Hotel - Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Our hotels AccorHotels
3.5/5 954 reviews
All hotels in Leicester
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 71.10 GBP Non member rate
From 67.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00
Paying

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WiFi in your room
    • WiFi access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking (Paying)
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Escape the bustle to the calm of your classic room, combining Victorian details with modern décor. All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers.

  • 104 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WiFi in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

3.7/5 AccorHotels Rating Based on 2,261 reviews

Our guest reviews for Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 954 reviews
AccorHotels certified review
Mark R. Business - 11/05/2018
« Not very impressed. »

Room very tired looking. Shower too small. Bedroom layout poor. Noisy squeaky floor boards. No air conditioning. Breakfast starting at 7am not very convenient but was quite good.

AccorHotels certified review
Ursula A. Couples - 10/05/2018
« Clean, good location but nothing “ special”. »

We went for our anniversary (31 years) and picked a 4* hotel so we would have plush, luxurious surrounding and be made to feel special. This did not happen. The staff knew we were there for anniversary but no said “ congrats” or made us feel special. The room was clean and large but the tea and coffee amounts were stingeing and there was no fridge. We had to use the service lift the whole time and walk through staff areas to get to our room. The lift didn’t go up the floor we stayed on so we had to walk up stairs, which wasn’t a problem for us, but could have been for so one less fit. Food at Marco was okay but not brilliant.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ursula A., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I have passed your feedback onto our Reception Manager to ensure we are acting upon special occasion information. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Gary H. Couples - 08/05/2018
« Romantic birthday getaway »

Having stayed with Mercure before at different hotels I knew what to expect.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Gary H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Lynb Couples - 08/05/2018
« Peace, style & grace »

Lovely clean hotel with helpful curious staff. Our room was perfect.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear brown l., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
John G. Couples - 07/05/2018
« Poor tiny room bed pushed against the wall had to use the service lift it smelt brown marks on the towels 2nd day »

We come to Leicester quite often to follow the football and we stay in other hotels we thought we would spend a weekend with your hotel. The room we were given was not of the standard we expect as the window did not open and it was stuffy the service lift smelt and we had to wait ages as it is also very small. I understand things break but a hotel of your stature should have maintenance 23/7 no excuses. It is quite run down with the decor being chipped and marks on the walls.I take it you have better rooms and we were just unlucky to have poor one shame as the location is good. Sorry but the room we had was not worth £160

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear John G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Pamela B. Couples - 07/05/2018
« Another comfortable stay at The Grand Hotel »

I always stay at The Grand when I come to Leicester and this visit was just as good as always.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Pamela B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Nicky D. Couples - 07/05/2018
« Have you stayed with us before? »

We have stayed at The Grand in Leicester over 50 times in the last 8 years. Every time we are welcomed with the same impersonal question: Have you stayed with us before? Last month, I mentioned this as I checked out. I expressed how disappointed I had been to be have been given the smallest hotel room I had ever stayed in, and how guest loyalty appeared to count for nothing. We have never been welcomed back, never offered an upgrade, never offered a drink in the bar. The receptionist told us she would make a note of this. Guess how we were welcomed on this last occasion: Have you stayed with us before? I think it’s time to check out other hotels.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Nicky D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed by the Reception teams greeting and that you didn't enjoy your stay with us; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Mick S. Business - 04/05/2018
« Satisfied »

Food and bar excellent, staff excellent, room good however shower not working in bathroom. Up at 6 meeting at 6.30. The one thing I need in the morning is a shower. Either off or steaming and I mean steaming. Told lad on reception and he refunded my £8 car park fee, which he told me after that the gates were open anyway. I stay away 3 nites per week every week. That’s my reply, many thanks nick S.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Nick Skidmore, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Km Business - 04/05/2018
« Just standard »

Hotel bedrooms and corridors dated and needs refurbished. Main lift was out of action and the service lift had to be used which was dirty and horrible

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Karen Muir, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Tim R. Business - 03/05/2018
« Comfortable hotel centrally located »

The room was quiet and comfortable although quite cold at night. There was a lot of dust on the lampshades and there was a large stain on the sofa which was concerning- had I been staying for more than 2 nights I would have complained about this. Breakfast was dissapointing in my opinion for the following reasons: the hot food was ' over held' so the eggs had gone hard, and the bacon was dry. Service should start at 07:00 and they weren't ready. The orange juice was not fresh and tasted more like cordial, the pastries that I tried did not seem fresh either and tasted as though they had been bought the day before and not made on the premises . The prepared fresh fruit ie Melon etc was very limited. A hotel of this standard should have bean to cup coffee machines at breakfast- it's extremely irritating to have to keep asking the waiting staff repeatedly to top up your coffee cup. The poor quality of the orange juice and the filter coffee smacked of 'penny pinching', The Restaurant and Reception staff were attentive and the quality of the evening meal was good although I refused to pay the service charge that was applied to my restaurant bill especially as I was a hotel resident. The main lift was broken during my stay so customers had to use a service lift which was accessed via a grubby service lobby which I would have expected to have been cleaned- 1 fellow guest told me the main lift had been out order for weeks. I have stayed in other Mecures that have offered a higher standard of room cleanliness and catering provision than the Leicester Grand. In summary a comfortable stay however some elements of the service offered need review especially as the Grand presents itself as an upmarket hotel and of course charges accordingly- I hope this feedback is useful

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Tim Robinson, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that I have passed your comments onto our Operations Manager to fully investigate and take the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent a future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Phil L. Business - 02/05/2018
« On e nights stay with excellent service »

Excellent service, good room and food

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Phil L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
G M. Business - 01/05/2018
« A little disapoointed »

Reception staff very helpful and room was lovely bar area also very nice. However breakfast was very disappointing as was the prices in the bar. Also the service elevator that had to be used seemed very unsuitable for requirements with the lift suffering and creaking as it moved. Hotels usual lift not in use.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Gillian M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Big H. Couples - 01/05/2018
« not bad and not cheap »

clean rooms and very good staff

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Howard C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Families - 01/05/2018
« Staff were lovely- hotel getting a bit tired! »

The hotel is conveniently located and the rooms a good size. The staff were friendly and helpful. However it would be good if the rooms were updated especially with respect to Plug points!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Price C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Michelle Business - 01/05/2018
« Fantastic »

Fantastic, service is absolutely fantastic!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Michelle S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Simon Friends - 30/04/2018
« Could have been so much better. »

Warmly greeted, nice mansard room on fifth floor. Main lift not working and had to use staff lift, a bit grubby and the area outside the lift on the ground floor smelt like a butchers. Shower flow reduced to a dribble whilst my wife was showering in the morning and prevented her from completing her shower. Breakfast service good, food OK.

AccorHotels certified review
Rg Couples - 30/04/2018
« Difficult not to compare The Grand with our usual Mercure at Abbey Hill CMK »

The initial handling of our booking/s was not satisfactory in any way. Certainly I had needed to alter dates because of other appointments but whenever I tried to speak to someone, they were invariably, less than helpful and in one case, downright rude. The advance charges to my credit card were mishandled to the extent that the second debit was not acknowledged, either when I rang after seeing the charge on my statement, or when I first checked into the hotel. It was only the lady on Reception, on the morning after we arrived, who was able to confirm there had been a second ( & correct) debit to my card. Having said all the above, the room was adequate once we had our tower Air Con in operation and considering we were in central Leicester, it was very peaceful, especially at night. Our favourite person was the breakfast waiter on Monday morning, very helpful, chatty when we wanted to be but didn't impose himself. We would very much like to commend him. The waiter on Tuesday morning however was very different. The poor man had to almost run to keep up with everything and would have benefitted from another person to help. Very efficient but didn't have time to do anything at a walk, always almost a run!! The young lady from housekeeping was also a very helpful member of your staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. The Grand is a really beautiful old building and we would certainly stay there again, hopefully in the near future as we thought Leicester too was a much nicer city than we'd expected it to be.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Rosemary G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Ben H. Couples - 30/04/2018

Nice hotel. Clean rooms and comfortable. Nice friendly staff. Room could have benefited a fridge, but only stayed one night so no real bother to me.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Ben H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

AccorHotels certified review
Miss L. S. Friends - 30/04/2018
« Lovely location and comfortable stay - shame about the wayfinding »

I had a one night stay with a friend on a Thursday in a twin-bedded room. I liked the glorious Victorian façade and the modern feel of the ground floor area. The Reception staff were great - I arrived before check-in but I was quickly taken through the paperwork and they stored my bags so upon return I was able to pick up a key card and go straight to my room. Reception very kindly provided a map of the city so I could explore it better. The room was clean and nicely decorated, had nice refreshments, and had a decent shower. The beds were very comfortable. Sadly the guest lift wasn’t working so we had to use a very small service lift. There was also something of a maze of corridors and small flights of stairs, sign-posted by slightly battered A4 paper signs, before we reached our room. I did not book breakfast but did use the hotel bar – which was well stocked and had friendly staff. Loved the location - close to the train station and the city centre.

AccorHotels certified review
Leon G. Business - 30/04/2018
« Good hotel in the city centre »

I have stayed here before and have always been satisfied with the service and quality of this hotel. On this occasion the main lift was out of order so guests had to use what I can only assume is reserved for staff and tradesmen.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear LEON G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tia Goadby

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 71.10 GBP Non member rate
From 67.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guaranteeHow it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

At 460 m ibis Leicester City
ibis Leicester City Hotel
From
From 48.00 GBP Non member rate
From 45.60 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
At 6.5 km ibis budget Leicester
ibis budget Leicester
From
From 45.00 GBP Non member rate
From 42.75 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
All our hotels in LEICESTER
See rates