ibis London Blackfriars Hotel 3 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 4,130 reviews
ibis London Blackfriars
See on a map
+ 16 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • 297 modern guest rooms with innovative and comfortable beds

  • In central London with easy access to tourist attractions

  • Facilities for disabled access

  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel

  • Pet friendly accommodation

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Laundry
  • Currency exchange
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
Leisure and activities
  • Boat excursions
Business services
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

ibis London Blackfriars

49 Blackfriars road
SE1 8NZ
london
united kingdom

Tel: +4402076332720

Fax: (+44)0/2076332730

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • SOUTHWARK STOP :   45 63 100 N63 SOUTHWARK STOP

  • SOUTHWARK :   JUBILEE LINE SOUTHWARK

  • By plane

    GATWICK AIRPORT At 43.8km / 27.22 miles

  • By plane

    HEATHROW AIRPORT At 30km / 18.64 miles

  • By plane

    LONDON CITY AIRPORT At 12.3km / 7.64 miles

  • By train

    BLACKFRIARS At 0.75km / 0.47 miles

  • By train

    SOUTHWARK At 0.14km / 0.09 miles

  • By train

    WATERLOO At 0.8km / 0.5 miles

  • By train

    WATERLOO STATION At 1km / 0.62 miles

GPS :51.505136, -0.104874

Our accommodations

Double room with 1 double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 16
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Twin room with 2 beds

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 16
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Family room with 1 double bed + sofa bed

  • Max. number of persons: 3
  • Area: From 20
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

City View room with Double bed

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 16
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities

Our restaurants and bars

FOGG'S

Type of cuisine: International

Feeling peckish? You don't have to leave the hotel: inspired by the spirit of global adventure, the menu at Fogg's is loaded with everyone's favourites from tasty pizzas and salads to fragrant soups and diner-style comfort food.

Lunch

12:00 - 14:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

18:00 - 22:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

BAR

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Unwind with a coffee, sip a chilled sauvignon or bond over a beer or two. Our stylish on-site bar is the perfect place to kick back and relax or spend quality time with your travel companions.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
ibis London Blackfriars

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.4/5

10,242 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

4,130 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

Great location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Colin R. Couples - 09/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Friendly staff, close to transport links. Ideal

Dear Colin, Thank you for your lovely review! We hope you had a pleasant time in London and look forward to go above and beyond again for your next visit in ibis London Blackfriars! Sincerely, Guest Experience

All great, as usual

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

378bentoa Family - 09/09/2019 TripAdvisor review

I stay at Ibis Blackfriars only for one night, the check-in was good, the room was as usual at Ibis, the breakfast above average and the check-out fantastic. Good option for staying in London. Excelent breakfast.

Dear 378bentoa, Thank you for your lovely comments about your visit to ibis London Blackfriars! We are delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay with us, and enjoyed the quality of our breakfast and the friendly service of our team. We hope you had a great time in London, and it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back for your next visit! Sincerely, Guest Experience

Excellent accommodation in great area

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Lynne Couples - 08/09/2019 AccorHotels review

From first meeting the staff to checking out, we had a great experience. Everyone was friendly and helpful - changing the room to be more accessible for my husband & his broken leg was done quickly and with no fuss. This is a low cost hotel but our treatment was worthy of a top class hotel. The location with nearby Southwark Station and within walking distance to Waterloo (not for us on this occasion, of course...) is convenient for central London. We’ll be back!

Dear Lynne, Thank you for your lovely comments! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that your husband's leg is better! We all wish him a swift recovery. We hope you had a pleasant time in London and that we'll have the pleasure of going above and beyond again for your next visit in ibis London Blackfriars! Sincerely, Guest Experience

very good

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Ali Solo - 07/09/2019 AccorHotels review

the only negative thing in my mind is that the room seems a little bit old and not clean but in general I can stay there again.

Dear Ali, Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. We have noted your comments regarding the accommodation and thank you for bringing these points to our attention. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again! Sincerely, Guest Experience

Super

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Lefèvre-m. Couples - 06/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Au top

Chère Miss Lefèvre-M., Merci pour votre chaleureux avis sur votre séjour à l'hôtel ibis Blackfriars! Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour parmi nous. Vous avez récompensé nos efforts et donné le sourire à toute notre équipe. Ce sera pour nous un plaisir de vous accueillir de nouveau lors de votre prochaine visite! Cordialement, Guest Experience

Great location and wonderful service

Customer review rating 4.4/5

John Couples - 05/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Great welcome Friendly, efficient staff Hearty breakfast Perfectly located near Southwark tube station Good value

Dear John, Thank you for your heartwarming review about your stay in ibis London Blackfriars! You have brighten our Team's smiles and gave meaning to our efforts. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit. We hope you had a fabulous time in London and that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Guest Experience

It was a dreadful room, no amenities at all and not even a real mattress.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

E Business - 05/09/2019 AccorHotels review

The mattress was a futon with scratchy sheets. No tissues in the bathroom. No soap, shampoo, conditioner or lotion, just one strange soap you were supposed to use for everything. awful.

Dear E, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit in our hotel. I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. Ibis is a standardized brand with a similar size and facilities for all accommodations, and Ibis London Blackfriars proudly provides the standard UK 3 star requirements. Unfortunately, safes, minibars and distinct bathrooms amenities are not requirements for this level, which allows us to provide our services at a competitive rate. Moreover, Ibis hotels in Europe changed all the bedding, which includes a mattress topper on top of the actual mattress, and the vast majority of our clients are very pleased with this. Our bed sheets are standard for the UK market and renewed in order to ensure the best quality possible. I appreciate that sleeping habits are very hard to satisfy for everybody and therefore apologize if the experience has not met your expectations. However, we appreciate your feedback as we will use your comments in order to better our services. I hope this experience has not discouraged you from visiting us again and we will welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Guest Experience

Comfortable and practical hotel next to Southwark tube station

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Veronique S. Families - 05/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Our 2 nights in Ibis Blackfriars were nice, quiet and left us fond memories. The room 702 was comfortable, well equipped, clean and with fresh towels and bed sheets. Were only missing: a nice view and a little fridge to make it 100% impeccable. The breakfast buffet was a bit crowded, but well supplied, with varieties of cheese and pastries. Twice we dinned in the lobby because food was nice, tasty and affordable: the chicken curry and the grilled rump steaks are highly recommended. The staff was pleasant, international and helpful. Checks in and out were fast, easy and efficient. For our next escape to London, with no hesitation we will choose to come back. It is centrally located, opposite to a bus stop driving directly to King's Cross station and the tube station Southwark at 30 seconds walking distance. We loved being in short walking distance from the Modern Tate Museum, Shakespeare's Globe Theater, Golden Hinge Ship, the Shard, the London Bridge and Bridge Tower.

Dear Veronique, Thank you for your heartwarming review about your stay in ibis London Blackfriars! It has been a pleasure sharing your comments with our teams, and we are very happy to have made your stay with us pleasant. You have brighten our Team's smiles and gave meaning to our efforts. We hope you had a lovely time in London, and it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back for your next visit! Sincerely, Guest Experience

Clean and friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Mr R. Business - 04/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Staff were friendly on the front desk and room was clean

Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Sincerely, Guest Experience

Great hotel in a good location.

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Mark H. Solo - 04/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Lovely clean room, good shower and nice view!

Dear Mark, Thank you for your amazing review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to go above and beyond again for your next visit in ibis London Blackfriars! Sincerely, Guest Experience

Great hotel

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Rod Couples - 04/09/2019 AccorHotels review

The room was exceptionally clean and big enough for our needs. The location is very central.

Dear Rod, Thank you for your amazing review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to go above and beyond again for your next visit in ibis London Blackfriars! Sincerely, Guest Experience

Perfect

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Pete Couples - 04/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Everything was perfect. Flexible and laid back

Dear Pete, Thank you for your lovely review ! We look forward to go above and beyond again for your next visit in ibis London Blackfriars! Sincerely, Guest Experience

happy, clean room lovely view

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Patricia H. Couples - 04/09/2019 AccorHotels review

very relaxed, friendly helpful staff, good location

Dear Patricia, Thank you for your amazing review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to go above and beyond again for your next visit in ibis London Blackfriars! Sincerely, Guest Experience

No free breakfast left a bad taste in my mouth

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5

B6327YW Couples - 04/09/2019 TripAdvisor review

Having booked a 3 night stay on the understanding that in doing so I would receive free breakfasts during my stay, I was very disappointed to be told that this was not the case. It seems that I should have clicked the room plus breakfast button instead of the room only. As it was supposed to be free anyway I am not sure what difference that makes but apparently it does and I should have booked the breakfast option then had the cost deducted at the checkout - can’t recall seeing any guidance on this. I was advised that as I also booked into my loyalty account this may have altered the price I paid - well I hope it did and my loyalty was rewarded. Unfortunately although a compromise of one breakfast was offered this huge organisation was unwilling to provide the deal it offered. Their sausages are obviously prized possessions which are not to be handed out willy nilly- oh no. It seems that loyalty is definitely not rewarded by Accord Ibis. Otherwise the hotel is clean and conveniently located for transport links.

Dear B6327YW, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the ibis London Blackfriars. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have share your comment with our head office in order to take the appropriate measures to address the problem, and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Guest Experience

Very good hotel in comfortable location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Couples - 03/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Clean nice rooms Great location Great service Very little places for breakfest Limited amount of towels given in the rooms

Dear Yafit, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at ibis London Blackfriars; we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback and your comments will help us improve certain parts of our service. However let me help shedding some light to your concerns regarding the towels. The reason we provide two towels only - as you can also read on the leaflet left in every room next to the towels - is to follow our program Planet 21 - Plant for the Planet. At all Accor Hotels, we ask our customers to reuse their towels. Savings made on water and energy are used to fund tree planting and we plant one tree every minute. This is our way to contribute to the help and reservation of our environment. I understand that it may be inconvenient at times so please let us know during your next visit if you need more towels, and it will be a pleasure for us to accommodate your needs. I hope this experience has not discouraged you to return to ibis London Blackfriars next time you are in London, as it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again soon! Sincerely, Guest Experience

Smoking in rooms: isn't that forbidden?

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Clarisse B. Solo - 03/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Hello! this is my second stay in your hotel and although liked every bit of my stay, the only dark side was the strong smoke smell in the room. It looks like the customers who were in that room before me don't get the laws against smoking prohibition in hotels in EU. Anyway, apart from that particular point, everything was fine

Dear Clarisse, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment! I am sorry to see that your stay with us did not bring you full satisfaction on this occasion. Our hotel is indeed 100% non-smoking. However, despite our best efforts to apply a strict policy in this regards, some guests sometimes take the liberty of smoking on the premises. I understand the frustration this may have caused you as the smell can be very unpleasant, and address you my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience. In the future please do not hesitate to report any similar unpleasantness to our team, we would be happy to relocate you to a fresher room or resolve the issue in another way, so that you can relax and fully enjoy your experience. We hope however that you had a very pleasant time in London, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again and provide you with a more enjoyable stay! Sincerely, Guest Experience

Good hotel at a resonable price in Southwark

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Christian Families - 03/09/2019 AccorHotels review

This is really a very good option to stay in central London at a reasonable price and with a fine breakfast buffet included. The standard rooms are very clean. Everything in Southwark from London Eye to Tower Bridge is within walking distance (including Tate Modern and The Shard). Friendly staff.

Dear Christian, Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the ibis London Blackfriars. We hope you had a pleasant time in London and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon! Sincerely, Guest Experience

Acceptable value for money

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Sandra Couples - 03/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Excellent breakfast. Good location to tube station.

Dear Sandra, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely, Guest Experience

Confusing Website

Customer review rating 4.4/5

Anonymous Couples - 02/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Booked a 3 night stay which was advertised as - Book 3 nights and get free Breakfasts. As I booked Room only - it seems I am not entitled to a free breakfast. It seems I should have booked Room plus breakfast then get the cost of the breakfasts deducted at checkout. Also as I booked as a member there was a different price it seems which was probably higher so the free breakfast might not have been free after all. All very confusing but I have learned :- As a member I might not be getting the best deal Not to believe the advert on the front page of the website The hotel staff did not accept that they are responsible for the content of their website Ibis are willing to be very cheapskate when required Brand loyalty is not rewarded The hotel itself is the usual clean safe secure Ibis in a convenient location close to transport links.

Practical and good location

Customer review rating 4.4/5

B O. Business - 02/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Located close to my professional event, it was very practical. The room is very simple. Bed was good. What I really missed is a locker to safe my laptop and precious things.

Dear Patrick, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay but I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied. Ibis London Blackfriars proudly provides the standard UK 3 star requirements. Unfortunately safes and minibars are not requirements for this level which allows us to provide our services at a competitive rate. I hope this experience has not discouraged you from visiting us again and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon. Sincerely, Guest Experience Guest Experience
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london