Hotel - Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

3.5/5 984 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 67.15 GBP Non member rate
From 63.79 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking (Paying)
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Escape the bustle to the calm of your classic room, combining Victorian details with modern décor. All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers.

  • 104 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WIFI in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

3.7/5 AccorHotels Rating 2,448 reviews

Our guest reviews for Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 984 reviews
Felicity Couples - 16/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Worst night sleep »

Our room was too hot but the window barely opened and the fan was too noisy. A fan was on all night outside our window and a delivery woke us up noisily in the morning. It was a Sunday night we could of been placed in a better room. Virgin experience voucher sadly wasted.

Anonymous Business - 16/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Food was good, room OK but loose electrics, and the shower didn't work. »

OK but a few problems as above. Plus I was in the room furthest from Reception.

Anonymous Solo - 15/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« OK for a non-frills stay »

The hotel is lovely, great bar space and bed super comfy, but staff didn't seem too helpful or overly nice. There's no mini-bar in the room, and a tray charge of £5 for room-service. Windows/rooms are not soundproof, so lots of noise from the street and doors banging, snoring from next room, furniture being moved etc...

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Bina M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I hope you appreciate that we are 120 years old Grade II listed building hence we do not have air cons in the bedrooms. We do not offer mini bar/ fridge in the room but can provide one had you requested one on check in or during your stay. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mercure Leicester

Steve T. Business - 13/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Good, although some noise »

Facilities and room were very good. However, room was sited overlooking main street and this was very noisy throughout the night and early morning

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Stephen T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Nicky64 Couples - 12/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Convenient location »

We had a lovely stay in the hotel. The room is spacious and well decorated.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Nicky B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Sal Business - 10/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Noisy room, awful view, comfy bed and ok breakfast. »

Room noise was from numerous nesting pigeons with pigeon mess on the window which looked onto a filthy roof strewn with litter and filth. The room was small and dark. The bed was comfy. The shower was great, but no shelf to put shampoo etc which was bizarre. Breakfast ok, but had to work hard to get a refill of coffee and fruit should have mostly been in the bin (bananas on day 2 were good). Great location, helpful staff (mostly) but could be so much better. Décor in the bar area was great.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Sally C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mercure Leicester

Peter D. Solo - 09/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Good City Centre base for sightseeing. »

Accomodation roomy, clean and well set out. Venue near city centre excellent for me Breakfast good (did not try restaurant for evening meal). Staff very polite and helpful. Room cleaned well each day. Only slight problem with the internet not connecing properly.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Peter D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Anonymous Solo - 09/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Average »

It was a hot evening but the street was noisy.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Nancy L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Jumpman Families - 07/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Rooms in need of a refurbishment »

Stayed here for 2 nights. The lobby/entrance is very clean and modern and welcomes you into the hotel. However the rooms are very dated and there's no air conditioning in the room. In this high heat it was a task to get some rest in the room even with a fan that was provided by reception. The room has no fridge which made things harder for us as we were travelling with a 20 month old baby. Luckily the people at the bar were more than happy to supplies a bit of milk every day. Breakfast was good and the staff was amazing, very polite and always happy to help. If the rooms get some refurbishment I would stay here again, if not most likely I would go somewhere else next time I need to visit Leicester.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mahomed S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

James Couples - 07/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very nice hotel, very clean and well equipped rooms. »

Our experience with you was delightful, the hotel itself is beautiful, and the food in the restaurant was outstanding. The only negative comment we have is the room got so hot that we had to go out and buy our own fan, so a fan added to the room is highly recommended by us.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear James M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Dorothy L. Business - 06/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« A lovely stay »

Staff were so friendly and helpful, my room was lovely and clean and often replenished and tidied. The only thing that would have improved my stay would have been the television being fully synched to provide all channels and aircon. In this extremely hot weather, despite the very very comfortable bed, it was difficult to sleep in a room with no air conditioning where the windows are able to open so minimally. But I cannot fault the staff as my experience of staff at the reception desk, bar and restaurant was wonderful.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Dorothy L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Allison N. Friends - 06/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Great Location »

Standard room (305) clean but on the small side. Bathroom needs updating. Small fan supplied was not sufficient in this hot weather.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Allison N., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Becky D. Business - 06/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Fab hotel and staff! »

Staff friendly as always!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Rebecca D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Anonymous Business - 06/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Main areas of hotel fine, however bedroom not good. »

No air conditioning in bedroom, although a fan was provided, it was very hot and therefore I did not get a good nights sleep. Bedroom very old and dated and bathroom very basic.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Jane M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Anonymous Friends - 06/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Helpful staff very pleasant »

Lovely clean rooms great location good parking

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Deborah B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

D P. Couples - 04/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very dissapointed. »

The check-in process was fine, all staff we encountered were pleasant, but, the hotels grand reception area and public areas stopped when we reached our room, which was dated, in the wrong way! The decor was tired, the facilities were, at best, average. Worse still, one of the sach windows would not close so we had to suffer extensive noise from the street below until beyond 2am, not to mention the appaling noise from an adjoining room which continued until 4am. In short, my wife and I had 2hrs sleep between 12.00 & 07.00am. As a result, we checked-out of the hotel after the first night and didn`t stay for the second night as planned. In retrospect, we have had far better stays in Travel Inns, and far better breakfasts! Never again will we use a Mercure Hotel. The `Grand Hotel` it is not.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear David P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Mercure Leicester

Quinny Couples - 04/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Quinny »

Staff friendly room lovely bathroom huge Only problem was location of the room above late night shops would ask for a room at the back next time otherwise perfect

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Beverly Q., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Frédéric Business - 04/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Could have been a more fluid customer experience »

The staff was really good. Thanks to them. They are running a hotel which is very old, and would need an overhaul. The hotel is just tired... nothing is level, and a lick of paint over 15 other licks of paints does not work anymore. On the omnichannel side, my room was booked by a partner. I don’t understand why I need to book it through the app to get my 10% discount and an upgrade. I stated I was gold via email, prior to reaching the hotel, and still got neither. I had to ask it twice more to get the discount, and just the one time to get an upgrade. Food at the restaurant is a bit over priced. 10m our the door, and it’s 30-50% cheaper.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Frederic L., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are looking to refurb our bedrooms later this year. In terms of your Le Club membership, it is stated in T&Cs of your membership that you need to quote your membership number in order to avail any discount or to collect any points during your stay as we can not confirm member ID especially when their booking is done by 3rd party without providing us details of their membership. We also upgraded you straightway when you provided details of your membership and as a gesture of goodwill we also reduced your room rate matching Le Club discount. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Mrs C. S. Couples - 03/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mrs Claire s. »

We only stayed one night for our 1st wedding anniversary, we were given vouchers for a free drink the bar was lovely comfy seating room was nice, we slept well, the only thing was it was very noisy outside at 4am in the morning (which is no fault of yours )

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Claire s., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Anon Business - 03/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Good »

Friendly staff, welcoming reception and nice bar area, however the room was far too hot. Very small window letting little air in to the room, no a/c or fan.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Chris T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 67.15 GBP Non member rate
From 63.79 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates