Novotel London Blackfriars Hotel 4 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5 3,011 reviews
Novotel London Blackfriars
See on a map
+ 21 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

You have reached the maximum of 6 favourite hotels, please remove one favourite before adding a new one.

Hotel extras

  • Southbank location, perfect for culture and dining venues

  • 15-minute walk to St. Paul's, Tate Modern and the London Eye

  • 182 modern guest rooms and 10 disabled accessible rooms

  • Fully equipped meeting rooms and free Wi-Fi

  • Indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and fitness centre

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowed 15.00 GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 5PM
  • Laundry
  • Currency exchange
Leisure and activities
  • Swimming pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
Business services
  • 8 meeting room(s)
  • Web Corner on a Mac
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

Novotel London Blackfriars

46 Blackfriars Road
SE1 8NZ
london
united kingdom

Tel: +442076600834

Fax: (+44)2076332650

Contact email

Check-in from 14h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • LONDON BLACKFRIARS :   CIRCLE& DISTRICT BLACKFRIARS

  • SOUTHWARK STATION :   JUBILEE SOUTHWARK

  • By plane

    LONDON HEATHROW At 30.1km / 18.7 miles

  • By train

    LONDON BLACKFRIARS At 0.8km / 0.5 miles

  • By train

    LONDON WATERLOO At 0km / 0 miles

GPS :51.505157, -0.104709

Currently, close to our hotel

Cricket World Cup

From 30/05/2019 to 14/07/2019

At 2.6 km

One year One, New designers

From 27/06/2019 to 06/07/2019

At 3.4 km

Masterpiece London 2019

From 27/06/2019 to 03/07/2019

At 4.2 km

Notting Hill Carnival

From 25/08/2019 to 26/08/2019

At 6.8 km

100% Design London

From 18/09/2019 to 21/09/2019

At 7.4 km

The London Chocolate Show

From 13/10/2019 to 15/10/2019

At 7.4 km

London Diamond League, athletics

From 20/07/2019 to 21/07/2019

At 7.7 km

Greenwich+Docklands International Festival

From 21/06/2019 to 07/07/2019

At 7.9 km

The Championships Wimbledon, tennis

From 01/07/2019 to 14/07/2019

At 10 km

Hampton Court Palace Flower Show

From 02/07/2019 to 07/07/2019

At 20 km

Our accommodations

The hotel is fully equipped with new-generation Novotel rooms. 100% innovation: a glass screen, which becomes transparent or opaque at the touch of a button, separates the room from the bathroom. Novotel offers you eco-friendly welcome products.

Superior Premium Room with Queen bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 24
  • Views: Patio, Courtyard side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Superior Premium Room with Queen bed and single convertible sofa

  • Max. number of persons: ‌3
  • Area: From 24
  • Views: City side, Courtyard side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Superior Premium Room with 1 Queen-size bed and 2 single sofa beds

  • Max. number of persons: ‌4
  • Area: From 24
  • Views: Courtyard side, City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk(...)

Executive Premium Room with Queen size bed

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 24
  • Views: City side, Courtyard side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Executive Premium Room with Queen size bed andprivate balcony

  • Max. number of persons: ‌2
  • Area: From 26
  • Views: Panorama view, City side *
  • Most of the accommodation: Balcony *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Executive suite with King size bed and 2 single sofa beds

  • Max. number of persons: ‌4
  • Area: From 35
  • Views: City side *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • High speed internet
  • Free in Room Mineral Water
  • Coffee/tea making facilities
  • Satellite/cable colour TV(...)

Our restaurants and bars

JAMBOREE FOODFEST & BAR

Type of cuisine: International

Take your taste buds on a flavour journey with the Jamboree Foodfest menu. Take on the Raging Bull, dance with The Jerk or have a fling with the Morris Major. Enjoy a laid-back vibe

Lunch

12:00 - 16:00

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

16:00 - 22:30

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Jamboree Foodfest & Bar

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Make the Jamboree Foodfest & Bar your new hangout and add a little 'jambo' and dash of 'ree' to your day, with the great selection of craft beers, classic cocktails and a delicious food menu available.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Your meetings and events

Our meeting rooms

  • Number of meeting rooms: 8

  • Maximum size: 84 m²

  • Maximum capacity: 100 people

  • Maximum banquet capacity: 50 people

Find out more

Our guest reviews for
Novotel London Blackfriars

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.5/5

11,686 reviews

tripadvisor tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.5/5

3,011 reviews

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of excellence 2019

No surprise with this Novotel. Near by the metro and the train.

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

pascalc78 Couples - 23/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

Nothing to do in this area but close to Borough market and Southbank. The lobby is not well organized and you may have a long queue for the breakfast. Mainly table for 4 people!!! Nothing to say regarding tge room, Novotel standard.

near many tube stations, easy access

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

Cruiser31783480973 Family - 22/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

Located in business area, very closed to Southwark station (only 3 mins walking). But also not far from Waterloo and Blackfriars stations. Super friendly staff to kids and my other family members. Many shops and restaurants around

Minimalistic - decent for short stayover

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Hk Business - 20/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Staff was helpful but can be friendlier or warmer, especially before we show our Accor status card. Food in the restaurant downstairs is pretty good, but seems like our waitresses are relatively new to their job. Hotel location is good.

Average hotel experience

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Steven Families - 19/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Bedrooms are average, cleanliness is average. Not big enough for a family with buggy

Would definitely stay again

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Nicky Couples - 19/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Very good, warm welcome, rooms clean, good facilities and good location

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Kerry Families - 18/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Staff were lovely in the hotel but the food in the restaurant was terrible. We went in the following night just for drinks, it wasn’t at all busy and after being told that someone would be over to take out order we were left for over 20 minutes at which point we left. The rooms were comfortable and the maid was lovely.

Dear Dean K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tony O'Donnell Front Office Manager

Great staff, clean rooms, good facilities

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Robert S. Families - 18/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Stayed one night , slight delay on my room the front desk offers complimentary drinks at the bar which was more than adequate compensation. Room well specced out and sufficient space for my family of 4. All staff were extremely pleasant and friendly. Would recommend to stay here as very central location but just far away from busyness.

Dear robert s., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tony O'Donnell Front Office Manager

Nothing special

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

phantomme Business - 18/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

For location it's good, but the service is slow and the rooms very basic for what they cost. Can't fault the place exactly, just didn't put a smile on my face or I doubt in a few weeks if I'll even remember it. will try somewhere else next time to gauge if this is normal London standards or if I'm being too picky.

Dear phantomme, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay with us here at Novotel London Blackfriars. While I am glad that some aspects of your stay were satisfactory, I am disappointed to learn that not everything matched all your expectations. Our prices are in line with similar properties within the market and are based on supply and demand. We are sorry that on this occasion they did not meet what you expected. For your next stay please contact me directly on h7942@accor.com and I will ensure that our team at the hotel exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Christopher Knights Assistant Front Office Manager

Nice hotel, shame about breakfast

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Frank Business - 17/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

My room was intelligently designed and comfortable. I was very happy with it. The level of cleanliness was very good and I had most things I needed. You could have included: a magnifying shaving/Make up mirror, body lotion and a flannel. A trouser press makes me very happy, but most of your guests were obviously tourists who would not care. Unfortunately the breakfast food was a disappointment. A very limited choice of every category (i.e. cooked, cereals, dairy, breads, meats and cheeses) and none of it was satisfactory quality. Breakfast service was not great either, one morning I was sat at a table where the remnants from the previous occupant (used coffee mug and a spoon) were not cleared away. Very poor.

Dear Mr. S., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel London Blackfriars. While I am glad that you were satisfies with most aspects of your stay, I am sorry that not everything matched all your expectations. We fully understand the importance of the breakfast service to our guests and are therefore concerned that this service was not to the high levels we aim for. Your comments have been escalated to our Haed of Food and Beverage, Cristiana Colucci, who will will personally investigate and use them to ensure going forward we are providing the best possible service at every opportunity. Once again we appreciate you sharing your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Assistant Front Office Manager

Perfect London experience for a business traveler

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Bnisen Business - 17/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

My arrival was the best part of my entire stay- I arrived very late due to a flight delay, and Luliana greeted me with the warmest welcome. I had emailed some documents in advance that i was praying the hotel would see and print out, and they were all printed and paper clipped together when i arrived. I had to wake up only a few hours later, and she called me personally to make sure I had heard the wake up call. How many hotels do that these days? It really started my stay off in the warmest manner. (Thank you Luliana!) As for the rest of my visit, I stayed in a superior room with a sofa and it was just perfect for me. Not too tiny as other London hotels can tend to be, very modern, and the sofa gave me plenty of space to lay out all my business papers, laptop, etc. It was also surprisingly quiet. I never heard other hotel doors closing, etc. Bedding was wonderful, although pillows were hard as rocks, so i asked for some new ones and they provided me with feather pillows. The restaurant downstairs was yummy and the gym and pool looked amazing- i wish i had had time to enjoy. I will be back!

Dear Beryt N., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tony O'Donnell Front Office Manager

Very good

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Matteo Business - 17/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Good choice of services(even if the spa didn't work properly) Good position to see the city Good breakfast Clean room and comfortable.

Dear Mr. D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Assistant Front Office Manager

Great location, friendly staff

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Primasari Families - 17/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Very short distance to Southwark station, and the staffs are super friendly towards my family

Dear Ms. i., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Assistant Front Office Manager

Thoroughly Enjoyed the Hotel

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Brandon N. C. Families - 17/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

The room was in great condition and the interior design was welcoming. Location and price couldn't have been better in London. The breakfast was delicious and I was glad we opted to include breakfast in our booking. My children had an amazing time in the pool each evening after we spent the day exploring the city. When looking to book my next family vacation I'll be looking for Accor Hotel brands wherever we plan on visiting. Thanks for a great stay!

Dear Mr. C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Assistant Front Office Manager

First time in London, glad we stayed at the Novotel Blackfriars

Customer review rating 4.5/5

E. A. T. Couples - 17/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Easy to get to from the Eurostar station. Within blocks from everything. Extremely quiet and clean (almost new).

Dear Mr. T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Assistant Front Office Manager

OK, but, nothing to make me go back.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Martin O. Business - 17/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Staff seemed too rushed to be of much assistance, but, always polite. WiFi is too slow,

Dear Mr. O., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I am however sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my apologies. Here at Novotel London Blackfriars, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. While I am glad that you found our staff to be polite, I am sorry to learn that you found our team did not have the adequate time and resource to assist you accurately. We will be using your feedback to ensure that we are providing our guests with the highest levels of service at every opportunity. Here at the hotel we are soon to be undertaking a full upgrade of our in-house WIFI. This should help ensure our signal is to the strengths our guests expect. Once again we appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Assistant Front Office Manager

Mr

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jacek Business - 16/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Great stay i a very nice and cozy hotel perfectly located for my needs. Yummy breakfast :)

Dear Jacek K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tony O'Donnell Front Office Manager

Very nice Hotel with some service problems

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Jochen T. Business - 15/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

I had a wonderful room, perfect. The breakfast was good and the general service was also very nice. Two things I do not understand. If I have something on the room menue, and I am sitting in the restaurant to order this (cesars salat) I got the hard answer, we do not serve this here, its only for roomservice. I can't accept this answer because it is the same hotel kitchen the food comes from. The nice lady from the reception clarified everything and I ended up getting my food into my room delivered. Second thing I am having trouble to understand. I am a Member of Accor Hotels. I stay on a regular basis in your Hotels. When I fly back over the weekend, I would like to leave some luggage in London to not carry everything with me. The Novoltel told me, they can't keep Luggage if I am not a Guest in the following week. Because I stayed at the IBIS next door the following week, they should be able to do this. When I asked there, they told me, for security reasons, I am not allowed to leave baggage over night. Well, I ended up carrying everything back and force to Germany and London. This is not what I am expecting from a Hotel, as I had better service when I stayed in Germany in Accor Hotels.

Dear Mr. T., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel London Blackfriars. I am however sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Here at Novotel London Blackfriars, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. The situation that you encountered regarding the order in our Restaurant is something that we fully understand your frustration. Following your experience and subsequent feedback we will be reviewing our practices and taking appropriate measures to ensure we are providing the best possible service at every opportunity. Unfortunately due to the capacity of our hotel as well safety concerns we are unable to store luggage for guests that not not currently in-house with us. We understand that other properties within the Accor family are able to accommodate this request and are sorry that we do not have this facility. Once again we appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Christopher Knights Assistant Front Office Manager

Above average for London, except for the breakfast

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Felipe Y. Couples - 15/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Rececption staff offered us a warm welcome when we arrived. Really appreciated the room upgrade and the card/goodies given to us (it was our anniversary). Room was bright and looked new/well maintained. Was clean as well. Breakfast was a letdown - servers were chaotic and slow to replenish food from the buffet.

Dear Felipe Arisa Y., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tony O'Donnell Front Office Manager

Average

TripAdvisor rating 4.5/5

maccadacca77 Family - 15/06/2019 TripAdvisor review

Not really up to typical Novotel/Accor standards. Housekeeping was pretty poor and failed to do basics such as refill toilet paper, replace glasses, etc. The shower head and screen door were broken - maintenance obviously not a priority. Breakfast buffet was more like one I would expect at an Ibis, we ate at the Jamboree restaurant and were not impressed by the food (the service was good though). Location was good with tube station just up the road.

Dear maccadacca77, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Naturally, I am disappointed and concerned to read your feedback and would like to extend my personal apologies for the shortcomings you were faced with during your time here at Novotel London Blackfriars. Delivering outstanding service is an imperative part of our brand and I can assure you that what you have experienced is far below the usual standards that we strive to provide here and I would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. As Trip Advisor is anonymous, I would be most grateful if you could contact me with your details so that we may further investigate your experience at our hotel and to ensure that we do not repeat the same mistakes again. You may contact me directly on h7942@accor.com and I sincerely hope that we may welcome you back in the future and to resolve your concerns. Kind regards, Christopher Knights Assistant Front Office Manager

Well equipped and comfortable rooms.

Customer review rating 4.5/5

Brian D. Business - 14/06/2019 AccorHotels certified review

Friendly staff and good choice for breakfast.

Dear Brian D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Tony O'Donnell Front Office Manager
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in london