Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 2,552 reviews
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel
See on a map
+ 18 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

You have reached the maximum of 6 favourite hotels, please remove one favourite before adding a new one.

Hotel extras

  • Marco Pierre White Restaurant on site

  • Close to four major rail terminals, including St Pancras

  • Within five minutes' walk of two underground stations

  • A short walk from London's major shopping destinations

  • Nearby landmarks include British Museum and Covent Garden

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Boutiques/shopping
  • Porter
  • Concierge
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Leisure and activities
  • Boat excursions
Business services
  • 1 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

130 134 Southampton Row
WC1B 5AF
london
united kingdom

Tel: +442078333691

Fax: (+44)20/78373485

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • BUS :   68/168/91/59 SOUTHAMPTON ROW

  • RUSSELL SQUARE :   PICCADILLY RUSSELL SQUARE

  • By plane

    HEATHROW At 24.14km / 15 miles

  • By train

    EUSTON At 1.13km / 0.7 miles

  • By train

    ST PANCRAS EUROSTAR At 1.45km / 0.9 miles

GPS :51.520798, -0.123307

Currently, close to our hotel

One year One, New designers

From 27/06/2019 to 06/07/2019

At 2 km

Cricket World Cup

From 30/05/2019 to 14/07/2019

At 4.4 km

Masterpiece London 2019

From 27/06/2019 to 03/07/2019

At 4.4 km

Notting Hill Carnival

From 25/08/2019 to 26/08/2019

At 5.6 km

100% Design London

From 18/09/2019 to 21/09/2019

At 6.6 km

The London Chocolate Show

From 13/10/2019 to 15/10/2019

At 6.6 km

London Diamond League, athletics

From 20/07/2019 to 21/07/2019

At 8.1 km

Greenwich+Docklands International Festival

From 21/06/2019 to 07/07/2019

At 9.9 km

The Championships Wimbledon, tennis

From 01/07/2019 to 14/07/2019

At 11 km

Hampton Court Palace Flower Show

From 02/07/2019 to 07/07/2019

At 20 km

Our accommodations

Standard room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard Room with 1 single bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌1
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Small double room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Superior room with 1 kingsize bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard room with 2 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Standard room with 3 single beds

  • Max. number of persons: ‌3
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Our restaurants and bars

MARCO'S NEW YORK ITALIAN MPW

Type of cuisine: International

Experience our stylish restaurant open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

MARCO PIERRE WHITE'S NY ITALIAN

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

The contermporary bar serves Food and Beverage daily

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 1

  • Maximum size: 27 m²

  • Maximum capacity: 30 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.2/5

6,852 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

2,552 reviews

Pleasant stay.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Chris Couples - 13/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

A few things in the room could have been better but overall it was ok. As this was our second stay at the hotel we booked a slightly larger room & found it to be much better. The breakfasts were not as good as the first time we stayed there but the choice of food on offer is still quite good. The overall taste & quality of the food has deteriorated since our first stay in 2016. The hotel is in a very good location if arriving in London from Euston train station (or if arriving via Eurostar) & provides a very good base to visit most of the attractions in London. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel & an underground station just down the street which make it quite easy to get around. There are plenty of places to eat around the hotel which is also very helpful. The hotel & restaurant staff are very courteous & helpful & I would be very happy to stay at the hotel again.

Dear Mr N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Unexpected and uninformed charge for early check-in!

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Sheldon A. P. F. U. Business - 12/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The room was tiny, barely enough for a grown man to move around. Night stand space was so tight that it was barely enough to hold a telephone. But the worst part was an unexpected early check-in charge. I checked in on the 6th of June (last Thursday) around noon time, after receiving information from my conference organizer that the hotel would accommodate early arrivals if rooms are available. I was never informed that there was going to be a charge of 59GBP (USD $77.93) for early check-in (first time I have ever heard of). However, when I checked out, the clerk insisted that I must pay regardless of whether I had been informed. There were several other conference attendants staying at the hotel, and I will make sure I inform the conference organizer to avoid this hotel in the future.

Dear Mr Z., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please note that this problem was a true exception to our normal practices. Rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem. All our efforts are concentrated in preventing future occurrences. Kindly accept the full compensation of the early check in fee on your credit used for the payment. The refund of £59 has been done today. I would like to reiterate our commitment to high quality standards, and I personally would like to make sure you will experience it during your next stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Mercure. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

the overall experience is ok

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Carman Friends - 12/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The overall experience is ok, except the room is quite small, besides, we also found that there are some fly inside the room. As it was quite unusual to find fly inside a hotel room.

Dear M. C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Fine

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Families - 11/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The hotel was nice, rooms were clean ans staff was friendly. The lobby way too strongly scented and the lift was slow.

Dear Mrs V., We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Very comfortable

Customer review rating 4.2/5

John W. Couples - 10/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

A bad start with some difficulty with check in.Room and bathroom smaller than expected.Carpet in room puckered up.But was very clean and comfortable.Staff helpful and nice.Great restaurant.Great location.Perhaps need a larger sign at the front as a little tricky to locate

Dear Mr W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Very enjoyable stay close to theatres.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Carole T. Couples - 10/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

We have stayed here before and was not disappointed great location friendly and helpful staff.

Dear Ms T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Marie Elvina Front Office Supervisor

G’Day

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Melbournite Families - 10/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Look how hard is it to say hello to guests when they enter the doors, return from a day outing or retiring for the night. It not only is HOSPITABLE it’s a security measure considering there is no card entry for the elevator. I would feel safer and more welcomed back if I got one hello. We had breakfast and that was good with fast and efficient cooked meals and explanations. I felt truly welcome when I had breakfast finally alas it was the last morning and wished I’d had the nice welcome. The heated towel rail in the bathroom was very useful so a great feature. Considering the location in London the room size was adequate so I was quite happy. I feel let down by a reusable plastic cup in the bathroom and wanted to reuse my towel and hung it up but it kept being replaced. House keeping was very good and well done. House keeping we’re actually more friendly than the reception staff too. The Mercure Bloomsbury was great except for the reception staff - please consider a program of ‘Hello, welcome back’, ‘Welcome back cheers’ or ‘Hello nice to see you again’. I know that attending to the computer screens and answering emails is important but so is repeat business. I’m sure many people don’t want a conversation but it’s just nicer to be welcomed even if it’s just spoken words.

Dear Ms W., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am very sorry that your visit with us did not reach your expectation. I will forward your message to our reception team to make sure we can carry the best service towards our guest. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Marie Elvina Front Office Supervisor

Very pleasant stay

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anon Families - 10/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Quiet room as requested. Only down side was one window with curtains drawn (scaffolding outside) meant the room a bit dark. Good breakfast, however, self service drinks did not work well - breakfast room too busy for only 1 machine. Requested tea instead, which was brought to the table in a pot - much more satisfactory option.

Dear Mrs M., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day. Thank you for your kind feedback, and we hope to see you again soon for another magnifique journey with us. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Well worn

Customer review rating 4.2/5

K. Families - 09/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Some staff very friendly & helpful. First check in clerk not very helpful

Dear Mrs Edmonson , We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

As expected

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Kenneth Business - 09/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Location is great. Room smallish as are most London rooms. Water pressure was low but adequate. WiFi was a pain connecting every time you closed your device.

Dear Mr Kenneth, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Relaxing Stay in a Great Location

Customer review rating 4.2/5

John Solo - 09/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was very accommodating and polite. The location is superb - just near the Russell Square tube stop on the Piccadilly Line. Easy access from Heathrow and to the theatre district which is actually within walking distance.

Dear Mr. K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Marie Elvina Front Office Supervisor

Miss Samantha G.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Business - 08/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The room was extremely small tucked away near the fire escape it was dull / dark and felt like a dungeon with bars at the window As a lady along I did not feel safe I felt I could not change or question the room as it had been booked by my employer Overall felt that due to it being booked corporately that I was dumped in the worst room

Dear Mrs G., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Great room, good staff, brilliant location

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Nicola A. Couples - 08/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Overall our stay was good, we had a refurbished room 008, no window but we wasn’t bothered, had a skylight though but not the best view. Shower was amazing, one of the best Iv experienced in a hotel, and I work in hotels do stay away often! Restaurant staff at breakfast were brilliant, especially Manuela, super friendly and very efficient! We didn’t use Marcos on the evening, so can’t comment. After we returned from our night out we ordered sandwiches, this was erm... not the best by far and when I spoke to the receptionist on the morning about it, she was quite rude, she did take them off the bill but in a Accor Mecure hotel I would expect a much better standard, Especially as I’m an Accor employee.

Dear Ms B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your room during your stay. I will share your comment to the breakfast staff and specially Manuela to make their day. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your night room service meal. I will also pass your message to night team to make sure it will not happen again. Looking from our system, you were not charged for the night room service, we have deducted the charges because you did not enjoy it. If you did get charged for it, please contact and we will ask our accounts team to have a look. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Marie Elvina

Comfortable room, good service.

Customer review rating 4.2/5

B. Couples - 07/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Comfortable rooms. Very noisy from the streets. Not sure how that can be solved.

Dear Mrs B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Good location

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Couples - 07/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The hotel is looking very tired, needs a good paint and headboard replacement. We asked the front office twice for some more coffee capsules, still waiting.

Dear Mr B., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you did fully enjoy your stay with us. I will share you comment to the Housekeeping Manager to make sure the coffe pods are given daily to the rooms. Moreover, the hotel is recently starting to renovate the rooms which means some of our rooms are actually renovated. Kindly inform us at check in next time you stay with us that you would prefer a renovaited room and we will our best. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Marie Elvina Front Office Supervisor

It got better

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Kelley Families - 07/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Initial room was subpar. Booked a 2 twin standard room and was placed into an accessible room. I've stayed in accesssible rooms before, they are usually larger and fine. This one was like a closet and had one of the strangest bathroom set ups i've ever experienced. The sink was tiny and filled quickly and was super low to the ground, which hurt my back to bend over and we couldn't turn the faucet to hot water. It had a roll-in shower on an incline which created a trip hazard. The rest of the room was tiny and none of the furniture fit correctly. There was a cubby space for the small fridge, but the fridge didn't fit in it and then the desk chair didn't fit under the desk. We asked to be moved, and after a delay they were able to put us in a standard room, which was better. Beds were very soft, but we appreciated them after a week of beds that were like concrete in other hotels. We separated the beds to sleep but had to push them back together to maneuver out of the room. Toilet was awkwardly placed. No outlets near the bed. Appreciated the effort of the front desk to get us moved. Overall it didn't live up to my expectation for the brand.

Dear Mrs O., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

The worst Accor property I’ve ever stayed in

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Rajnesh S. Couples - 07/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Unfriendly staff that never greeted us at any point and this is with the reception being only a metre away from the elevators and main door. Room just needed to be refurbed. Absolutely horrible bed, bathroom was mediocre at best, shower pressure was horrible and the bathroom door was rotting away. Not a pleasant experience.

Dear Mr S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Room was nice, main issue was the underground noise

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Chris M. Business - 07/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The room was very nicely appointed, clean, and attractive with the skylights above. There were only 2 issues with the room, one was that the Piccadilly line runs under the hotel so there was a very audible rumbling noise that only stopped at midnight. The other was that (possibly due to the alkalinity of the water) it was extremely hard to wash the soap off your hands. I.e. once you'd soaped up your hands no amount of rinsing would get the soap off, so in the end I had to use a towel. I don't know how you'd fix this, although perhaps you could find a more acidic soap that might rinse more easily. Also a small point (not a problem for me) - the toilet flush needs slight adjustment, on several occasions after flushing water continued to run into the bowl continuously until I pressed the flush button again, at which point the cistern then started refilling correctly.

Dear Mr Mcgregor, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Nice staff but room only adequate

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Business - 06/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

It was OK. Room was too warm but opening the window resulted in excessive noise due to traffic and aircon machine made too much noise to sleep properly.

Dear Mr H., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager

Aircondition not functioning

Customer review rating 4.2/5

Anonymous Business - 06/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

For the week of May 21 - 24 the air condition was not functioning. We called for assistance and your mechanic check it out, unfortunately he fixed it, but not that cold (we booked via Mercure website). For the week of May 29 - 30 it was really bad the air-conditioner doesn't work at all and they don't offer to transfer us to any room (we booked via Accorhotels reservation and it was prepared). Also, your wife was really slow we cannot connect to do our reports. We still have books from June 10 - 15 for two rooms. I hope that you can give us the better rooms with functioning air conditions.

Dear Mrs T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please be sure that we will make your next stay perfect. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Rocamora Thibault Front Office Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london