ibis Geneve Petit Lancy Hotel 2 stars

TripAdvisor rating 4.0/5 645 reviews
ibis Geneve Petit Lancy
See on a map
+ 13 Services
Book this hotel

Room 1

Number of guests
Children's age
Best price guarantee How it works?

Le Club AccorHotels

Free: become a member

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points

  • I can use my Rewards points

  • I benefit from advantages

  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate

Hotel extras

  • Advantage 1

  • Advantage 2

  • Advantage 3

  • Advantage 4

  • Advantage 5

This hotel participates to Planet 21 and is acting in favour of Positive Hospitality.

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 12h00

Check out up to 12h00

Paying

Services and practical information
  • Online check-in
  • WIFI/Internet Access
  • Private indoor parkingPaying
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
  • Pets allowedPaying
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air conditioned
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-outPaying
  • Shoe shine machine
Catering
  • Breakfast
  • 1 bar(s)
Business services
  • Copy/print service available

Hotel location

ibis Geneve Petit Lancy

Chemin des Olliquettes 8
1213
geneva
switzerland

Tel: +41227090200

Fax: (+41)22/7090210

Contact email

Check-in from 12h00

Check out up to 12h00

  • AEROPORT DE COINTRIN :   23 Les Esserts

  • IBIS GENEVE PETIT LANCY :   22 Les Esserts

  • LANCY CENTRE :   2 LANCY CENTRE

  • IBIS GENEVE PETIT LANCY :   14 Les Esserts

  • By plane

    GENEVA COINTRIN At 5km / 3.11 miles

  • By train

    CORNAVIN At 3.5km / 2.17 miles

GPS :46.188333, 6.114999

Our accommodations

Room with double bed (63x79"/160x200 cm) featuring the new bedding

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 13
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products

Superior Room with double bed (63x79"/160x200 cm) featuring the new bedding

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 18
  • Most of the accommodation: CORNER_ROOM *

* Subject to availability

  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine
  • Bathroom products

MyRoom by Laurent : The Wine Room / double room

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 15
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Nespresso machine
  • Bathroom products

Wheelchair-accessible room with a double bed (63 x 79"/160 x 200 cm)

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 15
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products

Room with twin beds (35x79"/90x200 cm) featuring the new bedding

  • Max. number of persons: 2
  • Area: From 15
  • Wireless internet in your room
  • Satellite/cable colour TV
  • Business Desk
  • Bathroom products

Our restaurants and bars

BAR RENDEZ-VOUS

Photo non contractuelle / Strictly non binding

Relaxation on the menu. A bit to eat, something to drink... It's the one rendezvous you need for a new take on work and leisure.

Lunch

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Dinner

  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thurs
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun

Our guest reviews for
ibis Geneve Petit Lancy

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more

AccorHotels Rating 4.3/5

1,807 reviews

tripadvisor

TripAdvisor Rating 4.0/5

645 reviews

Excellent accomodation choice for a fair price

Customer review rating 4.3/5

L.w. Families - 09/10/2019 AccorHotels review

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The service is efficient, professional and very friendly.

Basic

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Ayo Business - 07/10/2019 AccorHotels review

I spent 6 nights in the IBIS; bed and breakfast. There was a very strong odor in the corridors throughout my visit. The rooms were as expected but the breakfast was really basis.

Not enough facilities for a 2 night / 3 day stay

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Jerome Business - 04/10/2019 AccorHotels review

Friendly staff, good location But the rooms feel cheap and look cheap. the shower and toilet are more like a mobile home bathroom

Dear M. K., We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Genève Petit Lancy. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback concerning our team . However I regret to read that the rooms was not up to your expectations, especially knowing we recently had renovations in room . Can you tell me what makes you feel cheap , apart from the cabine bathroom area ? Thanks a lot for your feedback . hoping to welcome you again soon amongst us. Sincerely,

Mr

Customer review rating 4.3/5

A. A. Families - 03/10/2019 AccorHotels review

It was a fairly good experience as the staff displayed warm disposition but it was quite humiliating for guests to be carrying trays from reception to the rooms

Dear M. A., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Genève Petit Lancy. In Ibis in Europe, we indeed do not provide a proper room service. With regards to the plug, soon it will be changed for international and USB port. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

The room was nice enough but it stank of cigarette smoke

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Rebecca Business - 02/10/2019 AccorHotels review

I think the room seemed nice enough, good size and good TV. The room, however, really stank of cigarette smoke I don't like to complain and thought I might go nose blind to it but it was so strong it never went away. Other than that the hotel is nice.

Dear Rebecca , Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Genève Petit Lancy. We truly appreciate your feedback. Please allow us to sincerely apologize for the smoking odor inconvenience you had. Despite being 100% smoke free, some guest do not respect it, and as per our ventilation system, this is what could have affect your room. I am sorry for this. We hope welcoming you again in the near future. Sincerely,

2 ATTENDANCE MADE THE DIFFERENCE ON YOUR HOTEL!

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Daniela Families - 29/09/2019 AccorHotels review

I was supposed to stay from 17 to sept 22nd on your hotel but unfortunately my mother got very sick and we had to stay longer. In general the hotel does not seems like a 3 stars and was not so confortable but after our problem, 2 attendance made a difference and I would like to give a strong evaluate on them: TELMA AND BENOIT. They made all efforts to try to support us during the period my mother got sick. We had to stay until sept 25 and they always asked and made a difference. On the other hand I would rate as a 2 Clemence who seems not to care. Marta is also very kind but Telma and Benoit were 1000! Congratulation about those attendance.

Convenient

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Dgr8 Solo - 29/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Glad that it was a clean hotel and very conveniently located. Bus and Train stations are a few meters away. Groceries and some eateries are within the Les Essert area. It is a no-frills hotel and glad I brought my own toiletries. There is only one wall plug and not even strategically located. You need a really long cord to make it to the large area of the desk, Breakfast is the same all throughout my stay but if you dont mind eating the same stuff every morning, this is the hotel for you. There is not much choice around unless you go to the city which is around 7 stops by train. Else, this is a good hotel which is close to the airport and a few stops away via the tram to the City.

Simple, clean, comfortable

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Patrick Business - 28/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Excellent welcome and easy access

Friendly - Clean - Good Location

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Martin Business - 20/09/2019 AccorHotels review

My stay at Ibis Geneve was fully satisfactory. Really nice & friendly people, 100% clean and an appealing location... and good breakfast.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Edwin Business - 17/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Personnel and stay was ok ,but have not received a correct invoicwe which i need for reimbursement.

Dear M. B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Genève Petit Lancy. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay , however in the meantime I am sorry to read the trouble you are having with the invoice and communication with us. Please accept my apology for this. I have just re-send your invoice now. Should you need something different or additional, please do not hesitate contacting me directly. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better handle your request. Sincerely,

Cold

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Onur Business - 17/09/2019 AccorHotels review

The room was so cold and the air conditioner wasn’t heating that I got a cold and haven’t recovered in a week

Dear ONUR E., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Genève Petit Lancy. I am sorry to read that the temperature in the room was not comfortable for you . In this mid season, it is difficult to find the best set up , and indeed our ventilation system in room do not produce air conditioning and heating at the same time. I will however send my technician to ensure the convector in your room is working properly. Once again please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused. We hope you have recovered now, and look forward welcoming you soon in better condition. Sincerely,

good

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Joan Business - 11/09/2019 AccorHotels review

In theory invoice should be sent by email, and in my last 3 stays I had to send another email asking for it (and you have my email account in your booking)

Good overall. Couple of small improvement points.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Catherine D. Business - 05/09/2019 AccorHotels review

Hotel is nice, basic, clean. Air conditioning in my room was completely ineffective and I was too hot during the night. The bathroom needs somewhere to place toiletries near the wash basin. I had to put them on the floor.

Convenient location in a serene environment. Excellent support staff who speak both English and French. Excellent room service. The only improvement you could try is a fridge and water boiling kettle in every room

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Steve I. Business - 03/09/2019 AccorHotels review

In summary I would recommend anyone to stay at this facility. Walking distance to public travel - bus and tram

Good place for business travelers

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Brandon B. Business - 30/08/2019 AccorHotels review

It was a good experience. Service from personnel was very good as well. The rooms just lack some amenities especially related to entertainment, i.e.: TV is mainly for french channels, without availability of English subtitles, and no posibility to connect to Netflix. Besides, the is only one power outlet (as the other one is in the bathroom). Reason why this is a very good stay, but only for business travelers who won't spend almost any time in the room other than to sleep.

Dear Brandon, , We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us further to your stay at the ibis Genève Petit Lancy. We are glad that you overall appreciated our stay. With regards to the plug in room, soon this will be sorted as there will be USB port next to the bed and more at the desk . For the TV access, we are looking at numerous solution, and hopefully will get this sorted soon. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope you will appreciated even more your next stay and feel more welcome on your arrival. . Sincerely,

Fine but not beeing able to open window is a no go

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Michael Business - 23/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Fine but not beeing able to open window is a no go

Dear MICHAEL I., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Genève Petit Lancy. I am sorry that your experience did not fully meet your expectations. This hotel is built according to ecological standards MINERGIE© to ensure maximum comfort using minimal resources. The air in your room is permanently renewed and heated or cooled. The opening of the window affects the operation of ventilation and causes significant loss of energy. However , if windows opening is essential to you comfort, we do provide handles . You can ask the Team Member on your arrival. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Ibis. Please do not hesitate to contact me during your next visit. Sincerely,

Nice area and hotel

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Anonymous Business - 21/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Nice room, spotless, nice reception bar and food. IBIS team are excellent

Comfy and clean

Customer review rating 4.3/5

V. A. A. Couples - 18/08/2019 AccorHotels review

As usual with an Ibis hotel, clean and satisfying level of service.

Good night stay in proper 3-star hotel, clean rooms, nice breakfast,

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Henkdrik V. D. K. Business - 16/08/2019 AccorHotels review

You had 2 bookings (double); 1 on HENK K. and 1 on HENDRIK VAN DER K., you, my company and the travelagency dis not grasp why! The issue was satisfactory resolved, but my registration and the invoice never reached my email! This email does proving you have the correct info. You're hotel is OK, your IT is bit mixed up! The prices are a bit high, but that has more to do with the pricerates in Zwitserland.

Customer review rating 4.3/5

Ha… Business - 12/08/2019 AccorHotels review

Okay, however I still didn't receive my the receipt from my stay in your hotel. Can you please send me the original/detailed receipt from Hotel Ibis Petit Lancy?

Dear M. V., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Genève Petit Lancy. I just re-send your invoice electronically now, you should get it on separate email. We are still sourcing with the IT team, the roots cause of the system not sending the invoice . We understand the inconvenience. Please accept our apology for the delay. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,
Our most recent 20 reviews

In partnership with TripAdvisor

Our other hotels nearby

All our hotels in geneva