Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 3.5/5 1,104 reviews
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
See on a map
+ 15 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Marco Pierre White Restaurant on site

  • Kings Hall capable of holding upto 500 guests

  • Leicester Railway Station just 800m away

  • Wedding facilities capable of accommodating 300 guests

  • City Centre Location with On-Site Car park

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Fitness centre
Business services
  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Granby Street
LE1 6ES
leicester
united kingdom

Tel: +4401162149257

Fax: (+44)116/2342819

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • ST. MARGARET´S :   ARRIVA

  • By plane

    EAST MIDLANDS At 41.84km / 26 miles

  • By plane

    EASTMIDLAND AIRPORT At 32.19km / 20 miles

  • By train

    GREAT CENTRAL RAIL At 19.31km / 12 miles

  • By train

    LEICESTER RAILWAY At 0.32km / 0.2 miles

GPS :52.633121, -1.129789

Our accommodations

Escape the bustle to the calm of your classic room, combining Victorian details with modern décor. All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newsp aper, robe and slippers.

Classic room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Classic room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Classic room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Privilege room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Superior room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Classic adapted room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Classic adapted room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Compact room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 1
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Our restaurants and bars

MARCO'S NEW YORK ITALIAN

Type of cuisine: Brasserie

Marco's New York Italian by celebrity chef Marco Pierre White is the perfect setting for lunch or dinner. Enjoy cuisine inspired by one of America's most vibrant dining scenes in friendly and contemporary surroundings.

Lunch

12:00 - 14:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

12:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

MARCO'S BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Marco's Bar has a contemporary atmosphere and a great selection of cocktails. It is the perfect location for a relaxing drink with friends.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 7

  • Maximum size: 283

  • Maximum capacity: 400 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 300 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 3.7/5

3,267 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 3.5/5

1,104 reviews

Disappointing and below the standards we normally get.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Vicky S. Couples - 15/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Initial room was really small. Fine - we only paid for a classic room. But it was dirty - really dusty, several holes in the grotty net curtains in the bathroom. The window was 'loose' and banged with the wind but it was hot so you had to have it up. Just really disappointing - why would anyone be given that room given the ghost town like nature of the hotel!! We asked if the room could be cleaned whilst we were out at the event we were going to that evening. They said it would be easier to be given a different room. We got a bigger studio room - great. But the hairdryer didn't work and the TV didn't work - probably the remote batteries but there was also a line down the centre of the TV when you initially turned it on. I did ask for a different hairdryer which was delivered. We didn't bother mentioning the TV. on the way out we weren't asked how the stay was. When I mentioned the TV and hairdryer they just said they'd let maintenance know and charged us for the car parking! Give we've stayed several times before and have been happy with service and room generally, this wasn't a great experience.

Dear Mark S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. As you mentioned in your review that you had good stay previously, please take this as one off and as a gesture of goodwill I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade (subject to availability) on your next stay. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

It was okay. Overnight business stay.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Simon R. Business - 15/08/2019 AccorHotels review

No problems.

Dear Simon R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Room 133

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Ashleigh Business - 14/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Hotel Staff and food was great but the room I was put in, 133 I believe was absolutely awful. The size of the room made me feel so enclosed and the fact there was no light coming in from the tiny window and no AC facility made it so hard and uncomfortable to sleep. I had the selection of 4 hotels to pick from, when I looked on the website to see which is best, I picked the Mercure because of how beautiful the rooms looked. I was so disappointed when I see the room was put in for the night. Nothing like the website at all.

Dear Ashleigh H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Good (ish)

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Nicho Couples - 14/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Overall pretty good. Our superior room (211) was very large and comfortable but the space was not well utilised. Lack of air con and outside noise made our first night (Saturday) a little uncomfortable but was far better on the Sunday night. The windows (inside and out) needed a good clean as did the nets and curtains. The housekeeping service was minimal. Made the bed but that was about it. Didn't even empty the bins or replenish the tea tray. The public areas were excellent and the staff helpful and friendly.

Dear Stephen N., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

There were moths in my bedroom

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Milly B. Business - 14/08/2019 AccorHotels review

After check-in we changed rooms and upgraded to the privilege rooms. I went to the room and was supposed about how outdated it was. Before I went out for the evening I shut my curtains and 2 moths flew out of the curtains. I then found more moths when I returned. In the morning I was woken at 5.30am by very loud noises that sounded as if there was building work of some sort going on.... Either that or the shower next door needs so serious attention.

Dear Milly B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Convenient & Comfortable

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Rosey Families - 12/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Very good. The staff we met were really friendly and helpful.

Dear Helen R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

No air con, poor fan and shower

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Luke B. Business - 11/08/2019 AccorHotels review

I was stranded in Leicester due to all trains being cancelled to London on the hottest day of the year. I normally stay at the premier inn but found yours to be of a higher star rating and the same price. Upon check in I was not told that there was no aircon, I think on such a warm night that perhaps this should of been made clear. I was put on the 5th floor for some reason, where I think it was hottest. The fan in the room was of poor quality and hardly chucked out much air at all. When I complained about the air on situation I was offered nothing to help or even any sort of reimbursement. As it was late I decided to stay, I tried to iron my clothes, but the equipment to do so is like something from a dolls house, hardly adequate. When it came to sleep I didn’t even get under the covers, the mattress was pretty basic from what I could tell and I was too hot to be under anything. After a pretty sleepless night, I hoped that the shower would wake me up, it didn’t, poor water flow and temperature and a measly selection complimentary bathroom toiletries. Left me wondering what exactly what was 4 star about any of my stay. The room is dated in comparison to the communal areas , however the bar and restaurant are nice and the food is good. Everything else was caused me to have one of the worst hotels stays I’ve had in along time. I don’t normally even respond to these surveys but I feel you should know.

Dear Beckett B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mercure Leicester

Overall a nice stay

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Julie (. L. Families - 11/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Overall a good experience staying at Mercure Leicester. Staff generally friendly. Would have liked the room to have more natural light. The windows were frosted. The bathroom was a bit drab looking. Common areas were lovely, though and the halll of the wedding we attended was stunningly beautiful.

Dear Marie J L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Lovely room

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Couples - 11/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Stayed in a really nice room, everything was clean and working. Would stay again.

Dear Dylan c., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Noisy fan outside bedroom window and funny smell in room

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Jenny J. Solo - 11/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Very dissatisfied. Dirty sink that I had to clean, funny fusty smell in the room and then to top it all I got hardly any sleep due to a noisy fan directly outside the bedroom window. Will not be staying again

Mrs Sharon L.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Sharon L. Couples - 06/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Hotel nice and clean. Facilities great too. The only downside was the noise level - not from the hotel but outside. We were staying in a room on the front of the hotel building - the noise was shocking from people and cars !! We had to open our window as there was no air conditioning in the room which was a down side.

Dear Sharon L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Tiny Room

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Donna F. Business - 05/08/2019 AccorHotels review

The experience was below par. The room was the smallest room I have ever seen. The windows didnt open and there was no air con and when I asked for a fab they brought up the smallest fan Id ever seen. There wwas no water in the room either on the hottest day of the year. However they were selling water bottles in the lobby for a £1! The food was awful. I was the only one in the restaurant and it took 20 minutes to serve me a charcuterie board and a salad. The meat was so tough I couldnt cut it and the toast was rock hard. I didnt even bother with breakfast in the end.

Dear Donna F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. Food in our restaurant is freshly prepared and not pre plated hence it takes a little bit of time with certain starters due to selection of items. Unfortunately we do not understand your comment regarding toast as we don't serve toast with different cooking options. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mercure Leicester

I am not too happy

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Vishnu S. Business - 02/08/2019 AccorHotels review

There was no ventilation & I felt suffocating. upon inquiry at reception I was advised of no airconditionres in room due to some "no permission". However, there could have been at least some fans arranged, when I asked for it was advised to check if the widows were open ( this is absolutely not done). Moreover, there was no water in the room, I had to ask for it. it was likewise suffocating when I came out of the room until the hall. I feel disappointed and feel to vacate the room asap.

Dear Vishnu S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We do not provide water or fans in the rooms unless requested by guest. Water in the room is completely safe to drink. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Basic

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Wayne B. Couples - 02/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Basic and I was over charged for the room by £12 that I still haven’t received back

Very poor

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Joe C. Business - 01/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Poor experience. Hotel was worn and tired. Rooms were very small. Room was very unclean. Suspect sheets and towels had not been changed.

Dear Joseph C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Mr David B.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Db Business - 01/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Comfortable hotel and reasonable value for money

Dear David B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another pleasant stay! Sincerely, Manpreet

all staff very friendly and helpful

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Ruth Families - 31/07/2019 AccorHotels review

The public rooms are all spend id. But our room was very basic. It was obvious that as furniture had deteriorated it had been removed and not replaced. Leaving two people with just one upright chair. The curtain linings had holes, and the closed bathroom window let in the rain. Also, the bath was chipped. However, as I have already said, the staff were all friendly and helpful, and we found the restaurant good. This was part of a holiday trip

Dear Ruth F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Not the best

Customer review rating 3.7/5

G P. Business - 31/07/2019 AccorHotels review

room was hot & dirty, in desperate need of overhaul, its a shame as the ground floor reception bar area was loverly, clean & tidy and air-conditioned

Dear Gavin P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Room too small and too hot

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Chloe Couples - 30/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Downstairs is lovely, drinks reasonable priced but the room was shabby, far too hot, no pressure in the shower, toilet had to be flushed 3-4 times before it worked, bed on wheels isn’t ideal, just not what you’d expect from a Mercure.

Dear Chloe B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

No air conditioning in the summer heat unacceptable

Customer review rating 3.7/5

E Friends - 30/07/2019 AccorHotels review

Awful. Had to ask reception to go and get us fans for the room. Heat/humidity was unbearable. Pillows hard and uncomfortable. Window filthy.

Dear Emily R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in leicester