Hotel - Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel

4.0/5 1,434 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 55.00 GBP Non member rate
From 52.25 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WiFi in your room
    • WiFi access
  • Private outdoor parking
  • Reduced mobility rooms
  • Pets allowed 0  GBP
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Beauty salon

Leisure and activities

  • Indoor heated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Sauna
  • Golf course 18 holes  (Nearby)

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 24 hours
    • Opening hours : Week-end 24 hours

Business services

  • 7 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

The 87 bedrooms offer guests a range of accommodation options including spacious suites, interconnecting rooms, classic and executive rooms. All rooms are fully air conditioned and have complimentary WiFi and Freeview.All bedrooms are in line with 4-star standards and many rooms have wonderful views overlooking the Hall's grounds. All guests have complimentary use of our on-site Nuffield Health & Wellbeing Centre and can access Letchworth Golf Club (a fee applies).

  • 87 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 2 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 2 family rooms
  • 1 connecting rooms
  • Extra bed in room for child
  • Baby bed
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Air Cooling System
    • Free in-room mineral water
    • Radio in room
    • Remote control TV
    • WiFi in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Telephone
    • Direct dial telephone
    • DDI - Direct Dialing In
    • Baby bed
    • Printer
    • High speed transmission line
    • Fax machine
    • Iron in room
    • RJ 11 outlet
    • RJ 45 outlet
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Minibar
    • Bathtub
    • Hair dryer in bathroom
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Alarm clock
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

Our guest reviews for Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating 1,434 reviews
Stephen K Couples - 06/06/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Weekend Break »

The hotel is in a lovely peaceful setting, with plenty of facilities and parking and is not the first time we have stayed. However this time we were in one of the older rooms in the old part of the hotel and it was a very comfortable room. The staff are welcoming but not obtrusive. The glorious weather over the weekend added to the stay. Letchworth is a short distance away and the village of Willan just 10 minutes with two pretty good pubs.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Stephen K, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I was pleased when reading your comments, I have to agree with you, the hotel is lovely with a nice peaceful setting. I will pass your comments over to the staff who work really hard to provided excellent customer service, I know this will give the team real encouragement to keep on providing great service to you and all our guests. Kind Regards Mark Theobald

Family - 31/05/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Change of rooms led to better stay. »

This was a 4-night stay with a suite booking. On arrival we were shown to Room 01, Lytton Suite which was in a turret. Lots of difficult stairs and broken-up suite with very limited headroom. Having banged my head 3 times just checking out suite, I asked for room change. Eventually we were moved to a junior suite, which was suitable. No reduction in charge from a

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear niconsult, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy room 1 , which consists of two bedrooms, two bath rooms and a sitting room ,full of character and pleasant depending on peoples preference. I am happy to see that we managed to change your room with a more suitable one even and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. The team at the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel is always very keen to try the best in order to accommodate guest request, like in this occasion, we do everything possible to make our guest feel at home. I hope that you will visit us back in the future. Kind Regards Mark Theobald

Business - 27/04/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Amazing staff, Amazing hotel, awful systems »

We love this hotel and the staff, stay with them every week. The computer system is making their lives and ours a pain. We often don't get points and as a Sliver member (pushing towards Gold) it's a constant annoyance having to chase points and deal with check in errors due to the computer system.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear paulU9788KM, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel , I am delighted that you love the hotel and the staff. We are sorry about the delay in invoicing you. We look forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Mark Theobald

Business - 05/02/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Bad coffee »

Great staff, great healthclub F&B needs work - beg chili is terrible, no self serve coffee maker at breakfast Beds are horrible, routine stuff - working safes, working light fixtures in bathroom are neglected.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear 420z Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am delighted to see that the staff and health club is great. I have passed your comments over to the chef about the food and I will look into the possibility of a self-service coffee machine at breakfast, we are very proud to brew what is usually mentioned from guests as an excellent coffee. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Mark Theobald

BrianH77777 Business - 27/01/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Business trip »

As a platinum card holder , requested a quiet room, on quiet side of hotel , away from lifts . I got a room on third floor ,overlooking main car park. As the hotel is adjacent to a Spire hospital, the car park ended up noisy until late with comings and goings. My bed ,whilst comfortable ,was hard up against a wall, the other side of which was a lift shaft so suffered with this noise of the lift going up and down all night . Restaurant food was okay , service better. A disappointing stay due to room location- when I checked out , I mentioned my issues and I was told staff obviously did not bother to read my booking properly. Besides that , no room upgrade nor welcome gift which is normal for platinum card at all accor hotels .

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear BrianH77777 Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am disappointed to see that your stay did not meet your expectations, I will pass the comments over to the reception manager to ensure that all possible requests are met. Just to clarify the Hotel is not next a Spire hospital, but to a Gym and leisure facilities that can also be used from the hotel guests complimentary and even if the car park is usually not very busy especially in the evening, we have taken your comments on board and will verify if there is anything we can action to reduce noisy. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Accor club, we always offer room upgrade accordingly and we are sorry if we didn't in this occasion, I have reported this comment to the Reception Manager that will rectify the situation. I am happy to see that you felt the service was better and that the food was ok I will pass your comments over to the team who will use this as encouragement to keep on providing a better service. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Mark Theobald

Business - 13/01/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Stayed in better youth hostels! »

I was only staying for the night for a meeting the next day so cannot comment on the facilities but my room was awful. Bathroom was freezing due to rotting window Towel tail didn't work Not enough space to sit on toilet comfortably Towels were so old Sheets didn't fit bed Bed was so used it dipped in middle Tray of dirty food (not mine!!!) outside room when I arrived Arrived at 9pm, no signs to show where reception was. Drove round and round trying to find. Emailed a complaint but not heard anything back.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear JerembW2750zo, Thank you for feedback, I am sorry to see that you room did not meet your exceptions, I am disappointed to see that there were issues with your room, I have passed your comments over to our maintenance team to ensure these issues are fixed, Maintenance work hard with the up keep of the building. and i have trust that these will be deal with I have also asked the housekeeping team to ensure that there are different sized towel within the bathrooms. All rooms in the hotel are slightly different from each other and we do our best in order to keep the best possible standards. I will also look into further signage for the reception area so this is more clear for guests arriving in the dark.I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to me allowing me to rectafi these issues We do hope that you decided to stay with us again soon so you can see the improvements that we will be putting in place. Kind Regards Mark Theobald

Family - 06/12/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Great service..amazing stay »

We had a great weekend with an amazing service from everyone in the hotel. The staff at the breakfast they just been excellent and they done every single request from us with a great attitude. We will definitely come back.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear didi78brasov, Thank you for taking the time to give us such a glowing review, I am glad that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Mark Theobald Operations Manager

Couples - 26/11/2017 TripAdvisor review
« OK but nothing special »

This is an ok hotel...beautiful building, room a bit bland, some areas lovely and full of character. Mattress was v old and soft. Good bar food, poor selection of beers. Breakfast fairly average, staff friendly.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear markjX9351QD, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am delighted to see that our hotel is beautiful and full of character, we pride our self on giving great service and its nice to hear that our staff were friendly. I am glad that you enjoyed your food, I have passed your comments over to the bar team who will look at the selection of beers that are offered. We wish to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Mark Theobald Operations Manager

Business - 22/11/2017 TripAdvisor review
« A terrible experience - not worthy of the Mercure name »

The room was dreadful; cold, badly scuffed paintwork; torn & grubby lampshades. The duvet cover was much too large for the duvet and the room shook every time a nearby door in the corridor was closed. In the morning there was no hot water as the system had broken in the night.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear L4014ZPandrewb, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am disappointed to see that our room was not to our usual standard. We constantly upgrade and refurbish our rooms and the maintenance team works very hard in order to make sure that all rooms and communal areas of our building are kept to the best standard possible. We wish to welcome you back in the near future so you can see the improvement that have been made Kind Regards Mark Theobald Operations Manager

Family - 20/10/2017 TripAdvisor review
« comfprtable and practical »

This is a comfortable travel hotel with few frills and reasonable value fro money. The beds were a little hard but that is personal preference the rooms were big enough but the whole area is wonderfully quiet and service good. the gardens are well kept and peaceful.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear James P, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel i will pass your comments over to the staff who will be happy as they work hard to ensure that a good service is provided we hope to welcome you back in the near furture Kind Regards Mark Theobald Operations Manager

Couples - 22/09/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Could be great »

This is a nice hotel in a great location - but could do better. The room was a good size, comfortably furnished and well lit, but need refurbishment. The carpet was stained and the only shower head fixed at a very low level so that I had to stoop to get my head under it (I'm only just 6 ft tall). The set dinners were good quality and value (we had booked on a special DBB rate), but we were twice brought a larger size drink than we'd ordered. We enjoyed our stay, but would not come back unless there were some changes.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear kevest683, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am disappointed to see that our room was not to our usual standard. We constantly upgrade and refurbish our rooms and the maintenance team works very hard in order to make sure that all rooms and communal areas of our building are kept to the best standard possible. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our special Dinner Bed,breakfast rate and that the menu provided in the restaurant was of good quality we do hope to welcome you back into the hotel in the future Kind Regards Mark Theobald Operations Manager

Solo travel - 20/09/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Over-priced for my needs »

Do not expect prior 'phone or email contact direct with the hotel -- a nuisance. Narrow single bed -- too soft. Clean rooms, good service and breakfast. Preferred my much cheaper stay at the Broadway.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Charles W P F, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. I am to sorry to hear that in this instance you found our pre arrival customer check to be a nuisance, I have passed your comments to all relevant colleagues. We are delighted to read that your room was clean and that the service you received at breakfast was good. We look forward to welcome you back to the Mercure Letchworth Hall hotel Kind Regards Mark Theobald Operations Manager

Family - 05/05/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Bad experience »

Perhaps it was because it was Bank Holiday week-end, but it was a litany of disasters. The rooms described as `superior' are not!! Reception unwelcoming!! Overcrowded. Did not get room or table as promised. Very disappointing as it was a family celebration. Very small selection menu available. Food mediocre and this is just a few of the many things that were substandard. We won't be back.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear 215_inec I appreciate you taking the time to to post your review following the recent stay you had at Letchworth Hall. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the time that you spent with us over the bank holiday weekend. However I am pleased to say that you were in the minority amongst all the guests we had stay with us that weekend. Its a shame to read that you will not be returning to the hotel and it is my hope you will change your mind as we would love to have you back. Kind Regards Lisa Lisa Kearney General Manager

Friends getaway - 01/03/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Amazingly comfortable bed »

Overnight stay while visiting friends in the area and going to see a show. My room was in the modern wing of the hotel and was extremely comfortable and quiet, even thought there was a large part going on. Will certainly stay here again when I am next in the area.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear ToniJ1952 What a lovely review. I am in agreement with you - the beds are very comfortable and very hard to get out of when the morning comes around. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back in what I hope is the not to distant future. Kind Regards Lisa Lisa Kearney General Manager

andrea_d15b Business - 26/02/2017 TripAdvisor review
« An Alternative from Stevenage »

I booked the Letchworth Hall hotel as an alternative to staying in Stevenage. The hotel is set in peaceful grounds and is very accessible from the A1. The rooms were fairly small but the beds very comfortable and there was little noise from corridors or other rooms. The food in the restaurant and bar was great - we took advantage of the '£15 for a two course dinner' when booking directly with Mecure and this was good value for money. The staff were all very friendly and helpful providing a good level of service. I would recommend this hotel - it is a little tired in places but has lots of character and has gym and pool facilities. There is also a church behind the car park, and the churchyard was full of snowdrops during our stay - a lucky bonus.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Andrea_d15b What a kind review - thank you. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings. I do hope that we can welcome you back very soon. Kind Regards Lisa Kearney General Manager

Business - 16/02/2017 TripAdvisor review
« Comfortable Hotel »

Had to travel on a research trip to Letchworth and was glad to find that there was an ACCOR hotel in Letchworth. This is because I can rely on the standard being what I've come to expect from ACCOR. and indeed we were not disappointed.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear DPL46 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Mercure Letchworth Hall Hotel. I am so pleased to hear that we have lived up to your expectations and we do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in very near future. Kind Regards Lisa Kearney General Manager

Couples - 27/10/2016 TripAdvisor review
« Choose your room carefully »

We've stayed at this hotel twice recently. Pros: it is in a generally quiet location, with good leisure facilities attached (which we didn't sample) and friendly staff. There's plenty of free parking. Cons: the rooms vary, from those in the old building which have seen better days and have no lift access to newer, less characterful but with lift access. They can be some distance from the restaurant. Breakfast is the usual Mercure hot breakfast spread. Service only starts at 0800 at weekends.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi Silver, Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts on our Hotel and thank you for choosing to stay with us on more than one occasion. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and we hope to see you soon. Bruce Rowell

Mrs_N_79 Couples - 12/10/2016 TripAdvisor review
« Attempt at romantic night away »

Booked through the Mercury website and added dinner to a room only booking, unfortunately reception couldn't convey this to the restaurant. Reception was meant to be manned 24hr but no one there at checkout. Gym and pool were good but very hard to find. Room was a long way from reception but spacious. Not enough milk for tea. Never did see the view of the hall shown on Web page. Interesting mix of old and new building. Dinning Room/ menu felt better suited to over 50s.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs_N_79, Thank you for your review, I will be addressing your issues with reception and making sure it does have staff attending 24hrs. More milk is available if room service is called. I apologize for this. I am Glad that you found the room spacious and made good use of the pool and gym. John Carroll Deputy General Manager

Couples - 10/10/2016 TripAdvisor review
« LOVELY HOTEL AND LOCATION »

Nice stay in a lovely part of the country at an older style of country hotel. Unfortunately this was a stop over with an early start the next morning for a flight which curtailed the amount of time spent in the hotel. Overall a good experience with very helpful welcoming staff, comfy clean room. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Negative was the lack of trained staff available in the recreation area around tea time which resulted in several visitors having to hunt around to find somebody whilst we were enjoying our afternoon cup of tea with cake (no plates or knives provided). Reception was busy and there was nobody to ask for utensils. When arriving into the car park the hotel entrance is at the side of the building and aim towards the restaurant area past the area which is mainly set aside for weddings and receptions.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear RJ682015 Thank you for your feedback i will use this as a training tool to enhance our customer service. I am happy that you found your stay a lovely one. we look forward to seeing you again soon. John Carroll Deputy General Manager

Couples - 29/08/2016 TripAdvisor review
« Letchworth Hall Hotel »

A lovely hotel in a lovely setting. The hotel is clean, attractive and the staff are helpful and friendly. The Nuffield Health and Wellbeing Centre is part of the hotel buildings and is free to use for guests at the hotel. Both breakfast and dinner are of the highest quality in the attractive Lyttons restaurant. This our third stay at this hotel and will not be our last.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Peter, What a delightful review - thank you. Very pleased to see that this won't be your last visit to us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Once again many thanks for your kind words. Bruce Rowell

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 55.00 GBP Non member rate
From 52.25 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates