Hotel - Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

3.5/5 970 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 71.10 GBP Non member rate
From 67.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WiFi in your room
    • WiFi access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking (Paying)
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
    • Accessible bathroom
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Fitness centre

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

Escape the bustle to the calm of your classic room, combining Victorian details with modern décor. All bedrooms feature a flat-screen TV and complimentary high speed WiFi. In privilege and superior rooms you'll enjoy a Nespresso coffee machine, newspaper, robe and slippers.

  • 104 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Telephone
    • Radio in room
    • Opening windows
    • WiFi in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Bathtub
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Automatic wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

d
3.7/5 AccorHotels Rating 2,377 reviews

Our guest reviews for Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 970 reviews
Anonymous Business - 12/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Average in commons - bad in room »

Bad air as window can not be opened Dirty window Room floor not clean Old/used appliances Very small bathroom Limited breakfast offering Restaurant closing kitchen @ 2100 is a no go Some restaurant personal being rude - while others doing their best but one bad impression stays. No proper alternatives offered to guest - where to go...

Business - 12/07/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Nothing was too much trouble for the team at Mercure Leicester »

I did my research beforehand & put in a specific request for the room we wanted ie. quiet, bath & shower, largest room they had in the standard range. I got exactly what I had asked for and as the hotel was fully booked I was delighted. The staff were all very smiley and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I came down too late for breakfast on the Monday (my fault for not checking the timings). Kay (in Marco's restaurant) was particularly helpful. One of the chefs also came out of the kitchen and offered to cook me a breakfast. The team are a credit to the hotel and the manager. Many thanks. See you sgain soon I hope.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear X4615JK, Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that team at the hotel made sure that your request was catered for. Please be assured that your comments will be passed on to them and I'm sure that everyone involved in making your stay a memorable one will be delighted to hear your comments. We hope to see you soon!! Many Thanks

Mrs B. Families - 11/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mrs »

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were ridiculously hot it was unbearable! The bar area was freezing due the the air conditioning yet the rooms were far too hot!

Anonymous Business - 11/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review

late arrival, ate out, light breakfast

Michael Couples - 10/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mr »

Rubbis. Went in took 15 minuets to check in due to one person on duty and he being slow. No available fan for hot room. Couldn’t open the window so wasn’t able to sleep. When I requested a fan they said it would be 15 mins we waited after the time we called and they said we couldn’t get one. Room was in a poor condition and the towels smelt damp

Heidi W. Families - 10/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Tiring »

The hotels architecture was beautiful however the lack of air conditioning made our stay very uncomfortable and we were unable to sleep due to this. Very disappointed

C Business - 07/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Not Good »

We stayed in a Twin Room - Room 431. It was grubby, tired and in desperate need of renovation. Lights didn’t work, mysterious stains on the carpet, battered furniture. The lobby of the hotel creates an expectation that is seriously let down by the standard of the rooms.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Kieron C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

M B. Business - 06/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review

Very comfortable

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mike B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Steve Couples - 06/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Room very Dirty! »

Carpet and chairs were amazingly filthy. Would never expect that in a hotel of your stature. I have pictures

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Steven H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Lisa F. Business - 05/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« average »

I regularly stay at the hotel in Leicester and others in the chain elsewhere in the country. This time, as usual the staff were very friendly; however, there were just a couple of things not quite up to the usual standard: 1 - the room (213) was cramped, a little scruffy and there were dead flies in the bathroom 2 - I was not able to order room service as the kitchen were not answering the phone. I tried calling a few times and the receptionist made an unsuccessful attempt to put me through. I gave up in the end.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Lisa F., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

J H. C. Business - 04/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Room was like a sauna »

Room had been heated all day by sun on the large windows. Must have been 35 degrees by 1900. Windows would not open so room very muggy with smell of sweat. Asked to change room but refused as hotel full. Asked for a fan, no one called back so had to chase only to be told no fans available. The room is unusable on hot days and should have windows that open - felt like a jail.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Henry C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Mr C. Business - 04/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very pleasant experience »

I have been using multiple hotels throughout Leicester recently and have swayed back to the Mercure due to friendly, helpful staff, nice accommodation and amenities and great location.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Matt C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Anonymous Business - 03/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Disappointed »

Below find out my disappointments: - The room is not ok because the window doesn't open - only few centimeters. Also the quality of the windows is very bad. The view doesn't exist - unimaginable for a 4 stars hotel. - Minibar/fridge is missing in the room. - the shower is fix ... - the breakfast is very brief related the continental option - ex. any kind if cheese is missing I was in other Mercure hotels in Europe and there are many differences!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Viorel Sorin C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Windows only open so much due to the health & safety reasons but I hope you appreciate that we are located in the middle of the city centre with buildings around us. Also, we do not provide minibar/fridge in the rooms but we could have arranged one for you had you made us aware of this. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Diane Couples - 03/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely comfortable stay »

The hotel is lovely and old. It's s pity there are not a lot more photos of the hotel. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was ok, the food luke warm. Staff at reception were lovely and friendly

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Diane R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We also made a note of your comments regarding breakfast and food temperature and shared them with our kitchen team to ensure better quality in future. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Michael T. Couples - 03/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« A good weekend break »

Very enjoyable as always is at the grand

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Michael t., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

David C. Business - 02/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Just fine »

I had a problem checking in as there had been issues with my credit card and the booking had been cancelled even though the problem had been addressed. The room was fine and very quiet, which was great as there was a huge school prom on. The staff were helpful, but reception generally seemed undermanned and check out was slow

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear David C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Manpreet

Mr R. G. R. Couples - 02/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« nice »

very good apart from the room

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Roy R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are upgrading our guest bedrooms later this year and would like to welcome you back once refurb is completed. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Santander Business - 29/06/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Appalling. Will not be returning and will not recommend. »

We arrived as a group fairly late (just after 9pm) only to be informed that the hotel had overbooked and that they did not have enough rooms for us. This is in spite of us deliberately booking rooms in the same hotel (for 10 of us). We had already paid for some of the rooms BEFORE they informed us that they didn't actually have enough rooms. We were informed that they intended to send two of our colleagues to a different hotel that was 2+ miles away. When we were forced to concede to this for a colleague who would not be arriving in the city until midnight, we then had to wait while the receptionist called this other hotel. Listening in on this conversation it very quickly became apparent that there was no prior arrangement with this other hotel and that there was no guarantee that our colleague would be able to get a room there. Furthermore, it was looking like we would be expected to foot the difference in the bill for this different hotel! We were extremely fortunate that a different guest came down during this to check out and we were able to use her room for our colleague. This whole debacle took over half an hour. It is absolutely appalling that the hotel is apparently running on a 'first come first serve' basis, regardless of advanced bookings. The operations manager, Manpreet, appeared after 20 minutes and was extremely rude and patronising in his tone, mannerisms and actions. He seemed more focussed on getting us out of the lobby to stop making a scene than actually solving the problem. When I asked for the official complaints procedure, he refused to let me know it. I have received no good feedback from any of my colleagues on the rooms. The most positive response was "it was okay, I guess". Complaints range from leaking ceilings, staff trying to force themselves into rooms at early hours (before 7am) while my colleague was getting out of the shower, and noise complaints. The breakfast was also disappointing, with colleagues waiting 10 minutes for tea/coffee, poor selection and food that had obviously been sitting out for too long. We will be recommending that this hotel is taken off the list for our company and have no intention of ever returning.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Matthew Jon H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I hope you appreciate the fact that 8 of you had rooms and one out of 2 who were supposed to be booked out confirmed through to you that he will not be coming in so we were short of one room at that point. Some of you were very patronising and rude especially short lady in red. Her and another girl were making sarcastic and rude comments throughout their stay at reception while Mitch was trying to deal with the book out rooms and honestly the whole issue was created for someone who was not present and when he came to check out, he paid for his room without questioning anything. I would also like to point out that at no point you asked me for complaints procedure as you were standing far back and the girl with red top, who seems to be in charge of all this, asked me for complaints procedure and she already had my email at this point from Mitch so I told her to email me and we will look into this. Our housekeeping staff do not start until 9am and early shift don't start until 7am so it was definitely no one from hotel team and also our breakfast don't start until 7am and that's when we bring hot food out but I'm sorry if your tea/coffee took longer than you expected. We understand that all of you were upset hence why we gave drinks vouchers to you all to have a drink on us while we deal with the book out room. We also didn't charge you for your stay as a gesture of goodwill. Sincerely, Manpreet

Ray Couples - 29/06/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Weekend break »

Such a pleasure to return to the Grand Hotel. Staff make it so enjoyable as they go the extra mile to help. Particular praise to Anna in the dining room, Miriam on reception and the lads making awesome cocktails!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mari C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Manpreet

Anonymous Business - 28/06/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« The stay was satisfactory »

The hotel stay was comfortable room was very large although a little outdated with some damage to tiles in the bathroom that needs attention

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 71.10 GBP Non member rate
From 67.55 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates