Hotel - Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Mercure Hotel Mercure Hotel

Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

3.5/5 1,202 reviews
See on a map
  • The hotel has wifi WIFI/Internet Access
  • The hotel serves breakfast Breakfast
  • The hotel does not have a bar Bar
  • The hotel has a parking Parking
  • The hotel has a restaurant Restaurant
  • The hotel has air conditioning in rooms Air Conditioning
See rates
Best price guarantee How it works?
From
From 127.00 GBP Non member rate
From 120.65 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
See rates

Services in the hotel and nearby

Check-in from 14h00
Check out up to 12h00

Services and practical information

Paying
  • Online check-in

    Online check-in: Your arrival will be carefully prepared by our team
    Fast check-out: Simply return your key

  • WIFI/Internet Access
    • WiFi at the hotel
    • High-speed Internet
    • WIFI in the communal areas
    • WiFi in your room
    • WiFi access
    • Fiber optic technology provides the highest possible speed of Internet connection.
  • Private outdoor parking
  • Accessibility for people with reduced mobility
    • Reduced mobility rooms
    • Reduced mobility facilities
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • Air Conditioning
  • LONDON HEATHROW
  • Reception open 24 hours a day
  • Early check-in/Late check-out
    • EARLY CHECK IN FROM 10AM (Paying)
    • LATE CHECK-OUT UP TO 6PM (Paying)
  • Dry cleaning / Ironing
  • Porter

Catering

  • Breakfast
  • 1 restaurant(s)
  • Room service
    • Hot meals
    • Cold snacks
    • Opening hours : Week 6:30 am to 10:30 am
    • Opening hours : Week-end 6:30 am to 10:30 am

Business services

  • Copy/print service available
See all services

Hotel location

Our rooms

  • 64 rooms
  • 100% non-smoking hotel
  • 1 rooms for people with reduced mobility
  • 3 family rooms
  • 1 connecting rooms
    • 220/240 V AC
    • Emergency exit map
    • Air Cooling System
    • Trouser press in room
    • Safe deposit box in room
    • Free in-room mineral water
    • Radio in room
    • Remote control TV
    • WiFi in your room
    • Work desk in all rooms
    • Satellite/cable colour TV
    • Telephone
    • Direct dial telephone
    • Iron in room
    • Coffee/tea making facilities
    • Shower
    • Bathtub
    • Make-up/magnifying mirror
    • Keycard-operated door locks
    • Audible smoke alarms in rooms
    • Deadbolts and/or locks in rooms
    • Security peephole
    • Smoke alarm in room
    • Emergency info in rooms
    • Operator wake up call
Our rooms fittings

Our restaurants and bars

See all our restaurants and bars
4.1/5 AccorHotels Rating 2,356 reviews

Our guest reviews for Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

100% genuine reviews from our guests

Find out more
tripadvisor tripadvisor
3.5/5 TripAdvisor Rating 1,202 reviews
Couples - 13/08/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Excellent stay »

We enjoyed our one night stay at the hotel. The room was perfect. Great situation in Oxford. Very good breakfast. The only downside is that we have been charged more than shown by n our bill. Hopefully this will be sorted out shortly.

Marcin Families - 08/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Overall good, but there are some items that could be corrected »

The rooms were clean and tidy, however, there are 2 Things to fix: - there were some flying bugs in the room, I guess the ones eating fabrics, like curtains or something - one of the bathrooms had some black mould on the space between the tiles on the floor or walls, not sure now where. Aparat from the above it was good. The restaurant and breakfasts were really great and I did enjoy the food and the service!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Marcin K., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

Peter M. Couples - 08/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Expensive, tiny rooms, £20 overnight parking not obvious at booking stage, breakfast good as is location. »

£20 overnight parking only disclosed at check in but waived at my protest. Bad taste to start our stay. Tiny rooms with little clothes storage. Decoration and furnishings good, aircon good. Bathroom a good size; shower and water pressures good. Breakfast a good standard but at 9.30 a reluctance to restock pastries. No papers- given the expense, this was disappointing. Overall I wouldn't return here or to any other Mercure hotel; taken in total was poor value for money.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr M., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am very sorry that you had not been informed of the car park charge, it is marked on our website that there is a charge for parking, however I was pleased to note that the reception manager had removed the cost on your request. The Oxford Eastgate Townhouse is a small hotel ideally located in the city centre and suurounded by history. The hotel is over 100 years old and was originally 4 townhouses, and I am afraid due to the structure, age and the building being listed we do have a couple of bedrooms with limited space. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and I trust you had a safe journey home. Yours sincerely, Peter Watt General Manager

A. C. Couples - 08/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Oxford sojourn »

Very smooth check in, lovely room and great breakfast

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear C. A., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

Christopher C. Solo - 05/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« 2 days in Oxford »

The room was great. A nice space, bay windows looking to the rear, quiet. Bathroom worked well. Only issue was that the room smelt of cigarettes; old, dangey. Was not pleant!

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Christopher C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am very sorry for the bedroom smelling of smoke we are a non-smoking hotel however recently we have seen an increase in Chinese guests who do smoke. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Peter Watt General Manager

E. Couples - 04/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« clean, comfortable and welcoming. »

as above

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Amanda E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards, Peter Watt General Manager

Anonymous Couples - 01/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Beautiful hotel, centrally located with friendly, attentive staff. »

The reception and breakfast staff were all very professional and we really enjoyed our one night stay. The on-site parking is a bonus. The only criticism was the excessive noise of the extractor fan unit located on the flat roof outside our first floor bedroom window. Luckily my partner and I are both very good sleepers otherwise the noise would have ruined our stay. It may have been possible to change rooms but we decided not to inquire about this.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Alison T., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

Anonymous Couples - 01/08/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Lovely centrally located hotel »

Overall, the accommodation was we expected and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Anne L., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

M B. Families - 31/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Minor niggles spoiled an otherwise good stay »

Air conditioning unit made a lot of noise once turned off preventing us from sleeping for some time. No other room was available - the duty receptionist agreed it was very noisy. No earplugs available either. My son and his partner, with two other guests, were trapped outside the hotel for about 15 minutes at 1.30am because there was nobody at reception to let them in. They noticed that the rear door was open, walked around and let themselves in, and noted that the night staff were at the other end of the room, near the bar. On a plus point, it was good to borrow an umbrella to cope with the rain.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs B., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I do apologise for the noise that you experienced as a result of the air conditioning, I spent the whole day last Thursday walking the hotel with 2 engineers from the Air Con company that we use. As you can imagine with the glorious weather we are experiencing at present, our air con system has being working at full capacity and in fact I have one room off at present as the air conditioning is not working in present. We are awaiting a couple of new motors for a couple of the units and then along with the actual manufacturers of the equipment, we will carry out a full audit. With reference to the front door being shut, we are near the main high street of a busy city and the night team do also have to serve drinks in the bar and may not have heard the bell, I am very sorry, please be assured they have been trained to ensure we can allow guests to leave and enter the building at all times, night and day. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt General Manager

Janet C. Families - 31/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« We enjoyed our stay but there were a couple of problems »

Our room was ready when we arrived shortly before noon, which was greatly appreciated. Housekeeping fell short. We stayed three nights and our room wasn’t cleaned at all. Housekeeping did stop by to see if we needed anything, so we were able to refresh towels, tea things, etc. I was very disappointed in the Vintage Marmelade. You’ve changed brands from Coopers and it’s not at all the same delicious jam that I was looking forward to from last year.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. I am very sorry and embarrassed for the lack of attention to detail from our housekeeping department, I can assure you that I have a meeting with the Area Manager for the housekeeping company tomorrow and I will be discussing your concerns, I do apologise. I have checked with my colleagues in the restaurant, as I personally order the Frank Cooper Marmalades, which I did prior to going on holiday this month. I have again checked with the team and we still have all 5 Frank Cooper marmalades that we have always offered. I will personally taste them in the morning, as I believe we should have a local produce and as the marmalade was first produced 5 houses away from the hotel, I always ensure that we have enough in stock, Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

J. B. Families - 31/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« great location OK value »

It is the second time we stayed with you. In the interim we have been to Jury's inn which was a disaster- faulty plumbing and poor service and premier inn which was as expected. Your rooms are slightly tired but otherwise all good, we had three rooms

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr B. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

Couples - 30/07/2018 TripAdvisor review
« Trying to be loyal to Accor »

Access in and up the stairs and to the rooms was difficult. Front desk attention was diligent but lacking in that the desk clerk said that he did not know what platinum benefits were about as they had never had a platinum member stay at the hotel and started looking these up in his book.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Edwardd Thank you for your recent review, I am very sorry and embarrassed that a member of the front desk team did not know about the LeClub membership. We have had a team meeting this week, and my concern is that we have a French student from a hotel school in the south of France plus a new male receptionist from Spain (he has never worked in an Accor hotel before), although they are both very charming and helpful, their command of the English language is good however they are learning every day, I do apologise for any mis-understanding. Please be assured that the team are being trained on the benefits of a LeClub membership and the various levels we offer our loyal guests. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Oxford in the future, I trust you had a safe journey home. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

Jje Families - 29/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Pleasant »

Our overall experience was fine; the rooms were comfortable and pleasant, if in need of a little TLC (peeling paint on the ceiling) and we had a good breakfast. We were just bemused by the Reception staff. They seemed baffled by our arrival, despite my completing the online check in and express check out. All four spoke to us at once! There was no warm confident welcome on arrival or ‘thank you for staying with us’ when we left. When we came to leave I looked back and the girl on the Reception desk was just staring into the middle distance. It was bizarre! I would suggest a refresher customer service training.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Joanne E., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We have recently sent two of the front desk team on a customer service training course, and the remainder are all being individually tearined this week by an external trainer, I am verey sorry and embarrassed for the lack of warmth you encountered on arrival and departure. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

Anonymous Business - 29/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Excellent »

From the restaurant staff to the desk personnel, all were very friendly and extremely helpful.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Linda C., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

Pierre Families - 28/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« This four star hotel needs a proper makeover. »

At our arrival at the hotel we had an unpleasant experience. The hotel was demanding a pre-authorisation on my credit card for the amount due for our complete stay. This didn't work although I thought my credit was sufficient. What I didn't know is that pre-authorisations diminish the credit one has on his or her credit card. The pre-authorisation from our previous hotel wasn't released by Visa and therefore we had a problem. Instead of trying to find a solution the first approach from the receptionist was to tell me that we couldn't have a room without having the pre-authorisation. At last we found a solution, but the attitude of the receptionist wasn't very welcoming. The lobby and the bar are very cosy, but the rest of the hotel looks rather old and worn out. The carpet is not clean, bags with laundry are piled up in corners of the corridors. Our room was spacious enough but the carpet didn't look very clean. The bathroom was recently renewed. The air conditioning worked very well which was very pleasant with the hot weather. The hotel is very well located. There is a 20 £ per night parking behind the hotel which is expensive but worth it. The second evening we found our room was not tidied up, when asking the receptionist her first remark was to tell us this was not possible because the staff marked our room as cleaned. Only after visiting our room she was convinced, then she told us that the cleaning staff was already gone and that we couldn't expect her to clean and hoover the room, which we didn't. Our general impression on the cleaning staff was not very positive, even the next days we didn't find our room in very good condition, beds were not made up properly and the carpet wasn't hoovered properly. The breakfast is not worthy of what one might expect from a high end hotel. Fruit salad tasted as if the fruit was already in the bowl for more then 24 hours, everything had the same taste. Staff were just doing the minimum and were not welcoming. Croissants and viennoiserie were ok, but the cheese and charcuterie could be from better quality. We have a mixed impression, this hotel has the potential to be good, but staff in general is not welcoming nor experienced, changing this could very well improve the level of the Eastgate Mercure hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Pierre D., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I do apologise and I am extremely embarrassed at the lack of warmth, welcome and issues that you encountered on arrival at the hotel. I am afraid we helped pilot the welcome desk project for AccorHotels UK and removal of huge computerised screens and processor within the small space we have for the reception area. The tablets were when we started the project absolutely excellent and gave the team the opportunity to converse and welcome the guest in a friendly, paperless and quick way, however due to continual use over the past 3+ years, and changes in technology the tablets need updating and replacing, I am so sorry - we now have 3 of our 4 tablets with our central I.T. team. I have along with my senior team being chasing them daily for the past week. I have today had a meeting with the area manager for the housekeeping company, and we have a new action and training plan in place, started to recruit some new team members, which is not easy in a busy transient city like Oxford. Please be assured your concerns have been noted and addressed were possible, one of the main issues in Oxford is storage and the linen is delivered to first floor around 6am in the morning and is checked prior to being allocated across the hotel. With reference to the breakfast buffet, everything is placed in fresh and maintained in the new refrigerator to ensure we offer a fresh product. The majority of people do like the choice on the buffet and as it is often a small break will order a freshly cooked breakfast from the menu, we do not offer a hot buffet to ensure a good quality dish. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and I trust you had a safe journey back to Belgium. Your constructive comments have been taken on board and should you wish to visit Oxford again in the future, please do contact me personally so I may oversee your requirements and ensure a comfort and pleasant stay. Yours sincerely, Peter Watt General Manager

Anonymous Couples - 26/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Short but very nice »

Convenient check in and holding our bags before checking into our room. Very convenient location and nice room. Julie

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Julie D., We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

A B. Families - 25/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Great location, good communal facilities, rooms basic and very small but bathroom was good. »

Booked two rooms for two nights. Double room was tiny and dark - due to a huge, noisy air con unit right outside the window. Staff moved our room without a problem but why allocate that room to anyone if there are others available. We felt taken advantage of. New room was lighter but tiny. So small that there was insufficient room to walk between the bed and the wall (a gap made smaller by the tv on that wall). As a result I caught my toes on the bed legs, cutting my toe which bruised and swelled. One tiny table meant there was nowhere to put the tea and coffee tray (which was taking up half the wardrobe) making it unusable. There was no shower caps or shoe shine in the room or from reception. No newspapers were offered. The hotel is a maze of stairs and corridors with bags of laundry on every corridor all day. Our room was being serviced when we returned from breakfast reasonably early which is just awkward - surely you service the rooms of those staying after those who have checked out. Breakfast was ok but tomatoes were missed off one order, another order took forever to arrive, porridge was cold in the middle, butter ran out, croissants had run out and we waited 10 mins for not fully cooked next batch. Staff were generally helpful.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs b., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I do apologise for the confusion with the bedroom you were allocated, I am afraid I have a couple of new members to the team who are not 100% familiarised with all the bedrooms. The hotel is over 100 years old and was originally 4 townhouses, which although we have were possible improved the amount of space in the bedrooms, we have been limited due to the age and structure of the whole building, sorry. I am very sorry and embarrassed that the reception team were not able to assist with your requests, there is a stock of all bedroom extras in reception to ensure we can assist the guest quickly and efficiently. As mentioned above I have called a reception meeting with the team and manager, as I have just returned from annual leave this week. I have recently employed a new head chef and he now has a full team for service in the evenings, his next target is re-visit the service and quality of breakfast with the breakfast chef. The lady in question has been away with a knee problem for the past few months and has only just returned to work at the end of June. Please be assured your concerns are noted, with the appropriate action and training being taken. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and I trust you had a safe journey home. Yours sincerely, Peter Watt General Manager

Renu K. Couples - 25/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Could have been better »

We checked in late - around 4.30. We used the carpark which was good but expensive. The room we had was a privilege room but I am not sure what was special about it? The air con worked very well which was a welcome to the heat outside and our room faced the carpark. We only had one bath towel in the bathroom yet there were two people in the room? Luckily we had bought our own towels so used them. The room we had was directly opposite the door and lift, so we had a constant stream of people going in and out during the night and the door constantly banging. Breakfast was a disappointment. We ordered eggs benedict, the muffins were stale and the eggs over cooked. We did eat in the restaurant in the evening and thoroughly enjoyed our experience in both the bar and restaurant. Service, food and drinks were amazing so please thank the staff for this.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Renu K., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am afraid the hotel is 100 years old, located in the city centre and was originally 4 townhouses. As a result due to the age and structure of the building a number of bedrooms are limited in space although following the refurbishment 3 years ago we have tried to enhance the actual space of each bedroom, sorry. I do apologise for the lack of quality and presentation you experienced at breakfast, please be assured I have spoken with the head chef and has personally taken on board your comments, and will be working with the breakfast chef on the next two weekends We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and I trust you had a safe journey home. Yours sincerely, Peter Watt General Manager

Anonymous Families - 24/07/2018 AccorHotels certified review
« Falls short of expectations »

Negatives - We paid a lot of money for two rooms, one of which was only a tiny double - much more than we had paid the week before at a gorgeous Four Seasons hotel in London for far larger rooms. I don't mind paying that kind of rate for a good room in a good hotel, but this fell disappointingly short of expectations. In one room the shower was tiny and it was difficult to get in and out because the door took up half the available small space. A problem with one of the toilets at 10pm was greeted with "We'll get maintenance to sort it out in the morning", which was not acceptable as the noise of the malfunctioning flush was awful and preventing rest. The air conditioning in the smaller room was appalling - it worked effectively at cooling the room but sounded like we had a steam engined tractor in with us. Impossible to sleep when it was on and impossible to sleep when it was off during a sweltering night as we couldn't open the windows more than 2 inches. The two staff on reception did not welcome us with a smile or offer us any information about timings of breakfast, ask us if we would like dinner in the hotel, explain how the car park worked or any of the niceties which you would expect. When I went down later to chase up my request for someone to sort out the toilet, it was quite obvious I had disturbed their time together (far more interested gazing into each other's eyes to deal with me). Had to wait quite a while at the bar until the barman appeared (no one had approached us when we sat down in the lounge) to order drinks, then had to wait again until he appeared so we could sign the bill - that poor service didn't stop him adding on a service charge to our bill, which I thought was cheeky. Restaurant washrooms untidy late at night with paper towels spilling out of the bin. The final irritation was that even though I had paid over £500 for my night at the Eastgate, I was then expected to pay £20 for the car park. I can understand the public paying that, or guests pitching up just for a meal, but not residents spending what we had spent. Positives: lovely staff in the restaurant at dinner and at breakfast. Happy with the quality of the food. Comfortable beds and pillows. Nicely decorated rooms and public spaces. Good to have chilled water in the small fridge. Fantastic location, very central. On balance, it is doubtful that I will be returning nor will I be recommending - and as I have two children at the university and will be visiting Oxford regularly for the next few years, that's a shame on the part of the Eastgate Hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mrs C., Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; my apologies for the delay in responding I have only just returned from annual vacation this wee. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the lack of service and attention to detail that you encountered in the hotel last weekend. I have spoken with the senior members to the team and they have asked to extend their apologies for the lack of service you received on Saturday night, please be assured that the appropriate action and training has been taken. The Eastgate is a small hotel in the centre of Oxford, originally 4 townhouses and over 100 years old with limited space in parts due to the structure and age of the building. July is an extremely busy month in Oxford with Graduation Days, students leaving to go back home for the summer vacation and the summer students arriving with their families for one / two months. The hotel is in high demand and we are not a purpose built hotel, so we have many challenges in maintaining a listed building, sorry. I am concerned at your disappointment and would welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in the hotel. I would be pleased should you wish to visit the hotel again in the new university year, if you could contact me personally so I may look at a reduced rate for your accommodation with a free upgrade to one of our privilege rooms, complimentary breakfast and parking, and a bottle of wine with my compliments. If you do wish to stay, if you could please contact me personally so I may check for availability and ensure your total comfort and satisfaction. Kind regards, Peter Watt General Manager

Family - 24/07/2018 TripAdvisor review
« OK in the end »

Having stayed here on 25 previous occasions and being completely satisfied, we were extremely disappointed to be allocated attic rooms in the old town house, despite a request for our usual room in the new wing. We had 2 rooms booked for 2 nights and they were not cheap. They were booked many months ago so were not a last minute thought. When asked the staff were very polite and friendly but said that they were fully booked and that rooms in the new wing were not available. We stayed in these rooms which were tiny and required some serious maintenance for the first night. Fortunately the next day Billy was on duty and recognised our loyalty and seemed dismayed at the rooms we had been allocated.. With excellent customer service recovery he arranged for room swaps whilst we were out. Thank you Billy. The second night was great and lived up to our previous experiences at this hotel.

Our hotel has responded to the review
Our hotel has responded to the review

Dear Mr Powell Thank you for your recent review and I am very sorry for the mix-up with your bedroom reservation I was pleased to note that Billy had been able to assist. I am afraid I have recently changed a number of the team in reception due to our previous team moving back home or abroad, and although the team are new it is not always easy to learn and understand the computerised systems we do use - I am very sorry for lack of acknowledgement you encountered on the first night of your stay.. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future, I know Billy has noted your request for a certain bedroom on the history of your stay. Kind regards Peter Watt General Manager

Our most recent 20 reviews
See more reviews
In partnership with

Web-users rating

Other web-users rate our hotel

Book this hotel
From
From 127.00 GBP Non member rate
From 120.65 GBP Member's rate Members’ Rate, join while you book
5.00P
Up to {{amount}}% extra off
Members’ Rate, join while you book
Best price guarantee How it works?
Not participating hotel As a {{fidelityCard}} member Free: become a member Le Club AccorHotels

When making a booking at this hotel:

  • I earn Status & Rewards points
  • I do not earn points
  • I can easily convert my HuaZhu Rewards points into Le Club AccorHotels points (and vice versa)
  • I can use my Rewards points
  • I cannot use my points
  • I benefit from {{fidelityCard}} advantages
  • I benefit from advantages
  • I do not benefit from advantages
  • I can take advantage of the Members' rate
  • I cannot take advantage of the Members' rate

Our other hotels nearby

See rates