboard all over the place. In the bathroom i struggled to turn on the shower(and used quite a lot of force)... and when finished could not be able to turn it off completely..I left it running. What it is was a woman with wicker strength ?! Luckily for me i only needed to stay few hours and in the day light at around 8:00am, i had to check out. And when you think that i needed to pay 90 pounds for this it gets even worst. You could easily notice that there hasn't been any investments in the past decade for this hotel. :( :( Extremely bad experience with this Mercure Hotel, part of the AccorHotels group. If i needed to stay longer than one day, surely i would have changed the hotel. Hopefully this review will rise up some questions about the quality of the hotel, and start doing something about it. Filip R.- Honeywell

Dear Filip R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I am sorry that you experienced some issues with the plumbing and that the room was not up to standard, we are working with our head office to look for investment into the bedrooms further to the works that are currently being carried out on the building. I am sorry that we have experienced an outage with the phones and that this is causing more frustration and thank you for your patience whilst we get engineer onto site and new servers in order to restore the entire phone network. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes Operations Manager

Not happy

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Andy C. Business - 09/09/2019 AccorHotels review

When I check in nobody told there was building work going on at the hotel. Then to be woken up at 7:00am from kind of banging noise that carried on for hours so I couldn’t get back to sleep. When I mentioned this on check out it fell on deaf ears. I have stay in mercure hotels before but after this I don’t think I be coming back

Dear Andy C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I am sorry that essential maintenance work is currently taking place for roof repairs and I will certainly be passing the feedback to the team in order to make improvments. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes Operations Manager

Hotel tired and breakfast terrible

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Suzanne H. Business - 09/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Room, particularly bathroom was very tired. Shower took 10 minutes to heat and then couldn't turn it off. Bathroom windows wouldn't shut. Creaky floors kept me awake. Breakfast was terrible. Who does scrambled eggs with herbs..... bacon was limp and bread was very poor quality. Marco would have been appalled

Dear Suzanne H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast which we normally receive good comments regarding this and I'm sorry that you were dissapointed. It is Marco restaurant for lunches and dinners and we serve our company specification for breakfast, I will continue to monitor the feedback to ensure we are making actions to improve our guest satisfaction. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes Operations Manager

Not worth even half the money

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Kunal B. Business - 09/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Smelly room and very poorly kept Limited options

Dear Kunal B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I am sorry that the room allocated for you did not satisfy your needs and I hope that we were able to resolve this for you if this was brought to our attention during your stay We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes Operations Manager

Recent Visit

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Ian J. Business - 09/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Beautiful interior. Polite professional staff. Comfortable room. Excellent conference facilities.

Dear Ian J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regard the team, service and the facilities of the hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Catherine Holmes Operations Manager

Tired Hotel in need of refurbishment

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Oliver T. Business - 06/09/2019 AccorHotels review

The room is very old fashioned, there is no air con, furniture is poor. Overall Cleanliness was poor with food crumbs left on the table and chair.

Dear Oliver Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey and telling us about your recent experience at the Mercure Leicester the Grand Hotel. Firstly may I extend my personal apologies for where we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Please be assured comments have been taken seriously and addressed with the relevant personnel. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future and will endeavour to ensure your stay is memorable for the right reasons. Tracey

Acceptable nothing special

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Business - 06/09/2019 AccorHotels review

lack of plates at breakfast lights not fitted correctly in room lights not working in room, i agree that the room isn't scared of the dark, neither am i, however if the main light switch behind the door isn't operative, it becomes a challenge to see, when returning to the room.

Dear James, Thank you for completing our guest survey, we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. Please may I also pass on my personal apologies for the frustrations experienced with your room, you have my assurance these will be looked into. Thank you again for sharing your experience, pleas let me know if you are staying again and we will endeavour to make your stay memorable for the right reasons Sincerely, Tracey

Average stay

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Dr G. R. H. Business - 05/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Average. Nothing special.

Dear Dr H., Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey and to post your comments onto Booking.com. We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. Although it is always a pleasure to receive feedback that is rated highly, it is equally important to receive information of where we have fallen short of expectation. Please may I pass on my personal apologies for the problems you experienced at breakfast and although we do not stock grapefruit juice as standard, I would like to have thought we would have been able to get this for you. Thank you again for sharing your experience, please do not hesitate to be in touch with myself direct should you need to be in Leicester in the near future and we will endeavour to ensure your stay is memorable for the right reasons. Sincerely Tracey Sincerely, Tracey

Not great had to change rooms and do all the running around.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Kieran D. Business - 04/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Not good, toilet didn’t flush and no fan in the first room. Phone didn’t work to call reception and calling on my mobile was told that calls are not being taken by reception at the moment. Had to go down, move rooms to a different floor, take back original room key. When all settles realised no remote for tv but had given up by that point so just went to sleep.

Dear Kieren Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey and telling us about your recent experience at the Mercure Leicester the Grand Hotel. Firstly may I extend my personal apologies for where we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Please be assured comments have been taken seriously and addressed with the relevant personnel. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future and will endeavour to ensure your stay is memorable for the right reasons. Tracey

My room was very spacious and comfortable.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Claire L. Solo - 04/09/2019 AccorHotels review

The bed was very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities could have done with more sachets of sugars, coffees and milks as my holder was nearly empty. I could not use the wet room shower as I could not get any hot water through it even though I left it running for ages.

Dear Claire, Thank you for completing your guest survey, we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Equally, we will investigate your comments in connection with your wet room. Thank you again for sharing your experience, we hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Tracey

Grubby not a high standard

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Alex Couples - 03/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Wouldn't stay again The room wasn't as clean as I would expect. The telephone in the room didn't work. The only coffee pods for the machine were decaff. The room was really hot and also noisy. The tv remote only worked if you were stood within a foot of the tv The shower was really nice and the breakfast was good

Dear Alex, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry to hear where your experience did not meet your expectations. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and certainly will pass your comments as well as the positive feedback in connection to breakfast back to the team. We hope this experience will not permanently mar your opinion of the Mercure Leicester. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit and to ensure your stay is memorable for the right reasons. Sincerely, Tracey

Nigel E.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Nigel E. Couples - 03/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Short but very good

Dear Nigel , We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tracey

T. survey TB

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Tb T. Business - 03/09/2019 AccorHotels review

T.

Dear tracey b., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tracey

Excellent location in city centre

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Ca Couples - 02/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Good hotel, near city centre and cathedral. Good sized room, clean and comfortable, staff pleasant and helpful

Dear guest... Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey and telling us about your recent stay at the Mercure Leicester the Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we particularly like your comments about the team. Thank you for choosing our Hotel and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back when next in Leicester. Tracey
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in leicester