Hotel - Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel

3.5/5 1,827 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 51.00 GBP Non member rate
From 48.45 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WIFI at the hotel
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WIFI in your room
    • WIFI access
  • Parking
    • Private outdoor parking (Paying)
    • Bus/coach parking area (Paying)
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Languages spoken at the hotel
    • English
    • Spanish
    • Italian
    • Portuguese
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 2 meeting room(s)
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

The hotel's 99 recently refurbished bedrooms offer guests a range of accommodation options including suites, family rooms and enhanced accessibility.All bedrooms are non-smoking and have complimentary WiFi access, flatscreen TV with satellite channels, hair dryer, iron and board, safe, tea and coffee making facilities and direct dial telephone.

  • 99 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Baby bed
    • Emergency exit map
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Free in-room mineral water
    • Telephone
    • Opening windows
    • Remote control TV
    • WIFI in your room
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Baby bed
    • Minibar
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Toilets
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Voicemail
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

3.8/5 AccorHotels Rating 4,101 reviews

Our guest reviews for Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 1,827 reviews
Noel +. S. G. Couples - 13/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Me and mrs noel G. »

Room needs a complete overhaul, hated using the shower, bed on the 2nd night was not made, duvet thrown over the top, cutlery on the carpet outside our door from arrival till departure. Etc.

Inspire66779444964 Couples - 13/11/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Fabulous Birthday Stay »

I booked this hotel to stay overnight following my husband's birthday celebrations and they did not disappoint. The room was decorated with banner and balloons, card and present which was totally unexpected but made our stay even more enjoyable. We took advantage of the happy hour in the bar and treated ourselves to a cocktail before our night out, prepared by very knowledgeable staff. The breakfast was fabulous - everything you could ask for and hot food was cooked to perfection. Thank you for a wonderful stay

William R. K. Business - 12/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Return Visit - Not Disappointed »

Had used this centrally located hotel earlier in the year. Happy to return and certainly not disappointed. Found all the staff to be very friendly and efficient. Had a very enjoyable evening meal in the restaurant. Varied menu choices. Competitively priced. It was a well cooked and well presented meal. Pleasant bar area for a pre-dinner drink. Breakfast was an enjoyable experience with plenty of options. Very pleased with the room we were allocated. Would be happy to return again.

Pat M. Solo - 12/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very pleasant stay »

Comfortable, clean, very pleasant staff

Julie S. Couples - 12/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mediocre service and room »

Inadequate wardrobe hanging rail and oddly the safe was not attached to the wall!?! No WIFI connection and the room in general was just shabby. Poor service at breakfast, no attention given just tea or coffee request. The breakfast ordering was not explained to us, the 2 ladies serving were more interested in having a chat amongst themselves!

Christina W. Couples - 12/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Came up short »

Car park full to start with, then shower was red hot. Unable to turn it down so partner couldn’t wash hair or have a shower.

John W. B. Business - 12/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Convenient location for my business visit »

Although my stay was arranged by an agency, as I have stayed at the Mercure chain hotel before, I new what to expect. Additionally, with the History of the hotel, made the stay a bit more interesting. Staff were friendly and helpful. Disappointed with the portion of the evening meal, the Sole was two very small pieces and way to much sauce.

Anonymous Solo - 12/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« My stay at the Mecure was pleasant. »

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was central to the shopping strip and was good that way. The breakfast was very good. My room was adequate and so overall my stay was a pleasant one.

Dorsetlane Friends - 12/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely hotel in a great location »

Warm and welcoming staff. Beautiful old building but with an updated interior. Room had everything that was required. Food was made with fresh produce and was of a good portion size. Great location right on the High Street and with the added bonus of onsite parking.

The D. N. C. G. A. A. E. M. Business - 12/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Never went »

Never stayed, guest had same name and paid issue with central reservations

Rosa S. Solo - 12/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Overall experience satisfactory. »

As a woman of a certain age I resented being first assigned to a small uncomfortable room at the end of a long corridor. The heat was not working and the room was very cold. The room was subsequently changed to a slightly larger and warmer room, but I found the change tedious. Your reception staff should pay more attention to the type of person they are dealing with. I came from a five star hotel in London and did not expect similar service but I expected a decent room. On a positive note, the food at dinner was excellent so was the breakfast buffet.

Bronia Couples - 12/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Bron »

Booked a room with terrace. There was no terrace! I’ve stayed here a few times, the beds are very comfortable. The room I was given was boringly decorated... bland. I have stayed here before when the beds were made up with lovely bedspreads in warm colours Nevertheless I would still recommend this hotel as it’s staff are pleasant and the mattresses are great.

Donna A. Couples - 12/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Polite, friendly staff and clean, comfortable room »

Polite, friendly staff and clean, comfortable room. Vegan and gluten free options available for breakfast.

Philip D. Couples - 11/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Mr P d. »

nice hotel in great location.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Philip d., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Dan Wilson General Manager

Steve Couples - 11/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Terrible »

Very disappointing. We paid for a privalige room which was nothing like the pictures on the internet. The room was damp and the wardrobe smelt of damp and it was that bad that we could not put our clothes in there. There was no loo role in the bathroom. There were no dressing gowns in our room. The bed looked as if it had been slept in and not changed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Steve A., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am sorry that you were disappointed. I have will now be reviewing your comments with my housekeeping and maintenance team to ensure corrections are made. Kind Regards, Dan Wilson General Manager

Lin Couples - 10/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Comfortable and unchallenging stay. »

Quiet room that would benefit from redecoration, but clean and well furnished.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Linda R., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of refurbishment so hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future so that you can experience one of these rooms. Kind Regards, Dan Wilson General Manager

Norman C. Families - 10/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very good »

Hotel very clean and staff very friendly

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Norman C., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Dan Wilson General Manager

Dorothy D. Couples - 09/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Ideally situated for a short break »

The Dolphin Hotel is a lovely old building in the heart of the city within reach of all visitor attractions and shopping. Our room was clean and comfortable and adequate for the 2 nights we spent there. Food was excellent as was the service - very friendly and helpful staff.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Dorothy D., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Dan Wilson General Manager

Jascott Couples - 09/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Very central, great staff »

Stayed here after getting off a cruise for 2 nights. We arrived early so the staff stored our luggage while we explored Southampton and checked in later in the afternoon. The room was large and comfortable. Every interaction with any member of staff was very friendly and everyone knew what they were doing. Had a lovely time and would recommend it here

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Julie S., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards Dan Wilson General Manager

Andrew W. Couples - 09/11/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Good except disappointed on taxi service back from the port »

Stay was ok with the exception on your pre booked taxi service going to the port was ok. But coming back when I phoned the taxi number supplied by yourselves, they wouldn't send a taxi as the knew nothing about It or even your hotel arrangement. I paid for a taxi myself albeit was refunded at your reception. But it's the last thing I wanted at 06.30.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Andrew W., Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experiences and I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I am sorry that you had been let down by our Taxi Company. We have received a number of complaints on this and have taken the decision in using an alternative supplier. Not a great way to end your holiday - and I am extremely sorry about this. We hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind Regards, Dan Wilson General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 51.00 GBP Non member rate
From 48.45 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates