Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel 3 stars

Customer review rating 3.7/5 1,279 reviews
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
See on a map
+ 15 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

You have reached the maximum of 6 favourite hotels, please remove one favourite before adding a new one.

Hotel extras

  • 16th century manor house with original features

  • The Priory Restaurant features regional dishes

  • Picturesque location, with lakeside views

  • 4 dedicated meeting rooms accommodating up to 100 guests

  • Ironbridge Gorge Museum located nearby

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 6 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

Castlefields Way
Madeley
Shropshire
TF7 5DW
telford
united kingdom

Tel: +441952680068

Fax: (+44)1952/684275

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • By plane

    BIRMINGHAM At 71.77km / 44.6 miles

  • By train

    TELFORD At 7.56km / 4.7 miles

GPS :52.643017, -2.45141

Our accommodations

"All rooms are individual in character and feature En-suite bath and shower, Flatscreen TV with Freeview Channels, Hairdryer, Trouser press, Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities,FREE Wi-Fi"

Standard Room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌1
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard Room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard Room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard Family Room

  • Max. number of persons: ‌3
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Superior Double Room

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Our restaurants and bars

THE PRIORY

Type of cuisine: Regional

Restaurant boasts an open-fire and high ceilings and offers table d'hôte menu for dinner.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

LAKESIDE BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 6

  • Maximum size: 245 m²

  • Maximum capacity: 250 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 175 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 3.7/5

1,279 reviews

Not up to Accor's usual standards

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Yvonne Couples - 16/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Reception staff uninterested on arrival. THe receptionist we spoke to first didn't even stand up to speak to us and passed us over to another receptionist. The reception area was quite dark, even though it was a bright sunny day, probably because of the dark furniture and decoration. The room door was open when we arrived. Although I mentioned this to reception, I was just told that it was probably left open for housekeeping to come in and check the room, however, nobody came whilst we were there. The door had obviously been broken down previously as the frame and area around the handle/lock were damaged and ours seemed to be the only room nearby without an electronic key entry and a Yale lock instead. Room was dated and not cleaned properly - ledges were dusty or stained, bath surrounds were black, one tap had a cap missing, shower head was dirty, some floor tiles were cracked. There were no restaurants, pubs or shops nearby so you need a car if you don't want to eat in the hotel. The hotel is next to a secondary school and when we arrived at 3.15pm the drive had cars parked on both sides so it was difficult to get through to the hotel itself.

Amazing building, friendly helpful staff, good food!

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Barbara Couples - 15/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We were welcomed warmly by a very nice young lady on the reception desk, our room (24 ) was lovely, airy, large and very close to the reception, so not far to get the bags there! We ate in the hotel on both nights and were very satisfied with the meal, great dining room full of interesting detail. Pleasant staff on at all times. Breakfast was delicious on both mornings, plenty of choice and nicely presented. The outside entrance of the hotel was lacking some flowers in the tubs and the area around the bar overlooking the lake could do with a spruce up, it did not look very inviting and could all do with a spruce up. Shame, as the rest of the hotel is lovely and this lets it down.

Acceptable at a great property.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Dawn Couples - 14/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Great property. Abbie in the bar was exceptional. Exec room tv control was missing (reception staff knew but not resolved). Breakfast was disjointed as a dishes not available together. New staff were not fully trained in Accor info. Would stay again because of my Accor membership.

Lovely hotel and staff. Our room was wonderful.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Wendy P. Families - 13/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We stayed for four nights, five days. All staff very welcoming and the ladies cleaning the rooms were lovely too. The standard is excellent and we will definitely come back.

Disappointing

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Tim F. Couples - 13/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Staff didn't seem to be trained in Client satisfaction. Restaurant was overpriced and my food over cooked (Steak). Having RAP music playing in the restaurant didn't lend itself to a convivial atmosphere. Room was OK but the whole place needed a good clean.

Great building, some rooms lacking.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

John R. Business - 12/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Historic building, however some rooms lacking standard facilities such as a shower that one could stand up in, together with a small room with low headroom.

Underwhelming with room for improvement

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Judith S. Couples - 12/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Lovely location and great food. Bar staff went AWOL twice during afternoon/evening. Our room was suitable for one adult not two (Room 47). I expected a little more space. I hit my head twice on the sloping roof and I am 5'1". Unable to access wardrobe due to closeness of bed. Staff appeared overwhelmed at times. Interactions with the receptionist was hot/cold. Overall totally disappointed in the room and service by some of the staff. The shower was very small and difficult to use. I would recommend that the management try the shower facilities and room for comfort amd practicality. I would be hesitant to recommend this hotel.

Room in need of refurbishment, under staffed and unhelpful staff.

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Mr T. S. Business - 12/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Very poor! I stayed in room 12 on the second floor. The bath had a shower attachment, but the bath was in corner of the apex of the roof, so to have a shower I had to kneel in the bath. There were no shelves to put toiletries on. The hot water had very low pressure to the point it was not a shower, but just a dribble. Staff were unfriendly and didn't care. The hotel was under staffed, the bar was frequently unmanned and it took ages to get served in the restaurant. The bedroom was very tired with mould and holes in walls. There was a kettle for making tea, but no socket on the wall to connect to. The card locking key on the door failed to work on several occasions. I am not the only one that complained when leaving, there was another couple just checking out before me and they had the same issues.

Welcome break

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Mrs B. Couples - 12/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

This is our 7th visit. Love the hotel and its surroundings. It's nice to see that its undergoing refurbishment. The colour scheme, carpets and furnishings very tasteful. We enjoyed staying in one of the newly decorated rooms, very peaceful just what we wanted. Nobody on reception quite often and although staying for 2 days key needed to be recut on day 2. Breakfast staff attentive and food of good quality however on day 2, a member of breakfast staff spent quite a long time discussing other team members with a guest!!

Adequate but not exceptional

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Colin K. Couples - 08/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Not impressed with maintenance of room. Litter in gardens. Breakfast not appetising.

Dear COLIN K., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am sorry you did not enjoy the breakfast and felt that the maintenance of the rooms was poor, I will speak to my staff about the issues you have raised. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Yours Sincerely Sam Higgs General Manager

Lovely hotel

Customer review rating 3.7/5

C M. Couples - 08/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Stayed two nights bed and breakfast. Set in a peaceful location by a lake there is a school close by only could hear in the school breaks but no problem. Plenty of walks from the hotel we had hot weather so everything seems better in good weather. The bath was a bit tatty around the shower screen area but overall a clean room. We would certainly stop again

Dear Christine M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am pleased you found the hotel and the surroundings to be good, I will take your point on board about the bathroom, and will have this amended. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Yours Sincerely Sam Higgs General Manager

Disappointed

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Phyllis Families - 08/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Location excellent, first impressions excellent, But scratch the surface and not so good, we went with another couple and their first room in tower was infested with bee's there was no mirror or wardrobe and the room was unclean they were moved to another room very quickly though, the staff were all very good, our room 43 was very cob webby, and not just in corners but on the walls turn the bedside lamps on and it's quite amazing how many there are also the shower only ran cold and the kettle needs replacing just look at it handle broken and its really grubby we feel your house keeping needs to be looked at, do your cleaners have their work checked? No coat hangers in wardrobe we did ask but none came

Dear PHYLLIS K., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I apologise about the state in which you found he rooms to be in, I will investigate this matter further to get down to why rooms are not being cleaned properly. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Yours Sincerely Sam Higgs General Manager

Enjoyed staying in a beautiful building

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Anonymous Couples - 08/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

OK but disappointing standard of cleanliness Disappointing breakfast

Dear LAURAINE W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am sorry you found there to be a lack of cleanliness. I will speak to my staff to ensure everything is being cleaned properly. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Yours Sincerely Sam Higgs General Manager

Really lovely hotel, just a few snags

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Carol H. Couples - 07/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Really enjoyed our stay, except mainly for the 24 hour bar ! We had sandwiches in there when we first arrived at the hotel which were very nice, we decided to have our evening meal in there - it was awful to say the least ! My husband ordered cod & chips - the fish was so over cooked it broke up while he tried to cut it, it was so thin. He felt he couldn’t eat any of it. I ordered the hunters chicken - the piece of bacon on top was nearly raw, totally inedible. There was no staff on duty to report things to. Staff were not available the second day either to serve drinks, which was very disappointing. Breakfast was perfect as was our room, no 50. We would return to this hotel, we would just eat out

Dear AMY H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay enough to want to return. I do apologise on the fact that you believe your food was not up to the standards you would have wished for. I assure you I will speak to my chefs about the issues you have raised. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Yours Sincerely Sam Higgs General Manager

Terrible

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Reo Couples - 07/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Check in was ok, I booked 2 double rooms, we checked in one & are friends were arriving later. We waited at the bar for about 20 minutes before anyone served us, there was no beer on draft. When my friends arrived they checked in & went up to there room to find out they had been given a single room at the top of the hotel, it was 29 degrees that day so you can only imagine how hot the room was, which was up a spiral staircase you had to walk up because there’s no lift! Bare in mind my friend is heavily pregnant. We went to reception & told them they had given us the wrong room. They told us there fully booked because they have a wedding on the manager said they have one room left but that’s the brides room. The manager said she can’t do nothing about it & said to my partner “can’t you swap rooms? No sympathy for the pregnant lady?” I thought that was very unprofessional of her, she wasn’t very apologetic or didn’t even try & resolve it for us! So we ended up leaving the hotel & staying at the new mercure Telford centre.

Dear REO M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am so sorry you had problems with your room placement and the service that was given to you. I can ensure that I will further investigate this matter to see why you was not allocated room suitable for your needs prior to you staying. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Yours Sincerely Sam Higgs General Manager

Staff friendly, premises tired and grubby

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Jim Solo - 07/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

First room I was allocated smelled strongly of stale cooking and the lights didn't work. Second one was a bit musty but just about ok. The whole place could use a deep clean and a lick of paint.

Dear GREEN J., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I apologise you felt the hotel was tired and grubby. I will speak to my housekeeping and maintenance staff to be able to make the hotel a nicer place for guests. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Yours Sincerely Sam Higgs General Manager
Customer review rating 3.7/5

A C. Couples - 04/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Good stay Hotel a little dated in places Friendly staff

Dear Anita C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am glad you found the staff to be friendly, and that you had a good stay in your opinion. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Yours Sincerely Sam Higgs General Manager

Great potential but let down in a number of areas

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Matt Business - 04/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Room had obviously not been cleaned properly (previous occupant’s towel hanging on back of bathroom door, hair/dust on bathroom floor, cobwebs on windows). Breakfast staff were excellent. Reception staff were...not. Driveway really needs some attention.

Dear MATTHEW R., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am sorry about the issues you had with the room, I will be raising this with my staff to ensure all rooms are getting properly cleaned. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Yours Sincerely Sam Higgs General Manager

Mixed Feeling on this hotel

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Lyndon Families - 04/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The Welcome was appalling. Receptionist had hardly any people skills and was probably the worst welcome to a hotel I've ever experienced. We had no smile, no hello, barely any eye contact and it all seemed a huge effort to Check us In. We did request a ground floor room with easy access for one of Rooms as one of our party had mobility issues, on the original booking but were given two rooms up a spiral staircase. When we asked if there was a possibility of Changing, the receptionist at first said no it wasn't possible but eventually after some persuading gave in. The Receptionist on checkout was far better. The restaurant was good and the service was acceptable. The room was fine although the bath was in a bad state of repair. The breakfast team were great and very helpful. Potentially this could of been a great hotel but it Didn't meet expectations. The staff at the other Accor hotel in Telford are Far superior and far more welcoming.

Dear LYNDON P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am sorry you believe the receptionist was not up to the standard you had wished for, I will offer training to ensure that all receptionists are able to offer exceptional customer service. I will take all other comments on board and put them to use to ensure the hotel reaches the highest standard it can be. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Yours Sincerely Sam Higgs General Manager

Comfortable but a bit lack lustre considering the ambience was very peaceful

Customer review rating 3.7/5

Alison Couples - 04/07/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Very comfortable bed. Bath/shower did not empty well and bath still had water marks from previous guests. No tea bags in tray. Only one bath towel. Flowers on piano/ comunal areas were pretty BUT half dead. General worn unkept feel. Mushroom risotto very good.Staff friendly/helpful especially at breakfast.Generally poor attention to detail.

Dear ALISON M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am pleased that you found the risotto to be good and the staff to also be good. I do apologise of the issues you had with your room, I will speak to my staff to ensure they are setting up and cleaning the room to a high standard. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Yours Sincerely Sam Higgs General Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in telford