Hotel - Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Grand Mercure Hotel Grand Mercure Hotel

Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Our hotels AccorHotels
4.0/5 970 reviews
All hotels in Nelson
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel has a bar Bar
  • The hotel does not have a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel does not have air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From N/A --- Non member rate
From N/A --- Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 10h00
Paying

Services and practical information

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel (Paying)
    • WIFI in the communal areas (Paying)
    • WiFi access (Paying)
  • Parking
    • Public outdoor parking
    • Bus/coach parking area
    • Well-lit parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Wheelchair access
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • Babysitting on request  (Nearby)
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 8AM
  • Laundry
    • Dry cleaning / Ironing (Paying)
    • Laundromat (Paying)
  • Boutiques/shopping
    • Beauty salon (Paying)
    • Hairdressing salon (Nearby)
  • Porter
  • Concierge

Leisure and activities

  • Outdoor unheated pool
  • Fitness centre
  • Massage
  • Babysitting on request  (Nearby)
  • Golf  (Nearby)
    • Golf course 27 holes (Paying, Nearby)
    • Golf course 18 holes (Paying, Nearby)
    • Golf course 9 holes (Paying, Nearby)
    • Golf practice facilities (Paying, Nearby)
    • Golf lessons (Paying, Nearby)
  • Outdoor tennis court  (Nearby)
  • Beach and water sports  (Nearby)
    • Boat excursions (Nearby)
    • Kayaking (Nearby)
    • Sailing facilities (Nearby)
  • Other sports activities
    • Bicycle hire facilities (Paying)
    • Horse riding (Nearby)
    • Jogging track (Nearby)
    • Karting facilities
    • Quad bikes (Nearby)
    • Roller-skating (Nearby)
    • Skating rink (Nearby)
    • Volley ball facilities (Nearby)

Catering

  • Breakfast  (Nearby)
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • 1 bar(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 06:30-10:30
    • Opening hours : Week-end 06:30-10:30
  • Snack & beverage machine

Business services

  • 4 meeting room(s)
  • Conventions hotel
  • Self service business centre
  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

With 4 different accommodation options, there is something to suit everyone. The Standard hotel rooms have distinctive interior décor and the 1 Bedroom Studio Apartments are spacious and comfortable. For family and friends traveling together thetwo bedroom cottages are perfect, self contained and on two levels the bedrooms and living areas are separate. For that romantic weekend stay in a self contained Summerhouse Cottage, with its 4 poster bed and spa bath it’s a relaxing and charming.

  • 85 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 5 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 25 family rooms
    • Emergency exit map
    • Radio in room
    • Remote control TV
    • Toilets
    • Hair dryer at reception
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars

Your meetings and events

4.4/5 AccorHotels Rating Based on 1,467 reviews

Our guest reviews for Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
4.0/5 TripAdvisor Rating Based on 970 reviews
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Certificate of excellence 2017
AccorHotels certified review
Sharon Couples - 11/02/2018
« Enjoyed my stay »

Enjoyed my stay The only issue was the outside light by the door (I assume this is a safety light) that was on all night and this was shining into the apartment and I struggle to sleep with light shining into my bedroom

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Sharon We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, so it was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay. I've forward your comments about that outside light to our maintenance team in case it isn't supposed to be on all night. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Jo M. Couples - 11/02/2018
« Beautiful place to stay, wonderful accommodation and facilities. »

A very relaxing one night stay. My only criticism would be the pool area. I went for a swim approximately 3.30pm and when I arrived the rubbish tin by the entrance was overflowing with rubbish. It looked to me as though the whole area around the pool needed a good hose down as there were a couple of used band aids and other bits of rubbish around the pool edge. Other than that, the place was amazing as usual. And the receptionist was very friendly.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest Reviewer We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, so it was lovely to read that you enjoyed a relaxing one night stay - it was also great to know the receptionist on duty provided nice friendly service. Thanks also for your feedback on the pool area, I've passed it on to our grounds, maintenance and housekeeping teams as the pool is probably being used more than usual with the fantastic weather we have been experiencing recently. Once again, thanks for your review, we welcome all guest feedback. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Gajendra S. Solo - 10/02/2018
« Excellent quality of accomodation »

Very good material in the rooms- richness of the every items inside the room.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Guest Reviewer We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, so it was lovely to read that you appreciated the quality of your accommodation and the attention to details in the decorating. We hope you had an opportunity to enjoy the beautiful Nelson/Tasman region whilst you were here. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Rodney K. Couples - 08/02/2018
« Absolutely OVER whelming awesome! Couldn't ask for more or anything better! »

Wow what to say! Stuart Geddess is one AMAZING man. My partner and I on the 31/1/18 flew to Nelson on a mystery break. I have terminal cancer and wanted to make the most of this opportunity to make memories together. Our destination was this hotel and it was spectacular! The staff were warm, friendly and caring and their service couldn't be faulted. Nothing was ever a problem to them. The pride and presentation of the hotel and grounds was an absolute credit to them. Then when leaving, after asking a random gentleman to take a photo of us, in the reception, this man then offered us an extra night - meals included with flowers and bubbly! No words can express that kind of generosity and kindness and overwhelming compassion and sensitivity. I have NEVER EVER met a person like him. The most honest and truest person with the warmest heart anyone could ever have the fortune of meeting. Again - there really are NO words that can express the most wonderful experience we had at that hotel and the man that made it happen. If YOU read this Stuart - " SEE you at the Duck and Dive - I will be waiting ". Much LOVE and sincere THANKS to all of you!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Rodney K., Wow - what awesome feedback! I've made sure that not ONLY Stuart gets your feedback, but I've shared it with the ENTIRE TEAM here at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. We are ALL truly delighted that your stay with us was an occasion for creating lasting special memories - we've very proud to have been part of this process. We're delighted that your Mystery Break to Nelson was such a success. Best wishes to you and your partner, keep creating special moments and memories in the days ahead; as someone who has lost a parent to cancer in the last six months - I have some understanding of what you're going through. Cancer's hideous, but it IS possible to find fun and laughter right up until the end. Kia kaha! Warm regards Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Russell Families - 08/02/2018
« Comfortable and quiet »

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The limited childrens channels meant my daughter spent more of her time in the pool which was good. We left on the morning of the heavy rains and did notice our window was leaking to which we left a note stating so. I do intend on visiting again when in the area.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Russell We very much appreciate your returning the Accor guest survey regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, so it was lovely to read that you found your accommodation clean and comfortable and that your daughter enjoyed our beautiful pool in its own private courtyard area. Those "heavy rains" were once of the most powerful storms to hit Nelson in living memory, it did considerable damage to property on the Monaco Peninsula, thankfully the hotel came through completely unscathed. Thanks for the note about the leaky window, I'll that that has now been attended to. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

TripAdvisor review
Solo travel - 08/02/2018
« Stay in Nelson »

Very pleasant. Good accommodation. Just what a traveller needs. Would be good for a longer stay too. Buildings her attractive "village feel". One caveat if you are not good with stairs advise on check in my room was second floor no elevator. A car needed not in town

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi there Helen Thanks for your review/feedback - it was lovely to read that you enjoyed a very pleasant stay with us recently, and that you enjoyed the special "village feel" of the hotel. Guests with accessibility issues, for who just find stairs (for example) difficult, they're more than welcome to make a booking direct with the hotel and to request ground floor accommodation, or a room with accessible bathroom facilities etc. (we have 6 of these). Warm regards Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Janelle S. Families - 07/02/2018
« Service was good ,only thing missing air conditioning. »

As above

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Janelle S. We very much appreciate your returning the Accor guest survey regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, so it was great to read that you experienced great service from our staff, your comment regarding the (lack of) air conditioning has been noted and pass on to the hotel owner for his consideration. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
John L. S. Couples - 03/02/2018
« Very comfortable and friendly »

Unit was clean and tidy. TV was a bit of a mission to work out .But overall a pleasant place to stay.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear John L Scott, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, so it was lovely to read that your accommodation met your expectations as you found it clean and tidy. Our apologies that you had problems with the television, but good to know you got there in the end! Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Mike Business - 02/02/2018
« muggy »

having a room upstairs with no air-con in summer, my room was extremely hot & ensured i could not sleep well at all. otherwise the staff & facilities were great. enjoyed the meals

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear mike We very much appreciate your completed guest survey regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. Thanks for your comments regarding the lack of air-conditioning, I have passed this on to the hotel owner, who is reviewing guest feedback and developing action plan for improvements based on this feedback. It was pleasing to read that apart from the lack of air-conditioning you otherwise found the staff and facilities of the hotel great. I trust your business trip to Nelson was a success, and that your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Thank you again for sharing your experience, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Warm regards Nick On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Karen Families - 31/01/2018
« Lovely spot and staff very friendly and helpful. »

Refer above. Did note though that there were dirty trays in the oven that must have been missed by the cleaner, a couple of lightbulbs were out and we only could find one remote to the two tv,s.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Karen, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff friendly and helpful - precisely what we aim for! I've made a note of the housekeeping matters you mention and I've passed these on to our HK team for their attention. Once again, thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you back again sometime soon. Warm regards Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Craig M. Business - 29/01/2018
« Ok »

No air conditioning , stinking hot and stuffy , Carpets well stained and need replacing , Nice people and clean though , the place needs to sharpen up a little more

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Craig M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Grand Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

TripAdvisor review
Couples - 27/01/2018
« Nothing Grand about the Grand Mercure »

I have stayed at many Accor Hotels and this is probably the worst that I have stayed in. On this trip, we stayed at the IBIS Wellington, the Grand Mercure Nelson and the Novotel Hamilton and of these three, the Grand Mercure was the worst. IBIS and Novotel both were participants in a $1 breakfast promotion, not the Grand Mercure, the IBIS and the Novtel were air conditioned and the rooms had wardrobes not the Grand Mercure. Both the IBIS and Novotel recognised loyalty with welcome letter, welcome drinks and something like chocolates or sometimes a fruit platter but not the Grand Mercure. How this hotel qualifies for a Grand Mercure status is beyond me. It is over priced, our room had no air condition or ceiling fans (noisy pedestal fan provided), leaving the window open at night disrupted your sleep with traffic noise from nearby 4 lane highway or plane noise as the hotel is located almost at the end of the airport. I have submitted a review to the hotel but no response.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi there Brianmac55 Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your disappointing experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. We sincerely apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations. You should have received greater recognition as an AccorPlus gold status member. Your four-night stay was in one of our boutique hotel rooms, due to the availability of our accommodation offering, regretfully, we were unable to upgrade you for the duration of your stay. As to the breakfast promotion, the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco had chosen to to participate. Sincerely, Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Lisa Families - 25/01/2018
« Super cute and well equipped cottage »

Everything we needed was right there , very clean, tidy and well priced place to stay !

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Lisa We very much appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of the two-bedroom cottages, that it had everything you required and was clean and tidy (as it should be). Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Warm regards Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Anonymous Couples - 24/01/2018
« Outdated »

The room was not air conditioned with temperatures in the day approaching 30%! decorated in a 1990's style (dark and busy). We were put in a room next to the kitchen for the on-site restaurant so noisy. On the plus site staff were very helpful and friendly, the bathroom was excellent and housekeeping was well done.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. However, it was pleasing to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful, and that our housekeeping team impressed (as did the bathrooms). Once again, thank you for completing the guest survey. Warm regards Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Brian Couples - 24/01/2018
« A not so grand mercure »

The exterior of the hotel is inviting but that is where our experience ended. I have stayed at many Accor Hotels in New Zealand, Australia and overseas and have been able to supply good reviews. Comparing the Grand Mercure Nelson with other hotels, I would think that it would rank as a Novotel hotel certainly not a Grand Mercure. I am currently staying at the Novotel Hamilton and it is fair superior than the Grand Mercure. At the Grand Mercure, there is little recognition of Gold membership - one welcome drink voucher. Even at the IBIS in Wellington, we received 2 drink vouchers, a welcome letter, bottle of water and chocolates. In Hamilton, 2 drink vouchers, chocolate and a hand written card thanking us for staying here. Accor had been running a promotion of $1 breakfasts and we had taken advantage of this in both Wellington and Hamilton but this was not offered with your hotel. Subject to availability, we are most often upgraded to a better room. Nelson was the first Accor hotel that I have stayed in with no air conditioning and no wardrobes. Having 4 coathangers over a mini refrigerator hardly is a wardrobe that you could use to hang dresses or long pants in. Keeping the windows open at night is unrealistic with constant traffic noise and even planes taking off. We found the hotel over priced for the room. Would we be staying at the Grand Mercure Nelson again - No. There are many nicer hotels in Nelson itself and with no acknowledgement of status with the Accor hotels, why bother staying at the end of the Nelson airfield runway.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear A not so grand mercure Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your disappointing experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. We sincerely apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations. You should have received greater recognition as an AccorPlus gold status member. Your four-night stay was in one of our boutique hotel rooms, due to the availability of our accommodation offering, regretfully, we were unable to upgrade you for the duration of your stay. As to the breakfast promotion, the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco had chosen to to participate. Sincerely, Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Sukru Couples - 23/01/2018
« Nostaljik rooms »

Good location,very tidy, clean room, it was fantastic night, staff was very friendly Thanks

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Merhaba Sukru Thank you for your completed guest survey following your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco; what wonderful feedback, we're delighted that you found our staff very friendly and your accommodation very clean and tidy. I do hope you had an opportunity to explore the beautiful Nelson/Tasman region while you were here; enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand - we hope to see you back again one day. Warm regards Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Jude Couples - 23/01/2018
« Noisiest room at Monaco Resort »

While the location was idyllic and our room & ensuite was very nice it wasn't very nice that we were undoubtedly in the noisiest room of the resort. The airport noise was the least of it and the motorway was to be expected but the constant sound of the kitchen fan/generator/whatever it was, was very disappointing. We weren't told to be aware of this and we presume we weren't given a discounted rate because of it. We didn't mention it when we departed as we had other things on our mind. Very nice breakfast and friendly hotel manager and maître de.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Jude Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, and I hope the restaurant kitchen noise did not completely spoil your stay with us. On a more positive note, it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed a very nice breakfast in our restaurant and that your interactions with Stuart (our General Manager) and the restaurant Maitre'd were warm and friendly. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

AccorHotels certified review
Kevin S. Families - 22/01/2018
« Impressive venue & location. »

Impressive venue & location. Loved the en-suite per room. Cottage size good, Service good. Reception a little lacking in focus (Talking amongst self, front desk left empty). Restaurant / cafe a bit lacking / in energy and limited hours. Went across to the Honest Lawyer for a drink. Met another guest who had done the same thing. A missed revenue opportunity. Overall very good. Hired a bike which was very enjoyable and the bike was of a good standard.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Kevin S. Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco; we're delighted you enjoyed the location and facilities of the hotel and your cottage accommodation. Our apologies that your experience with our teams in reception and the restaurant weren't quite what we intend; your feedback has been passed on to the respective supervisors in both departments. Yours sincerely Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

TripAdvisor review
Family - 22/01/2018
« Marlborough Holiday »

These apartments were excellent with a large bathroom including spa and facilities like pool and gym. Service was good also and location just outside of Nelson central meant day trip to Abel Tasman was easier.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi there I4184ZVcraigs Thanks for your review/feedback, it's great to read that you really enjoyed your spa cottage accommodation, and that you also enjoyed the hotel pool and gym facilities. We like to think we're on the right side of Nelson to do the right things, such as the Abel Tasman National Park! Warm regards Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

TripAdvisor review
Family - 13/01/2018
« pleasent stay »

Quite room thanks showing it's age otherwise clean. One thing bathroom fan was only working in the morning must have been on a timmer. Food at the restaurant better than good for the evening dinner.....thanks to chef. ...

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Hi there christopherhT2702JI Thanks so much for your review/feedback - great to know you found your room, even if you thought it a bit dated. I do hope you filled in one of our maintenance cards that we leave for guests so that our maintenance team could be alerted and check on that bathroom fan. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed a good evening meal in our restaurant, I'll pass on your feedback to the chef and restaurant team. Warm regards Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From N/A --- Non member rate
From N/A --- Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
0P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guaranteeHow it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate
See rates