Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 2,518 reviews
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel
See on a map
+ 18 Services
Book this hotel
Ceci est un message d'erreur

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

You have reached the maximum of 6 favourite hotels, please remove one favourite before adding a new one.

Hotel extras

  • Marco Pierre White Restaurant on site

  • Close to four major rail terminals, including St Pancras

  • Within five minutes' walk of two underground stations

  • A short walk from London's major shopping destinations

  • Nearby landmarks include British Museum and Covent Garden

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Boat excursions
Business services
  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

130 134 Southampton Row
WC1B 5AF
london
united kingdom

Tel: +442078333691

Fax: (+44)20/78373485

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BUS :   68/168/91/59 SOUTHAMPTON ROW

  • RUSSELL SQUARE :   PICCADILLY RUSSELL SQUARE

  • By plane

    HEATHROW At 24.14km / 15 miles

  • By train

    EUSTON At 1.13km / 0.7 miles

  • By train

    ST PANCRAS EUROSTAR At 1.45km / 0.9 miles

GPS :51.520798, -0.123307

Our accommodations

Standard room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: x2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard Room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: x1
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Small double room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: x2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Superior room with 1 kingsize bed

  • Max. number of persons: x2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: x2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard room with 3 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: x3
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Our restaurants and bars

MARCO'S NEW YORK ITALIAN MPW

Type of cuisine: International

Experience our stylish restaurant open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

MARCO PIERRE WHITE'S NY ITALIAN

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

The contermporary bar serves Food and Beverage daily

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 27 m²

  • Maximum capacity: 30 people

Find out more
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel Meeting Room

Our guest reviews for
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.2/5

6,524 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,518 reviews

Good Location

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

Mobile53126523143 Solo travel - 19/04/2019 TripAdvisor review

The location is really good and you can find many supermarket, convenient stores and restaurants around the hotel and between 2 underground station (Holborn and Russell Square). Breakfast is nice and you can have a big one before your visit in London.

One night in the he west end

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Adrian D. Couples - 16/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Ok nothing special room was near a noisy ventilation system as a club member I was a bit disappointed with the allocation and will be reviewing my future bookings with you.

Dear Mr. D., Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay here at Mercure London Bloomsbury. While I am glad that some aspects of your stay were satisfactory, I am sorry that not everything matched all your expectations. It is always our aim to ensure we are providing the best possible service to every one of our guests. We are sorry that on this ocassion you found that the room allocation did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will certianly be used to ensure going forward we are providing the best possible service at every opportunity. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

Lovely Hotel

Customer review rating 4.2/5

T G. Friends - 16/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

What a lovely hotel for our stay in London. Great location friendly staff and a lovely breakfast. Would definitely stay again

Dear Ms. G., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

Smallest double bed ever

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Tom W. Couples - 16/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The "double" bed was the smallest I have ever slept in and very uncomfortable, way too soft. The wheels on the bed frame also meant we could sit up and lean against the headboard as the bed would drift away from the wall. When I first checked in a asked for a room change as the bed was too small. The receptionist did move us with out question, but to a room that was actually smaller and with a bed of the same size. I gave up. I will return to London (I travel a.lot for work and pleasure) but I will not be returning to a Mercure hotel.

Dear Mr. W., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am however sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Here at Mercure London Bloomsbury, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. As a London city centre hotel located within an old Victorian building some of our rooms can be smaller than experiences at other properties. We apologise if this impacted on your experience with us. While I am glad that our team at reception was able to swiftly offer you an alternative room, I am sorry that this did not meet your expectations. Once again we appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

Mr Lynn M.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Lynn Friends - 14/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

This Hotel made my weekend in London and I would like to thank the staff and in particular Stephan on the reservation desk for arranging a great room and ensuring it was a twin bedded room as per our needs.Room No 607 was great and very quiet . our check in on arrival was quick and smooth and breakfast the following morning was good and enjoyable with everything available. The hotel gave excellent proffesional reassurance to myself who remained in London after the rest of my party returned home . One of the staff on reception even loaned me an Umberla and walked out into the street when raining to direct me to The British Museum .It was an excellent stay made more so by the staff and Mercure hotel .Have stayed with Mercure before and will do so again Ps Lunch menu in the restaurant had good options at a reasonable price but I elected to dine at the Cafe in the park, as the weather picked up Many Thanks will visit again

Dear Ms M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Marie Elvina

Acceptable

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Russ P. Business - 14/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Above average, I stay in hotels weekly. Your hotel was exactly what it said on the run. There was no wow factor. I was satisfied with my stay, met expectations but did not exceed.

Dear Mr. P., Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay with us here at Mercure London Bloomsbury. While I am glad that most aspects of your stay were satisfactory, I am sorry that you found that we indeed not fully exceed your expectations We are always looking to improve and feedback like your will ensure that we do not get complacent in ensuring we are providing the best possible servce at every opportunity. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mercure London Bloomsbury in the near future. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

Lovely Hotel, Great Location

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Keith H. Couples - 14/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Another perfect stay at the Mercure Bloomsbury. The room was lovely and quiet so we had an excellent night's sleep every night of our four day stay. The buffet breakfast was an excellent selection and set us up for the day. The hotel is a short step from Russell Square Tube Station (less than 5 minutes walk) and a similar distance to the British Museum, with Covent Garden about a 20 minutes walk, so it is excellently placed for sightseeing, etc.

Dear Mr H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Marie Elvina Front Office Supervisor

Ms

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Clare Friends - 13/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Fantastic experience hotel very clean. We stayed to celebrate my friends 50 birthday staff left chocolates, crisps and wine in our room when we arrived with lovely note. If we are in London again we would stay again and recommend to friends.

Dear Ms. Y., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. It was wonderful to celebrate this special occasion with you and share in this special occasion. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

An attractive, central and welcoming hotel

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Mrs C. H. Couples - 13/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Our room and bathroom were immaculate, the reception staff very helpful and efficient. We did find our room a little cold at 19 degrees C, though some guests would be happy with that. There is a bus stop right outside; Euston, St Pancras and Kings Cross stations close by; the British Museum just a bus stop away: all very convenient.

Dear Mr H., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff very helpful. I do apologise that you found you room a little bit cold. We can always provide a portable heater to make the room a little bit warm. Please inform reception to make sure we can provide a better sevice next time you stay with us Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Marie Elvina Front Office Supervisor

Very disappointed at being woken up at 5-30am by someone trying to get into our room and late night revellers making a racket until 7am

Customer review rating 4.2/5

John Couples - 12/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

As above. We were woken at 5-30am by a drunk trying to get into our room and then lots of people running around making lots of noise, a party in the next room and went on till 7am. No policing from the Hotel on noise or late nighters coming back. When leaving the hotel, we weren't asked how our stay was.

Dear Mr. C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am however sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Here at Mercure London Bloomsbury, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is always our aim to ensure that every guest enjoys a comfortable night's sleep, however on ocassion there can be external factors outwith our control. We are always looking to improve and your feedback will be used to ensure that we are meeting the needs going forward of every guest. Once again we appriciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

Good rest!

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Mariela J. Business - 12/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

In general it was very good, my room was not on the side of the main street so I could sleep very well, the bed and cleaning when I arrived was very good, I have some doubts on the next days, because except for the bed, it seems that they cannot move anything even things from the hotel that fell down and then it seems they do not pass the vacuum cleaner in all. Reception service was more than PERFECT. Breakfast very good! Unfortunately, I have a very bad point for you, I forgot my adapter to connect my electronics, I came bak to your hotel, around 3 hrs I checked out, and the adapter was already "stolen" sorry I do not find other word. So could be good to reinforce, emphasize to the people who clean that any small thing they find they must deliver to the reception... even if the value is not so high for me was important as part of my travel, and I have to come back so I need to buy another one. I am agree if I lose it in the street, if I forgot in a public place, but in a hotel, I trust you can keep it and if the owners do not appear soon then you can throw it out. Even if you see something important you might call. So just that, I have to book again in your hotel because it is convenient for my business trip but I will pay more attention.

Dear Mariela J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am however sorry for the issue surrounding your adaptor. We understand the inconvenience and frustration caused. We will certainly be escalating your comments to our Housekeeping manager who will perosnally investigate to ensure that we are consistantly providing the best possible service at every opportunity. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Kind regards, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

Really disturbed first night because of noise in the corridor outside our room until 2am and then again just after 6am

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Couples - 12/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Spoilt by the above

Dear Mr. P., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am however sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Here at Mercure London Bloomsbury, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is always our aim to ensure that every guest enjoys a comfortable night's sleep, however on ocassion there can be external factors outwith our control. We are always looking to improve and your feedback will be used to ensure that we are meeting the needs going forward of every guest. Once again we appriciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

Nice, clean room and friendly maid and door-man.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Nattaree Families - 12/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

A shame that front-desk staffs were not as friendly and welcoming as the maid and door-man.

Dear Ms. S., Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay here at Mercure London Bloomsbury. While I am glad that most aspects of your stay were satisfactory, I am sorry that not everything matched all your expectations. It is always our aim to ensure that we are providing the highest possible service at every opportunity to every guest. Your feedback will be used to train our team to the highest possible standards. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back to Mercure London Bloomsbury in the near future. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

Rude staff and fair cleaniness in room

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Penny Families - 11/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

First, the general cleanliness of the hotel was rather mediocre in the room. There was no specific item we felt was a problem instead it was the general housekeeping condition and standard. Second and more concerning, it was the rather staggering attitude of you front desk staff member. There were 2 plastic cups in the room and while one was collected we merely called and asked for a replacement. It happened in the late evening on 1 April. We were demanded to go downstairs, which was already quite unusual in a hotel or such calibre. We felt quite offended by the response by the male staff who refused to offer any solution and confronted us that there was nothing he could do.

Dear Ms. Penny, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Naturally, I am disappointed and concerned to read your feedback and would like to extend my personal apologies for the shortcomings you were faced with during your time here at Mercure London Bloomsbury. Delivering outstanding service is an imperative part of our brand and I can assure you that what you have experienced is far below the usual standards that we strive to provide here and I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. We fully understand of providing the best possible service at every moment and we are therefore very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback and if you would like to discuss this any further please contact me on re… and I sincerely hope that we may welcome you back in the future and to resolve your concerns. Kind regards, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

A Good Experience

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Andrew J. Couples - 10/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We stayed one night in April. The room was quiet and well-appointed. It was great to be able to open the window. The bathroom floor was heated, which was an unexpected bonus. The bds were comfortable. The location is excellent – within walking distance of the West end and Covent Garden. One blip – no black tea in the complimentary beverage range. Overall, recommended.

Dear Mr J., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Another great visit !

Customer review rating 4.2/5

J A. M. T. Couples - 09/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We have been regular guests at the Mercure Bloomsbury for some years now and we always appreciate the consistently high standards of care and service we experience. We know we have a choice of accommodation when staying in London but the warmth, courtesy and cheerful consideration extended to us by all the staff we encounter at the Mercure Bloomsbury means there is nowhere else we would rather stay

Dear Mrs and MrTucker, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I hope to see you again very soon! Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

very enjoyable and excellent location for theatres

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Couples - 08/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Welcoming comfortable and great location for central London

Dear Mr S., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Nice clean central hotel

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Paul N. Business - 06/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Good, nice welcoming staff, room clean and tidy. A little small, but little to complain about

Dear Mr. N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. As a London city centre hotel located within an old Victorian building some of our rooms can be smaller than experiences at other properties. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

Wonderful stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

J B. Couples - 04/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

As previously lovely hotel great facilities staff helpful and very warming.

Dear Ms. B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor

It was OK

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Gene Couples - 04/04/2019 AccorHotels certified review

I would give my rate experience at 10 if not one problem - we made reservation for a standard room with 1 double bed for almost 2 weeks, but when we checked in we were given a small standard room, and describing it as a small would be understatement. Fortunately few days later we were our room but only after we complaint about.

Dear Mr. R., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am however sorry that the room allocation was not to your satisfaction. We have a variety of room categories here at the hotel. As a London city centre hotel located within an old Victorian building some of our rooms can smaller than experiences at other properties. For your next stay please select one of our larger Superior Kingsize rooms. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back to Mercure London Bloomsbury again very soon. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Front Office Supervisor
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Powered by

Trustyou

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london